Eczema problems

junec

Change your bra! Get cortisone cream to apply for about a week, and then use a moisturizer for eczema skin. If itchy, doc will give an antihistamine to ingest. Change your shower gel too, to something good for sensitive skin. U can get all these meds at Pharmacy. Any doctor will be able to treat you; don't really need a specialist for this. But if you really want u can see a dermatologist, KB Lim at Gleneagles, tel 64710965. For a GP, there is a very good female doctor at Marina Square who is a GP under going training for dermatology. Her name is Carina Lau, MHC MEDICAL CENTRE (MARINA) Tel 63329087.

mommy_of_2

Hi deep dreamer, did ur eczema problem only surface recently? According to what i know, eczema is a life-time problem, there is no cure, but there are things u can do to prevent ur eczema from flaring up. My 2 year son got very bad eczema too, once he starts sweating, his rashes will come very soon, very soon as in like within an hour's time!!! his pediatrician gave him some cream with light steroids to control the problem. They help, but same thing when he starts perspiring, back to sq 1 liao. Personally i am taking this slimmer's choice from Coslab, and the skincare doc wioth Coslab says the slimmer's choice is good for those eczema patients. And at the same time it does dotoxify and cleanse the body of toxics & fats.

anoif

hi deep dreamer
to keep it under control, better start using shower lotions like cetaphil, and always moisturise...

hi setrina,
u mean taking slimmer's choice from coslab does help with eczema?? is it in a drink or tablet form?

princess_lee

I also have eczema problems.
My skin is often dry, sometimes a bit flaky.
Whenever the itch starts, it's simply unbearable. I can scratch/rub like mad. I tried creams, antihistamins and even shots to improve my skin condition..but they can only help a bit *sign* My GP told me cos I'm an asthmatic, that's why i get this problem.
I'm thinking of seeking help from chinese physician cos I feel that it's not advisable to take those western medicines for long term..anyone can recommend me one?

smurfy

I have ezema too all my life since young, and i had change a dozen no. of doctors since. Until the past 2 yrs, I start seeing this dr at orchard building. He is really good and for the first time of my life I had my ecezema under control. In fact, I hadn't had the need to see him for the past one year. If anyone need the contact, let me know.

Eczema creams always caused my skin to be itchier Later, I learn that eczema creams are actually drying to the skin and so before applying the cream, apply a layer of moisturiser first to the affected area. It helps to control the condition better.

Setrina,
My sister claims that nappy rash cream is very effective for her son's eczema. Not sure how true is that.. you might like to try.

loppi_tan

I seek treatment from National Skin Centre and I was given this cream that is not too oily and does not aggravate the itch. I used to have really bad ones on my leg, now it is under control. Dr Seow is my doctor and he gives me Beprosone cream.

demi

The best one has to be Dr Loke at Peace Centre #04-20. Forget about going to GP for your ezecma, they only make things worse. I kena too many bad experiences already.

smurfy

I tried Dr Loke at peace centre before he can't solve my serious eczema.

My current dr is Dr Thirumoorthy from Specialist Skin Clinic Pte Ltd at Orchard Building. Friends who didn't see me for long commented on my better skin and ask for his contacts too. I oso recommended one colleague for her acne and other colleagues commended on her skin improved. I would highly recommended this Dr. but appointed got to be made weeks in advance and only during office hours on weekdays (closed at 5pm) and up till 2pm on sat.

anoif

kids' eczema is easier to control, most of the time, it will juz go away as the kid grows up..

yah too much steriod creams is not good..

hi princess_lee
tot i saw a tv program on eu yang sang having treatment for eczema...the lady said it has kept hers under control...

hi smurfy,
how are the charges like for dr. thirumoorthy?

princess_lee

hi smurfy,
was Dr. Thirumoorthy using this method which he put you on routine shots a for period? Cos i tried that before, but still no use..

cookiedough

I used to have a skin problem too (non-itchy red bumps, scaly bumps that can peel off when dry). I tried some creams too but hate the greasy feeling. But after I switched to using only Johnson and Johnson's Baby Bath (milk bath, bedtime bath, etc), my skin was less dry and my skin problem has 95% disappeared.

Actually, I had consulted a few docs, even those at National Skin Centre, but they were not sure if it's eczema, but anyway, whatever name you call it, it's more or less gone after i switched to using baby baths only.

Try switching to using baby products for a while and see if it works.

All the best.

anoif

now i only stick to "cetaphil" bath lotion...to play safe...

hi princess_lee,
cant rem which physician..i only rem it's from eu yang sang..and the lady was asked to soak in a tub of water, maybe of some herbs in it..

caddy

Maple Clinic at Blk 825 Tampines, tel:67839038

Try this one. My hubby has eczema for over 20 yrs. Doc gave him a bath oil to use. He still gets the rashes (coz he can't be bothered to use all the creams), but at least the prescribed bath oil doesn't irritate him as badly as before after each shower. These bath oil can be purchased from a shop in Novena Sq as well.

My 11 mth old baby's eczema was gone after seeing her once.

Things like cetaphil din work for my hubby. Specialists in NSC told him to immigrate to a cooler country!

smurfy

hi Nana,

I can said that his charges is quite expensive.. you can call this no. 6734 1411 to check with the clinic

hi princess lee,
No.. he doesn't use anything like that.. he will only draw up a program telling you what lotion/cream to use during the day and night.. but sometimes i din follow :p

Sunny,
Dr Thirumoorthy see kids too. My 2-yr-old niece is also his patient.

try Dermveen shower foam (dunno spelled correctly or not). It is recommended by Dr Thirumoorthy. It can be bought at various Pharmacies and it works great for me...

anoif

yah sure exp..thks smurfy
so he doesnt give u any steriod creams or any oral medications? it's like a control program yah?

sigh eczema really requires high maintenance..considering the bath lotion that we use will be much more exp than norm ones..

smurfy

nana,

Normally he prescribe efficort and elomet. I am not sure if both of these are steriod creams but my 2-yr old niece is oso using them as prescribed by him.

When my condition got better, he gave me Elidel which I read from newspaper is a non-steroid cream.

bejeweled

Elidel is good, been using it for a while, though kind of ex.

I have eczema for almost 20 years, mostly trigger when the weather changes, esp hot weather. Stress is another factor, so doc can't really help, they only prescribe steroid cream, cortisone and zyrtec to cut down the itch. I still think that we should minimise stress.. which is kind of tough, living in such a country like Sin eh..

reiepl

My mum and sis have the same problems. They are using Dermavade/Dermavate but this can only be bought by doctor's prescription. To save money, we usually ask friends who are visiting Thailand/Malaysia to buy for us as the cream can be easily bought there and cheaper too. But this cream is quite strong and is more suitable for pple with serious problems. So, they try not to use too much. It's drying for the skin. They also use only Johnson's & Johnsons bathing foam, Almond Oil as it's the least aggravating bath foam for them. Any other brands will make them itch. They are also taking Evening Primrose Oil for years. It's helping their condition. Recently, they are also taking Slimmer's Choice from Coslab. Seems that the condition is better and less itch and ugly patches on their body...

eneri

i dun have eczema but my ex-colleague used to have. she told me she always scratch till her skin bleeds and her scarring is really so bad tat pp thot she fell and bruised herself. So she always cover up her skin and for years she felt very lousy. until late last year, she tried herbalife for weight loss purposes only to realise tat the supplemts actually helped her eczema alot. she dun suffer from breakouts anymore and her skin is much much betta. she dared to wear more daring and revealing clothes to showcase her 'new' skin. but however, she did experiment if stopping the supplemts will trigger the eczema again, it did. so means, once u stop taking it, the eczema comes back. but i can see the joy on her face cos she's been suffering for so many years...so maybe all u sufferers out there can try it out. its health supplemts so its good for body. i'm not sure where to get it tho but if u do a search on the net, should be able to find it. All the best!

tess

if u want to treat Eczema and let it NOT affect you anymore-TOTAL CURE.interested i have a real testimonial-Tan Li Li who appeared in Local newspaper. I know her....she suffered this problem and now she's CURED,totally not even medication or cream.if there's anyone who is keen..i can show u the testimonial...email me

demio

erm... in case u didn't know, eczema cannot be totally cured.... it can be controlled to a large extent but not TOTAL CURE.... relapses will still occur, albeit at a much smaller magnitude..

forrestgump4

yah i agree with Demio.

i suffered from eczema also and skin ctr's docs also say that. can be controlled but not total cure. haih... i just suffered a relapse and till now still so terrible. now almost all my fingers got it. now my hand look so dry and ugly..

pinkbear

Hi to all,

can i check with you all...is it this is something like a litte red dot then spread to become a red patch either on legs or hands and quite itchy ..is this due to heat or skin sensitive and allergy to the heat...is this known as Eczema? does going to skin doctor helps?

thanks for all help

mercury

Well recently i have a flare up (probably i came into contact with my friend kitten) and wanted to find ways to relieve and cure eczema.

Hmm sure there's no cure only ways to suppress it.
It started out as 2 or 3 little patch on the thigh. now it spread quite around my two thighs, just on the butt. It's not irritating normally for me till i experienced the flareup. now i use Ego Soap which costs an absolute bomb. 16 dollars at Guardian!
http://www.mypharmacy.com.sg/ShopFront/ProductPage.aspx?CatID=287&ProdSKU=843299101G
and i use QV mosturizing cream. After tahan the itch for a week it finally stopped yesterday. Was wondering if i should still go see a dermatologist. Was thinking of going to the polyclinic so they will give me a letter to nsc.

oh it seems that lots of u have bad experiences with nsc. so what should i do. I still have patches all around, they look very dry that's all even though i apply the cream everyday after bath.
Is there medicine that can clear these ugly patches away. yuck!

ANYWAY a big news to share with u ppl

U.S Food and Drug Administration has announced that Elidel and Protopic might have cancer risks.

For those who are using it, use it less. or stop using if you are kiaseeeeeee.

Here's the original link
http://www.fda.gov/cder/drug/advisory/elidel_protopic.htm

forrestgump4

Hi Just Me,

I think it's better to see a skin doc. If you can get referral to nsc, the costs is greatly reduce. It's not that we have bad experience lah, it's just that ezcema dun go away so easily and quickly. So becos of the emotional stress that we wanted our skin to look good again and to see the effects fast, it often cause a certain of expectation when we see the doc. Once we din see the results, we often blame the doc lor.

Anyway, I also have ezcema. I realise that when i'm not so stress, my ezcema is controlled and i actually on the whole felt better. So the med i apply is just helping me to prevent it from getting worse.

Oh and what i understand is that when the ezcema is still raw or just started, it's better to apply the med to prevent anymore inflammation. Then once the itch subside, then start using the moisturizer to prevent the skin from drying. Normally those med we applied on the affected area can cause skin thinning, so if we dun moisturize, the skin will "break" easily and thus flare up again. And the cycle runs again. Thats how ezcema can only be controlled, not fully cured.

Hope above can help a bit.

binbin

helo jenny, my case is also one little red dot then become bigger and like got pus inside, and very itchy. when i scratch it reddens and when i apply cream it become dry. end up when i go doc, doc see dry skin, they tell me ezcema. but i read on the internet ezcema is dry skin, din start with little pink/red dot right? my case same as you, but is this really ezcema?

can someone pls share whether your ezcema started like that? or how theirs started?

i have never noticed any link to any food or habits or stress.

pinkbear

Hi Binbin,

me oso not sure..but gotten this sentivity a few years ago..suddenly oso..veri wierd..hope to find out more from the gals here oso..

forrestgump4

For me, it all started when I went to P.Ubin for camping. And then i got bitten by these sand mosquitoes. At 1st they look like those normal mosquitoes bites. But they were ultra itchy!i kept scratching until the bites started to spread. Few of the bites at my ankle began to form a ring and later become patches.

The more i scratch, the more itchy and wider it spread. Later after seeing nsc, it reform and started to have those "liquid" coming out. It's not pus cos it's not painful but it's not water also. So from there on, my ezcema is with me and that happens 10 years ago. Sigh....

mercury

Hmm good news for me as my eczema seems to be clearing up. My mum bought some yellow cream from the chinese medical hall. So i applied it just to test and somehow along with my ego soap and QV cream my eczema don't look very visible and don't look as dry. I also started applying some cream given to me by a GP ( i happened to go to a GP because i had rash outbreaks on my back for no reasons, so ask for something for my eczema too)
Think my eczema looks much better now, because when i mentioned i had lots of patches on my thighs. He went "where?" He only managed to see one big patch i had. In the end he still gave me something to apply. (he muttered something about my eczema looks more like a skin infection or something). Mine probably a small case.

I actually finished my ego soap in a week. to think the F&Q section of the soap actually mention that it might last longer than normal soap.
Anyway i gotta myself a bottle of cetaphil now. no foams. a bit demoralising to wash with it. I dun feel very clean i guess.

Anybody tried QV bathing lotion?

Forgot when it started. A year ago i guess. Just before i went aussie to pursue my degree.

pinkbear

Hi Mandy,

Mine started when i went to MArine South to fly kites...that was quite 4 to 5 years ago..since then,..I oso gotten it with me..think bitten by the mosquitoes oso..never seem to occur before that...really veri wierd..now I took great care when going to outdoor places where there lots of grass and weeds..hiaz...wat a torture..cannot go to nature places with ease...hiaz...

Hi Just me,

happi for you..

forrestgump4

Hi Just Me,

I'm using Cetaphil Skin Cleanser now. After some usage, i'm used to it already. Actually i felt cleansed and with the feeling that not over drying, which is good for ezcema skin.

elfy

Hi Ladies, I had eczema for the past 20 years, and every one year, I'll have a very bad relapes of eczema on my hand. But since my wedding, 1.5 yrs ago, I suffered very bad eczema and I have given up seeing specialists. Only oral steroid and steroid creams can keep my eczema under control, the moment I stop, the eczema will come back again.

Not only will there be a no of side effects for oral steroid and steroid creams. I was told by my specialist that steroid creams will thin your skin etc etc. To my horror my GP who put me on steroid cream for the past year, didn't even highlight to me.

There are many causes of eczema, based on my research from library, some are due to contact with chemicals, change in environment/ temperature, dusty environment, stress, internal makeup of the body.

For my case, I have contact eczema, but I have stopped all forms of contact with chemical and liquids with the protection of gloves all the time. But I realize my condition didn't help. My specialist said that my eczema was a result of both contact and trigger from internal as well, such as stressed and lack of some thing in my body.

I have since learn to better manage my stress (like work, finanical stress, marriage stress, home renov stress etc).

I have learnt more about my problem now and have put myself on some supplements, manage my stress level, de-stress myself and of cos avoid those irritants (chemicals, etc). My skin has since improved for the past 2 weeks, and I'm happy to see the improvement.

junibride

Hi Elfy,
I know how u r feeling. I was like u too. After i graduated n went Europe for holiday, I got very bad rashes there. The 4th day i was there, my entire face n body esp face, broke out in red itchy patches like enlarged mosquito bites. I went to the pharmacy to get some cold cream n purposely went to the beach to get some sun hopefully to get rid of the itch cos i suspected was due to the dry n cold weather in may. but anyway it wasnt exactly cold like 16 degrees celcius.. guess it more becos of the dry weather.

It disappeared for 1 yr i came back but after tat esp my face starts to itch n have red spots again. so awful. i have seen many specialist n they said its incurable!! like i have some terminal disease of smtg. Then i went to this clinic in Seragoon Gardens opp Chomp Chomp, the doc gave me a steriod jab n the next day, my eczema is totally gone.. but it only last for 1 month. anyway i have been taking evening primrose oil by Efamol from Guardian Pharmacy n i think tat it does control my ezcema. I dont go for jab anymore but i diligently take the EPO everyday. Go try this brand. It only specialises in EPO n not other supplements so in the sense, its quite good.

binbin

helo all, i have skin rashes that diff doc tell me diff things last time. before ezcema was common, they told me somehting else. now they say its ezcema. my rashes start like little red dots that is itchy. so i start scratching. once i scratch it spread and become bigger. as it grows, inside got pus one. very very itchy and unbearble. have tried steriods, have tried dermovate have tried putting moisturiser. does not help long term. and it dries the skin. i suspect the resulting dry skin cld be why the doc said its ezcema? coz my symptoms are not the same as those i read on papers leh. very confused. anyone's ezcema same as mine???

tmlw theres an ezcema talk 2-4pm at raffles city. i have signed up for it, hope to learn more.

binbin

oh forgot to mention. another reason why i wonder if mine is really ezcema is they say ezcema usually appears in limb joints like elbow, behind knees, fingers etc etc right? mine is ALWAYS on my calves. no where near joints. it happen on knees but its infront, not behind. sometimes small ones on body but that one wun last that long fortunately.

diamond42

Just want to let you all know that there is a very good skin specialist located at Park mall whom i have been seeing whenever i have skin rashes. So far, whenever i have skin rashes, i just need to visit him once for consulation and medication then i am cured.

I am not sure will he be able to help in Ezcema but his reputation is very good. Perhaps you all may like to try out. And he always against steriods injection.

elfy

Hi Juni, thanks for the advice. I'm currently on Vit E which is pretty good for me. If EPO works for you, you should continue taking. BTW, my doctor says EPO is more for ezcema suffers like us rather than for beautiful skin (alot of people are taking the wrong medicine).

Bin Bin, ezcema is not limited to the joints, etc. My ezcema is predominantly on my palm only and I suffer similar sympton as you. Ezcema is so common nowadays that your doctor should not miss the common sympton of ezcema suffers.

Cheers, there's a better tomorrow.

aly1010

Hi Diamond

How's the charges like for your specialist?

I'm trying to find alternative remedies to control my ezcema.. i have patches of dry, scaly n itchy rash on my cheeks n eyelid.. cos it's so near to my eye, i dun dare use those creams prescibed my GP cos wif steriod...

Hi BinBin
Just get to see thread. Missed the talk. Was it useful? Organised by whom?

diamond42

Hi Ailing,

First consulation with medication is usually $100++ then subsequent consulation is cheaper ard $40 - $50.00

Here is the contact no of the clinic:

I lost the address of the clinic otherwise can post here too. You can try to call up to find out the opening hours.

binbin

hello ai ling, the talk was quite informative, organised by the this committee (forgot the name) and given by National Skin Centre doctors.

the notes are at home, but from memory, interesting things that we found out was that:

1. atopic ezcema is not caused by food, sun or weather. but it can be worsened or complicated by it.
2. it is believed to be caused by a dysfunctional immune system of the skin.
3. 30% of children sufferers have parents that suffers from ezcema.
4. theres diff types of treatment. ultra violet therapy, steriods, new treatments. for ai ling's case of ezcema near eyes, doctors recommend the new treatments (started in 2001 i think) e.g. creams like protopics and ____ (i forgot the name). these treatments do not thin the skin, reduce the possbility of flare ups once u stop using them, is not absorbed into the blood like steriods are, and does not dry the skin. but the side effects is a stinging sensation which is transient and of short duration.
5. to ease the discomfort of ezcema, try to bath with warm water, wear cotton clothing, after bath pat dry body instead of rub with towel, apply moisturiser after bath. moisturiser can be scented but most patients are sensitive to scented moisturisers, so can use the unscented ones.
6. when applying cream and moisturiser, apply the treatment cream at the ezcema spots first, then apply moisturiser all over body.
7. as new treatments do not have long trck records like steriod, it is not suitable for pregnant woman or ladies planning for a family.
8. usual GPs may not know abt the new treatments as well as the NSC docs. but the NSC held a talk recently for all private practice doctors informing them of this new treatment. so dun be surprised if ur last visit to the doc he dun prescribe this.
9. some children clears of ezcema by teens. some develop only in adulthood.
10 contrary to popular belief, powder is not rcommend cos most powders dry the skin, resulting in more itch.

learnt many things, but i also feel grateful. a lady shared her experience and she has a 18-yr old daughter suffering from ezcema for the past 17yrs. her condition is all over the body, broken skin, seeping and open wounds. before seeing her latest doc, she has no good sleep for the past 17 yrs, and recieve ill-meaning stares from passersby. our heart goes out to her when her mum shares about this.....

sigh....sufferers are increasing for the past decades, and i believed it to be due to the increased amt of toxins in the environment, and the things we eat and drink and apply.....its so sad...

the above points i wrote may not be detailed. if u wanna clarify something (medical terms), i can check my notes at home....

aly1010

Thanks Diamond and Binbin,
this is very informative. Thanks

i'll go surf abit more abt the new treatment. any updates wl post here for u all to c too

binbin

hmmm i din expect this too. anyway, the doctors that day did mention this is a new drug, started only 2000-2001, so many long term effects are not visible until some time later. but they did say its not absorbed into the skin, which is what the FDA said can happen. so who shld we believe? anyway if u starting a family better not used it, according to the talk's doctors.

after looking at the site u mentioned, i remember the medical names of the new treatment liaoz. the two new treatments contains either pimecrolimus and tacrolimus in differing amounts. protopic contains pimecrolimus. so if u happend to be prescribed a new treatment with a different name, it is just a different name containing the same ingredients of either pimecrolimus or tacrolimus (chemical/medicinal content). for example, bethamethasone (i think spelt this way) is a steriodal content of some creams. even if ur steriod cream is not spelled this way, the contents of the cream is still perhaps either 0.03% or 0.1% of bethamethasone.

flora

This thread is very useful. Great update. I personally is suffering from ezcema for about six years. The main thing is to keep yr skin clean. Try to keep yr environment clean and as free from dust as possible. Like what binbin mention cotton fabric clothings are the best but only bad things about cotton is it get creases easily and difficult to iron.

Trial and errors, we might be able to find out some of the trigger factors that cause the ezcema to re-occur at times to times.

Also try to use bathing products with as little fragant as possible.

binbin

helo flora, u reminded me of something else. some ppl's condition is triggered by external irritants like what u mentioned. however, for myself, i duno what i am sensitive to. so the doctors recommended us to do a patch test with our dermatologist, to find out what we are sensitive to. theres other tests as well but i forgot. can check with ur doc.

nana, yep betamethasone is steriods. perhaps can try reading the attached booklet in the cream's box to verify. i rem hearing the name when the docs explained about steriods.

anoif

binbin
thks. the prob is that the cream was given to me in a small tub..so there's no original packaging..except for a sticker on it that says betamethasone of certain %..when i see %..i was also wondering whether it is steriod.

yah that makes me recall a visit to NSC..the consultant refused to let me do a patch test, at one stage when i first started having terrible hand eczema...irritating..