Ex-schoolgirls meeting place

Hey lilac!

Sollie..everytime I click 'Last 12 hours' I nvr see this thread leh :p

Err..I have not bought any baby stuff yet!! Can you believe it?? The only thing I did was balk at the prices of cots and breast pumps :p So expensive!! Well, all the ones I liked were expensive..hehe.

Next appt with OB is on 1 July....will be almost starting my third trimester by then. Fast man. Seemed like just yesterday we found out that we're expecting. Now..only 3.5 mths to go before she arrives. Kinda scary, but we're looking fwd to it. So far I've gained 8.5kg, but still don't look that big. Think belly size will accelerate from 7mth onwards.

lilacgal

morn alhana!! gd to c u back here....
ya most probably u hv missed the thread cos stimes the entire topic can go missing....

ooo no cute little wear for ur princess yet...haha u hv expensive taste tats why....like only the 'branded' ones? i guess u will receive lotsa baby gifts later on fr relatives and friends....so can just buy some essential items now first

hehe tats fast isnt it....getting nearer and nearer liao! is indeed quite scary to think abt giving birth...i can't imagine myself in tat position :p

think u gonna put on more in the last 2 mths....8.5kg is normal? i tik baby gal tats y u dun look that big hee....many babies coming this later half of the year....i hv colleagues due in aug sept oct period :p

Hi lilac!

Yah, I have so many colleagues giving birth ard the same time as me! We were joking that we'll see each other all in 2007..heheh. At least 3 others will be giving birth in Oct! Our colleagues will hafta come out with alot of $$ for baby gifts..hahha.

I think the wt gain is normal. Doctor didn't say I was gaining too much..so should be alright lah :p They say usually in 2nd trimester will gain ard 2kg per mth..so far I'm on track lah. Last nite ate $3 wanton mee still hungry man! Jialat. Must control. Luckily I'm not the sort who will just let go and eat and eat and eat..if not prob 20kg by now :p

Yah, I'm looking at essential items for now..like furniture, breast pumps, bottles. Clothes too...pretty clothes..not so soon lah. Saw so many cute dresses in Mothercare. That's the thing abt having girls..more fashion choices..also means more money spent :p I was telling my hubby..should stick to more generic looking clothes..in case hv boy next time..can pass on..haha.

I haven't really thought about the giving birth part. Not very scared...yet :p The women I talked to..they say by then you're just so eager to get the kid out, you don't really care abt the pain..just wanna get it done and over with!

How...your wedding plans..got make any progress or not?

lilacgal

yes i often see baby girls so prettily dressed up....and their clothes r so trendy as well but of cos baby gals clothes r more expensive loh....imagine they outgrown them so easily...hee wat a waste...:p

haha u not thinking of buying ur gal only a nice little dress for cny and other times wearing some generic pattern clothes ba?? :p but is true tat for practicality sake, unisex plain cotton clothes is the best....

ok so u r not the type who will take tis opportunity to hv all sorts of craving and make hb go all the way to get one mee poh kind....good for u so u dun hv much prob getting back into shape :p

gd for u hving ur maternity at end of the yr so u will come back to office only in the new year! ya man guess when u r in labour ur only thought will be to get over with IT fast! haha

hee not much progress with wedding plans....cos busy with moving hse this mth leh....

Wah..moving house this mth...only 1 week left to the month..how many % completed liow? I hate moving house man..clean, pack, move, unpack, clean, put away..yucks! When I was younger, parents kept moving like once every 2 yrs...sis and I had phobia man :p

I do have cravings, but they're not that extreme. So far, I never make my hubby do such things lah..quite poor thing :p If I continue to have craving for that item during the weekend, then we'll go out and get it..but most of the time, the craving wld be gone by then :p My colleague had really bad cravings...die die must eat kind...and she ate alot. Can eat 1 big packet of noodles and 1 big packet of carrot cake for lunch..and she'll finish it all by herself. Scarrry.

She will probably get some girly clothes lah..but we'll try to keep it as neutral as possible :p Of coz things like skirts and pretty blouses..no choice...those definitely can't pass on to baby boy, unless we want to seriously mess him up :p

lilacgal

hi there alhana, wooo...i hv been busy busy packing my stuff at home over the wkend...kinda tough man...my mum is complaining..she cannot take it seeing all the barang she headache....u can imagine all the barang collected over these 20 over yrs!? *faint* u nvr know how much stuff u hv until u start digging out everything fr everywhere! heee...

and u say ur parents move hse every 2 yrs?!? wahh very rich leh must be moving to bigger and bigger property each time?

i was clearing all my notes and books and i found all my ahs year book and this 'fei1 ying1' publication (the essay publication neh rem?) haha :p

ur hubby is lucky lor nvr get 'de kan' by ur unreasonable cravings....:p hv heard of frends's hub being made to travel far in middle of nite kind....of cos she put up alot of weight at the end of the whole pregnancy keke...read somewhere u gotten some baby stuff already rite?

Hi lilac!

No lah, we didn't move to bigger n bigger houses each time...some of the houses were under rental agreements, hence we didn't stay put for long. Think my folks wanted to experiment living in different types of houses :p Only have not lived on landed property yet. So far, I've stayed in HDB, condo, walk-up apartment. Everytime we moved, we threw alot of things away! I can understand your going thru 20 yrs of belongings...been there! We also take each move as an opportunity to clear out all those unwanted items..dunno keep for what :p

I think I still have my year books too! Somewhere in my cupboard

Yah, my hubby's lucky. Before I got pregnant, I already told him that he cannot give in to my whims and fancies lest I end up ballooning into a whale! So now, if I say 'I wanna eat this crap', he'll go 'you sure u want? Become as big as a whale how?'..that usually kills my craving...ha ha. Should try it next time when you're pregnant :p Yah, I got myself a cot, play pen and diaper/bath station over the weekend. Delivery's in late Aug, so still have time to clear room for her things

elitegal

wa..i just found this thread..abt AHS..quite surprised to see so many postings here.=)

i m born in 1979 wan..any other gals in my batch?? =P

elitegal

Hi alhana,

oh..u were born in 1975? that makes u my senior!! ha ha..=P

i read from the earlier post tt u r now pregnant?? wow..congrats!! =P

Hi JJ

Thanks! Yup, am pregnant..in fact, am due anytime this month. Should be popping ard the last week of Sep.

So are you married yet, or a bride to be?

elitegal

hi alhana,

yeah..i have just rom-ed late last yr..will hold my AD in 2008.=P currently..i m just doing some research on items like banquet venue, bridal stuff as well as how the itinerary shld be.=P

wow..congrats!! u r going to be a mum very soon!! =P must be getting all excited now, right? since it's just around the corner..=P

have a smooth delivery! =)

where did u hold ur AD btw? any good experiences with vendors like BS to recommend to me? =P

Hi JJ

Wow..still a ways to go till your AD huh! You've got loads of time to prepare
My AD was in 2001...my BS already closed down..haha. They were actually related to Julia Wedding News...same boss. Think things may hv changed considerably since my AD. But I'll try to help wherever I can

Yeah, gonna be a mom soon. Just went for a check up today...doc thinks it'd be another week before she makes her grand entrance. Quite excited..the last 9 mths went by in a flash!! Thanks for your good wishes :p If u need pregnancy advice I can help..haha. Doubt you'll need it anytime soon though :p

lilacgal

Hello all! This thread getting active again!

Hi JJ, u r my junior! me dragon lah! oh me rom-ed late last year too! hee yup u have plenty of time for ur preparation! unfortunately me havent got an AD yet! haha but hope to get over it next year! :p

Hi alhana mummy, sorry havent been popping in to say hi....wow nine months really flashed past just like tat! u will hv a smooth delivery im sure!

now is the time to just relax urself and get ready for the long awaited moment! must be a pretty exciting feeling...seeing ur little gal soon!

Hi lilac

Nice to hear from ya again! How's things with you? Yup, the last nine months went by in a flash! Life's gonna turn upside down pretty soon ;P Well, looking fwd to my 3 mth break from work. Granted I will be working at home (being a slave to baby), but it will be much more fulfilling..and probably more aggravating :p Was watching Discovery Home and Health yesterday ... it was a documentary about handling toddlers...wah...some of those kids..really can drive you nuts! But their parents still love them, so it can't be all bad..keke.

lilacgal

hii alhana! all mummies love their children no matter how bad they r! imagine the child grew in u and came out from u!
hahah...guess tats y my mother always tells me i will only understand when i become a mother whenever she nags at me! hahah guess tat 3 mths break from work is wat all mummies look fwd to! :p

i hv been ok...life has been busy...juggling between work/household stuff/pets and bagss......hehe

Hi lilac

So I guess your house moving went swimmingly? Are you staying there all the time now?

Well, I'll let you know what being a mommy is like lah :p Do you and your hubby plan to have kids in the future? I've nvr thought of myself as the mommy type....don't hv a maternal bone in my body (i'm the sort who wld 'siam' whenever people try to thrust their babies into my arms)..dunno what made me change my mind in the end..maybe the ticking biological clock thingy is true!

lilacgal

yup alhana, didnt realise but it is coming 3 months since i moved to new place wif parents
everything has been smooth...we took abt 2-3 wks to pack up and settle in....place is not fully occupied...still many empty units...guess it will take some time to fill up....

haha sure sure update me! well if i dun hear from u for a while, i know u r in delivery! :p hmmm actually me and my husb r not into kids type lah....most probably becos we prefer a non-baby lifestyle...also our new hse is not baby-proof..as in we nvr take 'baby' as a consideration when planning layout, furnitures etc...hahah i know such things still can be changed later on.....for the time being dun tik baby is on our mind....such things leave it to nature lah! :p

Hi lilac

Hah..talking abt baby proofing..think my house is a baby hazard! So many stairs, sharp corners etc....think I'll go mad making sure she stays safe :p My hubby's the one who's into kids, not me. He's very good with children, whereas I tend to avoid them where possible :p But it'd be different with my own kid lah. I actually enjoy the feeling of being pregnant..it's indescribable...esp when you feel their kicks and squirms. Also, it's good that I've had a fairly easy pregnancy. Apart from my first trimester morning sickness, and aches and soreness in the last mth..things hv been going swimmingly. I know some people who hv morning sickness thruout the 9 mths..wow, can't imagine how torturous that must be!

lilacgal

hehe alhana, sounds like u enjoy this pregnancy experience, is indeed lucky tat it has been quite a smooth ride for u, which is really good i must say! ya i hv also heard of pple with problematic pregnancy which require them to be away fr work and be bed-ridden....those r really the difficult ones...tats just how great mothers are, isnt it? hee i know tis whole thing is an experience beyond description...do u feel tis is some kind of a personal fulfillment in a way?
im sure u and ur hubby will raise ur girl well...gee haha im feeling excited for u now too! :p

Morning lilac

Hmm...personal fulfillment? Not yet leh..maybe coz haven't seen her in person yet. Think I feel worried most of the time..wondering if she's ok, whether she's growing well...we'll prob spend the rest of our lives worrying about our children! Now raising kids is even tougher...they're smarter and tend to be more independent...hope she doesn't become some naughty wise guy type :p

lilacgal

ok alhana, i guess after giving birth and starting your routine with the new role, u will feel the fulfillment coming! :p

i hv a gal frend whose lifestyle change for the 'better' after hving a kid...i tik she somehow grew up...no more late nites out/less drinking/less smoking....also a child is jus not like a pet....u cant just pass it to someone else like discarding old clothes...my frend is tiking of giving up her doggy as she finds it tough to give the pet its equal share of love and care after a baby comes into her life.....

also the financial commitment to raise a kid...it is so expensive to raise a child in sg!! hahah i guess im not prepared for such responsibilities! u r right abt worrying abt them...cos there r consequences to bear for all their actions....

hee i hope u dun find me sound too negative...but it is jus my thoughts lah! told u im not into kids liao hahah....see all e excuses tat i can find! :p

Hiya lilac

Guess what..the morning i sent that post...I was in labor a few hrs later :p I've given birth! Was in labor since Thu morning but my daughter chose to wait till 22 Sep to come into this world. She waited till the 8th lunar mth, like I asked her to..haha. But me the mommy had to go thru a loooong labor. Had a natural delivery w vacuum and epidural. Now my butt hurts like hell due to the episiotomy stitches and hemorroids. Ugh.

Now trying to get the hang of nursing. Not easy man. She keeps falling asleep and I hv no idea if she's getting anything. Stress!

K lah..will write more later on. Have to wake the princess up soon for a feed.

lilacgal

CONGRATS alhana!

hee when i didnt see ur post next day, i guess u must be in labor already! wow how long were u in labor? it sounds long from thur morn to fri morn! i cannot imagine the kind of pain u go through in giving birth, but must say u r one brave mother!

hows baby gal so far? who does she look like? i guess u guys r starting to adapt to her feeding timings? hv fun taking up the new role, 12 wks of freedom from work...but i tik u will be far more busier at home! ;)

illac

this thread has stopped 4 a few months. Just happened to read this. Wow! actually im from the same class as gim n jingles!

cecilialim

haha! so funny when i think of the old school.. still remember the school hall is at 2nd floor... the staircase at the side leads to the canteen...

I'm from 6E class

blossom

alhana,
congrats!!!! sori for disappearing for so long, been terribly busy at work. you should be coming to the end of your confinement. how's everything so far?

lilacgal,
paiseh, so long never pop in here. ur parents shifted already? i saw the new blocks, very nice.

goooogal

Wow... this is interesting.. I never knew there was a St Nicks thread in SB! Hi hi...I'm from the 93 batch and from 1Faith, 2Truth, 3Wisdom & 4Wisdom... anyone??

Sorry for not popping by in awhile

Baby girl is 2 mths old already! Her sleeping schedule is becoming predictable. She's capable of sleeping thru the nite now...even if she wakes up, it's usually once only. So we can get more shut eye now
She's a cutey..smiling alot and making baby sounds.

Lilac

Epidural actually helps wipe out the pain. So if ure scared of pain, just opt for it..dun think so much..haha. Contractions are like very very painful menstrual cramps. But once they administer the epi, you don't feel anything..really.

Sigh...am almost thru 2/3 of my maternity leave. So fast. Before i know it, it'd be back to work again. SIAN.

snowbell42

hi Pink Bunny...
me also fr KC :p which batch r u?
i belong to the '89 batch.. omg!! sounds like some ages ago.. makes me feel old haha

carinal

Hi Shirlynn,
Me too from KC. Graduated in 1991. Spent the best years of my life there, and till now all my really good friends are the ones I made at KC.

pinkbunny

snowbell, when did you graduate?
i went back once but everythng has changed. one youngish indian teacher tried to chase me out
i went for some alumni lunch at KC primary cos i spent half a year there. they're tearing it down leh! it's so new!! like very liao lwee leh

snowbell42

hi pink bunny.. oh.. tht's sad news.. though i din go to KC primary at all.. i was fr CHIJ Opera Estate (b4 tis new KC primary was up).. i grad in '93.. kinda miss the food there :p the bookshop auntie has changed also?

but y the indian teacher chased u out? it's not some istana or some impt functions.. it's juz a school mah.. y the teacher so rude one..

pinkbunny

so you're one year my senior
bookshop auntie is the same lady i think. but the bookshop is now under the staircase, next to dentist. under where the uniform groups rooms were.

i think the teacher thought i was trespassing. even when i said i was an old girl, she still didn't allow me to go in to gia gia. i had to sneak in :S