Ex-schoolgirls meeting place

bow_wow

Wow gals,

I didn't check this forum for a week and tons of messages liao...this is great!
More people are actually talking in this thread..yipee...=P

We should have a gathering some time...=D

sweetbuns

Hi dearie (jany).

I graduated in 1991 too! hhmmm... sounds like you are from 4E2?

It's nice to see this thread coming alive again.... :)

sweetbuns

hi jany,

heehee... is your name anywhere close to being jany? (*grin* me trying to guess who you are)

I believe we must have been classmates at least once in the 4 yrs in there.... cos i was in 1B, then 1A.... and there was only 2 classes in sec1!!! hahaha.... so we must have been in the same class before.....

so, when is your wedding?

blossom

hi alhana,
i guess you are prob back in spore now. how's the bkk trip? bought a lot of stuff?

i watched tar4 yesterday. it was quite a tense leg as well.... there were arguements and it was really scary how they fight among themselves. the gay couple got lost and it was amazing that they still caught up eventually.

father and son team got agruments rite at the beginning and i guess the detour was kinda tough on the dad so there was quite a delay there. dun really feel anything that they were now eliminated..... actually, i feel that the teams are not as interesting to watch compared to tar3....

i went to watch the hulk just now. not too bad... but kinda draggy.... the effects were good but dun really like the way the film is edited. you will know when you watch it.
24695.gif

Hi Blossom,

Yes I'm back. Tired. Shopped till our feet hurt :p My hubby doesn't want to shop anymore for the rest of the yr...hahaha. I did buy q abit of stuff : 2 bags, 4 wacoal bras + matching undies, 2 pairs of shoes, a wallet and 5 tops. They have alot of great clothes there, but the sad news is their sizes are so small! I hafta wear their L size..so demoralising :p Their gals are really slim. Hard to find a fat thai.

I caught TAR4 on AXN just now. Yeah, quite abit of squabbling going on. I really can't stand Kelly. She just seems to put her foot in her mouth everytime. She'll just insist tt she's right..only to be proven wrong by Jon. Tian & Jaree really fight alot too...next wk ep can see them exploding at one another.

HeY I watched the Hulk too..this morning. Ure right..it was kinda draggy. Probably coz they had to develop his back story. U mean the comic book feel of the movie..that's the editing ure talking abt? I'm ok w that..but the story wasn't as fun to watch as X-Men. Guess Hulk isn't as interesting a character. Liked to see him smashing stuff tho..kinda funny.

Yawn. So sleepy. Will turn in early. Hey did u get the new HP book? My sis is reading it now. I'll probably get to read it tmr (she's almost done) The book is much cheaper in Bkk! The same hardcover copy costs $26. Sigh..if I'd known, wld have bought it there :p

blossom

hi alhana,
wow, what a harvest!
i hope i can go as well....
was it hot there? crowded??

yah.... kelly is kinda inconfident of what jon said.... sigh...
tian and jaree dun seem to see eye to eye... actually, its really a test to their relationship...

yup, thats the editing part i mean. i think its
not very nice... though my hubby thought it's like the comic book and quite nice... hey, i thot im the only one.... i kept saying... become the hulk leh.... i want to see you smash things.

i did get the book. my hubby was trying to lure me into the book shop... but i insist not to... or else i cant resist buying it. i want to wait for paperback. all my books are paperback.. so kinda weird to have a hard cover... anyway, i will continue to wait....
24713.gif

Morning Blossom,

It was kinda hot in BKk...but it was cloudy and rainy at times. Hot, humid, wet. Not v pleasant for outdoor shopping so I spent most of my shopping time in malls :p I didn't buy much pasar malam type stuff (except for Colleagues..they gave me a loong shopping list)..bought most of my stuff fr dept stores. Good quality and cheap!

Wow..I admire ure determination to wait! The book is really thick....and fr what I read in reviews..the story will not disappoint true potter fans. I can't wait for my sis to finish it so tt I can start.

blossom

hi alhana,
i had a bad day... so couldn't write during the day. ganna scolded by my boss again. she hinted that i caused a delay in a report by not helping my staff compute the figures.

what happened is she threw me a report (prepared annually) which is a revised version from the original one which was prepared few months ago. there are 2 parts of the report, one is the computation, the other part is the analysis.

my assist mgr (am) told me to focus on the analysis while another staff does the computation since she is more familiar with that part. so i look to the staff for the figures. i did helped to input some figures several times. but the computation file is an excel worksheet and only one person can update the file at one time. so its only the staff or me. in fact, both the staff and am told me not to amend the file without telling them becos it is quite a massive one and they are worried that i may accidentally do something wrong.

my boss doesn't know a thing... all she does is chase for the report and scold me for sitting on it. i gave her a draft (without figures) long time ago. she also reviewed once already. she also knew that the figures are not firm. but still she continued to chase.

she said if the staff cannot do, i must do it. pls lah, she has been telling me since day one, of cos i know lah. do you know that other colleagues can ask supporting staff to help? but if i do, i am like committing a crime???!!! in fact, i always try to do things myself. its more tedious to check and if i check 100%, i might as well do it myself rite???

i asked my am whether she needs me to relieve the supporting staff. she said the staff does not have other pressing things on hand so she can do the computation report. she was shocked when she heard the boss scolded me for letting the staff do the report alone.

my am suggested that she explained to boss for me but i thot that might make things worse. i choose to believe that boss is scolding me for my own good. but the thing is im not an entry staff who know nuts abt acctg. im also not a lazy staff who siam all work. no doubt i made a few mistakes in my past reports. but dun need to give me the death sentence so fast rite???!!!

maybe she is disappointed with my performance. but i know that no matter how good i perform subsequently, she will not change her impression of me. i really hate myself for making those mistakes in the past. why i so stupid???!!!

Hi blossom,

Hey, don't be too hard on yourself. You're getting different signals from everyone..its no wonder you're undecided abt what to do. I don't think you're stupid..just getting the runaround by different pple.

I don't know whether ure boss is a reasonable person. A reasonable person wld listen to your explanation and not flare up at you w/o hearing ure side of the story. You need to be given a chance to explain why you did what you did. Its not fair to you too if you have to take flak for things tt ure not aware of.

I'm sure ure trying ure best to do everything as well as you possibly can. That's probably why ure so frustrated...ure efforts are not being appreciated..in fact ure getting scolded! Don't let it get u down okie?

blossom

hi alhana,
thanks.... sigh.... i just need to say it out. i just told my hubby abt it. he said that i ought to have some backup plans... in case my boss is trying to force me to resign.

there are rumours of retrenchment coming but i dunno whether i will be hit. i dun have intention to leave so its kinda hard for me to find a job... im a very focussed person. unless i really want to leave, i wun want to look for job. my fren said im silly.... but what if i got a job and the retrenchment list is still not announced... should i go??? i dun want to be stuck in that kinda of dilemma.

besides, i already made a switch early this year, if i apply job now, ppl prob view me as a job hopper. no matter how bad my boss and peers treat me, at least i have the assist. mgrs to turn to. they are more kind and motherly. i will still stay on... unless i really get the axe.

blossom

alhana,
sorry that i always complain to you. i cannot bottle it up... i will explode.....

actually, im kinda worried that the problem may really be me. i mean how come i have so much problems at work??!! i think i have a "bully-me" face and ppl just likes to bully me. i tried to train myself to appear tougher. but its not as easy as it seems.

dearie

Hi Sweetbuns,

My name is not close to Jany...

I am going to ROM in Feb2004 and my wedding will be in Sept 2004.

Ya last time not many classes.... my class very notti one...

pleides

This thread suddenly becomes active again..
So happy to see so many Ex Hai Sing Girls around..hee..
Me also graduated in 1993 but dun seem to find anybody who know me... haizz...

hi Dearie,
I also like the hym "pass it on". One of my fav...

Hi Blossom,

Its ok..can complain all you want
I don't mind. I guess when problems come, they always come at one shot..so it does seem tt you are really plagued w many problems now. At least you do have some nice colleagues to turn to.

Just ride out this storm and you'll come out in the sunshine again

I'm so sleepy. read the HP book fr 9 till midnite. Already half-way thru the book. So far its v bleak and gloomy. Harry has alot of anger in him, and he's always getting into arguments w pple, even Ron & Hermione.

dearie

Dear Sweetbuns,

Me in NPCC, "prefect" (if can be considered as a ECA... hehehe), "Environmental Committee", used to be in table tennis team too...

blossom

hi alhana,
thanks for being so understanding..... my fren emailed this to me.... just to share with you... its kinda long.

-----------
Spotting the Boss from Hell
by Danny Pancho

Just as the interviewer is sizing you up, conduct a discreet personality test on him, too. You may be the right worker for him, but is he the right employer for you?
Countless books have been written on the different kinds of managers and management styles in the workplace. There are the Theory X, the Theory Y, and the Theory Z types. There are the autocratic and the paternal kinds, the macro-managers and the micro-managers. But for the jobseeker, what specific kind of manager an employer is matters less than whether he is a "good" boss to work for. Is he someone you can get along with? Will he give you the opportunity to learn and grow? One of the employee's worst-if not the worst-nightmares is to work under a neurotic, capricious, complex superior out to make your life miserable. So spare yourself that aggravation-learn to single out the boss from hell during the interview. Here, three kinds of "bad" bosses you might do well to avoid.

1. The Ego-Tripper
What he is: This is the kind of boss who always needs to have his ego massaged. He strongly believes that he is always right and that everyone should agree with him. He is more interested in what he has to say than what you have to tell him.

A macro-manager, he won't give you detailed or specific instructions on how to do your tasks. Instead, he will just give you the desired objective, and leave you to do things entirely on your own. But no matter how good you are or the results you produce, he will not be contented. He will always give you a piece of his mind on how he could have done things better.

Woe to the subordinate who gets into an argument with him, no matter how right he (the subordinate) may be. This type of boss always ends up winning the argument. He is the classic example of the saying, "The boss may be wrong but he is still the boss and will always therefore be right."

How to spot him: This kind of boss is the easiest to spot. Instead of being interviewed by him, you end up listening to his boasts. He will regale you with his achievements in the companies he worked for-how he was able to increase sales, improve operations, cut costs, etc.

Why avoid him: Working for this superior can prove to be frustrating and can deter a subordinate's development. Worse, if the employee is not too confident of himself and his expertise, he may eventually end up doubting his own qualifications and going into depression.

2. The Control Freak
What he is: This kind of boss is characterized by a desire to always know what his subordinates are doing and how things are being done. When giving you tasks and assignments, he will describe every detailed step of the procedure you must follow. Deviate one little bit, and he gets really upset.

This manager also does not expect initiative from his subordinates. To him, they are mere soldiers who must carry out his detailed instructions. Occasionally, he may listen to your proposal. However, if he finds it too complicated for his taste, he will overrule you and order you to do it his way. Thus, your knowledge, expertise and experience are of no use to this kind of boss.

How to spot him: Identifying him during the interview may be difficult as he seems genuinely concerned with what you are saying and may listen to you a great deal. However, his line of questioning may give some indication that he is a control freak. Such questions as, "How were you able to ensure…," "What control measures did you have to take…," "Did you expect any deviation from…" may give you a hint of his true nature.

Why avoid him: Initially, working for this type may be nice, since you don't have to think for yourself; you just have to implement his orders. However, in the long run, you may lose your creativity and flexibility and get tired of being bossed around.

3. The Insecure Boss
What he is: This kind of boss is similar to the Ego-Tripper-he will not listen to you and will always find fault in what you do. The difference is that he does not boast about how good he is. He feels so insecure that he's always trying to show you who the boss is. Like the Control Freak, he also likes things done his way-albeit for different reasons. While the Control Freak just wants to have everything under his control, the Insecure Boss is more after the credit that he expects to get from implementing his idea. And he is so insecure that he always wants to have something (or someone) to fall back on just in case something goes wrong.

For example, if you are an expert in your particular field, there are some decisions that you can automatically make because of your knowledge and experience. However, the Insecure Boss will not accept such decisions at face value. He will ask you to come out with several options, complete with the pros and cons to convince him that you are taking the right course of action. It is not that he does not trust you; he wants to show you that he arrived at that course of action himself after evaluating all the options. He also wants to have something to show his superior in case the decision is wrong.

This kind of boss will also do everything to make you look bad and make himself look good. His primary reason for doing this is the fear of losing his importance or his seniority. He possesses what we usually term "crab mentality."

How to spot him: This is the most difficult kind of boss to identify during an interview. Like the Control Freak, he seems to be genuinely interested in what you are saying and may even ask relevant questions. However, he is actually out to probe how good you are and what kind of threat you present. The best way to know his type is to give highly technical replies and see his reaction. If you can sense him becoming fidgety because he does not follow your explanation, yet pretends to know or understand, or if he tries to divert the discussion to another topic, then you had better watch out.

Why avoid him: If you are not ambitious and are willing to do "useless tasks" (because your knowledge or expertise qualifies you for more challenging work), then working with the Insecure Boss may be bearable. However, if you are the ambitious type with a dynamic personality that always wants things done fast, then you may eventually get bored and frustrated.

Sometimes, despite our awareness of these boss traps, our desire to land a job pushes us to disregard these warnings and sign the job contract. Alas, regret often comes at the end. However, do not despair. There are ways to survive these kinds of bosses until you can find another job-but that is another story.

i think my boss is an ego-tripper.

sweetbuns

4E3 prefect..... hhhmmm.... are you very tall? and go by a chinese name in HSG? Not many prefect ard in each class anyway, i think my class had a few.....

Okie, before you think i am mad and why can't i check the year book, it's cos my year book is not with me..... and this last month i have been happily finding secondary school friends in FBO and now trying my luck here. :)

keruri

I just chanced upon this thread in the forum. It's nice that HS started a thread for Hai Sing gals, and with everyone here to keep it alive.

I'm from the last batch of all gals cohort, graduated in 1992. I was from Miss Quek's form class. I was in Guides too. Anybody graduated in 92?

dearie

Dear Sweetbuns,

tall? hmmm 1.62 tall anot???
i m those fat n round type...
now i m in the process of dieting for my wedding
any "SHORT CUTS" to shed the fats away?

cyn

hi keruri... i graduated in 1992 too... ms quek's class is 4E1 or 4E2? alamak, i cant remember who's my form teacher...

sweetbuns

Hi dearie.....
1.62m.... about my height. I am 1.6m.
by the way, would you might telling me which class you were in when you were in sec1 and sec2?

i am very curious to find out who you are.... cos i have basically lost contact with most of my secondary school friends.

as for weight lost, i just lost 5kg in the last 4mths..... i lost it by walking almost 2 hrs everyday. hope that helps....

dearie

Dear Sweetbuns,

I was in Sec 1B (notorious class from the FIRST semester or should i say from the first day... hehhehee) and Sec 2C (classroom in the small little hut).

i dun have time to walk 2 hours perday leh....
if i do, i will be home at 11pm everyday...

sweetbuns

Hey Dearie,

I was in 1B too. And then 2A (the class at the back of the stage). That means you are in Natalie's class in Sec2. hahaha.... i'm trying to see who i remember from 2C. Hmmm.... the small little hut..... scary hor?

Would you mind tell me your name?

seagull

I'm an old girls fr HSGS also. I think i'm much older than most of u ... i grad in 1988 ... seems very old leh ... ;P

Most of the teachers u mentioned taught me also. Those teachers who has taught me were Mr Toh (very loud voice ... and he likes to say the infinity sign is a sleeping eight ;)), Mdm Yam was my chinese teacher in sec 1 and 2, very strict ... Ms Martina Ng was my form teacher in Sec 2 ... she's quite a nice and caring teacher. Mrs Tang was my biology and confucian ethics teacher.

I was in St.John Ambulance Brigade ... used to participate quite a no. of activities with Maris Stella guys .... really missed those activities.

I wonder any of u has helped in the fund raising projects for the new sch tt located in Pasir Ris now ... i was involved in all kind fund raising proj since sec 1 ... and one that i missed most was the fun fair day that we organised for National Day. We made all kind of food and set a stall to sell it. another fund raising proj tt i enjoyed most was songs dedication during reccess time, anyone can just dedicate a song to the classmates or teachers by paying $1 for each dedication.

Anyone fr my batch??

seagull

Hi calyx,

I just finsihed reading the earlier postings, so sorrie that i didnt came in to update u abt my wedding.

I was quite busy during that period and didnt came into the forum after my wedding. And thanks to Sue for updating u abt my wedding

I went to honeymoon during CNY period and i was seconded to another dept for a proj after my honeymoon .... until recently my flat is coming soon, so came in to learn something abt renovation.

I think ur wedding is in Sept right?

How's ur preparation coming along? Any photos to share with me? I still hv my wedding website, if u r interested in browsing, drop me an email at [email protected]

All the best to u on ur wedding, and wish u and ur hubby a blissful marriage

yan

Halo all ex-Hai Sing gals,

I must express my shock and joy when I saw this thread.. Never ever tot that there will be a thread on my ex-secondary school....
i m the 1992 batch... anyone from that year here???

this is so great... now we can try to locate long lost friends in this forum... must go and tell the rest of the HS gals....

cyn

keruri, i think either mrs cheryl tang or noliza (duno how to spell)? are you stil in contact with the rest?

hi yan... i'm jus like u.. so shocked to see this thread. u grad in 1992 rite? me too... i'm from 4E3.. wat abt u?

Hi Blossom,

Interesting article. I think most pple wld be too nervous during their interviews to notice such details tho :p

I just finished the HP book. As expected, the ending was bleak and sad. I won't say more...you'll have to find out what happens yourself. The atmosphere is v different fr the first 4 books. The fun, happiness etc has largely diminished. Its really serious and dark now. Actually now tt I've finished it, I'm kinda depressed at the ending. I can't believe I now hafta wait yrs more for the next one to come out!

blossom

hi alhana,
wow, thats really fast. i thot you just started reading it on tuesday??

i see... so its going to be a sad story... hmm.... so one of the key characters really died??

yah... its going to be another long wait.

hey, i convinced my hubby to go bkk with me. we are thinking of going next mth or the mth next. we dun intend to join tours. is it safe to be on our own? do you have any recommendations for good shopping areas? i also dun like outdoor shopping areas.... i cant stand the heat....

Hi Blossom,

Yeah, the book was addictive. I'd been reading it 3 nites in a row till midnite. Cld have gone on longer but I forced myself to tear away fr the book to get some sleep, else wld become a zombie at work :p

Erm, yeah, one major character did die. I'm not pleased abt who it was .. actually am kinda depressed abt it, which is a little silly :p

Hmm..depends on what you want to buy. I shopped mainly in boutiques and dept stores coz I go for quality rather than cheap goods. The prices in store are higher, but still cheaper than SG. I bought 2 nice leather shoes for only SG80, and they're really comfy. Handbags can be cheap too, as well as other leather goods. They are having sales till end July, so if u wanna enjoy discounts, best go before that. I bought 3 nice tops (v pretty w embroidery) fr this boutique in Siam Sq for only $50. They have this sale where if u buy 3 pcs or more, u get 30% discount. Good dept stores to chk out incl Tokyu (in Mah Boon Krong-MBK), Zen & Isetan-WTC, Emporium & Central. MBK is a good place to start coz it has alot of bargain stuff (shoes, clothes, bags etc at $8 ea - can bargain too!) plus boutiques n dept store. Everything under 1 roof. Siam Square (opp MBK) has alot of boutiques w clothes targetted at the young...alot of Thai uni students hang out there. WTC is also within walking distance of Siam Sq/MBK. WTC has alot of shops, altho they tend to be more up market than those in MBK. But still worth a look for quality stuff.

Its pretty safe. We went out only in the daytime coz we wld shop till we were too tired to move..hence nites were spent recuperating in the hotel. There's a nite market called Suan Lum where u can hunt for lotsa stuff like clothes, artwork, household goods etc...but we didn't go coz it was quite rainy at nites. Thais are generally v friendly pple..dun think u'll encounter any trouble on ure own. If ure going to be there for 3D/2N (which is enough), u can spend one whole day in MBK/Siam Sq alone. There's quite a few hotels in tt area so u dun hafta worry abt travelling far to get bk to ure hotel (in fact we walked everywhere, and took the skytrain for further places)

One thing to be aware of...they do have scams where pple will approach you to entice you to go buy jewellery from them. They will tell u its cheap etc but actually ure buying inferior goods. Just politely say 'no' and walk on. Some of the tuk tuk drivers will do the same, as they earn commission from these 'wholesalers'. Just be firm and decline their offers.

blossom

hi alhana,
i see..... okie... i will know who died when i finally read the book.... meanwhile, i stay clear of the harry potter thread, in case someone said out the details....

it was a bz day yesterday... my report was being scrutinized by my bosses and colleagues again. i dunno where i always ganna such reports. anyway, i sort of got used to it after the previous experience.

thanks for telling me so much abt bkk. we are thinking of getting a f&e package.... wonder if it will be cheaper than getting our own tix and hotel. we aim thinking of hotels at siam square...

wow, i love embroidery stuff.... but they can be quite ex in spore. so i dun have tops like that. i really want to shop now....

oh dear, the sales end at july???!! i can only go in aug!!!
checked my schedule yesterday, im only free in aug. but i think i will still go.... just for the fun of it.

blossom

alhana,
i supposed you watched tar4 last nite.... the ending is sort of predictable. dun expect the air traffic controllers to scrap thru this time....

its easier to distinguish the teams already.... but i kinda miss flo in tar3.... though she was irritating, she made the show interesting and exciting to watch. the teams now are not that interesting. most of them are abt the same. esp the couples.

ok lah... there is the gay couple but they really look normal to me.... ppl will easily think that they are just frens.. nothing special.

the clowns are quite cute lah.... like them playing in the cow dung... my, that was disgusting... for once i thot im watching fear factor.

overall, i dun feel myself stick to the screen throughout like the previous season..... hmm...

Hi Blossom,

I feel the same way abt TAR4. I find the teams dull and irritating. There's no one to root for. I guess most will root for the clowns coz they're the most likeable, but I think they're just plain silly. Yeah, the cow dung part was gross...I was surprised so many, esp the gals, went for it too! As for the BFGs, their luck pretty much ran out. However they do seem to enjoy the race much more than the rest..so perhaps they're winners too? Not bad considering they're taking it easy, yet are not tt far away fr the pack.

I think most 3D/2N packages will be ard $300 per pax? Depends on the airline n hotel u pick. For ure info, I paid $239 (incl airport tax) for my hubby's tix (mine was paid for by company) on Thai Airways and our hotel stay was $92/nite w bf incl. Altho most of our stay was at the Sheraton (co expense), we didn't stay there during the extension and moved to Arnoma hotel instead. Asia Hotel is also quite cheap and convenient.

Dun worry abt missing the sale..things in BKK are already cheaper in SG even w/o sales.

I'm sure u guys will enjoy it.

sweetbuns

hi keruri and cin_p,

mdm norliza was my form teacher too..... but i am one yr your senior. I graduated in 1991.

little_sheep

harlow...

I've been busy with work... seems like nobody from my batch hor... the 1995 batch... and seems most pp are from 1994 batch..

anyway jie jies, i am working as an accountant. getting married dec 2004.

blossom

hi alhana,
yah.... it seems that the teams are all equally competitive and they really have no qualms in making enemies.... like the gay couple, trying to jump queue to get the tix to amsterdam. kelly also seems to hate millie... calling her millie mole... and jaree&tian are forever fighting... goodness, i thot they are good frens. in a race, you must at least stay united rite?

yah, i was really surprise they go for the cow dung... its totally gross... the smell will stay even if they clean it... and they have to carry the smell all the way to the pit stop... my goodness.....

blossom

alhana,
i will look around for the package first. i was checking the hotel rates and it seems that the hotels around siam square are kinda ex....

you are so lucky... get to travel on biz.... my job will never have such chance to travel.... so is my hubby's.

actually, i just had a mini shopping spree last nite. bought 2 blouses, 1 skirt, i dress, 2 spaghetti tees, 1 knitted top..... getting fatter so has to upgrade the sizes of my clothes.... i reached size M already.... i was stuck between S and M last month and it was really tough to get clothes....
25104.gif

i intend to get some bras and tops in bkk.... basically everything.... including shoes and bags.... some of my bags are really old liao... time to retire them.
i guess you are rite, the stuff in bkk are already cheaper without those sales.

we are looking at the lonely planet... hubby wants to visit some tourist spots. he loves photography and wants to take nice pics in bkk.... sigh.... i want a solely shopping trip leh.... he also suggested going to resorts but i want to shop leh....
25105.gif

Hey Blossom,

If u want to do some sightseeing, then u'll probably need to spend more time there. Some of the packages will probably incl a 1/2 day or 1 day city tour..so chk it out. Yes, the Siam Sq hotels are more ex coz the location is v convenient. I think Arnoma and Asia hotel wld be some of the cheaper ones. I stayed at Novotel before and it was definitely pricier. Of coz can't compare to Sheraton :p but for such a trip, better to save the extra money for shopping!

I think u will enjoy MBK..lotsa bags, shoes n tops going for 199 baht each..and still negotiable if u buy more. Quality wise, its not great..but at those prices, u can't really expect too much. The dept stores n boutiques have v good quality items at v reasonable prices. FYI, we brought ard $800 as spending money, and it was more than enough for 2 pax. Remember to keep 1000 baht on the way to the airport to pay ure departure airport tax!

blossom

hi alhana,
thanks for the advice. we will take note of that in our planning.... i just hope it is not that hot in aug.... i cant stand heat....

blossom

hi alhana,
pop by a tour agent to look at the bkk packages. some are quite cheap... at $238 per pax flying by thai airways. but the hotel dun seem that good. we will look out for better packages...

we have decided to go in the middle of aug... after the national day weekend.... might be too late to book the national day weekend.... though we very much wanted that.

we also borrowed some books from library...
im looking fwd to the trip... hope that my leave will be approved.
25126.gif

keruri

hi ladies, it's nice to see more and more HS gals joining this thread.

cin_p: i rem mdm norliza. she teaches Chemistry too.
i always give her headache cos my chem always fail one. hehehe... i still keep in touch with some of the gals from our batch, and i went back HS for a fun fair last year. Saw Ms Quek, Mrs Mary Koh, Mr Toh, Mdm Ang, etc. Don't think I saw Mdm Norliza leh...

yan: i graduated in 92 too. miss quek's class. what about u?

sweetbuns: what eca did u join?

yan

my form teacher was Mdm Wee (english and Lit). i m from Sec 4E2.
went to the fun fair last year as well... saw a lot of the teachers, and surprisingly, most of them can remember us...

same for the rest, my maths teacher is Mr Toh (anyone can hear him anyway in school), Physics is Mr Ng, (always trying to wake us up with his metre long ruler), Chemistry is Mrs Seetoh, (the shaky hands), history Ms Quek, (always make us memorize essays) etc... good old memories...

any idea how to send the thread link via email?? i wanna send this to all the HSHS gals that i still keep in contact, but dunnoe how... any advise??