Europe tours by CTC or SA

starris

Hi I am looking at the 12D Switerland/Italy tour.The itineary offered by CTC and SA is similar (major diff is that CTC will fly from SG to Rome first, while SA will fly from SG to Zurich). Both by SQ, and prices are competitive. Can anyone share your experience with both the agencies? Thanks in advance.

tersher

Hey, I'm looking at the 12D Switzerland/Italy tour as well.. But I'm probably taking Dynasty's package instead under Qatar Airways..more budget friendly.. Any reason why u didn't consider Dynasty?

starris

Hi Tersher, does Dynasty fly by SQ? Frankly I did not check out Dynasty. Mind telling me how much is your package?

tersher

Dynasty is flying by Qatar Airways, not SQ... package is $2,688 for 21 Sep date..also, deviation charge is $50 compared to SQ's charge of $200.. we intended to extend in Rome, so the deviation charge is impt for us..

for SQ, the night is spent on the plane while for Qatar, it flies during the day and we therefore will spend the night in the hotel instead and start the tour feeling fresh on Day 2..

Having said the above, it's best that you check out the itenary first and see if you like it..

eveuloveme

hi kelvin,
i signed up for the 12 days swiss and italy package... but i am with SA... are u with CTC? when is ur departing date

gohhappy

hihi eve,

yeah, my package is leaving on the 9th, by qatar airways. SQ much more expensive.

How abt urs? how much is ur package and which airline?

marilyn_chh

Oops.. I hope I'm not too late.. I took SA tour last June. Anyone interested to see photos of my trip? It'll give you an idea what are the places we visited. PM me if you're interested.

psyduck

I am looking at the Italy and Switzerland group tour package from either SA or ASA travelling in early Dec for my HM. Could someone share their experience with them on this tour. I am interested to know how the pace of the tour is like, whether the tour guide is good, the food provided (chinese food or localised food or international). There is also another package by SA which also include France with Italy and Switzerland. Anyone can also share their experience on it?

cloudz7

booked CTC 12 days Italy & Switzerland by SQ on 3rd Nov, then intend to do F&E Paris after that...

rinnie

Hi psyduckie, I've already booked a 12 days italy and switzerland tour package with ASA last weekend..leaving in early dec too..if u book, perhaps we'll be in the same tour.hee...

nikkilime

Hi Rinnie,

Please advise the price that u paid and also any other perks? Thanks!

Hi Psyduckie,

R u also looking for Europe package? I'm still deciding on the itinery but maybe if we are looking at the same package, we might get more perks if we sign up together! I'm looking to go in late Nov or Dec 07. Will be going down to SA & ASA to check it out tmrw.

psyduck

Hi Nikki,

I am looking at the package to Italy and Switzerland. If you have any information, do share with me.. still haven't have time to go down to check it up with them.

rinnie

Hi Psyduckie and nikki, sorry for the late reply..

we were considering thinking between SA and ASA but the price difference was around 400-500 per person so we settled for ASA. Itinerary wise, it's almost identical except SA goes to sienna while ASA goes to Orvieto for one of the days. ASA flys by SQ too. Beside, the sales personnel who attended to me prior to the fair was very nice and honest. I signed last weekend. There was discount for OCBC credit card holder, Singtel user and honeymooners. After all the discounts, it was 3088 per person, which we felt was very reasonable and we were told that if there's any price difference from this week's fair, they'll refund us. If you charge 3500 to your credit card for deposit, you get a Pierre Cardin 20 inch trolley bag too..

They might throw in more freebies this weekend. Nikki, if you sign for this tour go for early dec, we might be in the same tour! hee..

momo23

hey rinnie, did u get to enjoy the honeymooners discount? i went today, said tat discount only applies for certain trips. btw i have booked 16day highlights of europe. Anyone else also on this tour?

nikkilime

Hi Psyduckie,
SA now offers a new itinery including 2 days in Paris(France)instead of the usual 12D Switzerland & Italy which the staff has told us it was by popular demand. But the Switzerland & Italy is still available.

Have checked out details as follow:

ASA-12D Switzerland & Italy at $3,088 per pax excl. taxes bout $276. OCBC & Singtel Mobile Discount at $100 per couple. Total $6,628. Travelling by SQ.

SA-12D Italy, Switzerland & France at 1st pax $3,368, 2nd pax $3,068 excl. taxes bout $271. Total $6,998. Travelling by SQ.

A little thoughts on my pros & cons:
-SA is $370(per couple) more expensive but itinery includes Paris.
-SA have very good experience on Europe tours(using Trafalgar) and I have heard good comments from friends who have been to Europe with SA.

I have not considered in the freebies that they offer as these are not important as they are usually factored into the cost. More important is the reliability and experience of the company.

Hi Rinnie,
I'm considering to depart on Nov 27, 07 which both SA & ASA have these dates.

Hi Smiles,
Honeymooners discounts apply only on certain departure dates. I have checked w them too.

Maybe u gals can give me your suggestions! Cheers!

psyduck

Went around to SA, CTC and ASA today. SA still has Italy + Switzerland but the date we wanted not confirm available as they have not confirmed that there will be flight back to Sg. Heard from the staff that the Italy, Switzerland and Paris very popular with some dates in Dec already filled up. According to the staff, they are promoting the plus paris one as they are able to get flights back to Sg via paris. U will spend a day less in Switzerland and Italy. Stay will be in 4 star and there will be some chinese meals.

CTC has the italy and Switzerland. According to the staff, the price is $3588 currently but early bird has $890 discount. Tax is about $290. However, not too happy with the staff serving us as he doesn't seems want to promote much.

Went down to ASA promotion at Suntec. Decide to sign-up with them for the trip on 6 Dec. but at this point there is only about 8 pax in total. Hopefully it will be filled up soon with the coming promotions and NATAs still on the way. Will be travelling by Qatar Airline and transiting in Doha. The cost to travel using Qatar airline is $2,788 plus tax of $265. After all discount is $2,938. Hotels according to the staff is also 4 stars. Quite please with the staff serving us also. Can see that he is usually not doing such sales but he took the trouble to ask his colleagues on the relevant info when we ask him.
Rinnie, which day u traveling? By SQ?

elias29

we r also considering 12D italy & switzerland. Can anyone advise me the price per pax under SA tour? I heard SA have a fair on 19 aug in Suntec. Tot of gg down n see..maybe will confirm.

nikkilime

Hi Psyduckie,
Ya, SQ is direct flight, Qatar transit will waste some time.

Seems like most of u going in Dec, will it be colder? Both SA & ASA commented prices will either remain or go higher in Natas Fair. So it's safe to book in advance now. Except during Natas maybe more gifts and perks by banks are given. Dilemma now.. SA with Paris or ASA..

bubble_low

I juz came back from my trip to Switzerland & Italy with ASA. Quite pleased with their tour package. Hotels are quite gd, even got 1 nite stay in 5 star hotel in Interlaken. Most hotels are 4 stars, only 1-2 hotels are 3 star.

If ASA got go Paris, i think i will go paris too. cos already fly to europe, juz spent a little more money to Paris. Also can buy branded bags in Paris -> cheaper.

rinnie

Hi Low, glad to hear about the positive comments..my intitial plan was to go to Paris too but cos it's only 2 days which I find it too short...so decided that next time will solely go to Paris F&E cos Paris quite ez to navigate around...

momo23

hey Low, really glad to hear good feedback from you with regards to ASA..

Seems like many of u are going for 12 days trip in dec... anyone opting for 16 days in near end nov? Also keepin fingers crossed that the group w be confirmed by natas...

nat_bleu

hi Rinnie & Nikki, may I know if the price offered by ASA was during their roadshow at Suntec yesterday or other roadshow previously?

Becos when me & hubby went down ystrday, the ASA sales consultant quoted us $3588 (SQ + after tax - OCBC - SingTel discount) if we fly Oct/Nov. Then we "Har?! But ur papers advertise less than $3,000!?" He replied that the price is for next yr's Feb/Mar booking. OMG.

We took up from Dynasty instead. Flying off on 19 Nov. However, we'r taking Turkish Airways. The sales consultant keep ensuring us that the service is v.up to standard & safe. Although need to transit but almost same as SQ becos will arrive on Day1 morning. But I haven heard of anyone travelling with Turkish. Is there anyone here taking Dynasty's 12D Switzerland & Italy?

rinnie

Hi Nat, my price was two weekends ago, during their preview sale. But then again, my price was quoted for dec..not sure if it's the same for oct/nov...

psyduck

Hi Rinnie,

My FW couldn't make it on the 4th as her boss need her back at work before our HM. The flight by qatar air will leave Sg early in the morning and should arrive in Zurich in the late afternoon local time. SQ leaves in the middle of the night on day one. i think there isn't much difference as long as they covered all the places and provide ample time at each place. The sales person told us that qatar air standard similar to SQ. DUnno whether true or not.

Low, i suppose u fly by SQ huh. How was the food provided? Any chinese meals? Was there sufficient time spend at each place? What other optional places you went? I understand that there is a free day which we can go on an
optional train ride which cost CHF170.

Nattie, their prices do differ for different periods. that's why the prices always state as frXXX. but hor if your $3588 is after tax n discount, it seems a bit x since Oct mayb not really peak season yet.

Nikki.. think prices is likely to go up. the 4 Dec that Rinnie booked is already up by $50 during last Sunday. the other thing to consider is that it may run out of space especially with the crunch in the airplane seats.

If anyone is interested, please booked the 6 Dec one.. then they can confirm the trip so that we can all go...

rinnie

Oh, din know that prices already went up..Psy, tink dun need to wori. Was told that italy and switzerland very popular and since it's dec, usu it'll be filled up wan=)

nikkilime

Hi Natt,
The price offered by ASA was on August 11 when I went down to the office. But happen to pass by on Sunday at Suntec Fair and was quoted the same.
Think most likely may choose to go w SA for the new itinery 12D Italy, Switzerland & France.

nat_bleu

hi nikki, I was at ASA on Sunday around 5pm & the sales person say the Oct/Nov gp is filling up fast so it more ex compared to Dec & 2008. Mayb u were there before me.

Haiz... so I took Dynasty instead. Hope everything goes well lor.

dorymiki

Hi Smiles,
I will be following the new itinerary which is the one without London.

Psyduckie,
I heard from the tour guide that Oct is their peak season to travel, so its more ex during Oct. The weather during this period is good because its neither too cold nor warm, just nice...

nikkilime

Hi Nattie,
Dun worry bout it, more impt is how u gonna make yr trip memorable & enjoyable. Guess Dynasty should be fine also since they have been around for quite some time. How much did u pay for Dynasty's package?

orosalind

Just to share my experience with ASA. I just return from my Europe trip. Flew on Turkish Airlines with 1.5 - 2 hrs transit @ Istanbul airport, which I thot was quite interesting cos its easy to while away the time - shop to while away the time.

I would say the Spore tour leader is fantastic, she really takes good care of us (even on our F&E days, she still asks us to call her when we return to the hotel just to make sure that we ret safely).

Food wise, we had chinese food. So we oni get to taste local food for the 11 meals that are not included in the pkg. The chinese food served are good (except for 1 meal).

Hotel wise is also good. 1 of which is quite a classy one.

Overall, my comment on ASA is good, considering that I paid S$2.8k incl tax for a 12D pkg to Milan (Italy), Switzerland (Lucern), Nethelands (Amsterdam), Germany (Black Forest & Heidelberg), Belgium, France (Paris).

cloud0829

Do u know during NATAS fair the price will increase by how much? Why during the natas fair it will be more expensive?

orosalind

Hi Nattie,

My frens had the same feedback too, regarding the pricing. I guess bcos I went during the off-peak? Prob bcos during that period, most pple tot that the weather is v hot in Europe (that's wat my frens told me)? I was quite prepared to get a good tan but suprisingly, except for Italy, I had to use a cardigan or jacket throughout the trip.

Hi Cloudie,

My experience is that there will be some disc during NATAS instead. I wld suggest tt u chk out the price and go down to the agency to book during NATAS day instead of gg down to NATAS. Disc will be the same (I hv compared during the last 2 rounds of NATAS fairs), only diff is the freebies (if u dun mind no freebies but escape the queues @ NATAS).

cloud0829

Hi orosalind,

Thanks for the info. Will quickly do my research now. BTW, 12D Europe, is it relaxing enough since need to deduct 2 days for the flight journey right?

orosalind

Hi Cloudie,

Yes, deduct 2 days for flight journey. I think tt qns depends on invidual. To me, 12D is enuf (thou I dun mind gg for longer period if my hb can accommodate). When I ret fm my trip, I felt refreshed, even my coll can tell the diff. At the same time, I oso kind of missed my mum and sis, etc. The only thing is, bcos I covered many ctries, I wun say it's an intensive trip for each countries, a bit here and there but u get to see diff culture at one go, journey betw the ctries, I wun say it's long, quite acceptable. So it depends on what u r looking for. If u intend to do intensive one, then I suggest u got for 1-2 ctries with more days.

whiteswan

i am checking thru CTC for departing in Feb 7/8, they are quoting me $3688, expensive right?

eastern europe around $3068. any comments?

dreamer17

I am planning to go 12D switzerland/Italy with CTC in Dec 08 as it offers the cheapest price with tax and after all discount...fly by SQ..

I called ASA similiar tour but cost 3.95k as it goes to Black forest..additional which CTC doesnt have...

have anyone went with CTC?...are they good?..i went with CTC to hokkaido last Dec and the service and hotel and food provided was not bad...therefore decided to go with them again...

or i shld chose ASA?

thank u

kitty_ng

hi dreamer, i jus enquired fr ctc & asa too. Hav oso checked with dynasty. Now thinking thru them. Checked with SA but somehow was told that winter itinerary will only be out tmr...hmmm. Chan bros oso not out yet.