Dover Cresent

crystal_cloud

it's not easy n very hair pulling!
just managed to reduce the quote further more due to budget contraint and going to start work soon too

however, we are not looking at moving in before CNY..dun wana rush..but if can finish in time will be good lo.

mashi_mashi

haha... is like tat de. now we also tryin to reduce the quote more.... keke..

pink cloud,
care to share ur quote ma? juz wanna to knw wat is the price ard the market. ....

mashi_mashi

Hi LingLing,
U fr Blk C also ar. keke.. me also. i haven start my reno yet. but then is confirming my ID for the job.... My ID is a lady. She is nt bad, now is confirmin the final price wif her...

so need to c wat u looking at..

can say u fr which flr de ma? keke..

yuling84

Hi Mashi,

Yup i also frm Blk C.. Keke.. Hmm i still dun know hw to design my hse. keke.. Do u mind sharing the price..Saw our block are still empty..

mashi_mashi

LingLing,
ic .. can pm me u stay which unit? keke..

hmm can lar. but u need to pm me ur email. haha... but my price nt finalise...

u totally no idea ar?

crystal_cloud

just discovered that the owner in one of the unit in blk B will be converting his home to a home-shrine to offer to diety and provide service to public for god offerings kinda prayers.

wat u all think?

personally, i feel it will definitely disrupt the residence's privacy and environment when there are so many people coming there for the home-temple service.

my colleague told me this is against hdb law.

the old man seems oblivious of this law thingy.

im just worried the fumes from all the constant offerings will pollute the air in the neighbourhood and service back yard whr the clothes are hung.

mashi_mashi

LingLing,

then u need to find an ID fast le. haha. tink u need to knw ur budget n the prefer style of ur house. then can tell the ID. then its easier...

PM me ur email...

blessedwedding

glad to know that most of u got yr ID and knw what to do with yr flat. Im just like LingLing, got no idea at all on the reno!
may i know if all of u engaging ID?? none of u consider contractor? i saw one contractor who is renovating some of the hse at Blk A & B, but not sure if its good.. He sound friendly. He is from Thian Ho Constractor. anyone have feedback?

crystal_cloud

wei, y no one ans on the house-temple thingy?

it's bothering me leh...coz it's in my blk

bell, actually u really have to go visit some IDs yourself..then u will know more about reno stuffs...coz each and every ID will share with you some tips during some discussions.
When u ask qn like "y so ex for this?" etc, they will explain to you, but up to you to take it or not..same qn posed to another ID, u may have a diff ans...so that's how you learn.

by asking for feedback wont help u finalise your decision coz u will stil have doubts.

go visit those expo interior design fair with your floor plan..
and of coz do some research on forums on various ID firms first before u even decide to sit down and discuss with them.

my ID is the 4th one we seen...so far, i feel he is responsible and honest in a way he dun overcharge me, emmm he told me wat i see is wat i get..no more added up costs during materials selection.
but so far, my relative who is in ID line told me my quote is below 30% profit margin...which my relative cannot possibly take over.. (he was afraid we will be conned by signing the pricey contract at first, but after he viewed my quote, he said i have a reasonable price)

emmm also, if you like, it's best if you can find ID firms who are RADAAC licensed and HDB approved, more reliability.

mashi_mashi

pink cloud,
i tink for ur case, u can c hw it is first. if really bother u, then u raise ur doubts to HDB. c wat they say. if dun bother u in anyway, then its ok to leave him alone. but if nt then juz feedback to HDB..

mashi_mashi

pink cloud,
if tats the case, y not shift in n try out for 1wk. c the result. if really dun like then call the HDB to complain...

sometimes is nt tat jia lat as wat u tink...
last time my HDB blk also got this kind. but they dun really bother us much.....

crystal_cloud

how about the fumes from the incense burning?
i mean i only afraid will have fumes up the clothes area

or worse lo, to my study room or wat

he hasnt start...when he did then i will monitor lo.
but i was thinking it's best if hdb can let him know this is against the leasing law ma...so he dun have to shift in and out for his dieties.

mashi_mashi

pink cloud,

tink u monitor first ba. once u report to HDB, he might hv to forfeit the house n he might not have any place to stay le...

so c hw it goes. but dun tink will hv much prob. my grandma house also alot of dieties. but so far never heard of any complain of smoky. she stay at 6th flr tho..

crystal_cloud

no...near..coz im low lying flor
he's a nice frenly uncle...dun think he will create nuisance at all..just the fumes lah..

just saw the ch8, bryan wong furniture show..
my ID company is engaged as one of the judge..

blessedwedding

pink cloud, if i were u, i will totally disturb by the dieties.. the place will get crowded, but of cos depend on his popularity.. but its ok since he is not on the same floor as u and even on top of u.. so the "smoke" wont blow to yr hse mah.. its blowing up mah.. so no worry.. if its really bring u inconvenience when u move in, feel free to lodge complain..

may i knw hw much is your reno budget?

iya, i din watch the show.. otherwise, i can make a guess which ID u engaged..

crystal_cloud

nono, i surveyed the unit already.
it will blow towards the neighbours unit.
up or towards the laundry area.

the house even have this "diety red banner" hung liao.

my reno loan is 25k without flooring..but deducted stuffs like bomb shelter featured wall, hacking of study room etc, then reduced to 19k

my ID is small fry in the company lah.
the one who is filmed is the boss.

duno if the finished product will be good or not lo.
so far i already paid 50% liao

blessedwedding

so fast paid 50% liao?? can u update me the workmanship once the hse finis renovated? actually, i got pm u to get the ID firm name...not sure if u have received it.

meandtim

Bell, I went to Orangecube for quotation. Way out of my budget and they charge 500 bucks for perspective drawing. Otherwise the service not bad..

crystal_cloud

hi all, do you all have that small window to aircon ledge in mbr?

i plan to have a panel of curtain there too..

wana do a survey, how many of you atcually did things to cover that up? :D

welcome ideas!!

please remember to join the facebook dover cres group too :D

blessedwedding

i tout their drawing is free? only chargeable if not satisfy with the design after 2nd drawing? hw come is $500? very ex right that leh.. anyway, which ID is good at orange cube leh?

hw abt cisceern? anyone have feedback?

mashi_mashi

pink cloud,
I c wat my ID advise. mayb juz put solar ilm over.... keke...

Bell,
heard alot of bad comments on cisceem service online.... so neber tink to go there...

dash80

Went to OrangCube and Cis**rn before...

OrangeCube quote was very expensive and think every little thing will ask to top up....

For Cis**rn, did not follow up with them as we find it difficult to communicate with them....

mashi_mashi

Bryce,
In the end u get which ID???

Bell,
My ID provide 2 free 3D drawing when u ask for quote. but u can c cannot take lar. since u never confirm. but so far service quite gd.

now waitin the reno to start. c whether the worksmanship gd or nt. haha... if gd then can recomend to u... keke...

blessedwedding

mashi mashi, which ID is that? sounds good leh.. able to see their design before commit..i dont mind to give it a try since they give 3D drawing free.. care to share which ID? and hw much is the reno cost?

pink cloud, i think i will use curtain to cover since there is a window above that air con ledge box..

till date, i still do not have any idea hw to put my wardrobe.

mashi_mashi

Bell,

I using this ID fr 1 inch sq feet studio. tink u never heard of this ID firm b4. haha... u wan i can PM u the contact person..

so far my quote is ard 27K as i do alot of tings. haha...

dash80

My ID is from Plush Living...

By the way, just to share, I am getting electrical appliances from some importer and exporter company..

Their prices are cheaper than those big stores..

In case anyone interested, I can share the contacts of a few that I found and you can call for quote...

crystal_cloud

Bell let me sumarize your vex decision here..
Actually either u hack wAll for wardrobe or u can have your wardrobe placed in a l shape partition beside the aircon ledge window. I personally find the mbr very cramp with wardrobe n the aircon ledge really should not be in mbr!! Very irritTed too when I haven decide to hack wall
u can also have two narrow wArdrobe at each side of the bed that joint up to the ceiling.. Can select some nice material like glass or shiny glossy laminate to. Blend in the two of them with your customized bedhead n platform... These r wat the diff ids suggested to me

better start to meet a few Id. If nt u will always be stuck at the phrase of asking

crystal_cloud

Bell, my total quote is 20k excl flooring ..also cheap..

for electricity, with reference from dear mashi's guideline, managed to get it at 1.7k
(Mashi's one is cheaper abit since she engaged the same firm for designs and i only engaged the elctrician last min)

did some carpentry....
granite kitchen top, altar, tv feature wall of coz, study room full height cupboard, hack wall for walk in wardrobe, Lbox for all rooms includin foyer and passage way to bedroom, full height shoe cabinet.

i removed the bomb shelter to save costs..

u can start listing down the items u want to be seen in your home.. that way, it is easier to ask for quote during a meet up with any ID

when u meeet more IDs, they will share or state some info or price in your items.

since your items are all constant, Diff IDs will always give diff cost and price and advice.
this way, u learn and able to remember the price/ gauge your confident level with the firm.

just make some appt with some IDs first..

for me, i started with
1) asking around
2) for those firms i heard from forumers, i make an appt with them
3) meet up 3-4 IDs, source quote, compare
4) go expo/ suntec home fairs

5) ==== SELECTION PROCESS === based on ID review, quote price, design, gut feel

some IDs give cheap price may not be good in service, some IDs give inferior quality to cheat u into believing the quote is cheap...

some Ids give u ex quote but give timely report on your house progress..

it realli depends on luck really..and your rapport with the ID

luppiluppi

I have no luck in finding below 30k IDs
. So far i have got 4 quotes and the highest is 48k for a 4 room flat .. . and the material given was pretty normal

mashi_mashi

i tink is the tings u intend to do for ur unit. if u have alot of carpentry then the cost will be higher.

for mine, i did quite alot of carpntry plus i hacking away my kitchen wall n doin the window grilles. thus my cost is ard 27k. tink counted quite ok price.

Joyce,
Mayb u wan to check out more IDs? u wan to check wif my ID? Mine ID is a lady. intro by my FSM. so far quite comfortable wif her... if u wan, can give u her contact. but then if u wan me to comment on the worksmanship then have to wait til i start my reno then knw. haha...

wat did u intend to do wif ur house?? is it alot of carpentry?

luppiluppi

tiles homogenous throughout the hse but at the main door entrance i wanted to lay some small stone

open concept kitchen
- need to hack wall between walkway and kichen
- Kitchen cabinet

Living
- tv console
- feature wall
- half height shoe cabinet.
- a display cabinet

Window grilles for the whole hse + window @ service balcony

MBR
-wardrobe
-install shower screen

study
-study table for 2
a full ht book shelves

common room
-wardrobe

L box in living and dining area

luppiluppi

Mashi> yea pretty much carpentry i think

can share ur ID with me ? i went to those big ID firms like WK.c*m , 2F*rm ,UH*m# , #dg#lin# , N*rthW#st and ibridg# cos frens and family says is more reliable ...

Replace * with O and # with E

crystal_cloud

joyce, just to share tips:
u can actually ask the sand contractor (appted by HDB to be stationed in dover now..) to hack wall for you. save quite much...coz i remember some Ids quote me 350 hack wall..the sand contractor hack wall only 200
if you wan i can give u contact

window grilles for whole house and window for service bal, so far, i got a quote of 1750... anyone gotten a cheaper quote? pls share!
Pls note that this is a seperate window contractor from ID firm as i understand some ID firms can quote a cheaper price as everyting is done by them. My ID firm provide a more ex quote.

for my quote, i got 2 shower screen.
actually wat u did is wat i did leh..
but i dun have a wardrobe in comon room...replaced by walk in wardrobe..and L box , mine include all rooms and foyer...whole house leh..how can u go up to 40k!!?!?

my fren did her 3room flat with homo tiles for all rooms only 4k