Electrical works? Through ID or separate contractor?

takishi

Hi, would like to know the pros & cons when it comes to doing the electrical works for your home. Which is more cost effective? And if there are any market rates that anyone can share? Thank a lot.

josnah

hi Takishi,

i just started my reno today. started with the electrical works.
i dropped by tdy and my ID did all the coordination with the electrician. especially since he designed the false ceiling & L-box. u really can't avoid discussing your electrical requirements with ur ID.

initially i thot of sub-contracting the electrical works to another contractor. i checked with another electrician. the prices was similar to the ones quoted by my ID.

i would suggest that u check with ur ID the pricing for each point & if reasonable, agree on the pricing before signing the contract.

takishi

Hi josnah,

May i ask how much were you charged for per point? Is there any different charge between a dimmer switch or a switch with 2 or 4 lighting points in an electrical quotation?

My ID also design the L-box and false ceiling, but i do not wish to pay whatever high price he might quote just because he is doing all the coordination work.

josnah

hi Takishi,

there's a different charge for dimmer switch.
but no different charge for switches with 2 or 4 pts. cos they count by lighting points.

mkt rate per lighting pt is $25, installation is $10. my ID is charging me slightly lesser for the lighting pts. i agreed with him on the prices b4 signing the contract.

checked ard with other electricians. they quoted the same mkt prices to me. so i felt my ID gave me reasonable charges.

should never pay whatever high price the ID might quote. that's why I suggested that u check with ur ID the pricing for each point & if reasonable, agree on the pricing before signing the contract (if u already haven't).

dun forget to ask ur electrician to quote on single, double powerpoints, SCV & tel points etc.

bungy_jumper

I agree with josnah, have to bargain abit with the ID. for me, i felt my ID charged too high, $35 per point plus additional $10 for installation each. I have 33 lighting points.
It does not matter how many switch you have per box, though mine charged me $30 or each dimmer.

In the end, i only got my ID to install another 4 lighting points on top of the 7 HDB already gave. Me and hubby looped these points to additional 22 lighting points, bought and installed the lights ourselves. Paid $8 each for 2 dimmers and wired it ourselves.

Only spent about $400 on electrical, telephone and powerpoints.

takishi

Thank you all who had given your valuable feedback. Josnah thanks for the breakdown.

Pardon my ignorance, but when you say $xx per point, does it means they just run the wires to the location where your ID propose to have the downlight and then cut the hole only? And that installation is connecting the downlight you purchase to the wires? Another silly question, does the downlight you purchase comes with the bulb? Please refrain from laughing. Thank you.

josnah

hi Takishi,

i asked the same questions and nobody laughed at me

you are right abt the lighting point & the installation. and yes the downlight comes with the plc bulb. u also get to choose the colour. cool white or warm white.

when u purchase can ask more questions to the salespeople. dun be shy. i ask even if i know. just to double-confirm.

josnah

hi sunny side up,

i feel ur lighting point is quoted high. my lighting points & installation of lights doesn't even come up to $40.

anyone didnt get their ID to do up the re-wiring and installation of powerpoints but outsource to others?

any recommendation?

rc123

Hi celia,

I got a separate electrical contractor to do the work. I quite like his service as he's able to give some practical advise. The previous electrician who works with my contractor is very lousy... we have to tell him how to run the cables so in the end we choose another electrician. The best part is, he's able to rewire the 2-way switch provided by HDB. All other electricians we've spoken to say cannot be done. So I've happy with his work.

alice5

Hi Little Lamb,

Can share the contact ? Did your electrician perform the full Singapore Power full load test for the whole house ?

kopi_siudai

Hi little lamb,

It's me lah. Errr ... can recommend your electrician? You still have my email, right? Can send contact or not?

rc123

Hi celia,

I'v PM u.

Hi alice,

Can u give me your email? Mine is a new flat, no need to do the full load test.

Hi kopi,

Can't rem your email. send me again.

sozky

Hi little lamb,

Rec'd your house pics.Must say dat it was very tastefully done up. Noticed that you are using Ximula WIW. Must have cost u a bomb. How much u spent on your total renov cost ?
My renov starting next week...

hammered

Hello Little Lamb,

Can send picts of your home if you dont mind? Would love to see them. [email protected]

For all here, I paid $1650 for my electrical works they include

29 lighting points
2 SCV points
1 telephone point
6 power points
2 rear speaker point
1 new box
No re wiring

I have a feeling I kana "hacked". What do you guys think?

rc123

Hi Hammy,

I've sent u my house photos. How many new lighting points are there? The cost of your electrical works look expensive.

hammered

Hi Little Lamb, I saw all 45 pics of your home. really nice esp the foyer part.

New lighting points abt 23. The rest are existing lighting points. You think expensive yah. Heart pain now

rc123

Hi hammy,

U've paid your electrical works? If I'm not wrong, I did mine at $1100 for

lay cables for 20 new points
install 31 lights
6 powerpoints
2 speaker
all conceal wiring

hammered

Wah. So basically I overpaid by abt $400 to $500.

Little Lamb. I saw the pic for your kitchen bi fold door. Very nice. Whats is the name for it and how much you pay ah? I would like to get one too.

rc123

Hi hammy,

That bi fold door wasn't very nice. It was done by my carpenter and I dun like its mechanism and locking system. Anyway I paid $500 for that.

chillia

hey, this is my pricing..
reasonable? i tot i kana hacked...after viewing some of yours..i think mine quite ok rite?
it's $931(total) and $880 after discount.
1.lighting pt = $25
2.13A double Point $65
3.Over point(duno wat's this) $80
4.hob n hoob point $40
5.cooker unit $80
6.Install light fitting $8 each
7.13A single point $50
8.Shifting SCV $75
9. Shifting light point $15 each
10.Shift power scv $40

let me know if the prices reasonable le..cos i haven pay..stil can argue for more discount...LOL
but they done their work liao!!