Florence accomadation

innercloset

Hello, any recommendation for budget B&B stay in Florence? Looking for places near to places of interest and subway. Any advise or recommendation? Thanks in advance.

hi cindy,

r u refering to Florence, Italy? Florence city is very small n walkable distance to all famous sites..there is no subways within the city coz of its size, it does hv a train stn where u can travel to Rome n Milan though. Hotels wise, they r ex lor even for 3star coz its a very touristy city. wats ur budget for per nite stay? europe hotels usually does not include BF by default one, u need to pay extra(which is not worth the price) for BF.

madhatter

Hi cindy

To help you along, check out www.tripadvisor.com and search all hotels under Florence, Italy. I stayed at Hotel Carravaggio for about 30 euros per person per night including breakfast. Its a small little hotel near the main train station. Read my contribution to tripadvisor. http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g187895-d295625-r5589861-Hotel_Caravaggio-Florence_Tuscany.html

You are expected to walk everywhere in Florence (or in Europe for that matter) as it small enough city. I spent 4 days in Florence in July 2006 (during the tourist peak) and planned the itinerary from Day 1 to Day 4 and searched out little restaurants whereby the waiters spoke only italian. It was an awesome holiday!

hi pple,

is there a direct flight to florence?
from florence to milan or rome, how long does it take? I'm thinking my first stop shld be florence, but not sure if i shld go on to milan first or rome, both places which I would like to cover.
any advise?
tks!

hi T&P,

u not going to Maldives har? hehehhe...

there's no direct flights from sg to florence...SQ flys to rome n milan direct. u can then take a train from either city to florence. i know its a 2hrs ride to florence from milan...think rome is slightly nearer to florence..about 1.5hrs?

u may check out tis site for train info..

http://www.trenitalia.com/en/index.html

or alternatively, u may transfer to a domestic flight from either rome or milan airport.

if u plan to cover these 3 cities...u may do it in tis sequence : milan-->florence-->rome or rome-->florence-->milan---->venice(highly recommended)

happy planning...

Hi midas,

Went Maldives twice liao..think i shld see other parts of the world now. Maldives will be reserved for R&R or my retirement trip. haha..
Europe is totally different from beach holidays, it's all abt the sights and hitting the stores! Keke..i am also a huge history freak, so europe is like heaven to me too.
Actually my 1st destination has to b florence. but seeing that there's no direct flight, i may have to change my schedule a bit.
The train nice? Like eurostar?
btw, where did u stay when in florence?

Tks for the tips sia!

hmm...the trains r alright lah..not very luxe but comfy enuf for 2hrs travel.

i din stay inside florence city..i stayed in a castle 35mins bus ride from florence

snowies

As i travelled from Switzerland (F&E), i went to Milan first, then venice, florence, Rome and Naples.

You can start from either Milan or Rome, but i would suggest you spend more time in Rome (abt 3 days) as there are really lots of stuffs to see. The rest can be covered in abt 1.5 days.

I agree with midas that venice is highly recommended, in my opinion, it's nicer than florence.

T&P,

i did both...i went on a 13D europe romance tour with chan bros...then fly from paris to florence n stayed in tuscany for 11D

rtan

Take note that Venice is very crowded especially during the summer. Having all those Japanese and American tourists takes the romance out of what would have otherwise been a nice experience. It was just far too crowded for our liking when we went in July.

piggy12

HI,

Can any1 advice me if I want to travel from Rome-Florence-Venice how much is the train ticket from city to city?