FIL (Face & Body Intelligence)

spotty

Hello! Has anyone tried the facials/treatments at FIL (International Building or Ogilvy Centre)? I was quite attracted by their $58 pricing, but was a little put off by their reluctance to furnish me with sufficient information about the nature of their treatments and hidden costs...and some of the staff are quite pushy and will change their attitudes towards you when you don't buy their expensive add-on products, e.g. $38 ampoules (ridiculously expensive!!)...

I'm also quite worried as I was pushed into taking 15 sessions in a package with them, but the treatments they are using don't seem to be as good as those "tailored" by other salons such as Devotion or Sothys...I'm worried that all my $$$ will be wasted down the drain!!! *sob* HELP!!!

heehee...

I signed up with FIL and added on the ampoules based on their recommendations. After 4 sessions with them, I found that my skin condition has improved, not so oily anymore. So far, has been pleased with their services.

spotty

Oh that's great...was it the facial you did? did you have to sign up for 15 sessions as well? What were the facial treatments like, e.g. extraction, steaming, etc?? Me thinking of trying out their facial too, but dunno whether good or not... :b

heehee...

Hmm...should be facial+treatment, because they cleanse, steam, extract then put on the ampoules. Yes, I signed up for 15 sessions based on the skin analysis.

The beauticians are very thorough. My session with them last about 1.5 to 2 hrs each time.

spotty

Ooh...was the extraction painful at all?? Which girl did it for you? So I guess you had to pay $58+38 each time??

sweetcoco

I have just signed up for the "Anti-cellulite" programme .. 25 sessions ($1450) ... and they are pushy on the products.... and are reductiously expensive .... cos there are a least 3 products required to be purchased... and each cost .. $380/- oh... i dun know if I should get those products..

sirp

I have just signed up for 16 sessions of the ance clear programme at $58/session. They also pushed me to do the whitening programme at the same time, saying it will be more effective. But that would be another 16 sessions of $58!
Can anyone give me more info on their facial treatments? The consultant claim that my problem would be solved by the 16th session and I won't have to go back again!

maya

I used to be a client but never signed on anymore once I finished my last session. I don't like the way they push and push their products or try to make you sign another package. Towards the last few sessions, I dreaded going bec they apparently mark in your file that you're ending your course soon so even tho diff girls attend to you, they will still try to push you to sign. Eventually, I had to lie to them abt why I don't want to continue with them, just to get rid of their tactics.
But I know that prob'ly other places does the same thing so they may not be too diff. I had tried their slimming, facial sessions and personally didn't think they were very effective but I must add that I didn't follow their diet plan which required me to eat like a fly!

feb

Who is your beautician? Me also sign up with FIL and have Lina to do the facial for me.However everytime after the facial, i always have headache leh..dunno is it because of the way she do the massage to my head...

sue

I also signed up with them but I don't seem to get a fix beautician. Whoever is free will attend to me. Must agree that they are very hard selling & pushy in selling their pdts. But, I was also very firm & reject them all the time. Told them that my budget is $58 per facial & dun try to sell anything to me. A bit regret signing up with them & it's 19 times!!

cassie

i went for a consultation recently and was also a bit put off by their reluctance to tell how the facial is being done. what's the $58 acne package like? how do they do their extraction, squeezing or by machine? do they tell you that the treatment won't be effective if you don't buy the ampuoles or their products? sorry for having so many questions, but the consultant says they don't do trials and refuses to say much. the only reason i'm considering at all is because she says she will throw in eye or neck treatments, and she guarantees i will be able to see results after 15 sessions. anyone can let me know a bit more about how their facials operate, and if your skin's much better after the treatments?

thanks very much!

am

they really hard sell...i was told that i won a $100 voucher from them..when i went there..they really hard sell until i had to smoked my way thru to get off....SCARY leh...really pissed off by their hard sell tactics...no trial..if u wanna go for one time treatment..hv to pay original price of $200 i think...wah...stupid rite...a facial doesn't cost that much...if anyone of u is interested..i can find the voucher for u..n give it to u FOC...coz i won't be using it anyway..but i hv to search for it..coz i dunno if i threw it away liao or not..hehe:p

jade

Hi cassie,

I agreed with am that they really hard-sell.
but, you need to be firm with them

their services are not bad, but you should find the 'correct/ suitable' person to do the facial for you
it's quite value for money
dun worry, even without ampoules, it still work well (dun be affected by what they tell you, (that you need this and that...)

i acutally requested that no 'selling' during my facial giving the excuse that i would like to rest and sleep. hee hee

sue

Hi Cassie, I've been going to FIL for about 6 mths & I signed up for 19 session. They are pretty good & I can see my face getting clearer & cleaner. So far, I've only bought 5 anti-ance ampoules & when I finished, they asked me to get the whitening ampoules. During the facial, they will also try to sell you products but just be firm. Like what Jade said, can tell them that you want to rest & most of the time, I went after work so I tell them I'm very tired & want to rest. When she sells me products, I told them I prefer to use my Estee Lauder.

cassie

hi am, jade and sue,

thanks for your feedback! i'll think on it a few more days since you've mentioned there is some improvement after signing up. btw, which branch are you attending and any beauticians to recommend (or would definitely NOT recommend, heheh)? thanks!

oreo

Just to tell/warn those of you out there about FIL.

I submitted a lucky draw coupon from the current issue of Her World Brides to FIL. They called me to go down and collect the voucher. Once there, the lady starts commenting on how bad my skin was & doubted the facial that I was going to (so unprofessional). I learnt that for their package of $58 per session, you have to sign up at least 15 sessions & they'll recommend you at least 2 kinds of treatments. No trial at all cos they "don't believe in trials - can't see effect in one session". If you insist in a trial session, you have to pay $200. If you decide to take it up after that, the $200 will be used to offset part of the package. If not, it means you'll have to pay $200 for the trial! (extortation!) I, personally, think that if your product is good, you don't have to impose such rules(penalties?) to your customers, right?They don't give you time to think too. You have to decide on the spot whether you want or not.
Anyway, as I was not feeling well, i just told them that I'm not interested and I will want a reasonably-priced trial before I'm willing to 'invest' in them. they still didn't give me the voucher.
When they first called me, they say that the voucher is transferable but when I go down, they say that I must get the friend to go down and hear their sales-talk to be applicable for the voucher. Btw, the voucher is not applicable for spa treatments.
Somehow, they give me the impression that their main motive is sales and not service. just fyi. In case any of you submitted the voucher too.

enss88

Wld like to share wif u all my horrible experience wif FIL. Recently I was quite attracted by its advertisement of $30/session facial. Then me n my fren went down for consultation. Who koes when we were there, the branch mgr was super pushy, insisted that no trial allowed and 1 us signed up the package. Still claim that they customized d package according to our face condition and were confident and quite secretive tat their treatment wld do wonders on my face. But who koes she juz simply recommend the same package to both me n my fren by juz looking at our face fr where she sat. Not even a detailed analysis of our condition (so unprofessional). Guess all she concern abt is close the sales, since she asked signed up 3 type of treatments per session, Clean, Young and White, costing $90 per session. As this is our first time to facial salon, we can’t handle the pushy tactics so no choice but to yield and signed up 10 sessions.

Yesterday, I juz went to the 1st session wif my fren. As usual, they hard sell during the treatment and their products. But tis time round equip wif previous experience, I can handle them beta and reject them directly. However, I was super duper disappointed wif the results of the facial, the beautician juz do a quick and sloppy job in clearing my pores, clogs and black heads after I refused to add-on treatments. And the so-called treatment is juz a normal facial, nothing great and not as gd as they claim. And it does not command the price of $90 at all…Feel tat instead of improving my face condition, I feel even more stress during the treatment by the hard sell and pressurizing sales tactics and cause me frown even more and worsen my condition instead… In any case, share the experience wif you all so tat u all wun fall into the same sales gimmicks.

butterfly

Hi enss88,
Yes yes yes, i agree 100% with you.. FIL hard sell and their treatment is also not that good like what they believe to be...

Just like you, i was attracted by their ads on the papers. So i called them up and went down for the consultation. And yes, they did not use any machines or other technologies to check our condition. They simply use their eyes to judge the condition.. Then i was forced to sign up for 15 sessions! Being a beginner in all these things, i had no other choice but to sign up with them. On the phone, they said that i can pay in installment. BUt at the FIL shop itself, they reasoned out that this is a promotion price. So have to pay in full. What can i say?

Then i was very hesitant to spend more money, so i asked them whether i would have to buy any extra things/products. And the answer was NO. So i went off happily, trusting them.

When i went for my 1st session, the senior beautician asked me (well, forced is the better word) to buy their products. They say this will reduce the problem even more. And the result will last for about 15 years or so. That was their reason. I ad to fork out another $1500 just to buy these useless extra products! My treatment was for my back, but they sold me face masks! How ridiculous!

All in all, i had to spend about 2K+++ for my 15 treatments and up till now (i had gone through 3 sessions), there is no result yet! And they said to 'trust' them.. HA haaa.. Don't know until when must trust them.

And yes, even during my 3rd session, they are still selling their products to me! And those products costs about $400. I just find it too ridiculous!

Anyway, to all the ladies who are considering FIL, think twice ok... Unless you have lots of money to spend, then don't ever visit FIL!

suet

Hi enss88 & butterfly, I strongly agree with both of you. They are very hard selling. What I do is pretend to sleep & ignore the gal when she tries to sell, just dun respond to her. I'm glad that I'm left with 2 more sessions to go. I've complained to the branch mgr that I feel very stressed going for facial instead of relaxing. After that, the hard selling seems to stop. Try that.

enss88

Hi Butterfly and Suet,

Suet really feel glad tat u only left only 2 sessions. I still got 9 more to go, really feel dread of goin. Tink everytime go muz b on alert mode and tink of ways to counteract their hard sell tactics... stressed ah...
Butterfly: u mean u signed up the FIL massage package ah since u mention yr treatment is meant for yr bk? Hw their massage skills? is it gd? massage oso muz sign package ah, so inflexible...

pingping

Hi gals, juz to share with u my experience.

Fil is very gd at hard selling and their service is terrible.
I signed up with them last year for 8 sessions, actually it was supposed to be 20 sessions. but it'll cost me $3k pls. So i signed for e 8 sessions which cost $1.4k. Same as some of u, I was green so i succumbed to their hard sell tactics. I feel stressed going for the facial cos their extraction is so painful and i end leaving e salon with a swollen face. As my skin is sensitive, it can't handle harsh extraction. My skin didn't get better after 3 sessions cos after the facial, e area that was being extracted will be filled with pus. My scars and pimples didn't heal but only inrease. THe facial is called Organic facial which is supposed to reduce the scars in a shorter time than the other facials. It uses machine but it didn't help and it's expensive ($178.50/session).
When i was finishing e pkg, they keep selling me diff facial pkgs and they throw in free poducts to get me to sign up. I didn't sign up as i hv lost trust in them cos they do not care abt e customers' needs at all. they are concerned abt closing deals. My advice is don't sign up with FIL.

raphael

Hi everyone..
i'm really very shock to see so many negative comments on FIL. I also just signed up 10 sessions of Organic Peel and Clear and White facial package, cost me 3K+! My hubby is still very angry for me signing up with them so i asked FIL if i can do a refund but they don't allow so now i'm trying to sell off the package to someone who has been there and like their service...but seems like now its gonna be very diff for me to sell the package away
Can anyone help me on this?

suet

Hi ens88, I'm now left with one session. Went for one session last night. When they hard sell, try telling them that your hubby has been posted overseas so you'll need to go along and you hv no interest to sign up with them again.

butterfly

Hi sue,
What a good idea you gave! It's really very irritating when they try to sell their products and package ya.. I wonder how many loyal customers they have.. MAybe all the tai tais only! All i want is to see the results. That's all. Then they would have 1001 reasons to force me to buy their products so (1) results can be seen faster, (2) results will stay longer (3) product is really good and not sold anywhere else --> dooh!, and many other reasons! It's just too ridiculous.

Raphael,
It would be quite hard for you to find someone else to take over your package ya.. But keep looking lah.. Or maybe split your package into 2 lor.. You take half and sell the other half. So it's not too expensive for you and for that someone you're going to sell the pacakge to.. Just giving you suggestions.. Don't know whether it's do-able or not..

laine

Think my case is by far the worst...
Signed up at FIL around 2 years back.. because that time suddenly got very very bad breakout.. was quite 'desperate' and think they could see that so they hard sell me so many things.. in the end spent more than $3k..
the worst thing was that i felt that the facials made my face much worse and whenever i complained to them they kept insisting must squeeze more ....
in the end decided to forgo all the money i spent and went to see a skin doctor..
It was a very bad experience.. didnt even try to go back to get my $$ back because i really fed up with them.
so my advice is... if can dun try FIL...

raphael

Hi Butterfly..
thanks for your suggestions..i'm trying split the package into half as well..see who's interested..haiz..very demoralising..

riz

Hi gals, totally agreed with what you gals had mention above... well for me its a extremely bad experience...(happen to my sister) after the arrival of my baby, the worst nightmare has came onto me as i put on 23kg so i was so desperate to regain my figure and complexion of face. through a friend recommendation, i visited FIL, the consultant add tears to my saddness that i need at least 50 sessions for slimming, 20 sessions for face slim that cost me a total of $8500... she was so pushy that she held me back for more that 4 hours to her entire consultantion, at last i signed for this package tat made me regret till now. last but not least, on the first session i went...again the therapist and consultant push me to buy their slimming products and amps that COST $3800... I rejected and went home to inform my hubby about it. Definately fumming mad, he went down to FIl and ask for a refund. anyway like the rest of the above-mention cases, i didnt manage to get a refund and now i have to drag myself there for the next 30 sessions.....

raphael

I went to CASE but too bad, the claim was unsuccessful..The officer told me that its very diff to make a claim against them cos currently there are no rules and regulations against the beauty industry. Very sad...

butterfly

Hi LeeRiz,
My heart goes out to you... I thought my case was bad. Now that i read yours, it just seems so terrible! The sales ladies there are so heartless. All they care about is money, money and money! They have so much secrets and lies behind their business processes. I wonder why so many people are still visiting fil? The girls are so pushy, have no respect for the customers, lie to the customers. What more can i say? Reading your story makes me even more angry.. How could they???

riz

Hi butterfly.

thanks for your understanding. I agreed with you that they don't concern of our needs once they got our money.I really hate myself for being so foolish but what to do... in fact my hubby didnt blame me as he is also at fault but anyhow really don't wish to go there anymore... so stress up, no results and kept asking us to buy buy buy!!! recently i cant even book my appt as they are fully book-(Book 1 week in advance and moreover during their off peak timing) i guess they knew that i won't buy from them anymore thats why they don't give me a slot- Just imaging i didnt went there for a month- how to finish my package?

all ladies out there- take our advise, Don't ever try FIL or else you will regret for life...

butterfly

Hi LeeRiz,
Just a suggestion, call up other FIL shops and make appointments with them. I was actually referred to the FIL at The Atrium (beside Plaza spura), and easily got a slot there. They have 18 room there. So now onwards, will be going there to finish up my treatments asap! So no need to have any more things to do with them... HA haa!

suet

Hi LeeRiz, yes. Book the Atrium one. I finished my package there too! I usually book 4 appt each time so that I dun hv to call so often. During my final session, they asked me to sign up for slimming (I'm pregnant now) so that once confinement is over, I can go to them. I rejected them & the gal kept saying that exercise is useless, must use those machine to breakdown the fat. Terrible......

jacko_wacko

i am a customer of FIL at Int'l bldg and altho' i must admit that they are quite pushy when it comes to sales but i must say that their facials yield good results, at least for me.
i also agree that to get an appt with them is really hard, that's the only irritating thing but if i tell my consultant that i really want that slot, she'll get it for me.
i also have many sessions with them and a SPA membership. i don't intend to sign anymore cos' it's rather costy and i have other priorities now. so to those who have signed up, don't be disheartened or upset. try to relax and enjoy the treatment. just don't buy anymore if you're really uncomfortable.

yours_truly

I am a customer of FIL and I really regretted signing up with them. I have been with them for about one year now and their service is getting from bad to worse. The therapists are really pushy and they have screwed up my booking more than once. Recently, during one of my sessions with them, the therapist actually brought the calculator in and started pushing packages to me when I was having my mask on. Talk about relaxing during facials..

Anyway, whoever has the intention to sign up with FIL; DON'T.

kori

I have just signed up a 15 session package with FIL last nite at The Atrium. Does anyone have a recommendation on the therapists? I want someone who is professional and not pushy.

suet

Hi Kori, I've not come across a really good therapist because it's always different pple doing facial for me. Even though, when I signed up, they told me that I can try out & let them know who I like & they can fix appt for me with that staff. It never happen!

kori

Thanks Sue.

I discovered this forum only after I have signed up. After reading all the reviews, I am quite disheartened. Hopefully my experience will not be too bad.
Do they really conduct a survey after each facial? Is it effective to give our comments?

I am not those firm type and I am worried being pushed to spend another few K on their products. Have you come across therapists who will do a sloppy job when you reject their "recommendation"?

butterfly

Hi Kori,
I'm also doing my treatment at the Atrium. And it's always a different therapist on every visit. And i didn't care about asking them to give me the same therapist. Even the same therapist has different mood on different days. HA haaa! So i thought just accept whatever they give lor. But must tell you, stick with the Atrium. They are so much better than those at the Int'l building <-- All got such bad attitude!

Anwyay, just like what Jacqueline said, enjoy and relax lah. HA haa.. Maybe it's better said than done cos i only have 4 more treatments with them! And i can't wait to finish it! And till now, NO RESULT! They said to trust them.. HAaa.. All talk rubbish one!

jelapang

I'm doing my treatment at Atrium and Robinsons. Both are conveniently located and the therapists are much more patient and polite as compared to other branches.

I've tried several of their therapists and would recommend the following - @Atrium ask for Lisa if you want face treatment (her extraction skill is so much better than the younger gals). Hamida for sliming (if you like malay massage - which uses more strength) - @Robinsons,ask for Rosemary.

Enjoy your treatment!

mackoh

Hi Gals, I am a new victim!!. They are super pushy. After reading the forum, i then realized a lot of us fell into their trap. Very often they will bring us to their consultation room &amp; start to push their products to us. As for my case, two beauty consultants were pushing real hard, they kept me in that little room for close to an hour. Eventually I sign up the package in order to get out of the situation. I went back to them within half an hr requesting to cancel it but they refused. I have escalated the case to their head office &amp; had a talk with their CEO. She was telling me that mine is the 1st case &amp; FIL has never encountered such request. Man! They are lying. In Fact, i have spent like $6600 in total within 7 months!!! They have been pushing new products to me every other alternate month when i visit them. It has been stressful. I am determined to cancel the last package that i sign up.. I went to CASE, but after reading of article, it may not be useful. But i will not give up; i will file with small claim tribunal. We need to fight for our own consumer right. In fact if we will to read carefully on the invoice that we signed, it states ... "Goods &amp; service rendered is not returnable &amp; non refundable" For those package that we had signed but they have not performed the service why can't we request for the cancellation? The MD told me that i have signed on the card, referring to the customer profile card. But that was something that i signed on my very 1st visit back in Mar, they simply just add on the new package to the flowchart &amp; hold me to my signature. That is very unprofessional. Those who have been pressured into signing the package, i will advice to stand up for your rights, for those who are considering them; my advice is drop the idea.

greenie

eeeee... so scary... recently i juz visited them, and it was coz i participated in a lucky draw in some magazines which i cant rem. they said i wasnt one of the winners but coz i showed interest when i partcipate in the contest, thus they "out of goodwill" called me up and gave me a $50 voucher.

the gal wasnt that pushy and coz she had said it was a "no obligation" thing, i din sign up anything. she tried to pusk for a membership, think it was like $1K+.... but i maintained that i am hvg my wedding soon and will not have that much $$$ to spare. that helped to stop her pushing.

then i said i might b interested in their spa and might take up wif a fren, and left.

mackoh, u spent so much? did u utilise their services then?

joymmt

I am somewhat a victim... having also spent a few thousand dollars. Have been with them almost 2 years, usually forced into upgrading my treatments. They will hard sell when your face is stuck with mask and you have no place to run. Face condition and service ok lah... I gave in to their sales pitch and now my facial is costing me from $58 to $250 per session now. Heart-pain lor!

Mac, FIL boss was featured in the Straits Time back together with the other big bosses from Expressions etc...Do you remember the article where all these lady bosses of beauty salons are staying in big houses with lavish decor? Yah lah, people like me and you have paid for their houses. Sigh

Keep telling myself I will finish off the balance treatments asap and get the hell out of here!

mackoh

Hi Starz, I still have like 23 more sessions (including the new ones) to go
i am not that lucky compared to you. In fact i told them that i am preparing my wedding too but that doesn't make them back off.... they even go to the extend asking me to commit &amp; then do my budgetting later. I am under undue influence &amp; pressure to sign the package. They were supposed to provide me black &amp; white stating that they reject my request last Fri but their MD mentioned they have to consult their legal counsel &amp; will definately get back to me by Mon but i have yet hear from them. They are truely a bunch of unprofessionals. But never mind I will follow up with them.

Joy, i remember that..... ya we have contributed to their success but they are not placing customer statisfaction as priority. I am guessing the $250 per session that u signed up is called the SPL ??

pepper

HI gals i also have beena long time customer of FIL. i find that usually my facials are good because i don come out with redness but it depends on who is the person doing the facial extraction. i also signed up for their platinum membership but i can tell you, u better don coz once u signed up they try ways and means not to allow u to use that amount to try new machines/products. i was so mad at them. how the membership work is that u pay $3000 cash and u can use this amount to pay for ur subsequent treatments at 20% discount. recently i wanted to try their SPL and they said cannot use the $3K and need to use cash instead. i told them it isso unfair that i tied up my money with them and still have to pay cash. and i told them that they did not make it clear to me on the outset when i took up the memebership. all they told me was that i can try all their treatment and products. Now they say that it is only for those old/existing treatments excluding new ones. it is ridiculous, like thjat my privileges is worse than those who didnt join as member coz they can have the flexibility. i tolds them SPL is not a new technology and has been in the market for a long time.

anyway beware when u sign on any package, they will try ways and means to get u to pay in cash still. i am so disappointed with them

nafnaf

they do alot of hardselling.. thisi do not dispute.
but i give them credit on the miracles they work on my face.
i used to have blemish marks on my face.. now they are all gone after 8 sessions of FIL clear &amp; 8 sessions of FIL white &amp; of coz 8 collagen masks &amp; 8 whitening ampoules. they are expensive though.. but i thot it was all worth it.

i nv ever imagine i could get back my clear skin after just 8 sessions.
now i just go once a month to maintain my face.
i am oso very amazed that my face has nv become reddish after the extraction. so that makes me stayed with them.

i do not visit their spas.
i am with FIL at far east finance bldg.

babyship

Hi ladies, I've got 12 sessions of FIL clear skin to sell off and 5 acne ampoules at cost price. I'm also throwing few sessions of neck contour and eye brown shaping and eye treatment for thsoe that I want to take up the remaining of my package. Interested parties email me at [email protected]