Eyebrow/facial threading

gingercoke

just wondering who had any ideas on
1. how long will it last
2. which good salons to recommend
3. rate
4. do they also do threading for back ????
5. what is the after effect ?

TQ !

hamasaki128

hi gingercoke,
4 me, i did threading 4 d v first time todae. quite k, but a bit painful. I m not sure abt threading 4 back. It's an indian girl who did 4 me. I find it nice. It'll cost $5(eyebrow). If u 1 2 do 4 whole face, it costs $15. Can try it! I love it! Heez. I did it at Clementi. It's a new store. I believe it's hard 2 find threading now. Y u suddly 1 2 try? 1 2 knw. =)

esp

Cheryl,

Please advise the shop name and address. After threading will the hair grows back thicker??

hamasaki128

Hi dolphin,
The place i recommened is at clementi central area, near clementi mrt stn. The stall dun have a shop name. It shd b at blk 447, juz opp blk 449(coffeshop). I dun knw d specific blk. I dint notice d blk no. I went there according to my mum's direction instruction. It's juz a blk nxt 2 d clementi mkt food centre. It's under HDB flat. The HDB flat r those low-deckked, 3-4 stories. There r onli 2 stalls doing d threading. One's $4& ano's $5. In front of dis stall dat i recommended is a jewellery shop or spectacles shop. Near to the shop, there is a shop which sell electrical appliances. My sister recommended me 2 go d one which's $5. The $5 stall is a thin lady compared to the $4 who's a plump lady. Lastly, i dun find the hair grows thicker back(my first time threading). Hope u can find d place! Happy threading! Let me knw yr experience after u did it! thanx alot! C(^o^)D~

gingercoke

hihi cheryl,

thanks for the info.
have been gathering some material on this becos i heard that threading will cause makeup to last long, faster than plucker & hair wont grow back thicker. not sure isit true. hence need to ask ard.
any idea is there any shops in the north or orchard area ??
clementi is a bit way out for me.
TQ !

hamasaki128

hi gingercoke,
Since dis is d first time dat i do threading, i dun knw if it'll grow faster than plucking or not. I believe it wont b thicken after threading. I find threading is nice coz i find it's a traditional method. Love it! I am not sure of ani other places except seragoon area. I dont knw what's the place. I saw in newspaper long time ago. I believe threading r done by indians recently. Mayb u can look out for indian's shop which provide dis service.

honeyjul

Juz to share with u. my indian friends recommended me to threading a yr ago n since then i have been doing upper lip threading only. tried to do my eyebrow once, but i din really like it. coz it was too thin - not natural. but it really depends on individual.
From my experience n hearsay, threading wil not result the hair to grow faster. it actually slows down the growth of hair for me i feel. the regrowth is finer and u dun need to thread often. i thread abt once every two months. a single visit cost me $3 so personally, i tink its a good n cheap way to remove unwanted hair.
However, i heard from the indian aunties that some pple with sensitive skins may experience breakouts if they thread their whole face. One of my Indian friend she had, so i din dare to risk threading my entire face for the fear of breakout!
Hope these info helps!

For face threading, I know another place is in Serangoon MRT area, those traditional done by Indians too, of coz there are also some chinese beauty centres which do it as well.

for threading, i do think that once all ur facial hairs are cleared, of coz the make up will look nicer, easier to apply & of coz more long lasting lor, in fact, nowadays quite a lot of girls do go for threading,me will be gg for my threading coupld of days bfore my PS too!

Advice from others who had done threading, the facial hair will not grow back thicker but finer, & there is really no need to keep gg back for threading unless of coz if its ur big day lor.

sure hope these helps!
108488.gif

honeyjul

Hi Gingercoke!
The one i went to is at Little India. Its called Rupinis.
they have a website www.rupinis.com but i can't seem to access the webbie though.
I try to get the phone number for u once i check out their name card. If u intending to do whole face threading, i tink they charge $15. eyebrow $5, upper lip $3.
However, if u go to Little India u will realise that alot of shops there provide threading services as well.
Get back to u again

hi Ginger,

I know there are alot in Little india too.... like wat Honey mentioned, will go check out & see ya!

Hi Honey, can give me ur contacts too? can try out different ones, did u go to the Rupinis too?

Another one that i found, ginger u can see see to have a better idea ya!

Venessa Beauty Salon, 8 Buffalo Road, Second Floor, Singapore 219783.
Other services include facial massage, henna artwork, henna treatment and bridal make-up.
Tel: 6291 7229. Fax: 6291 2705.

lourdes

Hi, I am interested to do facial threading also. Any good recommendations out there? I heard Little India got quite a few shops that are good. How can I be able to get to Little India?

Hi Lourdes,

just take MRT to Little India, go towards the Tekka market direction, in this case, u will be facing opposite Tekka Mall, just walk along those shop houses towards Mustafa Shopping centres, u should be able to find many there....

honeyjul

HI skylar!

U frequent rupinis too? Then perhaps u might have met before. I have seen a lot of Chinese ladies doing threading there too.

I din try out other facial threading in little India besides rupinis coz my Indian friends say that it is more reputable so I listen to them. but I would say its ok lar, threading is still painful to a certain extent. I only thread there because it is relatively cheaper than doing threading in say bioskin. I went to the latter to thread upper lip and they charge me $8, in little India only $3.

The contacts as follow:
Rupinis Beauty Consultant
24/26 1st Floor Buffalo Road
Tel 62916789/62943994
U can email them at [email protected]

Hope these helps!

lourdes

Hi HoneyJuL,

Besides threading upper lip, did you thread the whole face and eyebrow?

You visit Rupinis once in a month or?

So far, how you find threading? Is it good?

Hi Honey,

so u also go to Rupinis ah? Heard that its quite reputable like wat u mentioned lor... but u thread so often ah? not that necessary rite?

Hi Lourdes,
if ur afraid of the pain, then u try to just thread a small area first lor, perhaps ur lip lor, but i would reckon that the whole face is better lah....

honeyjul

HI skylar,

Yah, I thread in rupinis. U also?

I dun thread often – say once every two months. My facial hair grows out pretty slow. I think the more u thread, the more fine the regrowth. So I dun thread often. However, it really depends on individual. My Indian friends they thread once every week. So it really depends on how fast ur hair grow.

Hi Lourdes,

Its quite painful especially when u try threading for the first time. Nevertheless, my threshold of pain is very low. A little bit of pain, I will tear. When I first started threading my upper lip, tears juz roll down my eyes. But I would say the pain is pretty worth it, after threading, I can see no more hair on my upper lip and it feels very smooth. I heard from the Indian threading ladies that this helps to remove hair from the root, so it is very clean and the regrowth hair will be finer.
I not sure how true it is, but for my case, the regrowth is indeed finer.

Also, I din thread my whole face coz I have sensitive skin. If I thread my whole face, I will risk breakouts. I dunno whether this is true but the people over there says that pimple prone skin better dun thread whole face or else sure breakouts. I dunno to trust this or not coz indeed some of my friends have more breakouts whereas some dun have. I won’t want to risk having a pimple filled face before my wedding so I strictly only thread my upper lip.

I tried eyebrow threading once, was very painful and my eye area all red. The end result is also very very thin eyebrow which I don’t like so I won’t want to try threading on my eyebrow area anymore. But it is really up to u whether u want to try. For me, I really cannot bear too much pain. Just threading on the upper lip will do for me.

Hope these info helps!

lourdes

Hi HoneyJuL,

Thank you so much for your info! I intend to try the whole face including upper lip.

As I did my eyebrow embroidery ( Li Ti Siew Mei ) in 2002, there's already a shape there so is it possible to ask them thread according to the Siew Mei shape?

I have sensitive skin also, hopefully no breakouts. I don't really scared of the pain but only scared my whole face will become RED!

honeyjul

Hi lourdes,
I think face will become red after threading but just a while only. the redness will go off very soon.

My upper lip is always very red after threading but subside after half an hour thankfully.

Hi skylar,

Yes, my matrimonial home is there too - fernvale. I chat in the sengkang 400 thread too but now not active already. busy at work. But i haven't shift in there coz my wedding next yr june 18 so leaving the house vacant.
which blk u staying at? mine 405B, same as 'energiser'. went to visit her house before. very nice n simple.

gingercoke

hello all,

anyone noe that Far East plaza also have a shop to do threading ??
can give me the shop name & etc ??
TQ !

lourdes

Hi HoneyJul,

Do I need to make appointment with Rupinis? I will be going down after my work; must I remove my makeup before the threading?

hi Honey,

ohhh really? i see!! so we are all from the SK big family! hehehe.... my blk is in 409B, kinda near to urs too, next time can drop by ya!

So u saw Energiser's hse too? me will be shifting in perhaps end of this year, so u have not started ur reno yet, I presume?

Hi Lourdes,
u dun have to make appt coz there are quite a few shops doing threading there as well, no worries

pingping

Juz what to check is it safe to do facial threading if you hv blemished and sensitive skin?
I hv a lot of facial hair, thought of removing it to make my skin smoother.

missahree

hi..being an indian i frequent little india quite frequently just to do my threading..have tried almost all the shops..rupinis gave me a very bad impression the first time i went to i stopped going to them..customer service is bad too..there's one at the basement of Tekka Mall..its the only threading "shop" there..looks like a small office cubicle..but the lady there is such a professional..$5 as well..after i went there..ive stuck to her ever since..a job well done..

marzipan

Threading last about 2 to 3 weeks depending on individual hair growth. I am used to eyebrow and lip threading and find it very neat, natual and clean. I used to travel to Little India but finally found one lady near my home (Clementi Ave 2). It cost about $5 for eyebrow threading.
I will only recommend waxing for back as it is a wide area.
If interested, I can provide the address of the place.

tree

Hi Joanne,
I'm interested to know where in Clementi Ave 2 the shop is. The one at Clementi Central is always so crowded.

jess18

Jus would like to share my experience on face threading. I went for face threading at Clementi a few days ago. After it has been done, rashes start to appear on my face like mosquitoes bite. I asked the lady and she said it's because I am sensitive and the rashes will go off in 2 hours time.

But my face's getting worse, it's red and a bit swollen with little water bubbles. I went down to let my beautician take a look and she said tat my skin surface is damaged. Hence resulting in the water bubbles and also a bit inflamation. It could be due to the fact tat the lady uses a lot of strength when threading. My skin has always been good and this incident really made a serious damage to it. And the worse thing is tomorrow is my photoshoot day, I am really upset abt it.

So would like to warn u gals who's considering to face threading especially for those who is getting married. I really regret trying it out.

decwedding

Hi Ree,
is the shop at Tekka Mall for threading still ard? $5 for full face? How's the shop look like and how's the service? tell me more pls. Thanks.

fionaallen

I do threading in penisular plaza on #03-03. Full face costs $20. Waiting time is reasonable and the place is very accessible. There are 2 or 3 threaders there.. All done by Indian ladies . Cheaper than the mainstream BrowHaus etc.

heartybear

Anyone Tried Zhui Mei at Perfect Art located at Blk 208(Bedok Interchange) #01-679,need feedback and helping friend to post.Thanks alot

natal

I did threading in Ella Earth near Kovan Mrt.
applied facial after threading.quite comfortable
I don't know how much now
anyone has interest call 62895501- coreen for details

elluci

is the Tekka Mall basement shop still available for threading? But im acne prone though.. Not advisable to go for threading? Cos my forehead's hair is fine but slightly 0.15cm long around there..

Im chinese btw.. pls help..

And is Venessa beauty salon better than rupinis? Recently saw on channel 8 entertainment show, they were advertising Venessa beauty salon..thanks..

babyiguana

I always go for my threading at Sunny De Beaute Centre.. It is located in an old building in Orchard.. I had gone there for threading for > 2yrs.. Upper lip and Eyebrow cost abt $13 (if i didn't remember wrongly.. oways 4get..)
21 Cuscaden Road, Ming Arcade
#03-07/08 Opp Forum Taxi Stand & Hardrock Cafe..
Tel: 67323606. They are close on Sunday.. =)
*Open by 2 friendly Indian Ladies..

white_tiger

Best place I have tried eyebrow threading is Maaya Secrets in Upper Dickson Road.You should ask for Aarti she really shapes your eyebrow really well.After shaping she put something cold over the eyebrows its fantastic.

chriszwendy

Hi there gals!
Just thought of sharing my experience with you! I started threading only about 1 year ago upon recommendation from one of my indian girlfriend. As you might have read, threading actually originates from India... so i trust that they are pros in this area, i would say. Before my threading experience, i used to shave or pluck, depending on whether i am in a rush or not! This is actually kind of bad... i heard from my indian girlfriend that shaving will cause ingrown hair in the long run and also create dark-looking pores(which look like blackheads)! So i stopped shaving my eyebrows and followed her to little india to start my threading experience. The first time i did, it was a little painful... but still bearable. After the session, little red rashes like mosquito bites appeared around my eyebrow area. I got quite scared then, because my indian girlfriend looks perfectly fine after threading. She assured me that it will go off at most half an hour later. We took a bus back then and chatted, and by the time we reached our destination, the bumps were gone! I looked at myself in the mirror, and i realised that i have got myself the most beautiful eyebrows I've ever gotten for myself! From then onwards, i told myself that i will never stop threading! It has been the most amazing thing I've ever tried! The most powerful thing about threading is also that i realised my hair has grown finer and the shape of my brows are more defined than the past! It will only grow back like 3 weeks later. So gals... anyone of you who wanna try threading, I would say, GO FOR IT!!! You'd not regret it!
I work in Raffles place and used to travel all the way down to Little India just to do my eyebrow threading. Recently, i discovered a terrific therapist who did a fantastic threading job for me near my working place where i always have my lunch! It is in The Arcade at Raffles Place, #03-08. The shop's name is called Hairloom... newly opened, i think. Cos i see lots of flowers outside their shop...! The price is comparable to Little India, some services are cheaper in fact. $5 for eyebrow threading and $12 for the full face i think. They also have other cheap services like brazilian waxing and stuffs.
Happy threading, gals!
Oh ya... if u wanna call and check with them, ths is their num... 62260114

alyash

There's an Indian lady who does beauty services, threading, facials etc in Punggol. She also does house calls. Anyone who wants to get in touch with her, send me an email [email protected]... Cheers!

snoopy_girl

anyone heard about a beauty saloon called Salon No 1 near Bishan Junction.

They do eyebrow embroidery, hear from my friend that they business is so good that you must may at least 6 months advance booking...

Anyone had try.. Any comments...

evililicious

my first thread was with Bioskin.
The skill is awesome. But the price is not worth!
So I'm wondering if there's and good recommenced shop? Do PM me! Deeply appreciated

dream_chocolate

Hey evilicious and ladies

Just something to share with you. I absolutely agree that threading is really good and keeps your eyebrows fine and beautiful. But lately I have heard complains from my friends who do threading. It seems that some places remove your natural eyebrow line when they do threading. So do be careful when you do threading.

In fact its important that threading is done well so you look fantastic. For instance where I go for threading, my beautician does threading to make sure it suits my face. I have been going there for a year and she is so good that after my threading I have noticed how people who communicate with me focus on my eyes alot more. And as you know eyes are the windows to the soul and having good eyebrows is important.

So evilicious you can try my beautician. Her name is sarah. Her shop is at waterloo street. She does amazing eyebrows at a low cost. In addition she does facial and waxing and hair.You can contact her @81577290

smurfy

hi, how long does one session of threading for the full face takes? Does anyone has any recommendation for threading in Orchard or west area?