Dover Cresent

crystal_cloud

hi wj (lion_king) ,
sorry abit slow..wat is 'engaged an ID"
what is ID??

for me, we haven even started sourcing for contractors..coz we heard, will kena alot of 'robert chopping' on hidden costs...so best is to find someone with fren's recommendation.

mashi_mashi

pink cloud,
we mit again. haha... we are neighbourhood neighbours. haha.. tink so far the date still 4th qtr 2009 lor. so dun knw when is the date to take keys.... no news so far.
but u shld b taking earlier than me lor.

ID = interior designer. shld b checking anyone here getting ID or nt ba...
hmm.. i will say source ard lor. open up to other got reputation de as well as ur fren recomendation. like tat then can get to knw more abt the price range n whether is it worth or nt lor.

but y u wan to rent a rm? ur HTB or ur place no rm for u to stay first ar?

crystal_cloud

mashi, u not blk B? which blk?

though most couples will get ID? isit those who will design Lshape table in study room etc? u mean that is additional charge? how much? and wat about say i want to hack 1 wall of study room to be glass instead? need ID also?

or we can just show them pix? of living room we wanted

if stay HTB place, afraid will have conflict with his mom..also if stay at my place will be cramp.

so rent room lo.

mashi, how long does renoo takes har?? 1 month? 2 months?

mashi_mashi

PCD = u can check on MYHDBpage at HDB website. juz need to use ur singpass to log in. n under new flat there u can c liao..

me is fr Blk C. keke...
depending. some ppl hv ideas of wat they wan n wan to save abit. so will get contractors. only those wan to save trouble or no ideas on wat they wan then they get ID..

ID will help u to design ur whole flat based on ur requirements. of coz the price varies lar. depending on wat u wan to do to ur flat.

but if u wan to save n knw wat u wan, then can get contractor lor. but make sure tat contractor knw wat u wan lor. miscommunication then jia lat. careful..

uif u look for ID, u can tell them or show them wat u wan n they will tell u hw is it, ok or nt all these lor,

oic. no wonder. as i tink rent rm is also nt cheap lor. spend another few hundreds per mth instead of saving it up for reno... keke...

Reno ar. depends de. mostly is within 2mths. they hv a limit. if u ask ur ID/ contractor to help to rush, tink 1 mth can liao. but of coz best is cater more time lor. so no shabby works. keke...

crystal_cloud

mashi, so better look for ID isit..
stress leh!! haven begin reading renotalk.com

ok 2 months also fair enuff..think i can stil wait..

mashi, to me, better to stay apart then stay together and have problems..will still meet up for dinners, but best is not stay together i feel..money wise can stil earn back..but if r.s is sour, very hard to patch..

anyone here doing walk in wardrobes? my hubby says it's not feasible as our flat is quite small..and hacking 1 room in our 4 room flat is not realistic..coz in future if wana sell, also quite difficult

mashi_mashi

pink cloud,
haha.. me also never read much. got frens intro me ID liao. also i happen to come across 1 ID not bad. so tinking to check them out on nearer date ba...

hmm. to use ID or contractor is really up to urself de lor.
for me i prefer ID as he can b the main person to look for if i need anything. n design wise he can help me lor. as i nt sure wat i wan as we need to c fengshui of the house. so abit ma fan...

max tink 2mths as reno cannot b too long. HDB got rules on it..

quite true lar. stay together, got prob then ma fan. keke.. for me is staying at my parents side first as got space. also they dun wan us to spend too much. keke... but heng my HTB is anything so nt tat bad.. keke...

hmm. tink got lar. but best is c ur rm space first b4 u decide. nw is u can only c the floor plan, need to c the actual then will knw. walk in wardrobe got pros n cons de. so need to c ur MBR rm area first...

crystal_cloud

mashi, fengshui of 4room around how much?

who u engaging as fengshui master?

so good ah can stay at your mom place..my mom place quite pack..if wana stay have to move the 2 single beds in that room to store room..so abit tough..

mashi_mashi

pink cloud,
i also dun knw lei. c who my FFIL wan to get ba. since he very insist tat we muz c feng shui. haiz...

my parents place ok. as my sis also shift out so got extra rms. but then same prob is hv to dismantle my rm super single bed to make rm for my queen size bed. also a prob. dun knw where to store the bed frame n mattress.. haha...

crystal_cloud

good wat, y haiz leh..i also like fengshui, but no moolahs..hahaha..if have lagi good will go consult one.

who knows u tio 4D thereafter leh!!

the bed wise at first also a problem to me..my mom said, put it in the ultility room..but still, not very nice ma..sommore im daughter married off and i got a brother..not say i only daughter.no choice lo..

wah, u also not living with in laws ah? they agreed?

lion_king

Hi, You certainly do not own an existing HDB flat yet.. you need to click on somewhere below.. under Application. New flats..

dash80

I also looking around for ID to get the ideas first...

My PCD is still End Jun 2009.

How come Blk D got push back to so far off ?

Anyone went to the site to have a look lately ?

Hi Mashi,
Can PM me the ID that you have recommendations for ?

I would like to look for one that has got good review as all of them looks and sounds the same after you go through a few round of enquiry..

mashi_mashi

pink cloud,

nope. my in law flat no place for me. if i were to stay there then tink my HTB bro will hv to slp in the living room. haha...

so they hv to agree to let me stay at my parents flat time being lor. haha... LL de.

wj is rite.. we still haven own the flat yet, haha.... under new flats in application. haha...

Bryce,
ok. i PM u.

crystal_cloud

dear wj, thanks for replying..silly me..hahahaa

hi mashi, good for you then..with in law's permission..hehe

ask you all, so far for reno, how much u all intend to spend? for our standard dover flat..just want a rough idea of how much people are spending on average.

mashi_mashi

pink cloud,
tink difficult to ask the average. depending on wat u wan to do to ur flat..

some spent 20k plus while some can spend up to 30-40k plus. no way to gauge...

for me. hope to spend less than 30k. no $$. haha...

Farhan,
Total got hw many storey for blk D?
tink max also 40 rite?

crystal_cloud

hey mashi,
yest htb just quote we cannot spend more than 30k...if about 30k then will be able to repay off earlier.

how many of u using savings to do reno? and how many doing loan?

mashi_mashi

pink cloud,
keke.. tink roughly tat amount lor. as standard flat got alot of tings to do de...

hmmm. for me, most likely is take loan. by then wedding juz over. dun tink got tat much spare cash for reno. haha..

joycelim,
oh. 35 ar. then shld b quite ok lar. tink soon will complete building. juz the internal n painting only ba...

i saw tat the windows also up for lower storeys. tink they do all at the same time. seen the blks also got lights liao. so hope for the best ba...

keke...

mashi_mashi

pink cloud,
nt sure. alot of possiblities lor. mayb ppl give up their flat. or nobody take the other time.

even west sun still got ppl take de. so juz happen only ba...

lion_king

saw that the prices have increased tremendously too.. not sure if regular 3-roomers can afford this type of price..

mashi_mashi

pink cloud,
dun knw. need to c the map then agar agar. lol. nw nt seeing the map so dun knw lor. keke...

last time 3rm only 100plus k only. haha... but then nw prices all go up le lar.

wj,
u compare the price on the time of our selection n nw. or based on the SERS scheme??

mashi_mashi

pink cloud,

the time we select hor, the prices actually is very steep liao. compare to earlier times.

thus, u dun feel the pinch there...

but then the time i select my flat hor. i still feel hard pain as bery ex lor... haiz. but bo bian. need a roof over our heads. so hv to take lor. no choice. haha...

lion_king

Hi Mashi, I am comparing to the price on the time of our selection. Now the flat that is available at blk 28B (14 floor) is more expensive than mine (20 lvl and abv)

crystal_cloud

MASHI, i also feel the pinch ma..initially participated in this ballot is coz i want commonwealth..when they sent me brochure, i got a shock that commonwealth 4 rooms are going at 400k-500k!! realli shock lo..

so selcted dover..less ex.

crystal_cloud

so qiao mashi, think we can click..
same choice of house, same choice of gowns.hahaha

me and hubby even went up to commonwealth flats to peep at existing units..very nice lo..i love that area

mashi_mashi

pink cloud,
haha.. ya lor. so qiao..

we also went to commonwealth there for viewing few times. but then we dun hv the luck to get there. keke...

farhan01

me too wanted the strathmore or
commonwealth flats but now ended up
wif holland v flat.
infact think its stil a good choice with
all the amenities around

mashi_mashi

my dear neighbour,
u bk again. haha... long time never tok to u liao...

u choose earlier than me lei. sure can get ur choice de lar. haha...

Farhan,
I dun tink dover got tat much amenities ard lei. still dun knw y its price still so steep.
haha

farhan01

I truly agree. Thats why wife & me decided
to settle down with Holland V flats eventhough
PCD was later than Dover. Actually we wanted
a place where we can move in immediate, now we
adjusted ourselves to wait for the Holland V
flat. Have recce the place a few times. Everything
is a stones throw away.

farhan01

My 1st priority is to find a flat with walking distance to MRT. Which is why Holland better than Dover.
Still figuring out how dover residents gonna reach the nearest which is either BV or Dover mrt stn. both oso very far.

mashi_mashi

Farhan,
Holland flats also nt cheap lor. to me. Dover de is cheaper.

haha.. n i dun wan to wait tat long for holland flat. so no choice de lor.

got ppl say walk to mrt is ard 10mins. to BV. but i haven try so dun knw. mayb they got cut thru the buildings tats y ba... at least there got buses ard. thus tink i go work still ok. haha...

noif

Happened to read this thread.

I am Dover resident and wish to sharing some of the informs with all of you.

Weekday i am walking to Dover MRT to work and walk back from there to my place after work.

Actually the distance not that far, around 5-10 minutes. I just take it as a form of exercise, along the way u can enjoy the "scenery", can see fishes in the fish pool, can see how poly students dress up :p

FYI, now BV MRT having contruction works so a bit messy. So walk to Dover MRT better and i found actually the distance more nearest compared to BV MRT.

Talk about amenities, actually really not much there. But the buses can access to city area and other places, so not bad actually. Infact, take bus can reach some of the places faster than take MRT .. ..Example : Orchard

I think not alot of peoples know. Weekday and Sat you can go Singapore Poly to have MC Donald breakfast, lunch...

But it closed on school holidays ya!!

Anyway, the CC and RC there not bad too..

RC there quite active, always organize a lot of activities for the residents, i heard it from the nearest Church member and found it quite true.

mashi_mashi

Hi NOIF,
u staying Dover which part?
oh.. hmm. tink walk to DOver shld b ok ba. last time i study at SP also walk fr 1 end to the other end.

i knw i knw. can go SP eat Mac. last time also like tat.. haha...

hmm.. mayb next time will try to walk to DOver. haha...

thanks for the info...

noif

Hi mashi,

Am staying at the block opposite the church which consider new blocks?? actually not new , think almost 5-6 years already..

Very near to Singapore poly ...

mashi_mashi

NOIF,
oic. tat means also near to our place.
hmm.. walk 10mins is ok to me. treat it as small exercise. haha...

if nt still got bus can take to our place. keke..

cklein23

i tink NOIF is staying the blk near me.

For the new flats, acutalli they r doing abit of landscraping aroundour flat liao...

hhahaa...everiday i m monitoring the flats

mashi_mashi

Calvin,
u shld say near us. haha...

gd gd.. then will get to hear more news fr u.
most impt Blk D muz finish building.
if nt tink we also cannot get keys so fast as we are the nearest to D

cklein23

but i tink we can get the keys at the last quarter tis year.at the most,the ah neh working in blk d will alway look at our flats onli.hahahaha.

wat i mean is NOIF is currently staying near ware i stay nw.