EUROPE in June anyone?

girlfriend

hi gals, seems like a lot of us taking chan bro's tour.

Anyway hw abt compiling a list to know our flight dates & etc.. (abit like those wedding dates) ;-p

I start with mine first

Girlfriend 8 June, Airfrance Chan Bros Sw,London,Paris (12 days)

Icy 13 June, Airfrance Chan Bros Italy,Sw,Paris (13 days)

icy

mine should be 12 June

Icy 12 June, Airfrance Chan Bros Europe Romance(13 days)

Linah 13 June, SQ Chan Bros Europe Romance (13+1 days)

ellenng

How about adding in the package price too? I am also looking for a Europe package tour and will like to have some pricing for comparison

sharlene

Linah,
Ur package is cheaper, mine was $3975. 6th June.

Icy,
Do u think will they adjust our price since the natas tour fair offer cheaper package and we are under price guarantee? Will they automatically convert or we gotta inform them?

sharlene

Sharlene 6th June, SQ Chan Bros Europe Romance (13+1 days)

Linah 13 June, SQ Chan Bros Europe Romance (13+1 days)

girlfriend

Sharlene 6th June, SQ Chan Bros Europe Romance (13+1 days) $3975

Girlfriend 8 June, Airfrance Chan Bros Europe Fantasy-Swz,Paris,London (12 days) $3149+$391 tax

Linah 13 June, SQ Chan Bros Europe Romance (13+1 days) $3792

sharlene

girlfriend,
But not sure will they honour and adjust the price lower or not coz its different date and heard that mine was confirmed just that they not yet call us to make balance payment and also attend briefing yet.

brumeux

Icy & girlfriend,

Mine was early May '02, and I bought the package during NATAS also, cost around S$2900 for 13days - by Qantas.
As for confirmation, they did inform us that tour would be confirmed only 2wks before departure as they would have to get minimum no. of ppl going as a group.
My tour was also changed to a later date, as not enough ppl and they offered 2 group options.
We ended up with 14-days (13+1) as the Qantas that we took, departed around midnite from singapare. Additional day was a free day in Paris, which actually what we also wanted. I did pay for an extra nite, seems logical, since we will stay 1 nite extra.
Chan bro confirmed that they would refund us if we were unable to join for the dates provided.

I am a kaypoh one hehehe.. coz had been planning it for about 1yr, so die-die must go.
What i did is, I kept calling them 1 mth before departure, to check if the tour is confirmed. Coz i know that they are a big tour agent, so since I wanted the tour, no choice, had to take action as change date means different planning also.

I think the confirmation system is normal for tour agent, we can't compare it with those contiki/insight, etc which having min of 2 ppl to go. They will need to book us the flight.

So my recommendation is.. be kiasu in this case. Take action and also get Plan B. That what I did.
Was planning to just book a tix and do free and easy or take local (cosmos/insight) if the tour didn't go ahead.

brumeux

sharlene,

I am not sure about price adjustment, since your case is buying before NATAS. You might want to negotiate with chan bro, anyway if you are pulling out, they will also in the lose position.

What I know is, my group members, some of them bought the package after NATAS and it's about S$200+ different from our price.

So Natas indeed gives us better price (and I also won 1 return tix to Melbourne hehehe.. made me bankrupt, coz must go within 3 mths.)

From all the dates that are gathered, all are in June, and I guess the price will be slightly higher, since it's in the middle of holiday, not only in Singapore, but also must consider the period in Europe.

Mine was just nice, just before peak period. And what we are flying with, also make differences.

hi4

Hi d_woof,

Interested? Will try to get more vouchers for you if you are interested, then you will have more savings. Do contact me via email.

girlfriend

sharlene, they should be honouring the price adjustment promise cos i did call to check the natas price & told them I booked before Natas, they said they will adjust the price accordingly.

I think u better make sure your tour is really confirmed confirmed cos we know of a lady who booked with Chan Bros too,supposedly confirmed departure, last min told her its cancelled cos nt enough people.

Frm what I understand, they need 15 people to start a grp. When I called aft Natas, they said our date is confirmed departure. When I called again last week, they said only 5 pax signed up they need another 10 pax. So its better to reconfirm.

brumeux, i agreed wif u..but our schedule v tight we can only fit into a certain period of time to travel.. and really mus try to go now cos need to haf family planning soon..

icy

Sharlene 6th June, SQ Chan Bros Europe Romance (13+1 days) $3975

Girlfriend 8 June, Airfrance Chan Bros Europe Fantasy-Swz,Paris,London (12 days) $3149+$391 tax

Icy 12 June, Airfrance Chan Bros Europe Romance(13 days) $3360 + 260

Linah 13 June, SQ Chan Bros Europe Romance (13+1 days) $3792

ellenng

Wow..seems most of the gals are going with Chan Bro. Any reason behind? I am tempted to book with Ananda Travel for their 14 Days Europe Romance package (Italy,Switzerland & Paris). The price they quoted at Natas was ard $3.4k before airport tax. How do u gals find their itinerary? Perhaps can advise me..if not, think i will follow u all with Chan Bro. Hehe..so many going with them..so shld be good. Typical kiasu singaporean.

DAY 1: SINGAPORE-ROME (Italy)
Assemble at Changi Airport for you flight to Rome.

DAY 2: ROME (Meals on board/Hotel Dinner)
On arrival, proceed to St Peter’s Cathedral in Vatican City, the largest renowned church in the world. After which, our Rome sightseeing includes The Colossuem, Fountain of Trevi, where you may throw a coin into the fountain and make a wish, and finally at the Spanish Steps, with the Fontana della Barcaccia at the foot and the church of Trinita dei Monti above on its background… a lovely sight.

DAY 3: ROME-PISA-FLORENCE (B/Hotel Dinner)
After breakfast, we head for Pisa to view the Leaning Tower, one of the wonders of the world. At the Square of Miracles, see the Cathedral, one of the prime examples of Pisan Romansque. Enjoy a city tour of Florence, highlighting Piazza Michelangelo – the statue of David and view the Vechhio Bridge featuring the oldest bridge. Next is the lofty Santa Maria Cathedral, then continue to see the Doors of Paradise at the Baptistery of St Giovanni. We proceed to Piazza Santa Croce, one of the oldest squares and drop by Piazza Signoria, an open-air museum displaying sculpture.

DAY 4: FLORENCE-VENICE (MESTRE) (B)
this morning, we journey to Venice. Transfer by private waterbus to St Mark’s Square. View the Bridge of Sighs – the bridge which connects the Doges Palace with the prisoners. Visit one of the finest glass-blowing factories. Gondola has been part of Venice since the 11th century.

DAY 5: VENICE (MESTRE)-MILAN-LUCERNE (Switzerland) (B/Hotel Dinner)
Depart for Milan and admire the Gothic Cathedral and stop by Galleria Vittorio Emanuela II which links Piazza del Doumo with Piazza della Scala. You will also be given some time to explore Milan. Late afternoon, we drive through Italian Lake District and then into Switzerland. Soon, we will be crossing Lake Lugano, the Gotthard range of mountains and arrive in Lucerne.

DAY 6: LUCERNE-MOUNT TITLIS-LUCERNE (B)
Today experience the world's first 360 degrees revolving cablecar from Engelberg to Mount Titlis, this glacier paradise at 10,000 feet offers a snow and ice experience on the highest viewpoint in Central Switzerland. Upon returning to Lucerne, our Lucerne sightseeing is the Lion Monument and the renovated 14th century covered wooden Chapel Bridge.

*In the event that Mount Titlis is closed, an excursion to Mount Pilatus will be conducted.

DAY 7: LUCERNE-BERNE-INTERLAKEN (B)
Travel to Berne for a city tour, starts with the Bear Pit and then pass the monumental Federal Palace and the beautifully preserved medieval Old Town. Witness the Clock Tower with its painted figure revolving each hourly and take your pictures of ornate, flower-adorned fountains. Thereafter, we proceed to the charming resort of Interlaken, a Bernese Oblerland resort beautifully situated between two sparkling lakes beneath the towering Jungfrau.

DAY 8: INTERLAKEN: Free Day (B)
Today you are free at leisure. Why not take an optional journey to Jungfraujoch, Top of Europe?

DAY 9: INTERLAKEN-ZERMATT REGION (B)
A gradual change of scenery as you proceed to the highlights of the day – Zermatt. To reach the most famous of them the coach behind in Tasch and board a mountain train climbing the last few miles up to Zermatt, a picturesque cluster of rustic chalets beneath the Matterhorn

DAY 10: ZERMATT-SWISS RIVIERA REGION-GENEVA-Dijon (France): (B/L/French Dinner)
This morning, drive through vineyards to the charming Swiss Riviera; passing Chillon Castle. Pass Lausanne, the lively capital of Canton Vaud and continue on to cosmopolitan Geneva, the cultural centre of French-speaking Swiss for a sightseeing, passes the United Nations Peace Palace, the colourful Flower Clock, the Jet d'Eau fountain, soaring over 400-feet into the air and the Reformation Monument, a reminder that this is the town of John Calvin. Afterwhich, we cross the Swiss-France border into Dijon, the wine producing area in Central France.

DAY 11: DIJON-PARIS (B/L/D)
Morning, we travel through the Burgundy vinewards and make our way to "Gay Paree" ~ Paris. Our Paris sightseeing drive pass the Arc De Triomphe, Place de la Concorde, Garnier Opera, Champs Elysees. Continue to drive pass the grand Notre Dame Cathedral and the Lourve Museum and its glittering Glass Pyramid... Then it's the famous Eiffel Tower, built for the exhibition of 1889. The tour brings you to the 2nd level for a charming panorama of Paris.

DAY 12: PARIS: Free Day (B)

DAY 13: PARIS-SINGAPORE (B)
Today you are free till your transfer to the airport for your flight back to Singapore. We hope you have had an enjoyable time with ANANDA TRAVEL!

DAY 14: ARRIVAL SINGAPORE

sharlene

Ellen,
My neighbour went Europe last Oct/Nov with Ananda and gave bad reviews on their service and thus told us to avoid. If u are comfortable with them, then its ok.

ellenng

Hi Sharlene,

Oh..then i really got to consider now. The only thing i like about this package is they covered Swit/Italy/Paris in more depth. I dun wan to cramp many countries in a short 2 weeks time.

Whats the bad review on them? Poor tour guides or hotels or foods?

sharlene

ELLEn,
They had problems in booking with them. They keep making mistakes in the booking of hotels and their confirmation and were not apologetic. Only when my neighbour blew matter more abit then they willing to compensate to upgrade their hotel to 4 stars from the original 3 star. As for whether abd bad reviews in the trip there, I did not enquire much as during that time, I had not plan to go Europe yet.

girlfriend

Hi Ellen, this tour seems similar to the Europe Romance(13 or 13+1) that most of the gals have booked.

Anyway I have called Chan Bros again regarding my tour. Seems that I got a different answer everytime.. this time round, they told me my grp has only 4 pax. Even the 10 days grp only has 2 pax.. :-(

I asked abt the Europe Romance tour that most of u have booked, they said most probably will confirm the 6 June & 9 June tour cos haf around 9-10 pax already. In the event of cancellation, i can choose to join the "confirmed" tour or take back my deposit.

Moreover, the price that I am paying will be current tour price nt promotion price.

ellenng

Thanks for your advise Sharlene. As my honeymoon will be in Oct, all agencies say they can only accept bookings from June onwards. Perhaps i can wait till you all are back then decide where to go to?

Have u gals tot on the alternative in case the trip is cancelled?

girlfriend

ellen,

either accept the alternatives provided by the agencies or if possible find another agency with the confirmed departures.

linah29

sorry, for late reply!
during my bookings, citibank give a $50 discount per pax and chan bros give $60 discount per couple.
I think tat y the price is slight lower...
If book package during the first day of the fair, per couple is entitled to $120 discount!!
We heartache seeing tat liao...

Oic... They oso told me, my confirm departure!
Cos at first i prefer earlier, 6june. but they told me full liao, so bo bian got to take 13june.

Hmm... mayb i try cal them. if they have not reach min departure yet on 6june, i will bring my trip forward.
Then we be on the same group liao sharlene!!

icy

Linah,
but if u said that 6 june is full then how to join in?
i might end up like u if my departure date is cancel.

sharlene

Icy,
Linah enquire that time is full, but girlfriend previously asked and was told not yet leh.....

Linah,
Do keep me posted if u call them to enquire.

girlfriend

yeah sharlene, when i called, they said only 9-10 pax only.

I intend to join that grp if mine is cancelled.

Actually in fact, I hope to switch over asap to haf a peace of mind.

linah29

Icyr,
Ya, tat was the time during the fair that say full!
but girlfriend say only 9-10 pax so i thou can try and ask again lor...
Since i really prefer earlier.

Yeah! Girlfriend, sharlene...
we may in the same grp oh!

I have gone for Chan Bros 13D Europe Romance 3 years ago. It was good but really tiring. Basically we sleep at 12-1am and wake up by 6am. I spent most of the second week of the tour catching up my sleep on the coach. As for the Blackforest part of the tour itinery, the lunch is very filling, consists of a huge pig totter for each person plus a slice of their blackforest cake (good). If it's the same pack as mine, you will be travelling 8 countries in 2 weeks :p
My tour manager was Philip. VERY knowledgeable and speaks a few languages, but he lectured us like school kids sometimes.

Oh one thing dumb about my tour was that we flew all the way to London (flying past Italy on the way), then took a short flight from London to Rome. Quite a waste of time! My bro's route was to Amsterdam straight and start the tour from the western side of Europe, which I feel is more logical.

icy

tsukushi,
Thanks for the info... seemed like the Romance trip had changed a bit of the iternary.. cos london becomes the last destination and it is a optional destintation.

blisse

anyone of u thought of joining Contiki to Europe?
I am planning for a trip there too but yet to know which part

girlfriend

hi Blisse, initally plan to join Contiki but too expensive already and have to book own flight, stay one night in London(too expensive) because meeting point is at London, Royal national hotel.

London should be fun
I'm planning to visit Switzerland, France, London, Greece for my honeymoon. I wonder whether any tour package will cover these few places?

blisse

girlfriend,
i tot contiki will be cheaper as my fren just came back n her package plus air ticket only ard $2500

woof

hi blisse,
i do not wan to take up contiki package as to save the hessel......if itz for HM i tink best to save all the trouble n book a package n go there n relax....unless u both r very adventurous....

wat do u tink?

girlfriend

Blisse, it depends on what package you book(the number of days) & if you manage to buy cheap airtickets. If your airticket is 1k already then contiki ard 1.6k USD, it is defintely more expensive.

sharlene

Tsukushi,
Seldom see tour package that covers Greece inside together with Switzerland, London and France. Only see the tour package for greece individually by single country only.

peeper

hi gals... anyone know what branded goods they have in Spain/italy/france? thanks.

anyone planning for F & E? Hb prefers F&E thou i told him for once y dun we try tour so tat we dun nid to plan... (hassle) =P

branded goods... made in xxx is cheap in the country of manufacture. for eg. Prada in Italy, LV in France. These goods are normally price controlled across Europe so it doesn't make much diff if you buy a Prada in France or Spain boutique. I guess if you want, u can check out where are the factory outlets. Some branded goods can be found there.