Facial at "Modern Beauty"

adrella

i had a really bad experience at the tanjong pagar branch. when the manager heard that i wont be paying for the rest of the money..she pretended that i am a SOUL. she cant see me animore and just walked awae..

overall, modern beauty suckS!

mrsbao

i agree that MB sux. my mum signed up a package abt 2 yrs back. the sales people were telling her she can share the package with her frd and relatives and that can choose between massages and facials.

each and everytime my mum went for the facial, they'll insist that she top up for another better grade product.

when i went with her for facial and wanted they sales people to minus off one time from the package, they insisted that they package is not transferable and insisted that i pay for the facial that i did!!

chrisi

me too... feel like cheated by MB... the face treatment is damned bad... but i have signed the package... may i know is anyone managed to terminate any package or payment? i wonder if can just cancel credit card and terminate the package/payment...

cookiencoffee

Hi all, I also have had a very traumatic time with MB since 2006.
I've gone from being so angry to now very sad and almost resigned. This is my story:

In 2006 I signed a package with them at about %50 per facial. At that time all my facials included a soft mask. Later on, when I am not even halfway through the first package, they had another promotion and were really really pushy about selling it to me (they like to do their selling while you are lying down there doing your facial. Doesn't that feel terrible? How to relax?). The deal seemed very good. Just $40 for a basic facial + 45min massage. They even said I can intersperse the basic facial with my $50 facial which includes machine. I thought not too bad, just $20 for each treatment, so I agreed to sign. However after I have already signed 15 sessions at just $600, they THEN asked if I would like to top up with a soft mask for the basic facial. I was like, oh you mean your facial doesn't come with a mask?!? Why didn't you say so? I realised then it was a dishonest sales tactic they used, providing incomplete info, and selling the real deal, in parts. So the soft mask cost $20 but got '1 for 1' if I buy 15 sessions. Oh dear, this meant I will have 15 extra mask sessions (which, again I'm sure it's their tactic so they can sell more facials to me and rationalise to me that I have 15 masks left with no facials!). In the end I paid $900, for 15 sessions, which works out $60 per session of basic facial and 45min massage. I told myself, ok, nevermind, it's still really value for money, just that I felt they didn't need to be so shady about the way they sold it to me.

Later on, when I was using my first package, the sales consultant started deducting from my soft mask package for each treatment. When I pointed out that my first package already included soft mask, they insisted that cannot be the case. I argued for a long time but eventually they won. I mean, I can't do anything about it!

In between, I had to endure the 'totally impossible to book' slots, so I ended up simply not able to use my package as I had on so many repeated occassions tried to call, even up to 2-3 weeks in advance, to be told they are full. They so obviously oversell their packages.

In addition their staff from China are poorly trained and very rude and dismissive. When I call them and they have this 'I can't be bothered attitude'. Sometimes they answer with an offhand 'umm, ummm' when you make your requests. I once remarked to a PRC staff on the phone when I asked her for the 'opening times' of the customer hotline, and she said 'I dunno', I said 'well perhaps you should find out so in future when other customers ask you, you will know?'. She just replied in a very offhand way 'um'. I then told her she can perhaps muster enough energy to reply me rather than just 'um' as it can be contrued as rude. She promptly told me, she doesn't think it's rude, and that she is very polite and prides herself as being one who bring great service. I could help laughing out loud at that point.

Anyway so most recently, my packages expired.
I have 13 facials, double the amt of soft masks left. I asked for an extension of the package, and they offered 6 months only and just once. I was really upset this time round because I recall vividly, when I signed on the package, the sales consultant reassured me many times that they will certainly extend the package so I can finish it, there is no problems at all. So at the branch they tried to ask me to sign the 6 month extension. I refused and pointed out
i) not only did they promise extensions were no problems at point of sale,
ii) they also were the cause I couldn't go for my facials since I can never get a slot successfully
iii) I have 13 facials and twice the amt of soft masks left. I go for facials once every 4-6 weeks, so I need an extension of at least about 20 months.

At the branch they then asked me to call the customer service if I want to request and I did just that. However after taking to LiShan, it was useless as she just kept repeating the same thing that the sales consultant at the branch did, which is that 'company policy' didn't allow her to make 'exceptions' to the rule for me. I talked for nearly 30mins on my hp to her and in the end she asked me to write in. I asked her what is the difference btw talking to her and writing in? It's still from the same customer? Why make things so difficult for me?? She replied saying she needed it in 'black and white'. I was so frustrated I felt like crying, if writing in was what was required, why didn't the branch staff just say so instead of asking me to call the customer service which was totally not helpful?

So I wrote them a letter there and then. I got a call back from them saying they will extend 9 months. It's just not enough.

But the long story is, I so regret signing up for their package and hope others will read about this and be aware of what you are getting yourself into.

ivyaj

I will be keen too. can PM me.. bunch of cheaters! All ppl out there pls let your friend n relative knows how F Up MB is. I m facing problems with the extention too. I m left with 7 session n they extend 3 mths for me.

hi i'm a poly student currently n also went to MB to do facial.. they were a bunch of pushy sales ppl!

they stop at nothing, saying that they are giving the cheapest package to students n allow them to pay installments. they also dun state that 7% gst is excluded in the package amt.

they keep asking me to upgrade my package everytime i visit too and therefore, frm my aqua facial to now collogen package which for me is super expensive. my bf have to help me pay using his hol hard earn money. its like a freaking experience for me to go for facial.

jus a couple of days ago i went to taka branch thinkin of making an appointment to do facial but to my horror, they closed down the branch without notifying anybody!

during my last visit, i alr advance booked my facial for 29may09 but they din call to remind me and i actually had sth on, on that day but was glad that they had forgotten abt it. until now i'm having hols that i finally have time for facial again, i tried to call their number but my hp says its a number error, so i went out of my way to taka but its been changed to London Weight Management.

i wonder issit due to their CEO case in sg abt not paying full amt of tax that causes the change. cos the jurong east branch was closed after openin for less than a month.

i need help. if u have other branches number, can u pls tell me? i tried to find the sg website but cant.. i only found the hong kong, china n malaysia ones..

found the Giman web:

http://www.gimanbeauty.com/Branches/?lang=EN

which is part of MB also i guess as MB had tell me that i can also go to Giman n do my facial using the same package.

i tried to call the tampines outlet of MB, they had a massage saying that they are currently haveing renovations. asked me to dial their hotline @6273 8294. its the same number one Giman's website. but nobody pick up the fone at all.

on this web below, gt ppl posted their experiences also, all are bad and nth good.

http://sg.88db.com/sg/Services/Post_Detail.page/Beauty_Wellness/Facial_Skin_Treatment/?PostID=806499

mummyanne

Dear Ladies, especially Lin, You are not alone... I am also pissed with BE SANTURY, MODERN BEAUTY, GIMAN or SPLENDID OVERSEAS PTE LTD, or whatever names they wish to call themselves. We are victims at Tampines branch and certainly disapprove of the way they misled us in Procrastinating and delaying the information of the relocation of Tampines branch. On May 29, I was told that they are renovating and will re-open at the same site (OCBC Bank) on July 1. Same answers were given when I made several calls to them, apparently, Tampines branch operated at UOB centre temporary. On July 7, seeing that the old site is empty and vacant, I approached the security guard at OCBC Building, then I was told that "THE CHEATER GROUP aka BE SANTURY" will no longer operate here. New place is so small at Tamp St 12, Blk 144, #01-388. Count me in 4 CASE

mummyanne

To All clients of BE SANTURY, MODERN BEAUTY, GIMAN or SPLENDID OVERSEAS PTE LTD, or whatever names they wish to call themselves, they have a customer service at 62733600, person answered call was though polite and a good listener, but she is not constructive and useless. I insisted that she forward my feedback and displeasure to the higher management, all she could reply me was that she will get the Tampines Branch (which I signed up) manager to call me. HOPELESS, USELESS, KIASU & KIA SEA... Let's bring them to CASE...

lingling75

I am shocked to read this thread, i have signed up at the Tampines Branch, & same as Anne was told that they will be closed for renovation for the month of July. Imagine my surprise when I tried to make an appointment yesterday & found out that they hv shifted to a HDB shop! I thought I can still visit the bigger outlets & now I read that the rest of branch no. can't get thru, meaning I have no choice but to go back to the Tampines shop? What else I can do?

lingling75

Read from another forum that Modern Beauty in Sg have duly closed and took over by a new management. You may wish to call 62200798 and check on your previous signed-up package.

ivyaj

seriously ladies.. we keep sayin bring them to CASE but in the end when I start to ask for peer support through PM non appear.. if we really wan to go complain go to newpaper, Lian He or Shin Min. Make it big if not no ppl know. Agree?

If agree then someone do something.. keep sayin wont change anything.

What problem we face is all the same. We have enough power to make this issue big

toapayohmei

Hi everyone here's my sob story.

I went for a trial facial at $21, they tell me to buy another trail for a fren give me free handwax. So I agreed. During the handwax they keep complimenting me say wah the facial made my face look much brighter etc. Thot the facial was ok so got pyschoed into signing 1200 for 30 sessions.
Then they say wah I'm so lucky won the chance to buy another 50 more session at the same price. after lots of talking and many people saying I'm so lucky, I bought it. Then the manager came and said, since you sign so much oredi might as well top up to 4500 then become their gold card member get priority booking, free soft mask on every facial etc. I said no way, I can't afford. They kept persuading me for another hour until I caved. So signed this 4500 on installment 24 months, 150 sessions. Total spent 2 hours plus talking to them.
After I got out of the place walk 5 mins they called me back ask me to sign the receipt. I was in a hurry and signed without looking. It's the one that says strictly no refund.
When I went home I thought it through and 4500 is just too much. Next day I wanted to cancel they say cannot.
I went to CASE, the giman pple refuse to show up. Now I'm at small claims consultation session where the judge will decide if I can get the $$ back. I cited consumer protection law against high pressure selling. Hopefully I can get some of my $$ back.

My case is on Tues 8 Sept 2009 at 230pm at small claims. I will like to ask a favour. Will anyone be willing to be a witness that giman people always use high pressure selling? Or any witness to the difficulty of renewal? I want to show the judge that Giman has intention to cheat, NO WAY i can finish 150 facials in 3 years. They claim that its easy; they can always extend my package after it finish but looking at all the posts, I think they are trying to cheat me.

If I win the case, will treat my witnesses to dinner at a good restaurant.

Please please help me. You can email me at [email protected]

Thanks,
TPYM

ivyaj

I can so pls PM me. I can be witness.

SO ladies out there. If you are serious on doin something on Giman or MB pls PM this poor lady.

rockers_78

pls PM me for case too....

I'm a victim of the Tampines Branch Renovation...

I sign up for two packages recently...

suddenly they close for reno in June & July....
so my treatment stop for 2 mths

nobody call me and say they r open

now they shift to Tampines HDB flat with no equipment that I sign up for...

they ask me to go other branch which will take me 1.5 hr journey to & fro...

toapayohmei

I asked CASE when and how they decide to file injunction against any company. here's their reply:
"our legal dept will assess all the cases we have to see whether there's a breach in the consumer fair trading act. If there's a handful of cases, then we might decide to proceed with injunction.we dont work via a petition. hope this clarifies."
So don't say that its useless to go to CASE. Anyway, what I heard is that small claims court is more accepting to your case when you prove that you have tried all other ways of mediation before going to court.
Just my 2 cents....

moonsheep

hi hwee koon, i also experienced Giman's high pressure selling,and i am not aware that all these packages got expiry date,nobody mentioned to me when i signed up for that, and nobody asked me to read their so call terms and conditions, i thought i was only signing for a receipt.The worse part is after one facial treatment of my newly signed package, my face flared up with very bad rashes, i have to see a dr!! With the dr's memo they still insist that there is no refund. i have reported to case and intend to escalate to small claim courts also. But next next Tuesday i am not able to take leave to support you, all the best, and keep us updated on the final verdict.

ivyaj

Thats great this thread is helpful to you.

Do spread the words around. and don forget MB & Giman is the same!!

rockers_78

I am so pissed with the Tampines Gimen or modern beauty branch the one that is under the HDB flat. I actually prebook my appointment with them one month ago. They give me appointment slot timing that is not what I requested. They advise me to go for my treatment weekly but now they say one of the weeks is not available, I think the treatment would as effective anymore! I think they are totally inefficient, not customer orientated in their schedule planning. They want customer to suit to their schedule, then why should we be paying them in the first place then. Before that the bigger branch at ocbc center closed down for reno. They only call us a day before to inform us that then they want us to go the branches in central we would need 2 hrs to travel to and fro then. Two months later, they open a branch in Tampines with no equipment that I sign up for...

the staff there give very black faces when I complain about their horrible booking system....

i hope my nightmare with them will end soon...

coolie28

For beauty skin,you may try to use Amoorea Beauty Bar..
This Beauty Bar is a natural therapeutic pH 5.5 soap-free soap formulation from Europe that helps to cleanse, tone and moisturize your skin, resulting in a smooth and youthful complexion. Enriched with unique combination of Microalgae Extract and Heilmoor Clay, it soothes and revitalizes your skin from stress after every wash.
You will experience the difference in 3 minutes after wash..
you may go to http://amoorea.sg/ to check it out.
AMK BLK555 shop got sell about $28/soap..But my friend get it cheaper for me lor @$25 only lo..

I feel fresh after wash & it keeps my skin clean all day long..My oily skin got improvement too..
Thankzzz to my friend who intro to me..
You mail to me [email protected]
I forward my friend contact to you lor..you liase with them la..

susieong75

On 8th June 2009, I received in my entire life my worst facial service at one of your outlet in Chinatown under Gilman (my client card no is P6313). I am flabbergasted and utterly disgusted by the customer service of your 2 managers that are on duty at 8 p.m to 10 p.m. When I reached there , the manager (she simply refused to tell me her name cos she is guilty conscious) that I have to first sign a form that mentioned that I need to transfer all my outstanding treatments as they are due on expiration (2 years) today for another 6 months and after which all my outstanding treatments would be forfeited. This is totally unacceptable and ABSOLUTELY UNREASONABLE AND RIDICULOUS. I was totally astonished and I refused to sign on this form. Guess what, the manager insisted that if I don’t sign on this form, she will not do the facial for me

On 12th Dec 09,GIMAN had unreasonably terminated all my 26 outstanding treatments claiming that they have expired. I have already filed my case to the CASE and they also agreed that GIMAN is misleading all its customers. They are really unethical and unscripulous. I am calling out all people that are being deceived by this company to step out and put up a strong civil case against such unethical company. I am filing also through the small claim tribunal court. We should never let such unethical and downright despicable company to get away with such business practices. They are all liars!

If you are keen, please email me at [email protected].

MY ADVISE: NEVER USE GIMAN, MODERN BEAUTY AS THEY ARE ALL SCAMS.

susieong75

GIMAN Beauty service is the worst service I have ever received in my entire life. Their CS manager - Lishan is totally not customer orientated and she is totally incapable of servicing the customer. I have never got so disappointed with a beauty salon before and this has really deterred me for going to any beauty salon again. I urge everyone out there not to visit this Giman Beauty Salon at Chinatown. You will regret it as much as the same way I do now. I will NEVER GO BACK TO THIS SALON AGAIN EVEN IF IT IS FREE OF CHARGE OR EVEN IF THEY PAY ME TO GO!!!!

Hi can I ask if anybody has ever asked the beautician what they use for extraction?? Cos i believe they don't use brand new needles for extraction..think they only use sterilise needles or whatever equipment they use to extract the blackheads etc.

peusecret

Giman service is really using high pressure selling, so far I have spent 9K to 10K with them..

The talk to me more than 2 hours to psycho me to sign a 7K package, the 7k pkg has 26 facials + 22 detox.

Now I still have 20 facial + 18 detox left, and they already started psycho me to sign another high end pkg.

I just visit this thread early.. *sad*
I didn't know their service and reputation is tat bad! Regret now..

chay2

I just gotten a package... Didn't read the forum and didn't know that there are so many unhappy customers. Oh no.. Feel so conned.

I went twice only. I agree that it is very difficult to make appt. Sigh... A long way to go man..

peusecret

chai chua>> usually i will make my booking via online booking portal, and I make my booking 3-4 weeks in advance, so still manage to get a slot. may be u can give it a try.

fetus

I signed up with MB since 2005 (wow...THAT long ago!!!!) and is what they called as "Super VIP" as I've got their Magic Slim and Facial package of total about 100 sessions...it IS indeed very reasonable price if you look at it as individual session (about $25 to $30 per session, slimming or facial). However, whenever I'm lucky enough to get a slot, I'd always feel stressed at the end of the session (which we go there for some relaxing time) as they'd always pressurised me to get new package, new treatments. And due to my busy work schedule, I've not finished my package and its already expired by now. Though they have a new branch near my place (in Tampines) but I could never get a slot, may it be for facial or slimming or massage. They'd always be fully booked, whether its weekdays or weekends, any time. That's why, even after 6 years, I've not finished my package.

I requested to speak to the person-in-charge to make sure, I wouldn't be asked to pay more to revert my package but after days of waiting, NOBODY bothers to call me back.

Anyone could tell me if I'd be asked to pay more money to use my package again?

heart08

I am currently using SK-II's Facial Treatment Clear Lotion. So far so good, nice product and preps my skin for the Facial Treatment Essence. Its not harsh and doesn't leave a sticky film

I actually really like La Mer's Oil Absorbing Tonic but if you have slightly sensitive or dry skin I wouldn't recommend it as it can be quite harsh. The other La Mer toner is nice but kind of useless