EUROPE in June anyone?

bride1980

I also thinking of honeymoon in June 05. BUt afraid weather very hot then. Anyone out there to comment and advice?

Its not that hot in June. Went to UK in Jun 02 and the temp was ard the 20s. If the sun is out it can get quite warm, but since humidity is low, u won't get that sticky, sweaty feeling.

pisduck

I am also thinking of going to Europe in June. Any advise on which parts of Europe is nice? Have been to France and England already and wish to give the place a miss but find that most tour packages include these 2 places.

Favouring a Swiss and Italian package. Any advice on which tour agency is good?
248690.gif

lemoncake

Am planning to France, UK and Swiss in June too. Is it easy to travel by F&E to these 3 places? or package tour is more advisable?

Yes its easy to travel F&E in these places. If you love planning your own itinerary, prefer to take things nice and easy, and have an adventurous spirit, then doing it F&E is the way to go. If u prefer to let others plan for you, and just see the more touristy locales, then package is probably more your cup of tea. I went to UK & Paris F&E (first visit) and it was easy getting everywhere.

woof

hi gers,
which tour agency do u all prefer? i wan to go to switzeland n paris for my HM comin june......any advice?

icy

I also wanna go switzerland & paris, thinking of either Italy or Holland or London as well, just went to Ananda travel fair but dun seemed to be very attractive and good. :9 I am looking at tour package..

woof

i juz booked a tour package during todae SA tour's MEGA sale......gng to switzerland n paris n london (12D) for the price of abt 3.7k each (airport tax included n the domestic flight)...izzit value for $?

yuki_ko

I'm planning to go there in late Jun or early Jul... looking at the tour package from Chan Brother... there's one 9D6N Rome/Florence/Venice one that I m very interested in... May extend another 2 or 3 days in Venice or alternative will be the 9D6N Madrid/Barcelona...

D_Woof

Saw the tour package that u booked... seems good... but to me, I juz find it abit too rush lor... I very lazy one... hehehe... juz hope to go there and roam around the streets.... go to museums and do some sightseeing rather rush from one place to the other lor...

Actually, was comparing the prices for the SA Tour, Ananda & Chan Brother... seems that SA tour is the most expensive of all... but based on the turn up @ SA Tour, it seems the most popular... any idea why? izzit because of the service?

icy

dwoof,
I booked with Chans Brothers, Going to Italy , Austia , Switzerland, Germany, Amsterdam, Brussel & Paris for $3.7K for 13 days.. seemed like london side tax ultra high so I leave out london.

yuki,
i think cos yesterday was SAtour official travel fair, chan brother's one is next week.. should be becos of advertising bah.

bennysmurf

me going to Europe in late July/ early august with my wife. Planning to do 2 weeks in Europe and 1 week in Britain/Scotland.
saw the travel fairs last weekend like you all did. Besides Chan Bros and SA, I also noticed Ananda at the entrance to Suntec.
Ananada claimed that their packages are more worth it than Chan's and SA's. They even showed us a side-by-side comparison between these 3 companies and CTCs as well. What do you all think?
Thinking of signing up with foreign land tours like Contiki. Dun really like local pkg tours to Europe cos I prefer to go with tours that have less than 15 pple and pple around the same age as us (20s to 35).

woof

hi yuki,
for the 12daes, i will only b covering switzeland, paris n london so not very rush as compared to the 16daes.......
i m nt sure y SA tour is so x but popular...but den i have travelled with them a few times in the past....once to HK (they do provide HK tour package in 1992), twice to Austrilia....i really enjoyed it when i come back.......used to hear fm someone tat CHan's brother package very rush...no enough time given at a location....tis one i hav no comments....my friend went to japan wif Chan's brother for HM n she said ok...anyway it depends on each preference....

icy,
thanx for ur info.....will b in london for a dae or two...ya mayb mine included the domestic flight n taxes so the price is abt the same as urs

lemoncake

Hi yuki,

I am looking at Italy package, but i couldn't find the package you mentioned from chan brothers webpage, any pointer? I only found the 10D Italy (Rome, Assisi, Florence, Pisa, Venice, Milan...)package from SA tours. Anymore similar package from other travel agents?

lemoncake

Hi yuki,
i found the package in the newspaper ad, but no itinerary.
I guess in comparison (based on the brief ad), Chan bro's one only incl. daily breakfast and 6N stay. But SA's one incl. 2 meals a day and there'r 8N stay. SA also incl. Tuscany (where you can buy branded goods like Gucci) and Milan.
Now thinking about CTC and Ananda too...

littlegirl

I have $1800 worth of vouchers to let go. Willing to sell off at $1.7k. The vouchers are valid till 24 Feb 2006.

If there is anybody who's keen, please feel free to contact me (through here or PM preffered)

These vouchers can be used to offset any packages from SAFE travel. I am nt too sure if their website is updated though, but u can feel free to ask them. I am not sure if they sell air tickets alone either.

Address:
Sales2Travel Pte Ltd
3 Lim Teck Kim Road #01-04/05 & #02-02
Singapore Technologies Buildg
Singapore 088934
Tel: 6823 3000
Fax: 6226 3711

URL:www.safe2travel.com

woof

i guess some of u get great deal fm CHan brother rite? my friend mentioned tat CHan brother is still nt very gd at handling tour to europe (tis is wat one of the your guide mentioned when she went to japan for HM last yr), the guide mentioned tat SA beta...nt sure lah..i tink depends on luck too...

yuki_ko

Hi Lemoncake

I have booked for that package with Italy because I think it's more free & easy...

It's inclusive of 2 nite stays in each cities, railway travel & daily breakfast & city tour in Rome & Florence... I am extending my stay in each city by 1 day... so that would mean I can take my time in roaming around the cities lor... not very keen in shopping so think Milan is out for me...

My plans would be that since I will be in Florence, will probably also go to Pisa on my own to look @ the leaning tower... hehhee... so, that cover my tuscany part of italy...

So far, I couldn't find anything similar with other agents, I asked Ananda but there dun seems to offer flexi holidays... not too sure abt the rest though... Why I didn't take SA was because they travel to too many cities... might be kinda rush lor... which I dun like...

lfc

i have booked tour 2 Europe thru SA Tours, signed up wif them during their mega exhibition last month.
going 4 d 16days comprehensive tour wif my hubby.
paid abt $4300/person and will b going end of June.
Anyone on d same trip with us?

lemoncake

hi Yuki,
now i understand better, your plan sounds good to me. it is actually a F&E tour, but the package helps you to buy all the air/train tickets (from SG-Rome-Florence-Venice-SG), reserve hotels and beakfast so that you can save the hassle of searching ya. My friend also telling me not to waste time in Milan... nothing to see le. So i guess what is left is to plan your own transport to the attractions only.
But something i want to ask further, hope you don't mind... you have extended 1 night for each place, how is the hotel rate for extending?
Ananda doesn't offer Italy package anymore. CTC's one is even more ex than SA.

yuki_ko

Hi Lemoncake

I have gone online to check... I will be going during July, so rate is abt Euro $70 for twin sharing. Have not check wif the hotel that they r giving me yet... but if they r too ex, then will move to a cheaper one lor... anyway, it's juz a nite's stay lor... day time u wld be travelling around anyway...

Hope this helps...

Hi LFC

Mi flying off on 29 Jun... but wif Chan brothers...

icy

I am flying off on 12 June.. mmm wonder who so happened to by flying off on the same date.

girlfriend

hi hi...

I have just booked Chan Bros 12Days Europe tour departing in June. Going to Switzerland, Paris & London by Air France, pretty similar to D_Woof total paid around 3540 per pax.

However, i discover Chan bros' tour did not include Mount Titis, it is optional :-( and it costs one pax 80Euros.

icy

girlfriend,
my is chan brother, includes the Mount Titis tour.. think it depends on which package u take.

sharlene

I will also go Europe with Chan brothers in June.
Saw from a thread about a complain of a tour guide of SA in Europe. Said he will cast porn movies on the couch thus dun wish to take chance to spoil my HM that's why we chose Chan brother than SA.

woof

hi girlfriend...
mine is under SA........the places i will b covering is the same as u but i will b flying with SQ......is Air France a direct flight or u nid to transit? i paid abt 3.7

icy,
yeah urs is a different package rite...urs exclude london....so really depends on the package they hav

sharlene,
really any idea which tour guide izzit? wa tat is so uncivilized of tat person.....Har...i m gng wif SA leh.....

nuvola

Hi d woof,
I've also booked the same package wif SA. Wondering if we'll be departing the same day!! Mine is from 14th June

nuvola

oh...ic.
i think mine is 10 days... now a bit worried dat it'll be 'mad-rush' trip!!! but they assured us it's ok. hopefully they're right!

woof

well lydia,
hw many places r u covering? which r they? i m onli covering 3 palces so i guess it is nt as rush as thoze 16daes with abt 6/7 places.....

pisduck

hi people,

we are going to Europe in June too. Booked a 15 days (14 nights) cosmos tours with a BA flight. Cost like 7k for two.

I think it is a pretty cheap deal. coupled with 5 extra nights in london, the trip is around $8k. So works around 4k per pax for 19 nights in Europe and direct flight via BA.

We will be covering quite a number of places on the 15 day tour. Belgium, germany, prague, vienna, itally, swiss, paris.

but never been on a cosmos tours. hopefully not too "budget"
but should be good value for money since they are so cheap compared to Insight

sharlene

Pisduck,
That's consider very cheap. But I do heard that cosmos and contiki are staying in budget hotels that kind thus that's my concern and never book with them as I am very particular in hotel. Actually I wanted a better class hotel of at least 4 stars and 5 stars but the agency say cannot choose the hotel.

sharlene

D woof,
I dun remember which tour guide. U can try to search the threAd about this as I read it previously but forgot which thread.

pisduck

hi sharlene,
guess we "traded in" the good hotels for price. hee... anyway, we are giving them a chance. if cosmos is good, maybe we will book a US trip with them next year.
260032.gif
(hee... subject to hubby's approval)
actually, all i ask for is that the hotel is clean and in a safe location. for the other stuff, i am not particular.

u signed up the chanbrothers package, izzit? so, did they provide u with a hotel list? guess the hotels they provide should be quite good.
so, dun worry.

pisduck

no-time,

we signed up with scenic travel as they are the agent for cosmos tours.

d_woof,
read about the SA tour guide episode but I think it is an isolated incident and it was quite a big issue and SA tours even replied on that thread so I think they probably won't have any repeat incident.

woof

hi pisduck,
yeah i check out tat thread oreadi...it happened in 2003.....now itz 2005 so i guess it will nt repeat.......travelled wif them in 1992(HK), 1998(aust),1999(HK),2001(aust)..its so smooth.....oso tis time round...i booked wif the tour guide who guided me in the 1998 trip......

sharlene

Pisduck,
U also looking into US? Me too...hehe.
Chan brothers refuse to tell us the hotels yet as they had not yet finalised. Only after the fulfilled min number to go passenger then they will check the availability of the hotel. The lady told us a briefing session will be conducted 2 wks before we depart and during they time, they will also gv us the hotel list. But she did tell me that for Europe tour, certain part of the country the hotel will be quite old and small as most buildings in Europe are old and some hotels are actually converted from museum. For USA, no such problems, the hotel will be big and much newer. Just keeping my finger crossed :p

Yuki,
Italy is the first destination when we reach Europe. As per above, they not yet gvn us the hotel list.

pisduck

hi d_woof,
no worries, lah. SA is a big company and I have a fren who swears by SA.

hi sharlene,
yep, US is next on my list. want to go shopping there cos my frens all say that it is a shopper's dream.

then just wait for them to pass you the list, loh. should be of quite high std, i guess. after all, they have a reputation to upkeep, correct?

girlfriend

hi sharlene,

fyi, i've checked with chanbros with regards to the hotels. They will never have 4* or 5* hotels for europe tour cos too ex already. However, they told me all of the hotels will b under superior tourist class, which is like 1* or 2* hotel.

Initally we r planning on F&E but aft checking on the hotel prices, i gave up. One night in those tourist class hotel already $200 SGD (equal to our 5* hotel)!!!

D_woof, I think ours will b on transit at Paris to Zurich. I check SA & CHanbros schedule already, its pretty similar.

One concern abt Chanbros, which i heard is, it is a rush trip & they keep bringing you to those DFS.... *cross-fingers*

Anyway I jus checked out NATAS price, price dropped abit. One pax average is $3099 w/o tax.

pisduck

hi girlfriend and d_woof,
both u gals are going together? wow, so exciting!
so, did SA tell u when they will confirm departure with u?

1 bad thing about our land tour is that confirmation is only 1 month before departure. and because the air tiks we booked are separate & "non-cancellable", even if the tour is cancelled, we still have to fly.
then we will have to free and easy for 20 days or so... siao liao.

lfc

i have booked the europe trip wif SA.
but its not a confirmed departure date, as d tour grp is rather small. so now, waiting 4 ppl 2 join in.
SA will oni confirm the departure wif us 2 weeks prior 2 d date which we r supposed 2 fly...

Isn't this 2 late? what if d tour grp not enough ppl & d departure date cancel, then mi and my FH will have 2 stay in Spore 4 our honeymoon?!

girlfriend

hi Pisduck,

no, d_woof booked wif SA, travelling by SQ on 11 June.

I m wif Chanbros, travelling by airfrance.

The places that we r visiting seem similar.

I agreed with u Pisduck that its abit "dangerous" to book land tour & flight separately unless u choose the "confirmed" departure date. In the even it is cancelled, u can also try booking separate land tours with Contiki...

LFC, dun worry, June shld b ok ... u can check SA website, u will find the bookings flying like hot cakes.

sharlene

Girlfriend,
No leh, the person who told us guarantee us at least 3 to 4 star hotel. But she did told us that Europe is very old place thus alot hotels there are quite old too.

sharlene

Girlfriend,
Forgot to tell u. Chan brothers amended their package recently. The new package after revised are not so rush, one prominent itinery is they told out the Pisa Tower trip as there are many of tourist complain hd to travel 5 hours to and fro each just to see the tower to take photos then go back thus they just revised. Hope the new itinery will not be that rush.