"Face" Issues with car

erniesurn

Hullo! This is my first post.

Both my wife and myself drive our car. But I let her drive more often becos I'm lazy.

A friend of mine comment about this and ask me if I felt comfortable letting a woman drive me around.

I asked my friend the reason for the question and he told me he would not let a woman drive him around because it's a "no face" for a guy. I told him that I'm okay with my wife driving and that she enjoys driving more than I do.

And I also added, that I was the one maintaining the car mortage and other hidden costs like petrol and coupons, so my wife is cool with that.

My friend, however, still believes a guy should drive. At least from his point of view. Btw he is single. He also said that since he doesn't have a car, he won't date a girl who has a car or if he finds out that the girl he's dating has a car, he stops seeing her. My friend works in A*STAR. ..
He's ex use to have a car and he would argue with her over who should drive the car.

I told him that I didn't have a car when I first met my wife and that her family then owned 2 cars! I was a decent salaried man but I dated her, by bus and mrt, and we got married anyhow.

I explained to him that because of Singapore unique economical demographics, a person's financial state flucuates. One moment, you're a high flyer, the next you could be collecting aluminium cans.

Therefore not experiencing a meaningful relationship because of material expectations, is really missing out in life and rather sad.

He doesn't party, club, drink or smoke.

Guys - Does this type of "car face" matter to you?

How many girls with wheels are dating guys without wheels?

Crap to me leh.. The reason why I would drive is because:

a) I enjoy driving
b) I drive faster than girls

So when I am tired, I will let girls drive.. Or when I am not rushing for time, I don't care who is driving..

erniesurn

Actually he is. Ha ha. But I can't blame him, he does get the "do you drive" question one too many times by girls if he goes pubbing with me. And i've seen this questioning in action. So he's kinda overly protective about himself.

I'm lucky, i'm ugly, no one asks my anything.

erniesurn

Simpleman - You drive becos you can, like myself, we can drive becos with have cars. What if no car how? Okay to let girls drive you on dates?

no wonder your friend is single ...

i 'own' the car but the husband pays everything for it - he's also the only one with the driver's licence. now he's bugging me to get mine so that he can relax in the passenger seat and not drive ..

confusenism

he's talking crap IMO.

me and my fiancee both owns a car but of course we dont drive 2 cars out for dates.

she is normally the lazy one and will make me take over the wheel once im around. i actually prefer it this way as i will be more exhausted sitting in the passenger seat than doing the actual driving. plus we can normally get to our destination more swiftely

however. there are times whereby i really dun wanna drive and make her drive.. absolutely no problem mah. wad kinda face issue. ur friend is more likely to be MCP whois also constantly feeling inferior

orchids

My hubby will only be too glad to let me drive and that he does not have to sit behind the wheel. But he doesnt trust my driving skills at all so he still drives.

I prefer to be driven than drive.

So there's no issues here here

confusenism

just to add.

we will be selling my car once we get married. as it doesnt make economical sense to have 2 cars in a family unless both cars are fully paid by employers.

this move is also to fund the wedding... hahaha..........

erniesurn

Thanks for commenting everyone. I know most of you guys are lucky to have your set of wheels to the point of being lazy to drive.

But not having a car and dating a woman who does, is a totally different story. It's not even about being lazy to drive anymore.

Anyway, i think it's not an easy topic to touch on, but your views are more than welcome.

ern, your fren is an idiot. just cos a girl drives a car, he'd rather give it a miss... his association has some issues.

anyway, car ownership is Equal to DEBT/LOAN in spore context.

Your friend is probably an MCP

Why are u affected by his comment? his comment add on to your inferiority of ya size?

erniesurn

MiLo On e RoCkS - Thank god you post the link, so that everyone can read that it was you who started the kuku thingy. And I didn't say anything about kuku. Please everyone go read the link. Oh yes. You need to buy soap.

"Posted on Thursday, October 07, 2010 - 2:57pm:
I'm an 8. Natural."

Technically, this wasn't your 1st post. You started an account to post something so stupid. And now this one. Hence, I'm skeptical about your intentions really.

And please don't try to wiggle out and say you weren't talking about your manhood. It would be a really lame attempt.

Your friend might be an idiot and MCP guy, why start a thread on this for? Next time your nieghours' dog give birth, you also start a new thread to ask for opinion. Or are you under such influence of this friend that it bothers you this much?

erniesurn

Milo

How does "I'm an 8. natural" mean penis size? I would love to read your thesis on this and how you connected the dots?

If you want to play with words... let me remind you...
Post Number: 3
Hullo! This is my first post.

Did you fail your math as well?

erniesurn

Wow ...not allowed to post this kind of thread? Just becos some Obama said so. Okay...

Hostile... Don't even know why I'm so threatening to you Milo. Feeling inferior becos you mis read "I'm 8"?

erniesurn

I think he doesn't get much between the sheets, with his type of thinking. Sometimes I tell him it's okay, just be yourself but I think it's too difficult for him to not feel insecure. Will have to just let him be. He is bo liao. haha

Milo,

I think you spent far too much time hunting down people.

I have read about Ern "I'm an 8. natural".

We were talking about "looks" so I presume he meant he is good looking 8/10 natural without cosmetic surgery.

And again his thread may not be earth shattering stuff, but I have seen more silly threads.

this is just a talk crap thread.. nothing else, don't have to be so serious.

kittenpie

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Milo,

I think you spent far too much time hunting down people.

AGREED.

I have read about Ern "I'm an 8. natural".

We were talking about "looks" so I presume he meant he is good looking 8/10 natural without cosmetic surgery.

AGREED

miamivice

Milo is a fag, and he's sweaty, and he's fat.

More than 11k postings in less than 6 years => average more than 5 postings per day, every day of the year, in a "matters of the heart" forum.

Conclusion: FAG.

No. I don't think he is a fag. It is just that he is a little stubborn and determined at times.

What is wrong with 11k postings?

Milo,

I know.. but alluding the 8. to kuku is not accurate at all.. just were reading.. and you did not even bother (or failed to read) to read the context of what we were discussing when we were talking about ratings..

I am not siding anyone but I can understand why Milo connected 8 to penis size, because at some point in that thread there was mention of penis enlargement.

Out of no where someone registering a new account mentioning the 1st post like this. Then, start a thread asking about some stupid comments from a friend that somehow made him start this thread...
And now asking to meet up as well.

Go figure.

I'm skeptical. You are free to think otherwise. What's with the name calling from Johnny. Just because of the disagreement that we had in another thread.

erniesurn

Milo,

Nothing wrong with meeting up with people, at least we all get to shed our cover of annonmity. What better way to get to know more people than face to face.

So it's all good. Nothing to be skeptical about.

And the comment about 11k post count. Equally stupid.

He forgot to count his own post just a few weeks.

And the kind of one-liner nonsenses.

I'm cool... as mentioned before I might sound serious... I'm really just pointing out the facts.

Milo,

The "thread about meeting up with people" was posted only today. And you comment about him and the starting of this thread was yesterday. So don't use today's thread (starting)as an argument point. A bit lame.

And what is wrong with meeting up with people. People are free to join or not. We are all adults. If people want to meet or even want to have sex, who are we to say anything?

I think you are just being carried away.

Yes, the Johnny guy called you names.. so you go and settle with him. I know you suspect that Johnny and ern are the same person.. that is your perogative.. just say so..

But on the balance of things.. I don't think it is necessary to do what you are doing now - questioning about the thread.

"I'm cool... as mentioned before I might sound serious... I'm really just pointing out the facts."

Not facts. Your interpretation of 8 as for kuku is not a fact. Just your interpretation. Some of us don't interpret it as you did.

The fact is you are just too fast on jumping on people.. that is all I am saying..

erniesurn

I think the idea of meeting up wasn't a pretty bad idea. I could imagine this conversation going on over a few beers. Haha. Not bad for a Friday.

Just for the record.

I'm not Johnny hor... don't glue us together hor. We just strangers.

huh??
what's lame...
I'm pointing out that NOW he is asking people out.

I didn't say yesterday.

Wait.... did I say anyone cannot join? come on lah.

Don't put words or suggest otherwise.

Being skeptical isn't a conclusion. Its being doubtful about something... and I given my reasons for it. You are free to think otherwise right?