Facial at "Modern Beauty"

I bought the VIP package from modern beauty. I quite please with their facials and back treatments...however, I have not try other treatments...any of u tried any package for brides...any body scrubs package? What is included in the package and is it good??

Dear Modern Beauties wannabe

I've a complaint to make, which I'll shortly raise to CASE with regard to MB's unethical sales tactics.

I was lured into the lion's den with that seemingly attractive $20 voucher. However, during the trial facial, the manager (mamasan Angie) disrupted my session while I was still lying on the bed in that vulnerable state (wrapped in towels and robe) by pressurising me to sign up the $660 (7 + 3 free sessions). Like many victims, I thought I made a fabulous worthwhile deal cos for $66 per session, I could select from 30 different treatments on MB's menu. From the mamasan's own mouth, she told me I could pick any treatment each time I go there, thus giving me the impression that I could make that choice to use how many 'credits' I like every time.

After feeling super stressed up, I finally relented (much to my regret). And guess what, I had to be disrupted yet a second time during my trial session when she came in with the darn CONTRACT that I had to sign there and then lying down with my face half-done!!!

She also told me and the beautician serving me that based on her assessment of my face condition, I would need to use up 1 out of the 3 free 'credits' that were given to me. In other words, my so called $20-worth first trial turned into a REAL session where I was coerced into spending one of my 10 credits. The so called $20 session was ruthlessly converted into a full-fledged $66-worth session due to the deduction of a 'free' credit (eye treatment which merely constituted rubbing some eye gel on my lids and wiping it off).

The following month, I made a second appointment. I was totally disgusted that although they purported that they have some 40+ beds, they had arranged for me to share a room with another customer! They claimed that all rooms were full that Monday evening and insisted that I use the 'double room'. Reluctantly, the beautician closed the door behind her and left me wondering if I should strip down to my panties and change into the robe with the customer and her beautician in THAT SAME ROOM!

Of course, I changed my mind and fought for my rights! Rushing out of the room, I surveyed the other rooms down the aisle, only to find empty single-bed rooms! I screamed at the beauticians and insisted using those vacant rooms. To me, Monday evenings are off-peak hours. How dare they lied to me and made me share a room with another lady?

Anyway, to make the long story short, the beautician cleaned my face and summoned that mamasan Angie into the room again to assess my face condition for that month. Wow! This time round, she told her subordinate to strike off 2 credits, including using my second 'free credit' (soft mask). Once again, the mamasan marched into the tiny little room with pen and acknowledgement slip and forced me to sign it while I was in bed!

My third visit there was 2 months later since I thought I could spread out using those credits over a longer span of time. I also acted smart by telling the receptionist in advance I wanted a single room (after the bad experience last time). Much to my dismay and indeed, disgust, the beautician led me into a FOUR-BED room this time and told me that all rooms were fully booked. What nonsense... I looked into all the rooms again to find empty beds. After insisting on my rights, they agreed to let me use the single bed room.

During this appointment, the mamasan forced me to use 3 credits, that is to say, $66 X 3 = $198.00 session was therefore gone. In addition, she schemingly persuaded me to sign on another promotional package (again, 7+3 sessions) worth $540, and promising that she would waive 1 of those 3 credits that I spent that day if I did so.

I did not of course. She was irritating enough to try to sell yet another 10-session eye treatment worth of $300 to me. I declined and left the salon, feeling terribly harrassed.

Modern Beauty SUCKS. Instead of enjoying your 90-120 min facial session in a relaxed mode, you have to listen to the beautician's non-stop sales talk and the frequent intrusions by the mamasan. You are almost obliged to reply 'YES' or 'NO' to that woman, with that restricting taut mask on your face because you wanted to reject any contracts that they wish to make you sign under such duress.

LADIES, I URGE THAT YOU DO NOT PATRONISE THAT SALON, NOT MATTER WHAT THEY SAY TO YOU ABOUT ADA CHOI OR SAMMI CHENG'S PATRONAGE OF THEIR HK BRANCH. The place is worse that you can think of. Cold cotton pads, professed Italian creams and equipment, creaky beds, tacky decor, unscrupulous managers, talkative beauticians who cannot speak English at all.

I intend to use up all my credits and vow never to walk into that 'CHEENA-OBIANG salon again.

I'm also a MB customer, and took up their $699 package since 2001(2 yr contract). Till now I'm only using 2 credit. During the process, a mgr came in and persuade me to sign up the oxygen mask package since my skin required(according to her). I told her can we discuss it later and she agreed.
After the facial, she try to persuade again, but I told her that I rather use the 1 more credit for each time coz' I'm don't do facial regularly, and its expiry soon(Jan 03). I also told them my hubby manage my spending strictly(he will nag and nag if I spend too much :P )and even thou' they offer term payment. I said NO. I took 15 Minutes to reject their offer.

When she told me I have used up 4 credits (2* facials), I told her that first facial is a mag contest, I won it, its FOC. Those additional ones are given by the package when I signed up. Hmm.. thou' I haven't been to their salon for v.long time, I can remember things I suppose to have it. Frankly speaking, I'm quite easy to talk to but just don't test my patient lor. :P Never thou' a tamed cat won't revenge.. hahaha..
Anyway, I'm going to use up all my credits before my wedding. Will I continue with their package? I dunno yet, but quite put off by their hard selling attitude. Hopefully they won't do it again. BTW, they only have 1 lady mgr?

I'm also a customer of Modern Beauty. Introduced by a fren's fren, I dragged my mum to go wif me for the 1st trial. It was indeed not a bad service and we had taken up a package worth 55 times for $2550 (shared bet me and my mum). Tough it's a pinch to fork out $$ at a time, but to think of long term, one session is abt $40.

Though every session they would try to persuade you to use more than 1 credit, but if u are persistent, they wont really force you. Guess they are ok generally at least they dun force u to buy their pdts.

Rdgs

I signed up for VIP package, 100 credits with Modern Beauty 2 years ago. They used to be quite good but in the last half year or so, their service has turned worst and worst as they keep recruiting new members without expanding their personnel or room capacity.

You are allowed to book appointment one week in advance. Now, in order to book for a facial appointment at peak hour (after work hours), you will have to call at 10 am sharp one week before your desired appointment date or else 8 out of 10 times, you won't be able to get any appointment slot. It is easier to get through the radio station than getting appointments with them nowadays!

Although I still have so many credits left, I haven't been going back very regularly as it is just too damn difficult to get appointment. I feel so ripped off since I have paid up for all the facials already but cannot make use of it.

I fully agree with honeybee....TERRIBLE SERVICE. Not only is it difficult to get a booking, even if I called one week in advance, I am told it is fully booked. In addition I had bought a buy 3 get 9 facials and after the 3rd session (using 2 credits) I was persuaded to top up more money for more facials. I have only used the facials twice!! Also, the managers will not let you go but continue to persuade u persistently to sign up and pay more. It was only when I raised my voice to complain that they stopped.

Those who are considering signing up or even stepping into the salon better think twice or even thrice. You'll regret like i did. I benefited a lot from this forum but I greatly regretted not heading the advice of other members of this beauty salon.

hi honey bee and fushia

I blasted MB many months ago for the 'coercion' sales tactics that tried to impose on me to utilise more than one credit each time. Because of the forced diagnosis, I had to waste 3 credits each visit, and had no freedom to pick whatever treatment I wanted.

Pls scroll up and read about my ordeal!

Last week, I had yelled at them to complain that they do not have enough beds to cater for the booming (purportedly) 5000 membership, somewhat like Raffles Town Club which gave out too many memberships when they did not have enough facilities.

I demanded for a refund of my remaining unused credits, but they refused flatly saying that I needed to consume all my credits. I scolded them saying that HOW ON EARTH DO U EXPECT ME TO USE MY CREDITS WHEN I CANNOT EVEN GET THRU THE HOTLINE AND SECURE A PEAK HOUR SLOT?

I told them I wanted to lodge a complaint and they told me to fax in only. So I took their fax and threatened to bring the case to CASE and to the HONG KONG Modern Beauty main branch as I was going there that same week for business coincidentally. They panicked and told me that HK is of a diff franchise and said it would be useless to complain there.

I went on yelling and yelling over the phone and said my photoshoot was due next month and if they did not have slots for me, how could I appear for my wedding pics? I also criticised them for this stupid policy that only allows members to dial in for appts one week in advance. I literally had to watch my clock and when it struck 10 am, I had to engage in aggressive redialling to compete with other members vying for the hot evening slots.

Then MB tried to convince me to book the afternoon slots. I scolded them : YOU THINK EVERYONE DOESN'T NEED TO WORK, IS IT? IF WE DON'T NEED TO WORK, HOW CAN WE EARN MONEY AND PAY TO ALL THOSE PROMOTIONS THAT MODERN BEAUTY IS TRYING TO SELL TO ME? YOU SHOULD EXPECT EVERYONE WANTS TO BOOK EVENING SLOTS. YOU SHOULD INCREASE YOUR ROOM CAPACITY AND CATER FOR THE DEMAND AND NOT FORCE ME TO GO TO TRAS ST BRANCH WHEN MY OFFICE IS ONLY NEARBY AT BOAT QUAY. I WOULDN'T EVEN SIGN UP WITH YOU, IF NOT FOR YOUR SALON'S PROXIMITY TO MY OFFICE!

Sigh...they placated me and said they would revert before I flew off to HK. That afternoon, I received their call to confirm I'd secured a mush sought after 6.30 pm slot. Weird...the other sales lady told me no way to get a slot that day, bla bla bla, that no one would release slot for me...

That treatment, I must say, was my BEST one so far after 9 tortuous months with MB. They assigned a senior beautician and gave me Single Room #1. The massage was lengthy and well done. She asked me what treatment I needed at first. I told her to use up all my 3 remaining credits as I did not want to join them anymore. I'd rather go to Sothys.

The previous session was worse, they assigned a sick beautician who was sniffing and sneezing right above my head throughout the sessions. She was blowing/scratching her nose and massaging my face at the same time! Super unhygienic. At several stages, she had to excuse herself to blow her running nose. Not sure if she washed her hands before touching my face...As she was too ill to work for the full session, she shortchanged me by 30 min of treatment! I complained to the sales manager and wrote a poor feedback for that girl. I wish I had exchanged for another staff to service me.

I agree their service at Pidemco has deteriorated terribly since they opened 2 or 3 years ago. It is a terrible practice to allow members to book only 1 week in advanced.

The one at pidemco will be closing soon because the building is pulling down. I thought i share this with you gals. My last facial appt, i tried calling 2 weeks to get an appointment at 6 pm but i could never get through. i got fed-up, as i worked in the same building, i waited till it was 10 am and went down over the reception counter to make the appt. No one was on the phone, i suspected that they just switched off the ringing tone. The receptionist told me it is fully booked for the appointment i want exactly a week later. I was so surprised. I said how can that be, it is just past 10 am. There was a manager sitting behind her eating breakfast..she heard me and she told the receptionist to give it to me. I was so puzzled. I finally got the appt, but i felt horrible because it makes you wonder what is this one-week appt window frame about.

As you know they have this VIPs members, i really suspect they give priority to them for after work appts.

Anyway, the beautican that did my facial told me alot. She said that the management sucks and they are currently facing lack of beauticans, that explained why so difficult to make appts. Lots of them come and go.

I have only 2 more credits left and after reading this forum, i definitely will not renewed.

If i do not work in the same building as them, i think it is going to be worst making an appt after work. Who can afford to go during off peak hours..me not tai tai leh.

hi May

Same too. I called at 11 am and always fully booked by the time someone picks up the phone. You see, they never pick up the phone at 10 am. I swear I called and called until 11 am, it is just that my office is at Republic Plaza so I couldn't leave everything behind and spot check on them.

Yes, they give priority to VIP members and my friend is one of them. She has given out many vouchers on behalf of MB and gotten many victims like me to join, so she got lots of benefits from MB. I never get to use the single beds. Always give me double bed one...

May, do not renew anymore. On your last trip, use it for the Face Complex treatment and close the case forever.

Thanks for sharing with me that they are tearing down Pidemco. It is a god-forsaken Capitaland property.

Hi MB Blaster,

Thanks for sharing your experiences at MB.

I find your writings extremely candid and forthright. And I do like your strong character (quite like mine).

I signed up with MB about a year ago and have used up 7 credits so far (mainly for facials). The first few visits always ended with the manager attempting to pressurize me into signing up for more packages. Can you imagine being asked to sign up for 10 or 20 more sessions during your very first visit? Ridiculous! I always turned them down. Thereafter, they knew I was no easy target and never asked me again.

I must admit, however, that I do find their facials quite relaxing. Thank goodness I don't need to go through all the hassle of making appointments for peak hour sessions since my husband usually sends me there on Sundays (which is off-peak).

Hi everybody,

I am also one of the many victims in this Modern Beauty scam. I have several friends who are facing the same situation as everybody else participating in this forum.

First, I would like to clarify, there is no special privilege for VIP or Super-VIP members, for my friends and I am in one of the above-mentioned categories and we still go through one lotfa hell to get a slot, and most of the time, in vain.

Second, I would like to find out if anyone of you out there has filed a written complaint with the Modern Beauty local management and/or the Hong Kong Modern Beauty management? If yes, can you share with us the response from the management and also provide the address of the Hong Kong headquarter. I read one of the posted message depicting that the manager/sales personnel claimed that the Singapore branch has nothing to do with the Hong Kong branch which I reckon it's another lie!

Third, I would also like to find out if anyone has actually logged a case with CASE? I mean a case which is accepted and taken up by CASE, thus putting Modern Beauty to investigation.

Thks in advance for any feedback.

Hi Cherie, I'm also a VIP member of Modern beauty. Had signed with them 2 years ago and along the way, i upgrade my membership to a VIP member.

Well, whether as a VIP or normal members, there is still lots of difficulties in booking for appointment. Last time, i used to have a single room, then to two per room and finally to er....my last trip was a total of dun noe how many beds per room.

When requested for a single room, they said that single room only for members going for bust firming and massaging.... Seriously, i dun noe wat i sign up with....

At first, they say sign up as VIP members, will give free soft mask and eye mask for every sessions. But that is not true. They only give 25 credits for free soft mask (1 credit) and eye mask (1 credit), not 100 credits. They cheated me in believing it!!

Anyway, now i jus try to go there every month for normal facial and deduct 1 credit as my membership was extended to 5 years!!

Hello, hv anyone been to the new centre at Tanjong Pagar? Heard the one at Pidemco Centre no more liao?

Any number to call them....they never write to me abt the moving leh!!

oh well, typical bad service as usual. you have to call this number to book appointments now 63274998.
the tanjong pagar outlet is OK.

Hi gwnn, thks for ur information!
Will call them to make appointment!!

Seriously, i hate to go for their facial, always try to "sell" their treatment to you while u r laying down......

But me still left lots of Credits!!

GRRRR... I just called MB and guess what they said. THEY CAN'T confirm the booking slot for next friday. I thou' if we call today, we will able to know whether is there any available slot for next Friday??? I ask them why since this is a booking number, and they said they can only call to confirm with me tomorrow 12PM as they have too many calls coming in and they need to clear the calls first.
9842.gif

I really really regretted to join them.

Romona, cannot confirmed today one lah.... if u call today hor, u can only confirmed on next Thursday one!!

They very terrible one!! Last time, I complained to them when i was there, so they allow me to make a one mth in advance bookin.....But they tell me other customer got no problem leh.... Seems like not true!!

I also regret joining!!
What package u sign with?

It's bullshit! Everyone else has the same problem. Now, their strategy is to let every memeber go for facial at most once a month only. When you call to book, they can only confirm the booking the next day because they need to go and find out when was your last visit. If your last visit is within the last 3 to 4 weeks, you will definitely be rejected. This is like the case of the Raffles Country Club lor, over-selling of membership!

I also regret joining so i die die refuse to buy any of their packages or products anymore no matter how attractive the offers are.

my last appointment was 5 weeks ago!!! and i am still unable to book one with them for next week despite two attempts. so sick and tired of this.
gwnn

Girls, don't complain leh. I've stopped going for facial since I was 5 months pregnant, and now that I'm back to work (and my baby already 5 months old, meaning I have not gone for facial for a total of 10 months liao, and I have been calling for the past 1 month and everytime they reject me!!!!

They said that their booking centre starts at 10am, and today I tried calling from 10am till 10.30 then someone picked up my call!!! I also regret signing up liao but I think I still got like 70 credits leh.

Who did you girls complain to huh? Who can I approach, I mean I need to pick my baby up every evening and I'm only able to go facial on friday evening, but can never seems to get it. Sigh.......

I feel like going elsewhere for facial but I've already paid so much there leh.

dear Butter,

Whoever you complain to is the same. I have complained to the representative from Hong Kong, I have complained to the lady (can't remember the name, think she is quite senior) who sits in that big room on the 2nd floor of TP branch, i have complained to several other managers on duty, things remained unchanged. Not only I, my friends too did the same. Oh, btw, i have a very fierce friend, she will call and scold and shout at the managers until they relent. I suggest all of you do the same thing.

The catch here is that all of us have paid up the money, so what can we do? Sometimes, i really asked myself why did i paid so much at a go... i must have been hypnotised at that moment. This really serves as a big lesson.

I have an impulse to gather all MB victims and go on a rally against this MB scam.

Hi MB

Thanks for your advise, but me not a fierce person and I really don't know how to scream and shout at them leh. I feel the pinch after paying so much and for consecutively 5 weeks, they always tell me no slot and offer me another day and time which I cannot make it. I even explained to them that Fri is the only day that I can do it, but still no slot.

Do you think we can write a letter to CASE and sign our names altogether for this scam? I mean they usually offer us another day and time, so can we still say that they are cheating us?

Hi All, i still hv not call them to make appointment. Think i almost two mths never go liao!

Seems like svc still the same! But is it better at the TP branch? Pidemco close down liao??? Sigh... I going ROM next mth.

Other pple go for facial and i also go for facial. Other pple look pretter and i look worst!! They promise me tat they will remind me every mth for facial when i first sign up in 2000 and they DID NOT!! Now i still got lots of Credits!! Sigh.....

Hi MB Customer

Me too. I think I still got 70 credits leh. Pidemco branch close down liao and now TP branch even worst. I think you better go else where for your facial before ROM, or else how to be "mei mei" on that day!

I've tried booking for 5-6 consecutive weeks liao and still no slots, and finally I have to book with Coslab near my house for a facial first cause for more than 10 months I have not gone for facial liao and yet cannot get a slot from them.

Butter, I called them after I post the msg. Dun scare me leh...... Service worst than Pidemco????

They said can only wait till the next day then noe if my booking confirmed! Very stupid hor! So I'll wait till the next day! If they tell me NO, I'm going to scream at them!!

Well, I just wait for tomolo....

Hi All, I waited till now, nobody call me yet!! So I called the booking hotline, and it is engaged!! So guess what, I call the Facial Centre!! And the gal ask me to call booking centre! Tell her <FONT COLOR="ff0000">NO, I not going to do tat!! You are supposed to call me, not the other way!</FONT>

So she got no choice but to check with her booking centre and come back with a disappointing answer!! <FONT COLOR="0000ff">My Booking is not confirmed as there is alot of pple before me!</FONT>

So I shouted at them for cheating my money and breaching of Contract. Hehehee.... Mus be fierce mah!!
Then another lady called me and said to put me on Wait List for next 3 days! Told them to give me proper documentation and they refuse!! Guess they scare we use it as <FONT COLOR="119911">"evidence against them!!"</FONT>

Sigh... regret signing up with MB!!
I advise all of you to record every booking with them. Now I start to record liao!! How can they tell me tat they only left one centre!!
THAT NOT THE POINT!!!!

hi girls...
finally managed to go for facial yesterday...phew...
anyway, good news is they have a new outlet opening in robinson tower (shenton way area) next month, so hopefully it'll be easier to get bookings.

hi, anyone ever try the oxygen mask before? They told me since I'm old customer to them, they give me a specialy first time trial, I just need to pay S$100, no tix will be deducted, else the next time, I have to deduct 4 tix or pay S$250 for the oxygen mask. Is it worth it?

Gwnn, oh u had ur facial!?!! How was it? Dun think with new outlet will be better as last time still got Pideco and TP also cannot book!!

Romona, why mus u still pay for S$100? If it is on trial, jus deduct from ur Credits lor for tat S$100 worth of facial!

Anyway, now, i not going to try any new things! The last time i go, which is mths ago, ask me to try a new things first. Say i'll feel better and deduct 5 Credits for tat stupid thing. At the end, I feel worst than the normal facial!!
So i think it is a waste of money!!!!

Yap, they suppose to get back, and till now.... No Calls!!

Hi Butter,

I have consulted my lawyer friend regarding this scam. According to him, there is not much we can do to them under the law because we signed up willingly and they have not given us any promise in terms of the frequency of facial appointments.

However, he said that if this problem persists, we may consult CASE. And the more Singaporeans involved, the better are the chances that they might take up this case, especially if there are alot of cases like yours. Even so, this does not mean that CASE can make them refund the victims. We anticipated that the beauty saloon will defend themselves by quoting their plans to open up more branches. And the opening of the new outlet at Robinson Tower does support their statement.

One thing for sure is, if we go public, it will definitely reflect badly on their reputation and have direct impact on their business. But, on the other hand, the worst case scenario, MB may decide to wind up their business in Singapore. This might results in all victims getting nothing back (a lose-lose situation). Or since they still have so many outlets back in Hong Kong, they may be asked to compensate the Singapore members but of course, the compensation amount is definitely not the full amount of the leftover tixs.

Advice now is to wait and see if the situation improves after the opening of the new outlet. If nothing changes, then they left us with no choice but to gather as many victims as possible and file a report with CASE.

hiyee..
so-so lor, the usual lah. anyway, better than not going. my face was feeling like an oilfield!!

romona, unless you are willing to continue with them, suggest not to try these 'new' treatments. their usual sales tactic:
first treatment at $100 or 3-4 coupons, then they try to sell you an additional package of 10-20 treatments for which you have to top up $500-1000! they will try to entice you by saying if you take up the extra package, then they won't deduct $100 or 3-4 coupons from you. Either the 1st treatment becomes free, or it becomes one treatment out of the additional package. so unless you are very firm, don't even start.

Hi MB Customer

Sorry that I've been missing these few days. So how was your booking now? Sigh....me not going to wait anymore as my face is dry and rough and I hated it so much. So I actually booked with Coslab just for a one time treatment this month and continue to call MB!!!

Hi MB

Thanks for checking it out. I guess we do have quite a no. of victims here and if worst come to worst, we just have to work together and make their reputation "SMELL". At least if I don't even get back the money, I'm happy that they are not out to cheat people's money again.

Hi Gwnn

Gosh, how did you get the slot? Must be damn lucky to get it huh? The rest of us here still struggling to book leh.

Hi Romona

As advise, don't try, or if you think you are stern enough to reject them later, then just deduct the credit you have lah. Don't pay extra for that. Not worth it.

Butter, I went for my facial on 30/10/02 after so much complaints!! And they din call me until 29/10/02. Somemore can tell me if i din go, they will deduct 1 tix from me!!
So, i jus go for it lor!! And guess wat... i see so many empty beds on tat day!!

I also chk with them, i left with abt 87 tixs.... so many hor!! Sigh..

Guess, to have a booking, we mus remember to call them EVERYDAY!! Pester them everyday!!

But their system very stupid!! Mus call and then wait till the next day then know if we were being "selected". We pay for the svc, and yet, we are like under their "mercy" to get what we deserved.

Hope tat this will get better when they open the new branch lor! If not we will follow MB advice, all gather together and go to CASE!!

Having searching long for this Forum talking about MB . I signed up in 2002 ! The first time was good andthat was how i got hooked . He He
He , all of u got a hard time to make booking right? but i just walk in and got it ! done by a manager solidly two and a half hour in a nice aromatic single room ; where the doom day started....
The second visit was ... really donno how to describe,I blur blur walk straight to the single room where I ve been and were asked to go to another side which look more like a hospital with a stretch of beds and the place was stink !
The entire feeling was lousy, as if u are going there for a face wash rather than enjoying a facial. The lady was quite ok , but she looked so tired that just wanted to quickly finish the choas. Actually , as I recall , right from the begining it was already a "ready to corn" bussiness. The "Menu" of services and the pricing for each service is already silly, $200 for each simple treatment if u did not take their package , otherwise, if u divided into 20 times is $60 per treatment ( my package ) .
I stupidly signed up becos of the Superb service of the FIRST VISIT.
Recently , I deliberately went to their new branch , the place was much much comfortable, but the service at the front desk was as sucks and unprofessional .
I did the massage , despite the auntie behaviour of the massager , the process was terrible to me , I were not told to remove my watch for the full body massage, and had been yelling pain all the way , to be fair , it is very subjective towards painfullness, but even I was so tensed and pulling tight on my musle , she still insist on the strength ;and I got bruised on my back after that and they seems no choice of massage.
I then proceeded for the body scrub, the lady treated me like washing the lorry or bus , and as if the main job is to push the products.She really finish the scrubbing real fast and skipped lots of parts.
Lastly , the body wrab was worst, I were treated like a pig ! Iwere not told what was used, and when requested others like seaweed wrab or seamud
I were told that I have spent a value of few hundred dollars, I think they are really holding a"parang", Ireally don feel enjoy and relax at all with them, I should have spent a bit more and go to THE RENEWAL DAY SPA .
There are so much to complaint about, but as the Blood started to boil , I would better stop. Poor me , stii have a lot of credit left , really donno what treatment to do next time?! The treatments I tried were awful.
Lastly , who can tell why they need to ask customers to sign (what ever )while still in the process of anything on the bed ?

Hi Vivtim no. xx

Guess what, I have paid a total of $2k+ and use less than 10 times of their service and never get to book a day and time that I wanted anymore. The contract is for 2 yrs and it is coming to an end and I've learn my lesson. I still see the girls giving out brochures at tj pagar, but if they were ever to approach me, I'm going to complain out loud man. Conned me for $2k+!!! I've could have bought a lot of things with that money spent rather than on a bad lousy service.

I was even contemplating to go to small claims court for a refund, but on the other hand, whenever they reject your preferred time and date, they offer you another one which most of the time you cannot book it. So, I'm really in doubt whether such claims will be considered.

Oh now that they open a new branch at Toa Payoh, bookin is slightly easier. Not like last times, everytime we book, cannot get a slot!!

I booked my package in Yr2001 for a normal 10 credits.... then ganna "con" into signin a VIP package with a total of 100 credits even though they noe that it takes me mths to book with them. But the consultant agreed to extend the expiry frm 2yrs to 5yrs. I saw the gal record it down in their card.

The last visit i went to was at Toa Payoh. They told me my treatment goin to epxire in Apr and I left with abt 80 over credits!! Goosh, I get a shock... All these are money!! And they told me computer no records!!

Tonite, i goin again and i asked them to chk with their HQ at Tras street! Wondered wat will happen....
If they wanna cheat my money, then, they will say no such record one.....

Then, i guess i'll have to choose the most expensive treatment in order to utilised the Credits!!!

Now, the last

Hi MB Customer

I cannot go to TPY, it's too far for me. Furthermore, I need to rush back after work to pick my baby up. I think I won't be able to get anything back liao. My mom was asking if I could transfer, but I told her their contract says strictly not transferable. Do you think you can check with them for me, if it is not to troublesome?
I think I still have at least 70 60+ credits in hand.

Hi Butter ,

I think it is much easier to book now , my last visit was very easy,but i still wonder why they have to confirm me the next day ?
I am always quite busy or rather lazy , so Iwould just call up on the very day or one day before to fix an appt! After a few times of failure, Ijust stopped calling until then I realised from the forum that it is so diff to book , it is so ridiculous !I think I'm simply 'bo chai see'If I experienced that I think I would get 'siao' liao.
Last night, I walked into their new branch to find out more about the Menu, a 'friendly'Manager attended me and offer to do a facial right away ,she told me that my face is very DIRTY (God knows Ijust went for my facial elsewhere THE DAY BEFORE) and offered me a special treatment that I need to pay $$$ in cash or DOUBLE if I use the credits.
Why ? I think they are treating customers like fools.

Hi Vivtim No. XX

Sigh....I'm a working mum and I have to pick up my son every nite. So, I will usually make appt on Fri nite after work, cause their tanjong pagar branch is just 5-10 mins walk from my office. I've sign this package before I had my customary and after my customary, I stop going cause I found myself pregnant. After I gave birht and return to work, I started booking with them again to realised that out of 10 times of trying, 100% I'm not getting it. I was damn upset over it and yet can't do anything to it. So ended up I give up and learn my lesson liao.

If now, the booking is so much ok. Then I shall try make a booking again for next week. Thanks. Will inform you girls again if I'm successful. They better don't make me lose my patience.

I finally got my booking! But hor, they promise to call me back on Fri before 7pm and no one actually call me until this morning. I call their booking centre for 1 hour and nobody picks the phone and I actually had to call their branch, then they said my booking at 6.30pm when I requested at 6.45pm.

And I told me then I will be 5-10mins late cause I'm off work by 6.30pm only. And they said maybe I take the 7.30pm slot which I refuse cause my experience tells me that they usually "dilly dally" during facial and sometimes I spend 2-hrs there! I guess I didn't sound too friendly too, and they quickly said then ok, 6.35pm must reach there, which I will only do my best.

And like MB Customer, I'm going to go for all those expensive facials to finish as much credit as I can before the expiry date.

i'm so glad to see this website on Modern Beauty!
I'm also one of the victim!!! I signed up, got persuaded to sign for 100credits. Was told that they can extend from 2 years to 4 years(but stupid) didn't ask the lady to write down on my recipt) But by the end of 2 years, told me my package expiring, must buy something to extend another 2 years for me.

Everytime i go, they will definitely tell me to buy something..it's so tiring.

My advice to all, if u want to sign package, don't sign something more then 10-20 credits. Coz once u give them the money, their attitude really change!.. Short term package is good, at least u can change if u don't like.

Modern Beauty's service sucks! They just want ur money!! Complain also no use! So we just have to learn from our lessons and let our friends know.

Hi Cool,,

Ur words made me a bit worry..
R they hardsell ppl??

N i hv a trial facial at there tis wk,,
Shld i go??

Any Comments?

Thks

I made an appointment to go for facial there about 1 month ago but after reading this website and postings. Got scared. Think I will try elsewhere.

Hi pinky...so sorry for late reply..i didn't check up this forum for the passed few days.
Well, if u r those who can't handle hardsell, DON'T GO! If not, haha like what my husband always said to me (before i go for facial) don't bring ur wallet! But i tell u they can still ask u to sign and go on installment, pay next time. But at least if u didn't pay anything, u have nothing to lose. Just tell them if u can't resist them that u didn't bring cards and cash. And don't sign anything which u r not sure. Always consider carefully before signing.

They will use all kind of tactics to make u make the decision on the spot. Like i give u this and that if u sign today. I give u how many percen discount if u sign now...blar blar blar...

I was actually so amazed with one of the slimming company. Can't remember the name. Quite some time back. I wasn't keen on the package actually, but i went for the trial. And they offered me a package (which i can't remember how much...something like 1.3k) I told them too much money for me. My husband will "scold". After some persuasion, i still say no. The lady offered me 20% discount. After much persuasion, i still say don't want. So she went to her boss or supervisor, came back and offer me 50% discount!!!
I was bascially not interested...i'm just so shock at how much they can go....down!!! So play hard and show not much interests when u sign for any packages. And be amazed at how much they can offer!

Hez Cool,,,

Thks 4 ur reply

I went to the trial alredi,,,I feel oki but still
didnt sign up with them..(Feel a bit exp)..haha
Luckily the the consultant tat ask my to sign is
nt tat HardSell..
But i insist consider...
she tols my the package is
10 sessions 4 $600 + 2 free eye treatment(cos she c me hv puffy eye)
but i reject btsayin no $$..hahahaha
N she told me another one is 5 sessions $300 + 1 eye treatment..
is still the same wat.. oni divide by two..
N they r Hong Kong ppl..i cant understand cantonese..
a bit blur blur when they discuss to me...;p

Cool, ya i agree with u totally. They are all out to take $$ from u. Everytime hard sell. They are so ridiculous. Always persuading me to use a treatment outside my package. B4 upgrading to SuperVIP package, they are always persuade me to use treatment under SuperVIP, forever praising how good it is for me. However, once I upgrade, and even b4 I could utilise any treatment in my package, they start selling me now treatments!!!

Janjan, I think u make a wise choice by not signing up with them. Their beauticians seem to be quite unprofessional. Once, I was served a Hongkonger (these pple are supposed to be more pro as they have been send from HKg to train the Spore staff), after removing my makeup, she asked me whether I wld like to have facial done with equipment or hands. Thinking that they might be more pro, I asked her to recommend. So guess what's her answer???? She actually said:"No difference, depends on what u like!" Oh my god!!!!! If hand treatment can be as good as equipment, why does the salon bother to import so many new equipment which are so expensive????!!!! I'm really puzzled...

sHinChan,

U mean tat u sign the package with them n they ask u to upgrade..
aiyo,.....

I juz feel uncomfortable to sign up coz they oni talk to me in chinese/mostly
cantonese which i nt sure... than feel a bit strange so didnt sign up..told them
gv me a wk to consider

than they said Y,,, i said it really gd than i sure cm back..
but i didnt..hezzz

they oso told me abt the new equipment ..

than hw much is ur package??

Janjan,

The price will depend on how many sessions u signed up. Initially they tried to con me into signing a 50 sessions package. I was thinking in my mind "U must be crazy!!!"

To my knowledge, their packages come in 2 forms:-
1) Pay one price and can make use of group of treatments. but of cos these groups oso have diff prices...
2) Jus buy a package for a specific treatment.

I think u dun bother goin back... They are unprofessional. I think u can get the same treatment at a much cheaper price elsewhere...

Maybe u can try Derma-Aesthetics. I have tried before. Their price is slightly higher than modern but more effective and professional. Ambience very good too. Each customer will have their own room, not shared one like modern!!! They use essential oil and play soothing music to create a soothing and calm mood. This is realli a varse diff as compared to the Yes933 radio played by modern..
Tried their eye treatment, very effective, eye bags are diminished immed after one treatment... Din get to try the nmext time, cos out of stock...