Dynasty Travel Group Tour to Europe

adnl2002

Hi blinko,
have already signed up the pkg at Natas but not with dynasty..signed up 12D Paris/SW/London, departing end April too..

lv17

hi blinko

i was interested in that 15D package too, found it more comprehensive, $4415 inclusive tax by Dynasty, SQ, departing early june. But found it too ex, so decided to go F&E. U gg for your honeymoon?

blinko

LV17> yeap i going for my HM... So u also going these 3 places but F&E?

Initially I wanted to go by F&E but then i feel some places if ownself go will be quite inconvenient plus if go with tour grp, just let them settle everything while we enjoy lor, no need worry transport, hotel etc...

and also i roughly work out the budget, if i were to go F&E, it might end up to be more ex than a tour package since the hotel in Europe is not cheap...

lv17

Blinko, im planning my iternary to cover these three places, mayb will skip SW if there are many places i wanna visit in Paris and Italy cos i wanna cover in details rather than touch n go. True enuf, hotels in Europe is not cheap, so there is no significant savings by going F&E. But we preferred to travel at our own pace and also explore certain places that the itnerary did not cover. For instance, i wanna go to Disneyland Paris! I heard that Disneyland Tokyo is beta, but i never been to that one so it will be a whole new experience for me! So excited!

Back to the tour, it doesn cover much things, for instance, entrance to Eiffel Tower is only limited to second floor, if you wanna go to the top level, which you should, you have to fork out from your own pocket. Of cos, the good thing is that its more hassle free. Is your tour confirmed already?

blinko

LV17> My tour grp not confirm yet (i guess) cos they didnt call me to update me...
There's one day F&E in Paris, i planned to go Disney too! :D haha i never been to Disney before too... so i'm also very excited... hahaha...

ya i agree th tour didnt really cover much like wat u mention about the Eiffel Tower... but i tink Dyansty ones compare to others still quite comprehensive...

lv17

u going disneyland also? i bet we will enjoy it! do share ur experiences when you are back from the trip. Ya departing end april isn't it, now still haven confirm? you beta establish the status soon, n perhaps have back up plans.

Among the tour packages i also preferred Dynasty one, also i prefer to fly by SQ. We will be flying there on A380, which is startin their flights beginning Jun i think, but also means air tickets are more ex.

lv17

u going disneyland also? i bet we will enjoy it! do share ur experiences when you are back from the trip. Ya departing end april isn't it, now still haven confirm? you beta establish the status soon, n perhaps have back up plans.

Among the tour packages i also preferred Dynasty one, also i prefer to fly by SQ. We will be flying there on A380, which is startin their flights beginning Jun i think, but also means air tickets are more ex.

pinkjolli

Hi Blinko,

I signed up with Dynasty during the Natas fair too for 15D Italy, Swiss and Paris but departing on end Mar 09. Estimated $4411 inclusive of tax, a diff of $50 from yrs.

Decided on this date as it is a confirmed dep and no need to take extra leave since there is the long weekend to rest after coming back on 9 Apr..

blinko

LV17> okie... will share with u when i'm back (Provided the grp is confirm) juz got to know from another thread tat so far mine grp only 8 pax... ya departing end apr, till now still no news frm the dynasty...

pinkjolli> Initially i wanted to take the end mar tour too, but hubby schedule cmi~ when did u sign up for your package? When i call and ask, it was $3,888 + $373 for the Mar dept...
ya your return juz nice for rest... the end apr departure also got certain adv, 2 public holiday~ so take lesser leave... hahaha~

pinkjolli

Blinko, i signed up during Natas fair held recently. No further discount since it is a confirmed dep date..

Actually I was deciding on the dep dates in April & May but my hubby preferred the end Mar tour as there is the long weekend...kekeke...we missed the chance of going on the same tour.. =)

I am considering whether to go Disneyland too during the 1 day free leisure but heard the one in Tokyo better..

Would you be extending your stay in Paris?

blinko

pinkjolli> do share with us when u're back frm ur trip ok~ ya lor we missed the chance of going on same tour, if not can help each other take pic~

Ya i heard the Disney not as fantastic as the one in tokyo... but i'll still go... :D

Nope, not extending... hubby too busy~ 15D very good liao :D

pinkjolli

Blinko, i will update yr when i came back from the trip...looking forward to it now...heehee... =)

actually, i have heard numerous feedback that Eurodisney is not recommended to visit, but same like you, i have never been to disneyland before so rather curious to go and see see look look...hahaha...

btw, my tour briefing is on this sat..wondered what preparations are required..
have been monitoring the xchange rate for Euro dollars, seems like not much diff though..hope can fetch a good rate for the trip..nevertheless, it is still exp to us ya...

blinko

pinkjolli> how's ur briefing? i was there on sat too but not for the briefing but to change the date =( SQ cancelled their flight on 27th Apr... now i got to delay and change to 2nd May. Heard that your grp got around 30 pax!!! my grp on 2nd may as of now only 7 pax including me n hubby... sianz...

pinkjolli

Hi Blinko, the briefing basically let us have an idea the preparations required and things to note...a list of optional tours to do on F&E days was also provided...Oh yes, the trip to Disneyland Paris costs 80 Euros and is not highly recommended by the tour manager...hmm, hesitating whether to go a not...

Ya, my grp had 30 pax..not sure whether is this a good sign cos sometimes a large grp is not easy to coordinate, hope everything turned out well.. =P

It's sad to know that yr desired flight was cancelled..it's better that you have some backup plans..do keep yr fingers crossed in the meantime..

jazel

I signed up for Dynasty 16D Grandeur of Europe Package at Suntec travel fair for $4618 including tax. Departure on Jun 22. However, the group is not confirmed yet.
Hope it won't be cancelled.

Alternatively, can go for 15D Switzerland/France/Italy ($4168 incl tax)

sillygal_27

I'm going Paris/Switz/Italy.. but with ASA Holidays, not Dynasty..

Can anyone advice where to buy Gucci cheaper?
Paris or Italy?

droplet

Hi Suzi, i have also booked 14 days Paris/Switz/Italy with ASA holiday for december. if i am not wrong, i heard Gucci is cheaper in Italy.. When are you going?

Anyone went with ASA before? Is it good?

agneslu

I am also interested in ASA paris-switzerland-italy package.

But they only stay Paris one night and afraid that there is no chance to buy the branded bags.

Anyone have any idea where to get good bargains?

Looking at going 1st quarter 2010

starjoy

hi, anyone planning to go paris/ amsterdam/ london in April 2010? i wanted to go to the tulips fair in amsterdam..
but apparently now only ASA offers paris/ germany/ belgium/ amsterdam for 10D only. Dynasty will only launch their promo in end Feb.. is ASA good or should i wait for Dynasty travel?

joyousmelody

There's a NATAS fair coming up 26 to 28 Feb 2010. Not sure if there might be good deals....both dynasty and ANA are taking part.

vershawn

anyone going 15D italy/swiz/paris with Dynasty? Departing on 2nd DEc? last heard the group has 39 pax and they are still opening up for more...gosh....

dimaria7

I have been looking around for the 16D13N Europe tour package in the market for my honeymoon.

In the end I found this 16D13N "Grandeur of Europe" package by Dynasty:

http://www.dynastytravel.com.sg/grouptour/grouptourdetail.aspx?kw=GT03&iid=EDC100715-0000002&EUROW

It attracted me because it is the only 16D13N package that includes the visit to Neuschwanstein Castle (the inspiration for Disneyland's Sleeping Beauty Castle http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neuschwanstein_Castle). [Super Travel also includes a visit to Neuschwanstein Castle, but Super Travel does not include a visit to Rome, which I think Rome is another 'must go']
Moreover, it also covers all the other popular places like Vatican City,Florence,Pisa,Interlaken,Paris,etc...

I intended to go for the 10 Mar 2011 group, I called and found out that that group has been extended from 16D13N to 17D14N (one more free-and-easy night in Rome), but with the price remains the same at S$4503 per pax (including tax), first 10 persons to sign up will receive S$300 off per couple. In the end I signed up the 10 Mar 2011 group and got the early bird discount ($300 off).

Anyone have any experience on this "Grandeur of Europe" package? Can share with me?

[FYI: Including me and my wife, so far only 6 persons signed up this tour package, still have chance to get the early bird discount if you are interested]

Me too want to know feedback of Dynasty Travel.

Got attracted from the Europe packages but intending to go next year Dec time.

PS: haven been with tour groups before....just wanna know if there will be time for free and easy to do shopping!!

TIA!

dimaria7

I have changed my group to the 25 March 2011 group.

The reason is, Keukenhof (http://www.keukenhof.nl/), the world's largest flower garden (famous for Tulip), in Holland, is only open from 24 March to 20 May for 2011. My package includes Keukenhof, provided it is open.

I have calculated and found out that I will miss the chance to visit Keukenhof if I am going for the 10 March group. Therefore, I have changed to the 25 March 2011 group.

I think this package that Dynasty travel providing has the best 16D+ Europe itineray in the market.

The Neuschwanstein Castle and Keukenhof visits are something that cannot be found in other travel agencies' packages. Moreover, it covers all the other common points of interest that other packages are covering.

anastasiazen, I think Dec will be very cold.
Moreover, Keukenhof will not be open in Dec.
It will be good if you can join me this march!

dimaria7

Nice pictures.

My package tour is the only one that goes to Keukenhof in the market.
I know free and easy is better in terms of sight seeing. However, the cost and effort are much higher.

For 2011, the flowers in Keukenhof should be in bloom around end april, my tour group should be reaching Keukenhof on 4 April, so not too bad I think.

rtan

Anyway Keukenhof is a very nice garden to visit; one of the best in the world. I know, because I stayed near Keukenhof for four years of my life.

The myth that F&E is more expensive continues to persist. Yes, if planned badly, it will be more expensive. But if planned well by a savvy traveller (like me haha), then it will always be cheaper. For example, in 2005, under SGD 3k per person, everything inclusive, for 19 days in France, 4 persons travelling together:

http://rtan.net/France/

And the cost will be about the same now because although air fares are higher, the Euro is weaker.

For our F&E trip in 2009 of which you saw the wonderful pictures (it was 16 full days, 15 nights), the cost was just under SGD 4k per person for my wife and I, everything inclusive. And this time we went a little more luxurious; decent accommodation (no Formule 1 or ETAP, minimum IBIS standard), at least one meal in a restaurant per day, DIRECT flight on Qantas from SG to Frankfurt (no lengthy stopovers and Qantas was no worse than SQ in our experience), and of course it was much more romantic as well.

What I certainly agree with you is that it takes a lot more time and effort to plan; that's what you are paying the tour company extra for. But of course as you mentioned, you get to see a lot more going F&E.

The other thing about planning F&E is, like with everything else, practice makes better. The first time seems hard, subsequent times are a lot easier and faster; now I plan F&E trips in a matter of days, not weeks.

Anyway there is no right or wrong choice; each has its pros and cons. What you might wish to consider is to extend your tour to do a few days F&E at the last destination; then you get some freedom and can explore on your own.

Hope you have a good trip, get a good tour guide, and have good and considerate travel companions. And of course, enjoy Keukenhof!

PS: Don't step on the flowers, as we saw some stupid inconsiderate PRCs do as they were trying to take photos; they didn't even seem apologetic about destroying the pretty flowers. I should have scolded them on the spot.

dilemmagal

For those who went for Dynasty - Italy/Switerland/Paris tour, is there any free day for you to shop? My husband plan to buy a rolex watch in switzerland, so which places will the tour leader bringing us?

phoebeanie

Went for my Honeymoon to Italy/Switerland/Paris with Dynasty travel in June 2011!

Thumbs up for the package & tour guide! There's free day for u to do your shopping in Paris (1 Day) , for milan, switzerland would be just half a day or so (depending whether u are taking the optional tours anot) - (but its still enough as they will bring you directly to the watches outlets or the branded labels shops for your shopping!

g2hong

Hi Phoebe,

do u have to bring ur own travel kettle?

i booked the tour to the same countries as urs with ASA and they advised us to bring our own travel kettle as some hotels do not provide, even hair dryer, some hotels also don't provide... is tat so?

phoebeanie

Hi g2hong,

Hair dryer all of the hotels has it, if not u can call the housekeeping.

Yes we brought our mini travel kettle (you can buy from courts, carrefour or audio house)! We do not wanna bring at 1st but was advised by my frens who frequent travel to EU to bring. Yes some hotels do not have kettle, reason for them asking you to bring your own kettle is to boil water & drink cos EU water is full of minerals, some of our tourmates got really bad sore throat from drinking too much mineral water. Being Kiasu us, we will buy bottled mineral water (if the area water is not safe to drink) then boil the bottle water & drink ~~ was prefectly fit & well for the 15 days of tour! heehee

Good to bring afew cups of instant noodles too! Was so sick of the EU breakfast so some days we had instant cup noodles in the room!

Hope it helps!

bunbunb

hihi! im looking at the Dynasty- Italy/Switerland/Paris tour 15D12N, the consulatant quoted me, 5.6k per pax!
Issit worth it to go?
i've been to Paris F&E myself which is 3 years back..I find it nothing mcuh..really is shopping and more shopping.. this time is for my honeymoon.. me and HTB doesn't want any stress and he is quite worried about the safety if we will go go F&E. My inital plan is frist stop Rome, and last stop paris. 2 countries.

phoebeanie

I love Switerland... very beautiful place... Paris is nothing much like u say just shopping & shopping + Effiel tower only... Agree with your hubby that tour group is more stress free & safe compared to F&E...usually F&E on your own the most u can cover 2 countries cos the traveling time etc will take up alot & traveling in EU with big luggage is no joke...I paid abt $5.5k as well cos I went during June holidays but luckily my grp no kids , got 3 honeymoon couples = ) ... mine also end in Paris but I request to extend to travel to london on our own top up another $200 each to fly back from london to SG...

lovetotravel

Hi BunBunB,

Definitely go F&E and you will not regret it. You do not want to stress yourself by waking up super early just to meet up with the group and sitting in the coach from destination to destination. No doubt you are able to cover many countries by joining package tour but it's mostly touch and go kind of tour. If you like a place, you cannot stay longer. Not forgetting you will have no privacy as a honeymoon couple. I've been through it joining package tour for my honeymoon and regretted it ever since. Planning a trip to Europe is not difficult at all and I am sure everyone in the forum will be happy to help out.

If you are interested, you can pm me for my website on f&e trip and hopefully your hubby will be more assured :)

bunbunb

Hi Phoebe,
I more interested in Switzerland than Paris! Haa. Cos probably I've been to Paris..I'm okay on sight-seeing.. Actually I feel abit relaxtant joining a tour grp as I hate e waking early part & really rush.. And not forgetting you will meet some er inconsiderate people.. Sorry if I offend anyone on this and not saying I'm the good one.. But bound to have different views & we have to wait for each other etc. Good point is there's somebody else to look after each other =)

Hi Peng,
Thank you very much! I thinking I will plan my itnerary first and you may advise me, but defintately I need help on e hotels! My last F&E in Paris I stay in hostel and this time I'm looking for hotels.. Hehe

jascal

just went wif dynasty in nov... i can say it is worth the price as we fly by SQ.. the food n hotel are of quality.. we even put up in a 5* hotel for 2 days n most of the items are inlusive e.g. entrance tics...