Engagement Ring

knowsy

Be enlightened. Get informed.

Worth-less
About 130 million carats (26,000 kg) are mined annually, with a total value of nearly USD $9 billion. Now if you do the math - that works out to be US$69.20 per carat! The prices of diamond is artificially controlled and inflated. Mined diamonds are bought by cartels and kept in vaults to control supply and keep prices high, in truth there is nothing rare or precious about the stones.

For a detailed exposé of the De Beers cartel, read this article by Edward Jay Epstein in the February 1982 issue of The Atlantic Monthly - www.theatlantic.com/doc/print/198202/diamond

Have you heard of conflict diamonds?
Roughly 49% of diamonds originate from central and southern Africa - that's the majority of diamonds in retail. But this is the same region where conflict diamonds get worked into the system.

A conflict diamond (also called a blood diamond or a war diamond) is a diamond mined in a war zone and sold, usually clandestinely, in order to finance an insurgent or invading army's war efforts - http://www.amnestyusa.org/diamonds/index.do

In some cases, the United Nations has prohibited the export of conflict diamonds, arguing that their trade finances armies in fighting against legitimate governments and perpetrating human rights abuses, and prolongs devastating wars. It points to the UNITA rebels in Angola and to the Revolutionary United Front rebels in Sierra Leone (who it states were financed by the government of Liberia, also through diamond sales) as purveyors of conflict diamonds.

The UN is attempting to implement certification procedures to decrease the number of illicit diamonds on the world market. On July 19, 2000, the World Diamond Council adopted at Antwerp a resolution to strengthen the diamond industry's ability to block sales of conflict diamonds.

In 2002, the UN approved the Kimberley Process scheme aimed at preventing conflict diamonds entering the market.
See - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kimberley_Process

Still there is no guarantee the Kimberly Process can enforce 100% that no conflict diamonds make it to the market - see National Geogrpahic interview with reporter Dominic Cunningham - http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2003/02/0212_030212_diamonds.html

Natural mined diamonds have been coming under a lot of heat recently. Award-winning journalist Cecil Adams sums it up the best in a recent article: “diamonds are a scam, pure and simple.†Most people in the new millennium understand that between the DeBeers diamond cartel, the issue of child labor in Third World diamond processing operations, and “blood diamonds†used to finance oppression and genocide in Third World African countries, not to mention your snooty and pretentious local jeweler, diamonds are just not worth the hassle, guilt, and let’s not forget thousands and thousands of questionably spent dollars.

7 Reasons Why You Should NEVER Buy a Diamond:

1. The price of diamonds has been artificially inflated since the 1880's via the De Beers diamond cartel. Read this article by Edward Jay Epstein in the February 1982 issue of The Atlantic Monthly - www.theatlantic.com/doc/print/198202/diamond

2. Current public perception of diamonds is the direct result of a masterfully executed marketing campaign by De Beers that began in 1938, not inherent scarcity or value. If you've read the article by Edward Epstein (you really should), you know all of the gory details. Isn't it amazing (and scary) how brainwashed people are about the "value" of diamonds, even though they're not actually worth that much?

3. A diamond is an illiquid asset, not an "investment". Try to sell a second-hand diamond ring on eBay or at a pawn shop. Do you really think you'll get anything close to what you paid for it? Do you really think the price of any diamond you purchase today is going to go up significantly over time? Why do you think they say a diamond is forever? It's because once you buy it, it's a 'lost' investment so you'll have no choice but to hold on to it. Love is forever but a diamond is for never (if you are enlightened enough).

4. The diamond industry funds warfare, genocide, and terrorism. A conflict diamond (also called a blood diamond or a war diamond) is a diamond mined in a war zone and sold, usually clandestinely, in order to finance an insurgent or invading army's war efforts. Profits from conflict diamonds are used to finance warlords in Angola, Sierra Leone, and Liberia, who use their weapons to kill and maim innocent people. You won't be able to tell if your diamond is a conflict diamond or not?
Read BBC reports
- http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/programmes/correspondent/1604165.stm
- http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/africa/3581799.stm

5. A diamond is - by nature - just a pretty rock. Think of the oft-quoted "rule" of diamond ring buying: the ring should cost a minimum of two month's salary (pre-tax), and you should spend as much on a ring as you can afford. Let's put this rule in its proper context: according to the people who sell pretty rocks, you're supposed to trade a full two months of your time and effort for one of their pretty rocks. Does that seem wise?

6. People notice the setting more than the diamond itself. To the naked human eye, most decent quality diamonds look the same. Unless the stone is yellow, has major inclusions, or has a distinctly lopsided cut, no one will be able to distinguish an ideal cut, E color, VS-1 stone from a lesser-quality diamond just by looking at it. What people do notice is the setting - how the stone is featured or placed, side stones, and the craftsmanship and artistry of the band. Knowing this - does it make more sense to focus your attention and dollars on a better stone, or on a better setting?

7. The opportunity cost of buying a diamond is huge. Opportunity cost is what you give up by spending your scarce resources on a single option. In other words, if you drop ten grand on a diamond ring, you have $10,000 less to spend on other things, like a fantastic honeymoon, a car, furniture, a down payment on a house, investing for the future, or further education. Are all of these options worth giving up for a little piece of colorless carbon?

More readings...

Not Forever
The death of South African diamond magnate Harry Oppenheimer last month might mark the end of global domination for one of the world's most infamous cartels.
By Susan Emerling
http://www.salon.com/business/feature/2000/09/27/diamonds/index.html

Nice ice
Lab-made diamonds are as dazzling as those mined by third-world labor. This bling may be easier on your conscience -- and your wallet.
By Corrie Pikul
http://www.salon.com/mwt/the_big_idea/2004/12/24/diamonds/index.html

What you can do?
http://www.globalwitness.org/pages/en/what_you_can_do.html

monster6

My fiance got my engagement ring made by my uncle,who is a jeweller.Well,the fit of the ring is perfect,as my uncle 'conned' me into measuring the size of my finger.My fiance for a good deal,as my uncle picked out a very clear diamond.

My wedding bands are also made by my uncle.They are expensive,I must say.I don't even want to think of the price.Let's juz say that if it's retailing outside,the estimated price will be slightly below 10K.The reason why my bands costs so much is 1) We have 4 princess cut diamonds (which are already more expensive than normal diamonds) 2) The bands are not hollow.

But of course we didn't pay so much,as my uncle is a freelance jeweller,so his charges are not as high as the retail shops.The quality is certainly there.

Our rings are solid white gold.They are not hollow,as you find in most shops.The princess cut diamonds are set in the rings (workmanship involved here) by my uncle.

The best thing? He managed to get cursive engraving done for us,to my liking.In most shops,fr wat i know,you can only get normal engraving.And coz mine is not a hollow band,I had lots of space to engrave watever i wanted.

If anyone wants to engage the expertise of my uncle or get a quote fr him,pls let me know.I'm more than happy to get you in contact with him.

After my fiance & i saw the rings,we said it's worth every single cent.& of course,we didn't pay 10K coz my uncle did not charge me for his workmanship.

jmi

Hi Monster6, can I have your uncle's contact too? [email protected]

lyons

<font color="119911">hi buzzy Bee and Jmi, you might wanna try Josi Gems located at Parkmall. They deal with good quality diamonds and they're not as ex as the branded shops like Lee Hwa, but yet their diamonds are still of good quality. They also custom make the setting to any setting you want. Just tell them and they can replicate for you. Same with wedding bands. Hope this helps!</font>

elm23

I have a $100 Soo Kee Brilliant Rose jewellery voucher. Letting go for just $50!

Terms &amp; Conditions:

- Valid for Brilliant Rose diamond of min 0.18 carat and above at any Soo Kee showroom.
- Cannot be used with other offer promotions, vouchers and discounts.
- Cannot be accumulated or exchange for cash.

Expiry Date: 31 Dec 2007

Interested, please email me at [email protected]

snz

Hi all....

We are looking for an engagement ring as well. My guy wanna fly to LA or HK to get it custom made. There's no budget.

But I told him to fly to Sg &amp; shop with me instead. Now that I read about conflict diamonds. I am certainly not looking forward to it.

Do anyone of you know shops in Sg that sell conflict-free diamonds? or cultured diamonds?

I certainly do not want to contribute to any war funding around the world.

Appreciate anyone pointing the right direction

kristen86

I've not read anything about Singapore jewellery shops declaring tt they don't sell conflict diamond.

However, i do know of http://www.whiteflash.com which doesn't sell conflict diamonds, have really great diamonds and prices, and do fantastic custom jobs. You might want to consider them since you don't really have a budget. They have a large range of very good diamonds and the pple are also v helpful.

IMO, Singapore diamonds r not of v gd quality(i.e. not ideal cut), and if you do find one of good quality, the price is so ridiculous tt u can get a much bigger and better diamond elsewhere. Jewellers here in general also don't tell you what's impt. The one thing tt really determines whether the diamond sparkles or not is the CUT, but the jewellers here tend to focus on colour and clarity, cos tt's where the money is.

You can also go to http://www.pricescope.com and check out the forum there. Lotsa talk abt WhiteFlash.com. You will have no trouble finding pictures of custom work by them too. Pricescope can also help you to decide whether buying diamonds online is for you. It's something worth exploring. You'll also be able to learn more abt the 4Cs, and decide which one is more impt to you.

Hope this helps. =)

kristen86

Just to add on, it appears to me that ur guy is not in Singapore.

It might be helpful for you guys if you do ur shopping online, since you can easily send pictures back and forth.

I feel tt one of the advantages of shopping online is that you get to see the diamond WITHOUT the bright lights in jewellery shops, which can r there to make even lousy diamonds look good. WhiteFlash is a v reliable website, so there's really nothing to worry abt as long as ur shipment is insured. They even provide you pictures thruout the process of making the ring so you know what's going on, which Singapore jewellers DON'T do.

Pls don't feel like you're not looking forward to getting you engagement ring! I think going to Pricescope and learning more will help put your heart at ease. It's impt tt you enjoy the whole process of it, after all, it's once in a lifetime!

If you wanna know anything else, u can always PM me.

snz

Thanks Kristen for those helpful links

We both went thru Whiteflash and couldn't find the diamond we want.

You are right, he is not in Singapore, but will be soon. I did some reading myself and decided that I can request for conflict-free diamond and Sg is listed as one of the participating countries to stop this illegal trade.

I am not fussy about the engagement ring at all, it's he who fuss about it. I spotted one at Whiteflash but he said it's too cheap. He felt that our parents will think he is not adoring me enough hahahaha :D

I am curious why nobody posted their engagement ring for all to view? It would be a good guide and comparision among shops won't it?

snz

This is for Knowsy

What I read from Diamondfacts.org, it's that 99% of the diamonds in the trade are conflict-free.

It seems like your fact presented differs from their reports.

I do not know who to believe. But I have no doubt that it does exist.

You act to discourage people to buy diamonds is uncalled for. It's not being fair to those jewerly trader that are dealing with non conflict diamonds.

Doubt every of you report the actual facts, things are probably over blown for the impact.

That's my two cents worth.

jgal

Actually stan &amp; zoe, if you watch "blood diamond". Most of the diamond from these conflict-area are not in the mkt. They are bought by the merchant and keep away frm the market to stablize the price of diamonds. So even if they declare these diamond sold are conflict-free. The dealers may be involved in some form of diamond trades.

My personal view of this is that, yes, i agree that it inhumane but really very little we can do abt it.

For example, there was one time ppl was talking abt child-labour. And warn ppl against buying at 3rd-world country.. Later on they realized that if ppl stop buying, it only make the merchant force the children to work harder. So end up later, they ask ppl not cut price when they buy handicraft.

The rational is, unless you get to these country and change their polical situation OR ELIMINATE DIAMOND trade all together. Else lower the demand of diamond, will only cause more problems.

when you read something.. or got to know abt something.. you muz think rationally lor.. cannot take other ppl's word for it.

jgal

So.. what is the effect of lower diamond demand... ha haha .. sad to say.. it just means that the bastard soldiers are going to make the ppl work harder to get bigger diamonds. that's all.

snz

Hi JGal

I do understand your point. But when there is no demand, why would they be forced to work harder unless on another trade? People simply would not be interested to buy no matter how low their price or how big their diamonds are (if we assume that most of them have the conscious to do so).

My personal view is that we cannot know and do nothing about it. At least one at a time, the voices will grow, the words will spread and perhaps the evil merchants will be eliminated....

I know there's always conflicting informations around. I do question their reports, always seem bias to make their points across.

I wish to make the merchants aware that we know and we care, and perhaps they will soon too.

jgal

Stan.. we are on the same side lah. :p

What i meant is that.. unless we elimate demand.. else by lowering demand, we will cause more problem . ha haha ;)

monster6

Hi gurl23,

Something to take note if u opt for cursive engraving.I tot it's going to be wonderful,but coz of the size of the words,can't really read the words properly.

Instead,normal engraving is even better.give it some tots.if i get myself another wedding ring,i'll use normal engraving.My engagemeng ring is engraved in normal letters,look normal,but at least u can read it.

kristen86

Stan &amp; Zoe,

Why dun u look thru pricescope? There r lotsa vendors who r reliable. Mayb u can try posting there, asking pple for help to look for ur ideal ring. The forumers (including myself of cos) will b most happy to help you cos we're all diamond addicts! =P

snz

JGal
Guess we have to walk the tough road sometimes to get to utopia?

Kristen, wow I went to pricescope forum and see lot of diamond fanatic over there hahahaha.. was browsing thru their show the ring section. Indeed they are brillant diamonds.

American seems to be very willingly spend on their e-ring. My guy said it's usually 3-4 mths worth of salary.

We have abit of disagreement coz of the e-ring
He still want to get it custom-made with my design. So he suggested to get me a pre-e-ring before we get our custom-made ring done. I told him I don't care anymore. He decide will do.

kristen86

Stan &amp; Zoe,

So sorry to hear tt u're having a disagreement over the e-ring. If you don't like it tt there's a separate "pre-e-ring", mayb u can do what i did?

I went to look ard PS for abt 1 mth (even went to all the jewellery shops in Singapore to try rings on my own), and came up wif a word document detailing how i wan my ering to b like! Den i just sent it to my bf so tt he has an idea of what i want when he proposes. Tt helps to keep the surprise element.

Unfortunately, the custom-made ring idea fell thru cos we don't have the budget for it! So now we're settling for smth tt's non-custom but we both love lots. You're luckier than then me tho!

Otherwise, mayb you can MAKE HIM DESIGN the ring instead (if u trust his taste). After all, it's something tt he's giving to you rit? Let him put his creativity to work. ;)

At the end of the day, i think the most impt thing in a marriage is communication, and communication is abt "me &amp; you", not "me me me". So if what ur guy wants is far from what you have in mind, i think it's best to work it out to have smth tt pleases both of you in terms of budget, design, effort needed, quality, etc.

But don't worry, you're not the only one who have such problems over the e-ring. If you look under Ladies in Wait in PS, u'll see lotsa similar cases too. =P

snz

Hi Kristen

Thanks for the advise. I think marriage isn't just about an e-ring, that's why I don't see the point of spending so much on 2 rings.

We disagree on the criteria, coz he wanted a bigger carat and I wanted smaller stone. The reason he wanted such big stone for me is to please my parents, not me! Then he worried that I might be an easy target to robbery! Now you see why I give up?

We finally agreed to shop around Singapore for the pre-ering (Reason to be engaged soon is house shopping) It's all for our parents.

Do you know of anyone that has their ring custom made in Singapore? We just got a quote that's SGD 113K. I tried Pricescope's James Allen seems to have similar diamond requirements but at SGD 29k lesser, except it's not custom made ring.

I don't think a custom made workmanship would require SGD 29k isn't it? Any advise?

kristen86

Hi Stan &amp; Zoe,

The price definitely cannot be compared tt way, cos the price of the shop rental, employees' pay etc are all factored into the price quote in Singapore. I also hope tt the jeweller in Singapore is a reputable one, since you're gonna b spending so much $.

If you have a diamond you like from James Allen and you wanna save some $$, you can actually get it sent over to WhiteFlash for free and let WF set it for you. They charge a setting fee of USD$70.

Similarly, you can also have the diamond shipped directly to you for a fee (international shipping + insurance) and get it set in Singapore. I believe that the 29K is cos of the price of the diamond, rather than the cost of the workmanship.

Pls also note that if you told the jeweller in Singapore your diamond specs (eg. D colour, VVSI clarity etc) without mentioning tt you want an ideal cut, heart &amp; arrow diamond, you might find yourself getting a diamond with less bling than the one you saw on JA.

On a sidenote, you're getting such a big ring!! *bling envy* The budget for my ring is only SGD$2500! Haha!

snz

Hey Kristen

The quote we get from the shop in Singapore is SGD 113K including custom made setting and James Allen quoted USD 57k with a tension setting. Now that is a SGD 29k different in price.

The ring is of D, IF and 2.02-3 carats. None of them are H&amp;A cuts, it's only rated as VG in the cert, thus can't be ideal cut?

On the sidenote, don't envy me yet. I told my guy that if we can't find conflict free diamond. I just want crystal or cultured diamonds. You must think that I am crazy hahahaha...my mum would probably think the same...hahaha...

kristen86

Zoe,

Can i ask your reason for going for D, IF? A VG (very good) cut will not give you half as much brilliance as a ideal cut diamond will give you. BTW, where is the diamond certified (GIA, AGS, HRD, etc)? This will make quite a difference to the quality of your stone too. To me, i only trust GIA and AGS, a HRD or IGI D colour can easily be just a F colour by GIA standards.

Just a bit on colour, with the naked eyes, D, E and F will look very much the same, esp if u dun compare side-by-side.

On clarity, anything tt's better than VS2 is not visible to the naked eye, if you go VVS2, it's very likely tt you won't see the inclusions even with a loupe (magnified).

A very good cut (rather than ideal cut) is gonna waste your D, IF, cos it will compromise on your diamond's looks. Your diamond will end up looking quite "dead" especially when it's so big.

THESE babies gets my vote. ;)
http://www.whiteflash.com/hearts_arrows/A-Cut-Above-H-A-cut-diamond-71804.htm
http://www.whiteflash.com/round_ideal_cut/Round-Ideal-Cut-cut-diamond-70092.htm
http://www.exceldiamonds.com/diamond/45836.html
http://www.exceldiamonds.com/diamond/61715.html
http://www.exceldiamonds.com/diamond/29268.html

One last thing is, are you sure you wanna go for 2-3 carat? If you're a typical asian, the diamond will look oversized and auntie-ish on you, and most Singaporeans will think tt it's a fake. (A 2 carat is already over 8mm in diameter, and it looks oversized even on typical americans' hands. If you intend to wear your ring often, it's best to stick with 1 - 1.5 carat, or even less)

P.S. If tension setting is what you have in mind, i must ask you to reconsider. A diamond of tt size might not survive in a tension setting. Very vulnerable to chipping and dropping out from hard knocks. What more, if you have a tension setting of 8mm, it's gonna look really overpowering.

Just my 2 cents! =)

kristen86

Here are some pics for you.
This is a pic of a diamond tt's ard 3 carat on a small asian hand.

466615.jpg

Here's a similar size on a slightly bigger den average hand.

466616.jpg

and finally here's a 2 carat on a man-size hand. My bf's finger is a few sizes smaller than this!

466617.jpg

Now it's up to you to decide whether the giant look is what you wanna go for. As coco chanel put it, jewellery is meant to adorn you, not to make you look rich. I personally will not go above 1.2 carat, unless i'm above 40 years old! ;)

kristen86

By the way, this is what my ring will look like. I'll be getting a 0.6 carat on a tiffany lucida-style setting. I really adore the look of it.

466620.jpg

kristen86

If your guy really want D, IF, here are some ideal D/E, IF in various sizes for you to choose from. Quality guaranteed! Barry from Excel Diamonds is a very experienced guy who will make sure you diamond is nothing but fantastic. I really love his settings, altho they r too expensive for me. =)

http://www.exceldiamonds.com/diamond/60652.html - GIA, 2.02 Carat D IF
http://www.exceldiamonds.com/diamond/64324.html - GIA, 1.93 Carat D IF
http://www.exceldiamonds.com/diamond/54081.html - GIA, 1.53 Carat E IF
http://www.exceldiamonds.com/diamond/58719.html - GIA, 1.28 Carat D IF
http://www.exceldiamonds.com/diamond/46254.html - GIA, 1.08 Carat D IF

Sorry tt i'm so long-winded, it's just tt cos i'm so envious of your no-budget, I wanna make sure you get something tt will look WOW! Kinda like using you to fulfil my impossible (at the moment) dream. LOL. =P

kristen86

By the way, since you have no budget, best to get a platinum setting with the stone. It's hypoallergic, more durable and whiter than white gold. Plus it wun turn yellow like white gold will after a few years.

P.S. all the diamonds i quoted you are from places tt DON'T sell conflict diamonds.

kenshare

hi kristen86,
can u share the specs of your diamond?

do u tink i got a good deal?
Carat: 0.5
Clarity: VS2
Cut: H&amp;A
Colour: F
Its abt SGD$2700

kristen86

Hi Kenshare,

tt pic is NOT my diamond, my bf hasn't proposed yet (tt's why i call him my bf, not fiance)!

As for your diamond, in terms of specs, it sounds pretty gd, and i'll say it's a pretty gd deal. However, i'll wanna find out more abt the diamond before making a decision.

Is this diamond located in Singapore or online?

I think you really need to take a look at the cert, cos u shud NEVER buy an uncertified diamond. Well, at least not at tt price anyway.

A cert will allow you to verify if all the above stated specs are true, so you know tt u're really getting what you think u're getting. I also wun go for an in-house cert. An in-house cert is just as gd as no cert, cos an in-house cert is done by the vendor himself, which means tt if he likes, he can easily claim tt a H colour is a F color.

Also, if it's located in Singapore, i'll wanna see it in person. If it's online, i'll wanna see actual pictures and imagescope pictures of the diamond.

If an online vendor is not able to provide these, i wun buy, cos this means tt the diamond does not pass thru the hands of the vendor before getting to you, which means tt you wun know what you're really getting til it reaches you! This practice is known as drop-shipping.

Looking at the specs and price, i think your diamond sounds like a gd deal, altho i personally will go as low as I colour (most pple find tt a G/H looks white enuf) and SI1 or SI2 clarity as long as it's eyeclean so tt i can get a bigger stone! Ideal cuts tend to hide colour from the face-up view. =)

See tt photo of the ring i love above? Tt's someone else's diamond, GIA certified I, SI1, 0.73 carat (looks small cos her hands is ang mo sized), ideal cut! To me it looks damn white, altho it'll definitely look less white when compared side-by-side with a F stone.

Here's a tiny picture (more realistic, cos our diamonds r small anyway ;)) of a D colour beside a G colour.
466826.jpg

And here's a D colour beside an I colour!
466827.jpg

With such a small difference tt i wun even notice if i DIDN'T put a D beside it, i'd take the I colour in a heart beat cos i can get a much bigger stone! (^_^)

P.S. These pictures are taken against a WHITE background, which makes the colour much more obvious than usual. When set in the ring, it'll b even harder to notice the difference.

You can use this diamond search to give you an idea of the price difference...
http://www.exceldiamonds.com/diamonds/sh/66,143.html?cutg=1

I once had this salesger in singapore who told me tt they don't stock I colours, cos it looks VERY YELLOW! Looking at the picture, i hope nobody agrees wif her...

kenshare

Hi Kristen86
You are a true blue diamond lover. haha..

The diamond comes with a GIA cert.
The price above I quoted includes the setting of the ring on 18K white gold. My setting is the 6 prong tiffany style. Everyone says my diamond is clear and sparkly!

To tell u the truth, I have got the ring last Christmas as a proposal. The ring is from Singapore but its not from those big retailers that you see.
Instead, I went to this wholesaler recommended from a forumer here. And I will highly recommend her.

Initially, my Fiance wanted to get the ring from Blue Nile/Goodold gold. Its true the diamonds are much cheaper compared to Leehwa or other retailers but not so if you are buying from wholesalers.
They do have a shop (otherwise how to see the diamonds), but what they don't is they do not advertise.

At the end of the day, choosing a diamond is based on what the fiance can provide and what the fiancee wants. Although the element of surprise is missing, I am glad I went with my fiance. Cos I know, if he went to any of the other jewellers, he will surely have to pay much much more...And its true, the staff at those shops are not knowledgeable at all, they just want to make a quick sale and earn the commission.

Hi Snz,
You have my vote of wow too.. I told my Fiance about the size of your e-ring. I think you are very lucky and fortunate.

Happy ring searching...I hope u find your conflict free diamond ring soon!

lyons

<font color="119911">wow! The topic of diamonds quite hot eh? With regards to colour vs cut vs carat, it's all about compromise (that is, if you have a fixed budget
) and what's more impt to you. Some may place more emphasis on the carat and some may place emphasis on colour. Whatever it is, you must like the ring and if it makes you feel better to have a bigger carat but not so "white" colour, then by all means, go for it!

I personally place emphasis on the carat and colour over the cut. The difference between VVS1 and VS2 can't be seen with the naked eye so I won't pay more for VVS1.

Hi Kenshare, I went shopping with my fiance to show him what type of ring I like but I didn't know when he would be buying the ring or when he would be proposing so there can still be an element of surprise

clldavid

Hi Kenshare,

You definitely got a very competitive price for your diamond. It's cheaper than bluenile, and comparable to excel diamonds, which is cheaper than bluenile.

Does the whole seller do other types of setting other than the traditional tiffany solitaire? What i want looks like this:

466944.jpg

Pls share the contact wif me too! =)

clldavid

Oh. Please note that the previous post was Kristen86 who posted using my nick (David) as she was at my place. She's my girlfriend.

kenshare

Hi David/ Kristen86,
No problem, I will gladly share the contacts with you.
I am not sure about this setting that you are looking for. Perhaps you can check with the shop. My mum is planning to buy something from them too as my wedding gifts.

Hey Kristen86, you sure know a lot about diamonds as compared to me.
Actually, most of the reading was done by my fiancee and he taught me along the way. He was the one who decided what clarity, cut , carat the diamond will be.. As for me, I will accept whatever he can afford. I also don't want him to be bankrupt becos of the ring.

I hope you get ur dream ring soon...

snz

Kristen!!!

My guy..now my fiance..coz he took all the specs and get the conflict free, ideal cut, E,&amp; IF e-ring!

I understand not wanting big carats...but he didn't listen to me..he went ahead with a 2.5! But it's a designer ring made in NZ
I love it! Though it does look huge, but lucky I am rather meaty hahahahaha

I do think it's a bit too much for daily wear though...maybe I can downsize the custom made e-ring...

But a woman shouldn't complain!
I am happy! Not sure how to post the picture of the ring here though....

As for the cert, he forgot what is it, left it in NZ, will have to go back to re-size my ring anyway.

The wait is too quick! I was totally surprised!

But we will still look at your proposal for the custom made e-ring
Thanks a great deal babe!

snz

Hey Kristen!

Sorry for the late reply, been busy with engagement dinner n stuff. I am not good at taking the pics. Here's something I got so far..

469553.jpg

snz

Hey Kenshare

Thanks! It's lovely &amp; a total surprised
I will try to take better pics of it...somehow my fingers look so big!! hahaha...

I agreed that Lee Hwa is indeed expensive...we were walking around looking for bracelet...spotted a solitare 2.09 diamond there..it costs over 83k! with only a G color &amp; VS2!

My fiance is gonna design the 4 din zuan himself, and we gonna get them custom made in HK
My mum said HK's workmanship is better?

This wedding's gonna be this year..so it's less than half a year to plan! Have not choosen a date yet!