F&E to Tokyo in early Dec - Pls advise on places to shop & eat

punggolite

Dear brides/brides to be,

I am going on a F&E trip with my hubby in the 1st week of Dec for a 7 days trip to Tokyo.

I am interested in the following:
Shopping
Scenery

BTW, is 7 days too long in Tokyo?

chrissrp

Hi Helpful,

Im planning my trip to Japan for 8 nights in Feb07, mainly covering Tokyo and nearby.. Will also be travelling to Hakone for a 1N stay. U will be staying for 7N in Tokyo?

Hv u plan yur itinary? I have roughly plan mine.. If u think 7 days in Toyko is too long, u can consider gg to Hakone or Kyoto or Osaka.. If u intend to go to Hakone, take advantage of their winter weekday pass.. Cost 4100yen per pax and this pass allow u to travel ard Hakone.. Check this out: http://www.odakyu.jp/english/freepass/hakone_02.html

punggolite

Hi Chris,

Thanks for the link! Prob will spend most nites in Tokyo & 1 nite in a Ryokan to try out the traditional inns concept..although not sure where exactly to find a reasonably priced one within tokyo.

chrissrp

Hi Helpful,

Have u found yur accomodation? Or is it within yur F&E pkg?

I will be staying in a Ryokan in Asakusa. Have yet to find one in Hakone. If u want, I can give u the link but its a budget ryokan.. All i need is a room for me to sleep n the night.. So dun expect much..

pisduck

I am also going to Japan F & E in Oct. Planning to stay 2 nights in Kyoto and 3 nights in Tokyo.

Not sure if I should include Mt. Fuji and Disneyland in my plans cos my stay is short.

Also, not sure if I should focus on Kyoto or move around to Nara and Osaka....

Any advice?

mooniiie

hi chris,

is asakusa in tokyo?
if not, where is it in?
coz i'm going tokyo too, and heard that the accommodation is very ex =(
mind sharing with me the ryokan you intend to stay in?
thks in advance =)

chrissrp

Hi Pisduck,
U gg end of Oct? That is a good time for Autumn (i.e. End Oct - Mid Nov).. As the leaves will start to turn colours from Hokkaido in beg Oct then slowly down to Tokyo and Kyoto.. Frm wat I know, Kyoto is the best place to visit during Autumn.. Considering 5N is kinda short.. So dun waste time travelling to Osaka and Nara.. Else u will be rushing.. I heard Mt Fuji is a nice place.. Tat why i include Hakone in my trip.. Frm my pt of view, Disneyland is a must visit place.. Heard its a beautiful palace..

Hi Mooniie,
Yupz.. Asakusa is in Tokyo.. Do u have the Tokyo map? Asakusa is a good place to move ard with many different lines to take (E.g. Ginza line, Asakusa line and just 2 station away to Ueno and can take Hibiya line)..
Dun worry, u can still find cheap accomodation in Japan.. Of course if u wanna stay in a good accom lor, then it wld def cost a bomb.. I have found a few which cost less than $105 per room with good location.. But, of course u have to forgo all those facilities lor.. For me, all i need is a room for me to rest in the night.. I wun be staying in the room for the whole day.. Anyway, will be out in the morning till night..

Below are the website:

http://www.toyoko-inn.com/eng/ (They have many inns ard Tokyo - I prefer Asakusa Senzoku becoz Asakusa Station is easily accesible to Disneyland, Ueno.. etc..)

http://www.libertyhouse.gr.jp/ (Also located in Asakusa station. Take note that they dun hv pte bath room)

http://www.tokyo-inn.co.jp/en/ (Also nt bad but its not tat convenient to move ard)

mooniiie

hi chris,

thks alot for the info!!

hehe seems like you had been there before huh =)
yup i'm like you also, just wanna stay the nite in hotel, that's why not very willing to spend so much on accommodation.

i don't have the tokyo map yet. so far i've only found the map for whole of japan, that's why still not very clear where the places are, except for the main towns.

by the way, wat's nice at ueno?

and for hakone, will it be worth visiting since i'm going in dec?
my only concern is that there will be too much snow everywhere, so there won't be much to see and explore.

pisduck

horrible.... have not been able to book rooms for the period i am in kyoto. seems that all the hotels in kyoto are booked!?!?

might have to change plans to go elsewhere.... have a qns... anybody know of ryokans that have attached private onsen? saw it on japan hour but can't seem to find any online....

chrissrp

Hi Mooniie,
No lah.. Nvr been there b4.. I got all this info from the website.. Coz im doing a schedule using excel.. So, fresh in my mind.. Haha..
Ya lor.. Must budget on accom and spend more on other things..

If u want the map, I can fwd it to u.. I also have information on the station fare.. So u will roughly know hw much to each station..

Ueno is a popular place during spring.. So, shldn't be tat bad during winter.. There's quite alot of places to visit ard Ueno.. How many days do u intend to stay? Dun go during end of Dec.. Mostly closed to prepare for the new year.. Hv u book yur air tickets?

There wun be any snow in Japan except Northen part (Hokkaido).. So sad right? (Hv nvr seen snow b4) Heehee.. Hakone is a place for scenery.. Away from the city.. During winter, viewing the Mt Fuji is better.. I think shldn't give it a miss.. A day/1N trip to Hakone is enuff.. But, rem to get the Hakone pass & go during weekdays in winter.. Cheaper..

Hi Pisduck,
Oct is round the corner.. And its their Autumn.. Maybe too late to book now..
I heard Hakone got quite a few such ryokans.. Hakone is a popular hot spring for tourist lor.. I have yet to start planning my accom in Hakone so cant help much..

rara

hey pisduck, which area and budget are u looking at? might have to search on japanese hotel websites.

mooniiie

hi chris,

yup do forward me the map. thkq very much!

i'm actually going with tour to hokkaido first, then will extend for 1 week in tokyo... so now gotta decide how to split my 1 week for different areas =)

wow i tot nothing to see in winter leh... okie i'll include hakone then.
i intend to get the JR pass... is it different from the hakone pass you mention?

rara

Hi Chris,

Unless you're talking about guaranteed snowfall which will be in Hokkaido, many parts of Japan down to mid-lower Honshu snow, including Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka. In fact, Jan and Feb are the months with the highest snowfall. It's just that in some years, it snows very little and more concentrated up north. February would still be very cold. I was in Chubu area end March last year and although there was no snow on the ground anymore, I still managed to see the last (very very light) snowfall in early spring. You might be well in for a surprise too! =)

chrissrp

Hi Mooniie,
Sure.. Will fwd u soon..

Sure there's something nice in Japan all year round..

Hmm.. I think JR pass allows u to travel to Hakone bah.. Coz i dun hv the intention to get the JR pass, so din find out much.. U can check in the web or perhaps can ask the sales counter for JR pass in S'pore.. But, im pretty sure the JR pass will not allow u to take the cruise in Hakone..

Hi Rara,
Really? There's snow in Tokyo and Hakone area? Oh.. So excited!! I heard its diff to see snow in Tokyo.. Unless we are "heng".. Haha..
Is it really cold in Feb?

rara

Hi Chris,

Yes it will probably still be very cold in Feb. In any case, it's always better to be armed with more clothing than less right? =)

I'm not sure how often you get to see snow in Tokyo, but I guess yes, a lot depends on your luck. It might snow a lot lower down south in the same year, yet not have any in Tokyo. So good luck!!

mooniiie

hi chris,

yup i'll definitely check out more on JR pass before buying =)

wat is the cruise you are talking about in hakone?
it is still operational in winter ah?

rara

You won't be able to use the JR pass on the train to Hakone. Odakyu Electric Railway operates the trains to Hakone, so you'll have to get their Hakone pass to enjoy unlimited travel around Hakone.

The JR (Japan Railway) pass is good if you intend to travel longer distances across regions during your trip, for e.g. from Tokyo to Osaka and Kyoto, or travelling often within the same region on JR trains. Note that there are many train operators even within a city itself, so a JR pass does not entitle you to 'free' travel everywhere you go. Plan your route and find out if you can go to the places you wish to visit by JR, work out the fares then decide if you want to get the pass cos the pass is definitely not cheap.

mooniiie

hi rara,

yup i intend to travel from tokyo to kyoto and osaka, that's why tot of buying the JR pass =)

dunno wat's nice at hakone, so didn't tink of going. by the way, is mount fuji nearer to hakone or tokyo?? coz i made a search and found that it seems to be in between both.... i tink need to take bus to mount fuji after taking JR train rite? wat about hakone pass (does the odakyu electric railway go to mount fuji)??

rara

Hi mooniiie, dun think ppl actually GO to mt fuji, unless u'r gonna climb it. not in winter definitely. so if it's just to see mt fuji, hakone is about the best place to do it. I haven't been to hakone myself so I can't really advise you, but it's a must-go place i really wanna visit, mostly for the scenery and famous hot springs.

echt

hi mooniiie, i m also looking at travelling from tokyo to kyoto to osaka. just started researching thou the trip is targeted in oct, hopefully still got air tixs & hotels! rather lost now...pls share with me ur itinary? [email protected] Thanks!

mooniiie

hi rara,

yup me not gonna climb... maybe just to get near it if possible =)

hi echt,

i've not done up any itinerary yet. just tot of going to these cities and still gathering info

chrissrp

Hi Mooniie,

If u wanna see the Mt Fuji, Hakone is the best place to view. And winter is the best time to view as its clearer..

Wif the Hakone pass, u r entitiled to take the cruise ard the lake.. If im nt wrong, shld be lake ashi.. And wif the Hakone pass, u can take the train where u can view the Mt Fuji.. Hv yet to check out more on this.. My friend reco me this..

Rara is right.. Gotta plan yur route first b4 buying the JR pass.. U can use this website to have an idea of the cost: www.japanhomesearch.com/travelexpert/te_main.asp or http://grace.hyperdia.com/cgi-english/hyperweb.cgi

Just to share wif u gals: The futuristic cruise (very nice new ship name "Himoto")operate by suijobus shld be a good idea to take from Asakusa to Odaiba. To view the rainbow bridge in the evening... Aftr which, can walk ard Odaiba.. To the ferris wheel.. Hee..

Btw, btw Disneyland and Disneysea, which do u gals prefer?

Rara: I got alot of feedback that its diff to see snow in Tokyo.. So upset.. Will consider very "heng" if there's snow in Tokyo.. Haha.. Pray that im lucky!!

Btw, u been to Japn b4? Do u think i can get cheaper air tic during Natas Fair?

chrissrp

Mooniie,

FYI.. I have a colleague who travel to Japan for 14N but did nt buy the JR pass.. She went to Osaka, Nara, Kyoto, Tokyo and Hakone.. Its even cheaper than buying the JR pass.. So, plan yur route well..

In case u need cheap accom: Osaka (Hotel Chuo), Nara (Ryokan Matsumae), Kyoto (Hotel station kyoto), Tokyo (Toyoko inn).. These are the places she stayed.. Got no complain except that the room is kinda small..

mooniiie

hi chris,

wow that's a handful of info!
thkq very much =)

can't believe your colleague went to so many places and it's cheaper not buying the JR pass.
yup i'll check out the accommodation when free hehehe... rooms in japan very small, but i don't mind coz just need to stay for the nite =)

maybe i'll go to disneysea, coz other countries do not have this =)
but i've never been to any disneyland before also, so may go to both if time allows.

rara

I heard that DisneySea is awesome. My friends absolutely loved it when they were there. Indeed it'd be a pity not to go since it's the only one in the world.

I've been to Japan a couple of times, but never on my own i.e. I never had to plan for tix and stuff, so I can't advise which air tix are cheaper. I only know that in general, United and Northwest are the cheaper airlines with direct flights.

Anyhow, good luck Chris! Hopefully it'll be a very cold winter this year.

chrissrp

Mooniie & Emcee,

U've got mail. This is the map tat i found in the website. I have another map which my sis took frm Japan which i think is better.. Will scan and 4ward u gals again..

Yupz.. Surprise right? As long as u plan yur route wisely, u wun need to buy the JR pass. Unless of course if u intend to travel to many places in 1 day, else no pt buying JR pass.. But, it will be v. tedious to rush lor.. Though i hv nt complete planning my itinary, but im quite firm i wun need the JR pass..

Quite squeezy indeed.. But who cares!! As long as its clean!! Haha

Ya.. In a dilemma right? Disneyland or Disneysea.. I did ask ard and majority say Disneyland is better.. But wat Rara comment is also true.. A pity since its the only one in the world.. Hmm..

Will be gg dwn to Natas Fair tmr to try my luck.. During CNY week, muz grab b4 its sold out!! Haha

mooniiie

hi chris,

thks for sending! i'll check it out =)

yes i heard that jap rooms are very clean, though small, so no worries about that!

that's what i tink about disneysea also, that's why feel like going for both hahahaa... so greedy of me...

yup will be good to go natas fair if you have roughly planned out, else will be walking aimlessly, esp with so many pple =)

hmmm for the hakone pass, is the train the bullet train type?
actually one of the reasons why i wanna buy the JR pass is to try out their bullet train hahahaa... so lame rite.....

chrissrp

Hi mooniie,

U gg this Dec right?

Rem to come update me on the Disneyland & Disneysea orhz..

Hv bought my air tic during Natas Fair liao.. Will be travelling on Valentine Day..

Hmm.. Its the limited express train.. If im not wrong, u r referring to the Shinkansen Bullet Train?

mooniiie

hi chris,

yep i will update you =)

you only bought the tics?
flying which airline?

ya i wanna try the shinkansen bullet train, but not sure if this train is included for the hakone pass

chrissrp

Hi Mooniie,
Tks tks..
Yupz.. Only the tic.. Will book accom online.. Via Thai Airway..
Nope.. Hakone pass dun include the bullet train.. If im nt wrong, u can take the bullet train to Kyoto or Osaka mahz..
U gg to Japan wif yur hubby?

emcee

Hi Chris

yeah received ur map too... thanks!!!

like mooniie thinking of going to disneyland or disneysea ....

Went Japan 7 yrs ago and went disneyland before, would like very much to be at the sea... but finally still let my wife decide which one then ..

chrissrp

Hi emcee,

When are u gg to Japan?

I hv yet to make up my mind on sea or both.. But, im sure i wanna go to land.. Will complete my itinary first.. If can forgo some places, will slot in sea..

Ya lor.. Better to let yur wife decide.. Usually gals will be more particular on the places to visit.. Heehee..

chrissrp

Hi Chloe,
U've gt mail

I have yet to complete my itinary.. So abit messy.. Hope u understand my itinary.. Heehee..
Well.. Anyway, i still have abt 4mths for me to prepare my 9 days itinary... When are u gg to Japan?

cute_devil

thanks Chris, received it. I will go on this late octo, will take package tour and extend 2 days by our own.
haven't really read about japan yet. Pls share with me some tips or infos if you have
thanks again

chrissrp

Hi chloe,

Where are u heading to? But if u r gg this late Oct, i wld suggest gg to Kyoto.. Heard its a nice place for autumn..

mooniiie

hi chris,

forgot to ask you... that time your colleague took trains from different companies that's why it's cheaper than JR pass?
i'm now also intending not to buy it, coz will only hang around in tokyo area.
the map that you sent me shows train routes by different co. rite?
very lost.. dunno wat pass/ticket to buy for which line.
pls share with me your itinerary?
thks =)

strawberryj

Dear Mooniiie,

If you are planning to stay within Tokyo, there is no point in buying the JR pass.. JR pass is only worth it if you are taking the Shinkansen.. I made 3 short/medium-distance trips to Yokohama, Hakone and Nagoya using the pass, then can cover the cost of the pass.

If you are staying within the Tokyo area, you can either buy on a per trip basis, or buy a 1000yen subway pass.. No discount, but more convenient bcos you don't need to keep buying tickets. And it is really confusing to keep buying the tickets to travel on different lines. The subway pass can be used on all lines, except JR lines.

Hey Chris,

Glad to see you here!! How are you? I just went Disneyland 2 weeks ago.. The X'mas lighting and deco were all up already.. Very very beautiful... So romantic too, even though it kept drizzling the day I was there.. I did not go Disneysea, but heard that it is quite nice as well..

mooniiie

hi strawberryj,

thanks for your info =)
i've decided to try out their shinkansen, coz no chance to take it... guess the only medium-distance trip will be to hakone. so the pass won't be worth also rite? coz i need to travel to kawaguchiko, rather than odawara, so the most convenient way will be to take the chuo bus?

the 1000yen subway pass is valid for 1 day or valid till the value is fully used up?
my prob now is my tentative plan of getting to some places involves 1 or 2 transfers sometimes, in order to get to that place, and 1 of the transfers will be via JR train. in this case, it's better for me to get the per trip ticket rite? not sure how the ticketing system works, but i guess gotta exit 1 station and walk to the next station to board another operator's train, if i wanna save cost

chrissrp

Need help! I would like to go to Nikko for a day trip. As i wld like to set off to Nikko very early.. The Nikko Pass counter is not open yet. I wld like to know if i can puchase the Nikko Pass a few days in advance?

joyfulhands

Hi, I came back from Tokyo F&E just before x'mas. I went to Disneysea with my family & we loved the x'mas mood there
I went to Disneyland many many years ago & I still prefer Disneyland.

Btw anyone keen to get the Tokyo Metro open tickets? I've a pair of 2-day adult tickets to let go at S$25, valued at 980yen each.
This deal is inclusive of free local normal postage.

The Tokyo Metro ticket cover 8 major subway lines running through Tokyo, excluding JR Line. Personally I find it a good deal especially my family travelled to 2-3 places a day & it helps us save on transport costs.

* The 2-Day Open Ticket is good for two consecutive days.

* You can save 30% for two days, compared with the price of One-Day Open Ticket available in Tokyo, which are 710 yen for adult fare.

* The ticket is valid for six months from the date of purchase (I bought in Dec 07).

More info: http://www.tokyometro.jp/e/open_ticket/index.html

If interested, please email me: [email protected]

zenith

hi gals, I'm planning a F&E trip to tokyo for my short honeymoon. planning to go in june. on a tight budget. any recommendation for place to visit, good food & accomodation? most likely i can onli go on a 6D5N trip. must go is disneyland/sea & mt fuji. is disneyland or disneysea better?

digo

6D5N is not bad to go Toyko or surrounding area..

1. To see Mt Fuji, I recommend to stay at one of the Ryokan (japanese style hotel) at Hakone for one night.. You will get a good view for Mt Fuji and get also get a calbe car to down to get a ride on the Prirate boat..It will be a nice and relaxing time..

2. For Disneyland or Disney Sea.
its purely upon yur preferrance. Disneyland is full of attraction, most roller-coaster are there..Or getting on a boat in the Little World.. And don t miss the famous Desney Parade!
Desney sae is branded as a romantic,fairy-tale place, especially at night time! And a few desney-related boutique stores..
So if you want a romantic, dreamy feling than screaming on the roller-coaster,the Desney Sea is better..
I personally liked desney land more!

For tokyo city,i will suggest
1. Odaibba-Popular dating spot, have a good view for Rainbow bridge at night, facing the Tokyo Bay. Dining and shopping.. Ferris Wheel is also there..

2. Shinjuku City Hall building (shinjuku western exit from JR or Subway) for great city views on 50th floor for free! better than Tokyo Tower..Having a cup of coffee when you on the top floor.

3. Sensouji (Known as Asakusa Temple)..

4. Tsukiji fish market- Wholesale place for sushi restaurants. Need to go ealr like 9 in the morning to get a fresh taste of Maguro..

5. Yokohama- Got Chinatown for dining, Yamashita Kouen (park) for walking.. lso have a Ferris Wheel at Minato-mirai just a few stops away, can get a beautiful harbour view at night..

6. Shibuya and Shinjuku- for shopping.. Got Issetan, Takashimaya, OIOI etc Department Store at Shijuku.. Got Sebu department store, 109 (a low-priced woman wear shop) at SHibuya..
Zara, Gap, Unikuro (a japanese branded casual wear store)etc..
Oh, don t forget to check out Matsumoto Kiyoshi for cosmetic. They are near to most majoy train station..(I believe Shijuku, shibuya,ikebukuro Station all got one) They carry Japanese Brand like Shisedo,Kenebo, Kao for a reasonable price.. you can also find lots skin care, hair care products.. Where local will go!

7. For eaating- hmm, i can t put it together as Tokyo has way too many restaurants with all types of food you can ever think!
If you like Ramen, instead of going to Ramen museum in Yokohama, you can try aonther 8 stored Ramen street near Shinakawa train station (on the JR line).. Get outof the exit which Prince Hotel is and walk out left side for abt 200 meters, you will find a place full of Ramen- shop.. They all well-known places that represent diff taste in diff region of Japan..
Oh, also try Mos Burger there, they are much better than Singapore ones..

8. Harajuku- Also a shopping, dinng area..
Have a walk down the Gaien-mae Ave, you will reach Omodesando (very fashionable street in Tokyo). Its a nice walk with all the big brands on both side. Its nice to see even don t buy anything..

9, Roppongi Hils and Roppongi Mid twon-A trendly shopping and dining place, specially mid-town is just opened last year..

10, Believe it or not- you are able to go Hiroshima as a Day trip if you don t want to do too many shopping by Shikansen (bullet train).. It will truly be a unforgetable and very powerful moment for everyone to go to the Plaza in the center of the city where you can see the historic marks of Nuclear Bomb.. It will truly set ppl to rethink abt the life..

I can keep going and going, hope it help a little bit.. Now, it makes me missing Tokyo..