Electrolux - Washing Machines

therat

Thks ridz,
it's help.
Yesterday, try my 1st wash @ 40. Took 1hrs 45 min.
I think 40 is slightly faster then 60E

michae9090

hi ridz and royal pika,
EW880F takes 1 hour and 45 mins for 40 degrees wash ? how can it take so long to wash ? BOSCH brand only takes 1 hour to complete the 40 degrees wash... if it's like tat, i dun think i would consider 880 liao..coz more energy to use..another thing is wat i understand is 60E stands for 60 degrees Economy which means use more electricity and lesses water to wash but it only applys to those country which got cheaper electricity during certain time..

ridhwan82

hi superman,

yes it does take that long. trust me most of the continental washers would take that long to wash or maybe slightly shorter like 1h20 mins or so if you put the slightly dirty on some machines.

I have been using continental washers all my life and i can still say that they are efficient and effective than asian washers.

and look at the consumption of washing machine. for cold wash it would be about 300watts for the entire 1h40mins wash. its cleaner as compared to asian washers who typically will have a cycle of about 45-50 mins and consumes about 160watts for that duration.

as for programme E do not be mistaken. what this program does is lengthen the washing time at 60degrees.

The savings come when if you say choose to wash extremely soiled kitchen and tea towels at 90degrees which usually do. But should you want to save electricity then by choosing this program what it does is that using the temperature of 60 degrees it adjusts the drum motion and lengthen the time to have the same effectiveness of washing at 90degrees over the normal duration.

do take note that more electricity is needed to heat the water and maintain it at 90 degrees than having the motor to churn the drum. hence the difference in heating water to 60 instead of 90 is more substantial than the increase in the electricity to lengthen the cycle time.

and from the information that have about bosch that 1hour of washing at 40 degrees is at half load. under the easy care program.

Bosch standard wash times are around the regions of 105 mins to 140mins. which model are you referring to that has the complete wash at 40 degrees?

blurbaby

ridz,
u really sounded like another salesman... hee... but good lar.. provide good informations to us about washing machines and dryers..

michae9090

hi ridz,
Thats the same thing i thought when some salesman told me about tat but i saw it with my own eye when they turn on the machines and show me. It's under Cotton cycle and 40 degress. Easy care programme will be even faster,about 45mins but it's half load like wat u say. My fren actually bought the bosch 6.5kg 800rpm and electrolux 429 dryer so i m sure bosch comes with faster washing time if compare electrolux. Even new model bosch 7KG also finish in 1 hour at cotton 40 degrees. Nowadays electricity are expensive..bloody hxxl sg...anyway save time save $$$...why not...important is still reach the cleaness efficiency...jus my 2 cts of words..CHEERS~

jng

I have just booked the EW1080. But heard that the new model EWF1087 will be coming in soon...

Does anyone knows about it?

acid

Hi ridz,

Between electrolux ew 880 6.5kg and bosch 7kg, which is a better choice?
Price is $780 for either model, is it costly?

ridhwan82

depends a lot on what are your need and the functions that are available on both machines.

compare the wash cycles
then the little things like consumption, wash times, temperatures, then go on further to even minute things like the design, layout and the make like door latch, look around the machine and see if anything you dislike then you strike out lor

for me i am not too sure which model of bosch you are comparing... hence cannot really say but tis is a real tough choice. oh yeah and also dryer are you getting a dryer cos if yes cos bosch machines have a different fitting for their stacking kit might wanna check which are the dryers suitable to stack

acid

no dryers for me
bosch front loading, model i forget, but the model can open the cover after 'start', no water will flow out. only 800rpm
requirement is minimal, simple use and no need fancy features. basically just need to be able to last for many years.

ridhwan82

hmmm.. then in that case its more on preference already i guess. and maybe check with them where are they made in. some models of bosch are still made in germany but usually its the higher end ones.

electrolux are still from thai if i am not wrong for the 880.

not much i can help you with. perhaps the cycle now makes a difference if cold wash is what you want, cos some makers do not have a cold wash option but at least its 30 or 40 (which means heated water wash which generally consume slighly more electricity than cold wash if that is your concern yeah)

vvn

hi i am a loyal fan of electrolux. my mom has been using 1 for almost 15 years until the knob broke and they couldn't find the spare part anymore (we bought that model overseas) we are using the 2nd one for 4 years and it's still as good as new! we rarely use the dryer becoz it's not really that troublesome to hang the clothes. plus it's easier to iron the shirts when they are a little wet.

going to buy electrolux for my new flat!

celestia75

Hi everybody,
Suprised that e'lux washer still need almost 2 hours to finish its laundry ~ Would reconsider my choice again, thanks for the review.

chocolatier

Electrolux had a bundle package at $1429 for Dryer 419M & washer 880F...We upgraded it to Washer 1080F & Dryer 429E...
Harvey Norman had a special price over the weekend at Millenia Walk, selling $1548 for our upgrade choice...

lyn6305

The electrolux guy told me we can still use the Quick Wash for a full load. So i hv been using this feature since i bot it...keke...but he also told me the rinse is cut by 1 time.

I'm using the top load model. Recently, the softener does not get emptied fully. After the whole washing cycle is completed, we still see about half of the softener remaining in the compartment. Anyone knows what's the problem?

celestia75

i found opti 45 for brandt not very impressive coz if u turn to cotton 30 degrees, it uses almost 2 hours to wash, they should cut down time for every washing programme then it will be perfect for brandt. Anyway, i don't find brandt is a trusted brand. My european collegues never heard of this brand in their country. Consider UNKNOWN actually.

cheekychick

I've been using my EW887F Electrolux for 2 weeks plus & find it quite alrite...Clothes come out quite dry but not crumpled & tangled together loh. Dat time i wanted to order EW887F but was told dat this model will stop producing soon cos they change it to 7kg & rename as EW887F. Looks like all the 6.5kg models will become 7kg & be renamed as well loh..

i only know electrolux vacumm cleaner, 30 yrs still can used, my house got the oldest model that not in their catalogue still working condition, their salesperson every many years pop by to check foc, donno why, but thinkin of getting electrolux product, since it can last..

lisssssy

Electrolux is a good choice. Sales person from Audio House told me that it's a value for money washing machine. But I paid for a LG b'coz it is super cheap and it's working well after few years. Make a trip down to Audio House to do a full brand specification comparsion.

strictly

Hello

My wife and i are considering buying an electrolux ew880F Water consumption 59 Total Power 2200 7KG Max Spin 850. This is the first time we have ever purchased a washing machine. The household consists of three adults and a child. We just want to make the right choice. We are staying in the Phillipines currently and the choices are limited for front loading. Our budget is about six to seven hundred dollars. Would this be a good choice in terms of energy and water consumption? The sales people are not very knowledgeble either. I have read the posts from this particular thread and gotten some info on washing machines. Would like specifics on this particular model's pros and cons. Unless you suggest we get a top loader if this particular model is not up to snuff?

lisssssy

Hey guys, I saw Audio House having promotion on washing machine.

LG/Samsung/Daewoo washing machine is selling at $359

5-7kg (Front Loading)

Samsung/LG is selling at $229

6.5kg (Top Loading)

LG/Samsung is selling at $379

9kg (Top Loading)

ridhwan82

hi david lam,

the EW880F washer is an older model of which was replaced 887 and now have been replaced by 984. not too sure if the 880 is still available in the market.

three adults and a child. this should be sufficient. however waht would be the biggest item that you would need to wash?

curtains? or quilt?

this washer hasnt got much of a problem its a good one. just that the max spin is 850rpm if you are going to have a dryer then this would be just nice as ideally clothes should be spun at least 800rpm for efficiency of dryer usage.

what is it that you would need to know about this washer.

it has sorta variable temperature program. easy to use.

delicates program, cotton, wool and handwash program if i am not wrong.

post more questions then we see how it goes?

therese

Hi Ridz

Have you heard of the Electrolux EWF882 model? They are having a sale now at $849, for Courts members. Wondering if I should change my Brandt WFE676A for this as you mentioned on the Brandt thread that my washer is only 600rpm. This Electrolux one is 850rpm. The price difference is about $160. But Electrolux washing time seems to be much slower?

ridhwan82

hi therese,

well yes i have heard EW882, its similar to 880 model which is 850 rpm with wool, delicate, handwash, cotton and synthetic wash feature, also it has quickwash, intensive and i think half load feature.

well this electrolux washer is sorta an older model and also its silver in colour and hence the washing time is about the standard around 1h30mins or so.

washing time electrolux and bosch brandt all have about the same timings yeah. just that when you include at special wash features such as quick 15,flash 30 or flash 40 or optiA45 then thats where the machine starts to differentiate itself. and these are additional features. i would seriously get electrolux over this the brandt over the rpm..

give it a thought yeah

ridhwan82

hmm...

those models i think isnt general main stream models think its those exclusive model brought in by distributors.

what are the specs like..>? you reckon.. i will try to find out some more.. if i can. but you wont go wrong with an electrolux. just that does it meet your needs> thats most important.

ngfifi

Is Electrolux washing machine gd? Ive got lobang to buy Electrolux washing machine tat is barely a yr old but nt sure if its worthwhile

ridhwan82

electrolux is indeed good.

but i would feel depends on the model and the price that you are paying.. i would say you are always better off with a first hand washer yeah?>

no offence okie?

hks_swift

Hi Sylvia... i saw the model EWW1292. It's a new model from Electrolux, it's a Washer cum Dryer. Wat i know this model is Made in Italy and using only 49litres of water. u can view the model at Harvey Norman. The SE there can give u a good explanation. I saw the model at Harvey Norman Jurong Point.

hks_swift

Hi Sylvia... Regarding the EW970 dun have to consider coz it's a old model and the dryer function is timer one which EWW1292 using sensor dry. More convenient save time and easier. LG washer Cum dryer wat i know they using 112litres of water and they only got Hot water, no cold water. Cold water function is oni available for Delicate and Handwash. Coz we mostly using Cotton or Sythectic function. Thats mean the LG Washer cum dryer not saving water and power consumption.

natzkolz

hi, have anyone used the electrolux EWF861? (best denki price is $889). Saleslady said machine assembled in thailand & proof rusted. Mine is a small family. the heaviest item that would be washed would be the bedsheets since i don't use quilt/ comforter.

hks_swift

Hi Tan... This EWF861 not worth buying coz is only 6kg and 850RPM. Somemore selling at this price.. So expensive. I ever saw this model EWF-984 oso 850RPM but 7KG. Selling at promotion price $979 at Harvey norman. Electrolux washer r proven 100% Rust Proof. Dun worry of buying a Big one coz if u wash less clothes it'll use less water oso coz the machine got loading sensor.

Mr SwiftZC21..... erm... No machine is rust proof... to my greatest knowledge.... At most only Zinc Coated... Even machines from Electrolux are only zinc coated.

ridhwan82

well there is actually MIELE washers. and dryers. Their bodies are made of vitreous enamel which does not corrode nor yellow.

marchie08

Hi Ridz

Can i check wif u on advise on how to operate a washing machine.. ( its my first washer and i dun hv any prior experience with washing ) I have purchase the EWW1292 Washer cum dryer n dun realli know how to use it. i run a prewash for 1.5 hr under synthetic mode without any detergent is tat ok. and for daily washing shd i select cotton mode or synthetic mode.. its very confusing. Most of my laundry are working shirts, blouse, pants and mayb daily t-shirts and shorts..Also i have purchase the persil detergent but the delivery guy told me its better to use washing powder.. is tat true..Thanks for your advise in advance

ridhwan82

hi sylvia,

congratulations on your purchase of an electrolux machine. its certainly one of the better machines in the market.

well yes. for the first load its alright to have itwithout any detergent. this is to activate the eco wash valves as well as give the inside a wash through and to diagose any things that mightgo wrong before use.

well i can see that you have a mixture of clothes for your laundry.

This is how you should choose the appropriate cycle. choose the cycle that accomodates the most delicate item in your laundrry if you washing mixed.

In this case there is synthetics like blouse and pants and some cottons. cotton is the most hardy material next to linen and synthetics are more delicate compared to cotton. so you should select synthetic cycle.

Same with temperature. if some of the clothes require cold. some wash u8p to 40 and some up to 60 degrees. you shoudl select cold wash. this is so as not to damage the most delicate item in th wash.

do take note that synthjetic cycle is meant for about half load. so do not load up to full drum yeah. probably half is best of slight more than half but less than 3/4.

my preference would be that Working shirts and pants and blouses, use the quick wash function the one that has 30 mins or 40 mins wash something likethat. its better. cos these synthetic fibres really need just a rinse out to cleaned and the long cycle may cause it to wear and tear faster.

but this is my prefernce though some with very soiled condition may require the synthetic cycle to resolve cleaning.

yes the person is correct. its better to have the powder. hmm.. especially if you are going to use the pre wash function, you must only use powder else the liquid will just flow into the pre wash and during the main wash there will little or no detergent in the comparment.

usually the liquid persil is more for like handwashing the clothes.

if you need more clarification just post yeah.

marchie08

Thanks Ridz.. the electrolux customer service will be coming down tomorrow to show me a demo. Will come back to u should i need any clarification.. hee

purplebird

Hi all, I have a Electrolux (brand new) Washing Machine (model: EWS1090) 8kg front load for sale. usual price is $1465, really to let go at $1250. Please call 96865478 for more information.