FIL (Face & Body Intelligence)

babyship

Hi, I'm selling at cost which will be about $730 for the 12 sessions of facial and $200 for the ampoules. The rest I'm throwing in free. Selling coz I don't seem to find the time to go down for facial and have had results and quite happy at the moment. Don't want this to go to waste. Price negoitable. Please email me for further discussion.

jlee31

I just went to FIL last night for the organic treatment for the first time. Ashamed to say I was suckered into buying a 5 treatments package. after the facial they got another girl to try to sell me another 5-7 treatments but I couldn't bring myself to spend another 1000bucks. maybe coz it was pass their closing hour so she gave up after 5-10mins.. haha.. my face was so red and swollen and I had to attend a wake. I thot the deceased looked more humane than me. my husband got a shock when I got home last night. I'm hoping the treatment will help with my oily skin. I'll update my progress as it goes.

pepper

yes despite my unhappiness over the restriction they placed on my membership, i think their facial is good and my back got no pimples now. used to have a lot and very bad ones. now i don go for the treatment already but the back still clear. worth every cent ! (but must add that it is not cheap) but wedding so decided if i don do it, i wont be able to wear my low back gown

arte

hi belle,
what type of membership you signed up for?
How much is your facial and back treatment?

grooveback

Oh dear, as someone who used to work at FIL, I can only offer you my symphaty. What most of you have mentioned about the place is spot on. Be very, very careful about ALL so-called salons with lavish decor and designer-clad owners, they have no ethics whatsoever. but I have to say that FIL tops the list of terrible service and underhanded sales tactics. The moderator can go on and ban me from the forum for saying this, but I'll go somewhere else and say it again. Too many men and women are just being conned!

kori

I signed up with FIL last year June for 15 sessions. After 7 sessions in 7 months, I couldn't take it anymore. More breakouts and no improvement at all. My confidence was down to the bottom.

In the end, I have to go to skin centre for treatment. Within a month, I already see improvement in my skin.

Seriously, for those who are considering signing up for face treatment at FIL, see a doctor instead. It's a cheaper and a MUCH EFFECTIVE treatment.

jacko_wacko

anyone out there wants to share to buy the FIL Revital Serum with me? i'm thinking of purchasing 3 but don't suppose i can use all so thinking of sharing. interested just send me a mail at [email protected]

starbrightlite

Hi I have a FIL package to let go.

- Account still have about $1600, which can be utilised for spa, massage or facials. Their massage is priced at $80-$120, facials from $120-$200. HOwever, my deal with them (utilising this account) is each facial will only be charged $58. All treatments entitled to further 15% discount.

- 10 Detox massage worth $850, selling at $700

- ampoules, collagen masks, eye treatment etc

Interested parties can call me at 81216885 to neg the price for individual items. If buying over the whole package, will let go at a very attractive discount.

kristle

Hi starry starry,

i got myself a package from them too and i am intersted in taking over yrs.mine also charge $58 for each facial. However for my $1500 account, i am free to go for any treatment on their menu. Just deduct from my $1500 less 15% off the retail price. Could you email me more detail on yr transfer? [email protected]. thanks

deerixp

naf (nafnaf), any beautician to recommend? I'm also with the one at Far East Finance... abit regret after signing with them as they hardsell. Bought one facial package at 1.1 k for 18 sessions...now only use 2 sessions...

whiteangelz

Dear all, didnt chance upon this thread before.... juz bought a package with them... actually recommended by friend.
I also think they r very hardselling.... its ridiculous! Tried to sell me those ampoules... but unsuccessful. Then after treatment, tried selling me some home care products... gd for my skin, etc.... still unsuccessful.
I juz did my 1st facial there not too long ago. Had to go thru some feedback form after, told the sales rep, abt the treatment, n found out that the therapist missed a few steps!!!!.. I was shortchanged!.... in the end, they giving me extra eye treatments for my next 2 sessions.

foolishgirl

Dear all, recently in Nov 05, my friend and I signed up facial package at $7k each person. We really regret it because the services is bad and it is totally UNEFFECTIVE.

My friend's face become uneven and left with scars marks after extraction.

We done several research and called CASE to check whether we can sue and refund back our outstanding balance. CASE suggested that we need to provide supporting documents to prove that the service rendered by them is not at fair practice though they had indicated in the sales invoice that " our goods and services are not refundable and not returnable".

In the meanwhile,we had negotiated with the branch manager and the managing director. The managing director is unprofessional and impatient during our conversation and she even raise our voice and comment that she welcome us to sue FIL for refund.

Can I call out to all of the victims and please advise me on the best solution to have my money refund or for those who had tried to go up to CASE, is there any results?

Please help.

Other than the poor svc for facial, how was their spa. I actually booked a couple session with them for spa. Will they hardsell u anything?
Pls give me your advice. Thanks!

kristle

Hi sweetheart,

i went once for the couple spa. after the session dun sit down for their tea which they always offer you some beverage after the session.That is their chance to hard sell u package. as my spa was deducted from my account, i just left after the session is done as i did not required to pay since it is deducted from my account.You can also pay first but normally they dun like coz cannot hard sell later. If not, you can walk straight to the reception for payment once u got change. My hubby said that their massage was not good . for me is fine as i am afraid of pain. FYI, their massage was kind of stroking stroke and that was why my hubby dun like as he like those thai massage instead.

hi Kristle

anyway cancelled the app cos of all the bad remarks above, sourcing for others which might be better.

siewkuen

I went to FIL as well and had really bad experience.. Their first time trial is total rubbish!
Very rude staff hard selling their products and package.
Don't ever think of stepping into that place! You will definately regret it!

mintee

Agree with you amy. They fake me into some trial from a lucky draw some time back, and when I reached there, they were only trying to make me sign up package without even giving me any real trial! The consultant kept saying their treatment is very special and effective, blah blah, but when I ask her so what's so special abt their treatment and how exactly the treatment goes, she beats ard the bush and can't say anything substantial.

cheerie

Huh? which branch did u go to? I went to FIL too and tried their facial trial for $20 and gotten immediate results. Thus, have since signed up a package for 20 facial sessions with them. Maybe e choice of beauty therapist matters...

siewkuen

I heard that only the boss and staff of FIL will get the $20 facial and see immediate results!

Strange huh? So how about the general public? Why do we need to pay for this and pay for that but see no results?

gfesg

anybody interested in taking over my package of abt $2K, which can be used for any of the following services:

1.SPL Service (Face, Eye, Neck)
2.Organic Face Treatment
3.E-Face (or otherwise known as Eline)
4.E-Body

crozogirl

Hi, I've got about 13 times of some Super Achievers facial treatment package.
Each session costs like $168 cuz it comes with the whole extra mask, extra serum thing that my dad actually signed for when he went with me.

But after 2 sessions which was like 2 yrs ago, he hasn't gone back since and I was studying overseas. Now that I am back and realise he still has this package...wondering if anyone is interested to buy it over from him?

I'm willing to sell the package at only $99 per session cuz we actually paid like $2520 for his package,but now I'm more than happy to let go of the remaining sessions to you for just $1300 cuz we have like 13 sessions left.

Each treatment covers both the EYE and the FACE PLUS EXTRA MASK AND AMPUOLE.

If you actually add this up, it could be cheaper than signing onto the current $38 per session plans cuz by the time they hard sell you the rest of the stuff, you probably paid more for your facial than you expected already.

Let me know if you need more details. I'm not trying to push this package but I admit they are hard-sell but some of the girls do pretty OK facials. When I signed up with them at same time with my dad like 3 yrs ago, my skin cleared up quite well and it was glowing better after they had facials done for me.

Now that I came back from overseas and much older now..maybe get less breakouts so no need anymore facials or whatever.

Please email me at [email protected] if you need more info or want to ask about the package i've got for sale.

berriesseason

FIL called me up that I have won a $50 voucher from Woman's Weekly. I did take part in some lucky draws but can't remember if I did for FIL.

As expected, in order to collect the voucher & a mystery gift (emphasised by the caller-sounded so mysterical), one has to sit through for 45minutes or even more. The sales personnel was basically repeating the same matters thrice because I appeared nonchalant and was already switched off, which I told her about the latter when she seemingly appeared so oblivious and perhaps 'numb' to my indifferent attitude.

Though I was initially interested to get their 1.5K facial package (in my heart w/o telling her), eventually she was the one who convinced me not to get the package afterall because of her relentless 'hard-sell' tactics and insensitive manner of dealing with customers. So I was shifting in my seat and decided to take my bag and was ready to go.

Before I left, I checked with her if I can use the voucher for a one-time facial treatment (to test the effectiveness). TO my surprise, she said no, only for body massage treatment! Hey, during the whole course of sales talk, she DID mention that I can use the voucher to offset the 1.5k facial package, that is just pay $1450.

After I left, I checked the fine print on the voucher. It says :Voucher valid for skin or body treatments only.

I reckon that skin has to refers to FACE because on the menu printed on the voucher, 'skin' is used to describe all FACE treatments and 'skin' only appears under FACE section.

As I am tying this post, I realize that the name says FIL SKIN & BODY INTELLIGENCE. So skin has to refer to FACE, isn't it?

To give her the benefit of doubt, I called up another branch. That lady was quite uncertain because she said there are different vouchers so I quoted the fine imprint to her. Then she replied 'yes', though keep persuading me to make an appointment with them. When I refused and commented that I will call in, she even informed me that there is a promotion now whereby if I were to leave my contact no with them NOW, I will get free 12 (months or times?) eye-bag treatment.

Haha, what a impromtu promotion! Amazing by their speedy thinking on the feet.

So, that's settled. I WON'T patronise them AT ALL though i was really tempted to try initially.

BYE BYE FIL!

What a let down!

sleepydopeey

hey berries season,
just came across ur post, ur suitation is just like mine! i also kena a call from them telling me that i have won a voucher via the woman weekly contest and i have to go down personally to redeem the prize. But imagine what when i went down to the raffles place branch the lady (who is a branch manager) said that she can't locate the voucher and asked me to signed up a package with them so that she can use it to offset the package prize! was a bit puzzle initally as why did they called me up to go down to claim the prize without preparing it beforehand? Feel that they are not really professional. And guess what the next day one lady called me from FIL said the voucher have been prepared and how come i didn't went down to collect. I was like huh?..told her i went down ydae but the branch manager said it was lost. This incidence really make me doubt about them.

princess_angel

I have signed up with FIL also 2 years back.

like most gals here, i was pressurised to sign on and upgrade my package. i regretted greatly to signing the SPL facial at $250 @. so, this time, i decided to sign the last package with them which is the 3 in 1 facial at $68 @. after this package i am going to just stop signing with them.
I find that they are just trying to reach their targets. i just upgraded my package by $1200 like 1 mth ago and just 2 weeks ago, they asked me to upgrade another $1500! irritating. i suspect cos is the end of year, so they need to reach their sales target.

However, i must say the facial works well for me. but is also dependent on the person doing for you. some gals just cannot make it and my face was sooooo red after extraction.

all in all, i still think FIL is ex and is too pressurising to go for facial cos most of the time, they will pressurise you into signing the package or buy product. Gals, just be firm and give excuses like oversea posting. no money cos do reno, no money cos wedding. no money cos just bankrupt (haha)

juniac

Hello everyone. Sorry to intrude. I am doing a Business school project to investigate the effectiveness of Internet marketing in relation to the Singapore Spa industry. I need to collect at least 100 responses, but am having difficulty meeting my quota. No personal information is required. If you can take some time to attempt this short survey, I really appreciate it.

http://www.makesurvey.net/cgi-bin/survey.dll/67DE14A844524F42A451F7B141CC8DC2

FYI, spas are places that provide elements of hydrotherapy, wellness, massage and beauty treatments. In Singapore, the definition of a spa is quite broad. Salons, slimming centres, skin care centres that provide some other spa treatments in addition to their respective specialized areas are also considered to be a spa

lilu

FIL AND SCAM! BEWARE!
Do not respond to their alluring advertisement!
I still feel so angry with their disrespectful attitude and ungracefull selling technique. Spread this to your friends, families & colleagues so they won't be victimised. Their products are overpriced and inferior in quality. Your hard earned money is better spent elsewhere.

fionaallen

i agree with you gals here... i took part in their contest in one of the bridal magazines.. they told me to go down to collect my prize of a spa session. I asked them if there's any catch.. they told me no. Silly me who fall for that.. i went with the intent of getting a nice spa session... in the end the beautician told me it's just a $50 vocuher and asked me to top up with cash for the spa session cos all the spa services obviously cost more than $50!!!

Thank goodness i was firm enough to say no and told them i 've already have a spa package somewhere... After numerous attempts to get me to sign a package and top up the price for a session, the beautician knew i am a cold lead .. I was so pissed when i walked out of the spa! Nevertheless, a pat on my back for being so assertive... kekek

cheesey

I have unpleasant experience with FIL too.

Prior to me signing up the package, the branch manager did not even mention the penalty whereby if you cannot make it for the appointment after FIL has called 1 day to confirm your appointment, FIL go deduct the session even though you did not come for the treatment. I was not happy as it seems that she tricked me. Maybe this is how they earn more.

I signed up back treatment in the hope to get a nice back on my wedding day. Despite the treatments, there is not much of an improvement.

Worse still, during one of my treatment sessions, i accidentally saw my treatment record with some scribbling that i am something wrong. I was shock and annoyed. I fedback to the HQ MD, but she did not gave me a satisfactory explanation.

red_sky

Yes, FIL is terrible. A longgg time ago, I was quite attracted by their $38 facial so I signed up for the package of 10. Each time I went for facial, they wouldn't let me relax but kept trying to sell the products while doing the facial on my face and after it's done, they will usher me into this room and try to sell somemore.

Anyway, I decided to sign up for their 10 ampoules and after that, bought their home skincare products also. In short, that initial expenditure of $380 soon added up to more than $1k.

I can't really say that their facials did help alot cos each time after the facial, there never fails to be pimples popping up on my face. I think it's cos they didn't do the extraction properly or they overstimulated the glands. But after awhile, when the pimples cleared, my face would look clearer, but over time, I did notice some scars and pitholes.

The staff have always been very pushy but there was this particular senior beautician there I found really rude. The breaking point was when, one day after a facial, she sat me down in the consultation room to discuss extending my treatments. She was asking me whether I know A, the branch manager. I said No. She was so shocked and she said in chinese 'A ni bu zhi dao?! Wo bian ni ah! She's the one who signed your treatment to give you the discount'

I mean, hey, so what? How am I supposed to know who's this person A anyway? After that I decided not to go back although I'd 2 more sessions to go. Anyway, like some other people who had written in to this thread, I really dreaded going for the facials each time. Cos I knew after that, I would be getting new pimples the next day.

I have a friend who used to be a beautician. Guess what she told me? She said she always does her facials herself. She never lets any outsiders touch her face. Sigh. But too bad, she has the knowledge and expertise while most of us don't.

jojohmmm

my hubby signed up for a 30 sessions late last year, which can be used for both facial/massage for both of us. so far, no major facial extractions have been done on us. In fact, we feel that their facials are more of a feel-good type of facial than one which does a lot of extractions. So i think so far, both of us have been lucky not to face any problems of pimples popping out after the facials. (though i did experience this at some other facial places before). As the facial is more of like just cleansing and massage and mask, we also did not/have not seen any major improvement in our face. :p

I do agree that their service really is not that good, especially those of their consultants and so-called branch manager. There was once when we took a cab to rush down for our facials only to be made to wait for more than an hour. They had obviously 'let out' the couple room to another new couple, whom i guess they gave priority to even though we had made our appointments a month ago, as they could still have the chance to 'fleece' more money from the new couple to get them to sign up. And the worst thing was, the branch manager had the cheek to keep telling us that 'the room would be ready soon in 5 min as the staff were packing the room', when all the while the couple were still inside doing their facials! That time really pissed me off, and i wrote a long long comment on their feedback form. :p

As for the cancellation of appts 1 day before, we were not told or aware of this also. So far, no deduction has been made on us even though we cancelled our appts the day before.

So far, they had only tried to sell us the ampuoles on the first two sessions. I gave them a firm NO and there had been no more selling after that. (by the way, i have always requested for the same therapists for our facials. so i think they already know that we are not interested to buy their ampuoles so did not sell us anymore.)

All in all, i think there is nothing really great about FIL. Their facials were so-so and the service of the consultants and manager were not up to mark. We have yet to try out their massage though...so no comment on that. Our intention is to finish the package, be it for facials or massages, and move elsewhere.

i did my facials at the dhoby ghaut branch...their services not bad, my skin got improved if i go regularly enuf..

the hard selling part always happens after the facial...seldom during facial..maybe i close my eyes n sleep most of the time. n i always do my facial in their last timeslot of the day so if i'm not keen, they usually dun persist for too long coz they need to knock of mah.

jojohmmm

hi midas,

i went to the dhoby ghaut one as well, at singapore shopping ctr. Are you going there as well, or the one near to plaza singapura? Can i know who is ur therapist by the way?

till now, we have not encountered any hardselling after the facial...luckily. (maybe we still have many sessions to go???) so far, we were only given a comment form to fill after the facial, made our next appt and that's it. hmm...maybe we are always there for the last slot also...so pretty safe so far. lol...

red_sky

Hmm I guess sometimes it depends on which branch you go down to. I went to the one near Plaza Singapura the whole time.

I did ask (on a few occasions) to have the same therapist but they refused, saying it's better to try out different ones. So after that, I just gave it up and let it be. Only the very first therapist who did my facial when I just signed up, was good. There wasn't much redness and I did not have new pimples the next day. The rest were all just terrible...my face was always so red after the facial. My mother even suggested that they were letting the newbies try out on me -_-

faith4ever2

I read about the comments you guys have on FIL. I would like to recommend my beautican who does treatment facial. She is very good but she is homebased. Her price is resonably less expensive too because of that. The most important thing is my complexion had improved alot under her.

She is located in the east, near Aljunied MRT. You can also email her about any doubts you have about face problem. Her email is [email protected]

i went to the one beside plaza sing one...no fixed therapist..so far so gd lor. the treatment i find not bad lah but ex lor n i dun buy their products..too ex unless they gv me free when i add value
so far they wun push too hard if i'm very firm on not taking up their new services.

jojohmmm

hmm...i think it's our right to ask for a certain therapist whom we think is good since the rest cannot make it right?? :p It's our face and our money. I always stand firm on this. When the therapist i requested for is "not free", i cancelled my appt. :D

sleepydopeey

wow didn't know they hard sell until like that even doing facial they will tried to sell you something...my gosh!..for me, facial is a time for relaxation and to just let the therapist do what they shd be gd at meaning make our face clean and 'mei mei' ;)...but if they were to talk and do facial at the same time don't tink i can enjoy much instead i tink i will dread gg in..lcukily that time when i went down to collect the so called vocuher that i have won i din not take up any package and also decide to forgo the voucher though im abit tempted..but recently saw their advertisment on TV..and they make them out like super friendly and trust worthy..did u gals saw the advertismen?

memphist

Hi Ladies!
I'm also a victim of FIL hardselling tactics! After reading this thread, I realise this is their way of business.

I've signed up a package with them in 2004. I've a chubby face & wanted to have a slim face using their Faceslim course. Each session cost $58 & I was made to sign up for 22 sessions (Why in the 1st place, 22 sessions??). Anyway, I signed up & went regularly (once every week) as I was desperately wanting to see fast results. I had even bought home a face cream who was said to be effective

I signed up at the branch at International Building but I realised that they have bad service, even the receptionists arranging our appointments failed to impress. Subsequently, I went on to frequent the branch at Robinson Finance & once or twice, at the Atrium (near PS). Halfway through my sessions, I was being hardsell into upgrading my package at Robinson. Smitten by the urge to see fast results, I upgraded my package! As I went through more & more sessions, I realise the treatments are not working for me! Angered & disappointed, I stopped going for the treatments. By then, the package cost which I paid up by instalments, have all been paid.

Last year, I recevied a call from the International Building branch to fix an appointment as I've not been there for ages (good service, it sounds huh?). So I went for a session, anyway I've to clear my package, why should I let them earn my money for nothing?? After the session there, they wanted me to buy a home care product again. Feeling very angry & taken for a fool, I snapped at the girl, that there have not been any results so far & I have to keep buying the products??! The few girls at the counter all remain silent! Is that a silent confession that they are not delivering results to customers?

Last week, I happended to be free on one of the weekdays & I decided to go for a sessions to clear all my sessions & that's it. I still have abt 10 sessions left, that's worth $1.5K. During the facial session, the branch manager popped in & commented a lot on my face! And told me that the usual treatment I used to have, is no longer available. She wanted to use the value of my 2 sessions to try out a new treatment for me. After the session, as usual, they offered me tea & a chat in a room.

The manager told me now I cant use the treatment cos it is not available, instead she can offer me a conversion using the balance 1.5K I have. I just need to top up another 1.5K to 3K. This 3K is like a stored value package, I can have other treatments as I wish, not to only stick to only 1 type of treatment. Then she blabbers on to persuade me to sign up for 5.6K package! Quoting the benefits of having more discount for signing up for more. All the while I've been keeping quiet, letting her finish wat she's to say.

In the end I told her all my frustrations & bad experience on FIL. Without batting her eyelids, she could told me those bad service personnel have all left FIL & she even showed me testimonials which her customers have written. And their treatments are guaranteed good! I told her in the face that bed service personnel is her company's problem, whether they have left the co or not is not we, the customers' concerns. Also, I told her I want to see results on myself, not based on testimonials from others!

Knowing very well my concern is on results, she doesnt allow me to use my balance on her so called new treatment! I can only top up to the new package or take other old technology treatments the next time I come!!

As a branch manager trying to get more customers & appeased a customer with a bad experience, cant she do something to salvage her customer? Cant she allow the disappointed customer to use the balanceon the new treatment, hoping by any chance that customer can see the results & is happy & might sign up for a new package? Instead of denying herself & the customer of the chance to see results? why should we as the customers, bear the consequences of them stopping a treatment? They stop the treatment & expect customers to accept the new treatment with additional money pump in!! She requested me to sign up for the 3K package to give them a chance to prove themselves! C'mon, I've balance in my package, why cant she use it & make it a chance for herself? It's not me to give her the chance, she did not make use of what she already has! Isnt it obvious that she's eyeing for that extra $$ to pump in from me??!

Bottomline, my conclusion on this will be, FIL has no results to show to the customers. They hardsell for their sales target & are not professional in the skincare industry. They are not customer oriented & are always thinking of their own interest at the expense of the customers

I will just take watever 'old' treatments they have in the list & clear my balance & that's it. No more FIL for me!

bluegolf

They had used the same tactics (as Lynn's)on me about a month ago.

My package was expiring and also asked me to top up to 3K etc, exactly the same. In my mind, i can't wait to finished off my package asap, how attractive the deal maybe i can't be bothered.

I told them i am still paying for my instalment so i cannnot commit another package and i have other commitments.

When i went for my last session, i asked to use my balance for a product instead of a facial, they said OK knowing I won't be coming back again.

I agree totally that going there for facial is very stressful and not all the therapist are good. I also felt embarassed telling people i go there for facial.

It is very "heartpaint" for those money you spent. Well, I am trying to forget this horrible experience and move on.

red_sky

Lynn,
the one at the Atrium is the one near PS right? Yeah, that's the one that I went to the whole time. We might even have dealt with the same woman. They're damn irritating. Not only are they unprofessional, they're also rude and simply incorrigible.

Last time after the facial, my face would always have so many small, red dots. They really squeeze and squeeze all the blackheads, even those that are not ready to come out yet. Even though every time I always told them not to extract so much, they always do it and don't listen to me. After the facial, when they've made my face even worse than when I went in, they would tell me how poor my condition is and how some other treatments can help me. What crap! They're the ones who made it worse in the first place.

Towards the end, I can't even be bothered to go back to finish up my package. Good thing I only had 2 facials left. I stopped going some time early last year. Early this year, I actually received a call from them but decided not to answer it.

xiaxue55

aiyo sooooo scarry... my cousin's frd work in fil and left the place within a wk saying that almost everyday she see customers call n complain .. she so stress so just left.. n i also heard that they make their staff sign contract ..

blooie_sky

I'm also one of those suffering customers of FIL. Can't stand their hard sell tactics after each session. Facials shd be relaxing and enjoying time right? But now I feel very stressed going there. But still got so many sessions left, so have to go and finish up. Just have to be very firm and tell them no time and rush off after facial.

Seems like many big ones are like dat nowadays. My fren with package at Philip Wain complained that nowadays they hard sell too.

Looks like it's better to look for small-time beauticians or DIY at home.

ngfifi

I've contacted FIL when i saw they have special promos for UOB card member

However, decided nt to turn up for their appt upon reading this thread and when their sales contacted me, i juz tell them frankly that i saw negative comment abt FIL and she hurl abuse at me

wat a day