F&E Paris

rinnie

Hi Idyll & Raymond, we wanted to go F&E initially but some of our friends were saying that sometimes might end up quarrelling in the process and cos Switzerland not that ez to navigate ard...besides, we were tinking that since it's honeymoon, reali wan a hassle free trip..but we'll have some F&E at Paris..

rtan

Hi Rinnie,

That's a good idea too, to have some F&E at Paris. Do take some time to just walk around at random. You'll experience much more of the real Paris that way. Don't try to catch all of the major tourist attractions. It's ok if you miss some of them.

marnie

Hi Rinnie, ahh...yes, that's what my friends told me too.

Anyways, have fun on your honeymoon. I'd say don't try squeezing everything to see in Paris on your F&E own. It takes the beauty of the city.

rtan

Hi Rinnie,

Forgot to add about the quarelling part; yes it is true especially if the guy thinks he can navigate but really he can't.
And many Singaporeans have little or no experience driving overseas so they are really quite clueless. But if we don't start somewhere we would never start?

There are several angles to this; on the one hand, if a couple cannot even sort out simple navigation issues, they will not be able to handle life together. On the other hand, one may wish to have as pleasant a honeymoon as possible. On the third hand, even on a package tour, it is still possible to argue; e.g. husband wakes up late, whole tour group not happy, wife scolds husband, etc.

I guess we are fortunate as I have had four years of experience navigating around Europe, so for us we never get lost.
Also I am familiar with all the road signs, conventions, and driving etiquette; all of which can easily be learned through the Internet nowadays. But of course you would have to ask my wife to verify this; I could be one of those guys who thinks he can navigate but can't.

marnie

Raymond, you're too farneee!

Hubs and I have our banters once in a while on our trips. Whilst he's the First Class/Business Class traveller if possible, I'll be happy with the herd of cows and sheep at the back of the plane or economy if we're lucky.

So, we've compromised that we take a better flights. ie. Qantas or SIA and the likes but in economy.

My hubs reckons and insists that he's good at navigating and that reading maps is his forte but to think that he can't guide us out of St. Basilica Sq in Rome to another part of town. Of course, it's good old me that saved the day. So, we decided then that I will be the good map reader whilst hubs is the designated person to ask questions, etc.

So, yes, Rinnie, I agree with Raymond that we all have to start somewhere. Hubs and my way of navigating around the city is to get on those double-decker bus to go around the city sight-seeing. It's really lame and cheesy but it gives us a basic geographical "feel" to the city. (also, it gives me a way to lock down landmarks in case my navigating and topography skills get us lost in which case my hubs will nag, I'm sure - thankfully, it hasn't happened yet!) hahaha

rinnie

I agree with Idyll that Raymond is funny..ha..we will definitely go F & E some time..was thinking of going to Eastern Europe or New Zealand next year..ha..my bf was saying that I already plan so far ahead..haha..

marnie

Rinnie, that's good. At least both of you are planning together - that's what it should be about. To plan it together. Not just go on the trip together. Right?

You don't say.....Hubs and I are already planning for our trip for December 2008. Hopefully, we'll be off coast to coast in the US then to catch up with his family in the US. The hubs has got family and friends all over the world. It's too daunting a task to be introduced as his wife --> Eeek!

yongee86

wondering if anyone has been to champagne? is it good? plan to go to loire valley to see some chateaus and winery. not sure if should venture to champagne area as well or to head to versailles. anyone can advise?

rtan

Hi Yongee,

If you like Champagne, you must definitely go to the Champagne region.

If you're just curious, you should also go. I'm sure visiting a Champagne house will be an eye opening experience.

Versailles is one of those "must see" things, though once is probably enough for us. Expected the usual tourist crowds, but if you go at least you will know what the fuss is all about.

ant_sanma

hi raymond,

quite keen on champagne actually coz thot it will be interesting to see how champagne is produced as compared to wine. was just wondering about versailles as i checked on the net and the main attraction is the chateau. since I'm going to loire valley to see chateaus, will those in loire valley similar to versailles?

yongee86

hi raymond,

yup, quite keen on champagne.. i love wine and champagne, which is why planning to go both loire valley and champagne. guess may forego versailles.. heheh

rtan

Chateau Versailles is arguably the grandest Chateau in the whole of France. That, and coupled with its proximity to Paris, also means it's usually packed with tourists, and the queue for admission tickets often snakes for a hundred metres or more especially during the summer. But it does move quite fast.

The chateaus near Tours and Ambroise that we visited and we felt are worth visiting are:

(1) Chateau Chenonceau, the "ladies" Chateau as it is shaped by a few influential women. Part of the chateau spans over a river.

(2) Chateau Chambord: grand and impressive chateau, but not much in terms of interior furnishing.

(3) Gardens of Villandry: wonderfully manicured gardens that are a sight to behold.

(4) Chateau Montressor: little-known and thus not-crowded chateau in one of the prettiest villages in France. Charming.

I'm sure there are others that we missed out, but we were only there for one week.

Typically expect to pay about EUR 7 - 8 per person for admission to each Chateau.

The easiest way to get around is to rent a car and drive on your own; not all the chateaus are easily accessible by train.

Regarding the Champagne region, the main towns are accessible by train; but it's only really interesting if you visit the small producers that produce cheaper yet unique Champagne (large produces spend a lot on marketing); and that again, requires your own set of wheels.

ginn

Hi Raymond or anyone who can help, i am just wondering if August is a good month to go Paris? Also, do they have bus shuttle at the airport to the city area and how much does it cost? Thought this may be more convenient rather than taking the train... Pls advise. Thanks!

yongee86

hey raymond,

Thanks for the write up on chateaus. hubby is more keen on versailles, so most prob may forego champagne.

hi ginn, i think you can pre-book car pickup.. i read on the net that traveling by train will be much faster as compared to coach from airport to hotel. not too sure how true though.

rtan

For transport to/from the CDG airport, here are the options in decreasing order of price.

(1) Taxi. About EUR 45 - 60 per taxi depending on the time of travel. Rush hour would be more expensive due to the jams. Can stay anywhere. About 30 mins travel time, more if during rush hour.

(2) Airport shuttle service as pointed out by Midas. EUR 17 per person, 10% discount if booking two-ways. Can stay anywhere. About 30 mins travel time.

(3) RER line B (train). EUR 8.50 per person. Duration, about 30 mins on the train, frequency about one train every 7 mins. Need to stay near the RER line.

(4) Bus, lines 350 (goes to Gare du Nord) or 351 (goes to the eastern part of the city). Three metro tickets, if you buy a carnet of 10 tickets, that costs EUR 10.50. So three metro tickets is 3 * 1.05 = EUR 3.15 per person. The cheapest. Duration: about 1 hour, frequency about one every 30 mins. Need to know the correct bus to take and find accommodation near the bus lines.

I've only taken options (3) and (4) before with no problems.
I think option (3) is the most popular among tourists. Just be streetsmart as usual, watch out for pickpockets and keep a constant lookout on your luggage.

rtan

Hi Yongee,

If you have time, do both Versailles and Champagne region. At least you get one touristy spot, and one not-so-touristy spot where you can experience the real France.

Reims (in Champagne region) has a very grand cathedral, but I've never been to Champagne region. It's in our agenda in our next trip, since bubbly (and no not sparkling wine) is our favourite alcohol.

rtan

Hi Ginn,

August is probably the most crowded time to visit Paris; it's the time where everyone in Europe (and America) is on holiday. Also it is during summer. So expect it to be packed, and tourist spots to be even more crowded than usual.

I would be surprised if you can still find accommodation if you haven't booked yet. Maybe if you're lucky.

Personally I would go only in Sept, or late April to early June. The best times are probably May and Sept.

yongee86

hi raymond,

yeah, time is limited which is our constraint. can squeeze both versailles and champagne but will be very rush for us. rather forego one of it and spend more time in another and slowly enjoy the sights. don't wish to tire ourselves too much.

ginn

Hi all, thanks for the advises..
Hmm... i can only take break in August that's why. I heard there's the rugby matches too in paris.
I'm not sure where else to go during this period.

ginn,
ermm...ur Aug is now or nxt year Aug? if its now then most likely u wun even find a gd flight out to paris liao leh..plus summer in europe can be hotter than SG n plus the crowds *aiyo*..u can tahan anot?

marnie

Ginn, Rugby World Cup is from September to October (21) this year. So prices will be high that time in Paris.

August is really hot in Europe and ultra peak period so if you can take the massive crowd and the heat. Also, as Midas pointed out, to get flights out to Paris now for this month may be cutting it a bit too close.

ginn

hi.. yeah weather is one problem too, i thought paris wont be as bad as the eastern side like Spain? Yes i'm talking abt this August haha! Very last minute i know... i've checked, SQ is probably the cheaper option, 3.5k for 2 to travel.. hmmm.. And Ibis Hotel seems to be still available...

Well... maybe i should just resigned to going Aussie instead....

ginn,
if u can get flights n accomodation...n really liked paris..why not juz go lor..it will be hot abit lah but gd weather also means photos will turn out nice

rtan

Hi Ginn,

It will never feel as hot in Paris as in SG, due to our high humidity as we are in the tropics. So it can be 35 deg in Paris but it won't feel so hot since it has lower humidity. Just stay out of the sun, just like you would do in SG.

If you can get flights (3.5k for two to travel on SQ is not bad actually) and if you can book the IBIS hotels, just go ahead. It would be an unforgettable trip.

I just looked at the temperatures in France:

http://www.meteofrance.com/

and they don't look too warm at all. 28 degrees is perfectly fine.

smile1

I will be going to France and mainly Paris for my honeymoon with the tour group and in a dilemma if we should extend another 2 more days as we are wondering what can we do or what are the nice places that we can visit in Paris. Initially, i had the intention of going to the disneyland but i've come to know that it is not worth of going and there are much more that we can visit or do.

Could someone please enlighten me a little? WHat kind of or suggested itinerary that you would recommend for the 2 days?

Merci.

marnie

Blur Angel, you can always take day trips out on your own. Plus, with a tour, you may not cover a few of the sights or even allow you the luxury of walking around the city and mingle with the locals, so staying an extra 2 days will allow you to experience Paris a lil' more.

When I told my friends I'll be in Paris for 10 nights straight, she asked me if I will get bored. I was shocked. I don't think I will. It's not like say..Macau, IMHO where I can see and do almost everything in a couple of days. I want to go to the flea markets, real markets, walk around the 16th arrondisement where most art supply shops set up shops. I want to go to the shops that van Gogh and Matisse and Renoir bought their paints centuries ago. It's not just about the Lourve or the Eiffel Tower, the wealth of history is abundance in Paris.

rtan

Hi all (and Idyll),

Yes, in fact, though we've been to Paris twice in the last three years, in our next trip we plan to spend at least four days there. There's just so much to see and experience. Just pick up any Paris guide book to have an idea. And if you want something different, you can easily take a day trip out to Champagne region.

smile1

Marnie / Raymond,

thanks for the advise. Understand that there is day pass to move around (Metro etc) how much would that be? Understand it cost about Euro 8,50 for 1- 3 days for Parisvisite. Presume it's in hundreds yeah? I'm sure there is soemthing cheaper?

marnie

Blur Angel, Carte Orange is available at metro and RER station. Weekly card (coupon hebdomadaire) is for use from Monday through to Sunday. Zones one and two are central Paris which would more often than not suffices unless you are taking day trips out to Versaille (then buy a separate ticket for that which would be cheaper than including that in the zone you want). You need a passport sized photo for this. I think it costs around EUR16,00 (which works out to be about S$32.00 give and take) and well worth it if you're attending to get on the public transportation a lot for the entire week.

smile1

oh great!! Yep, basically we are looking at a pass which could let us move around freely and not at a high price (understand that transportation fee is not cheap in Europe). I will look into the Carte Orange in the internet. Thanks.

marnie

Oh Blur Angel, just to let you know that when the price is reflected as EUR8,50. It's actually 8.50. They use the comma rather than the full-stop to differentiate and reflect the dollars and the cents so don't get a shock.

rtan

Dear Blur Angel,

You can also consider just buying a carnet, which is a set of 10 tickets. It costs EUR 10.90 per carnet, so it's EUR 1.09 per ticket, which can be used for a single metro or bus trip no matter how long or short the journey. For us, it always works out to be cheaper than any other option because we don't take more than 4 trips a day. Most of the time is spent walking around this pretty city.

justsy

Hi Raymond and Midas,

I'm planning my honeymoon to Paris early next Jan for about 2 weeks. This is my first trip to Europe and am really clueless on where to start planning the itinery. After reading up on your posts, I'm quite keen to visit the Marais arrondisement too
However, I just can't seem to find the directions from Paris to Marais. Would you be able to advise on this? Also does it make more sense to stay in Marais for a couple of days or is it possible for me to travel to Marais for a day trip then back to Paris again? I'll most likely be staying in Paris city centre.

Many thanks!

Cheryl,
Marais arrondisement is within Paris city leh...its like AMK ave3 within AMK estate..no need day tour to Marais. Marais is arrondisement number3. the city exact center is arrondisement number1. it takes 5mins metro ride to reach Ar1 from Ar3
juz like traveling from AMK central to ave3 hee...

rtan

Hi Cheryl,

If you are looking at the official Paris Metro Map:

http://www.ratp.info/picts/plans/gif/reseaux/metro.gif

Look for the Bastille metro station; it's where lines 1, 5, and 8 intersect. The neighbourhood of Bastille is located there, and Marais is next to Bastille.

And yes, it *is* as nice as we describe it; Paris is one place that to us, looked as good or better in real life as it does in photos.

yongee86

hi guys,

i'm back from my trip. weather forecast was basically inaccurate when i was there.. it was supposed to be 27 degrees but turn out to be 20 or sometimes 17 degrees. i did went to loire valley and versailes. loire valley is beautiful and magical. will highly recommend anyone who is going to paris to spare a day or two to spend in loire valley.

smile1

Thanks Raymond for your advice. I will look into getting a carnet for us to move around in Paris. You've mentioned that it's for short or long journey which means i can travel to any zone yeah even to zone 6?

Yongee - loire valley sounds nice, can it be reached by metro and which station? We've consider going to versailes as well, still trying to see what are the options

rtan

Dear blur angel,

Yes, you can travel anywhere on the metro with one ticket, but I think you'd find it hard to find a metro station in Zone 6, let alone Loire Valley. The metro does not even go to Versailles; for that, you need the regional trains known as the RER. Perhaps you might like to consult a map of France and do a bit of Googling to find out more.

yongee86

blur angel, i booked a local tour for loire valley whereby they provide car pickup, lunch, all entrance tickets to 3 chateaus and a wine tour in vouvay.

as for versailes, you need to buy separate tickets via RER line to reach versailes. my recommendation is to first go versailes on one day and another day to loire valley. you will see the very different styles of the castles.

midas, yeah, the weather is good for london n paris. but it was super hot in italy. still organizing my pics. i took 1.6k++ pics... hahah..

yongee,
is the day tour to loire valley ex? juz see castles n wine tasting har?

can't wait to see ur pix hee...

yongee86

midas, the day tour is not too bad in terms of costs. it cost about sgd700++ for 2 pax which includes car transport, 4 course lunch, 3 entrance tickets to chateaus and a wine tour. it cost less as compared if i were to do it by myself by taking the train to loire valley from paris and renting a car to drive around.

the lunch provided was pretty good. we had salad (which was normal), steak or fish (was good!), platter of cheese, dessert(very yummy) and free flow of wine.

the view of these chateaus were breath-taking! as for the wine tour, it was okie. realised french loved very dry wine which was not really wat we liked coz we preferred very smooth wine.

we were lucky coz another couple who were supposed to join the same tour did not turn up and it became a private tour for us. hahah..

keki, italy is pretty far from paris since you gota pass switzerland and most parts of France before reaching Paris. it is very time consuming as well. i stayed in budget hotel in paris so not sure. but it is best to stay near the metro n in the 1st e such as challet les halles.

rtan

Dear Yongee,

Wow, sounds like it was a wonderful day trip.

Not that I wish to pour cold water or anything, but let's look at the cost if we were to do it ourselves in the same way as they did it. So there is no need to take the train; just rent a car from Paris and drive to Loire Valley.

The following estimates are on the high-end:

Car rental: about SGD 150
Petrol: about SGD 100 (assuming diesel car, which is very common)
Lunch: about SGD 200
Entrance tickets: about SGD 120
Wine tour: about SGD 40

Total: 610

So even with my sky-high estimates, I think it is still cheaper to do it on your own. I think it is quite natural since they have to make money, and labour cost is not cheap at all! But of course the nice thing is everything is done for you and you just need to sit back and relax.

May I enquire; which three chateaus did you visit?

yongee86

hi raymond,

the car rentals charges that we searched online for various car rental companies was much steeper than what you estimated. 1 day car rental for the smallest available car was EUR250 which is almost SGD500.

we went to chateau amboise, clos luce and chateau chenonceau. my fav was chenonceau, very fairy tale like.