Dover Cresent

dash80

Hi Bell,

Wardrobe is put to the side of the wall where the aircon ledge is.

There is not much place to put the wardobe.

But we do another wardrobe in guest room so that we can spill over if the space run out..

By the way, anyone applied cement screed from HDB for doing laminate for your new place ?

I need some advise on this though...

crystal_cloud

hi bryce,
wat is cement screed?

if im not wrong , i remembered my ID telling me i can apply thru the big big poster pasted at our block's lift.

antenna

I applied for cement screed at West Coast Town Council. By the way, the service is free. My contractor liaised with the town council on our behalf.

dash80

Hi Antenna,

You are screeding to the normal 40mm ?

I need HDB to screed to a higher level for the 3 bedrooms only, but the HDB appointed contractor wants to charge for the additional height due to materials? Is this norm ?

antenna

Yup, ours is the normal height. Maybe thats why no charge. Oh I din know about the additional cost for higher height. Sorry can't help on that.

crystal_cloud

can anyone pls advise me, what is the usage for cement screed?
isit for kitchen cabinet base, washing machine base, fridge base?

HI Antenna,

u mean it's free?
mayb i should log on to west coast town concil to have a look.

antenna

The screed is to apply additional layer of cement on the rough surface of the flooring.

I am laying laminate flooring on my bedrooms.

pink cloud, we did not pay for the screed. Like Bryce mentioned, I think its only free if you stick to the standard height of 40mm.

Yup, no harm calling the town council to find out more.

samtheman

Hi Bryce,

You are supposed to have told HDB when you collect your keys if you want to screed the 3 bedrooms, they will print out a form for you to bring to the Clementi Branch Office of HDB. They will then arrange a contractor to screed the rooms.

If it is for laminate flooring it is suppose to be FOC. Do not pay a single cent. But if you cannot be bothered to wait, you can pay your own contractor to do it.

crystal_cloud

Hi Antenna,
thanks for your information.

Guess the best option is not pay contractor..
saw some quotes that the contractor even quoted 2.2k for 1 living room, 3 bedrooms.

meandtim

Hi all..

I am staying in blk 28A ..Would like ro reccomend the ID i am using..Design Channel. They give free 3D perspective which is better for visualisation. They have great ideas too..

meandtim

For all your infor.. HDB only provide free screeding to certain height. if over that limit then you have to pay for the extra cement.

For my case, my floor was uneven and I had to top up extra cement to level my house. SHould not top up over 250 if not you kenna chop already... hope this helps..

mashi_mashi

yoz,

BLK C start to give keys liao. haha... juz saw on my HDBpage that I am getting my keys next wk... shiok...

Those staying in Blk C, u can log in to ur HDBpage to check. shld hv date.

mashi_mashi

thanks meandtim,

yaya.. finally. after a long wait. but then i will nt rush to reno n move in b4 CNY. keke.. so shld hv ample time to source for wat we like. keke...

meandtim

Mashimashi..Great!.. no rush... Anyway if u move in too early is dust everywhere!!

I will move in in feb I think... see how..

mashi_mashi

meandtim,
haha.. ya lor. til ytd, i still c alot of empty units ard at blk A n B. to tink sure will take sometime then the dust settle dwn. keke..

most likely will shift in in mar ba. after the CNY. but also need to c when the reno complete...

meandtim

A i think filling up soon.. I see a few units reno all done... think most are just waiting for the dust to settle within the block..
there is even one unit alreay got ppl staying.. hang clothes somemore..

so have you shortlist any ID? It is really not easy to reno a house even with the help of IDs..

blessedwedding

what is floor screeding? i still don understand after the above explaination.. if i were to put homogenous tile for 3bedrms, do i need the floor screeding?? reno is really not easy.. too many technical thing.. i have only seen ID but dont knw which to choose.. a friend of mine suggest to take contractor as the price is much lower than ID. anyone take contractor? got recommendation?
hi mashi, congrats.. u got yr keys.. when is my turn???

btw, is the surrounding still blocked? i meant if the gate removed.. are we allow to walk around the area?

mashi_mashi

meandtim,
haha.. i also saw some units got ppl stay liao...

hmm. i haven lei. juz the starting only. my fengshui shifu got lobang on the ID. so will also check wif him on the details. c whether can get cheaper or nt. haha...

bell,
urs is which blk? C or D?? if C then shld b very soon lor. D shld b need to wait awhile more. went dwn to the site ytd at nite. but the fences for blk C not dwn yet. so cannot go in to c. never notice Blk D do til hw liao as its at nite. unable to c....

now left Blk C n D fence up til ytd lar. if the fences are dwn, of coz u can walk ard in the premises... no worries.

dash80

Cement Screed is also known as smooth floor rendering by the Town Council..

Yes, filled up the form at the Town Council...it states that HDB would be doing the screed up to 40mm...

I require the cement screed to a higher level as I intend to overlay the kitchen floor tiles so that the overall level of the rest of the house would be level with my kitchen tiles after overlaying...

HDB got the appointed sub-contractor to contact me and they insist that it is for the additional materials costs, but isn't that already provided for ?

My contention point is that since HDB would provide free cement screed if we indicates that we would like to do laminate for the whole house, why are the HDB-appointed sub-contractors requesting us to top up since the materials are already allocated for us and I am only doing it for the 3 bedrooms only?

Anyone can enlighten me ?
Confused....

blessedwedding

mine is blk D... ya, think mine wld be second half of nex yr.. wait until my neck also long..
i really got no idea what style i want for my house leh..confused... my greatest worry is where to put wardrobe in MBR..

mashi_mashi

bell,
ic.. mayb nt so long ba. since c getting keys liao. mayb urs will b soon...

tink everyone tinking the same. where to put our wardrobe. haha...

samtheman

Go to Cupboards or Alumix for a system wardrobe.

Easier to deal with the air-con ledge. The contractor type of wardrobe very hard to use.

antenna

There are a few units at my block (28A) that are opened up to public for viewing.

Owners of Blk 28C & D can always be seen walking around during the weekends visiting the renovated units.

crystal_cloud

No wonder lah.
i saw the main door open but grilles locked.
dun dare to call out incase the owner dun like it..

the blocks are very dusty!!!!!!!!

im quite surprised to see some neighbours already moved in

i personally wont like to move in so early when renovations are stil on going..it's noisy, dusty and inconvient..emmmmm.....

antenna

My new neighbour told us that they have to surrender the enbloc flat to the authority by a certain deadline. That is why you can see them slowly moving in. I mean who wants to be the last one staying at the old flat where everyone has started to move out.

crystal_cloud

eee very scary to be the last house staying in an empty block!

i met a lady when colecting keys..hers is 39 floor.

so good..they grab the best units

mashi_mashi

its like tat de.
SERS are the first to choose mah.
so we only can choose the bal.

but as long u can get the unit u wan then gd lor. alot ppl wan to get a unit also not easy....

blessedwedding

pink cloud, u can call the contractor. i went blk 28B and nobody is there.. so i called and he told me he was at blk 28A. so went and he is quite friendly and brought me those flat he renovated. after view ple flat, i realise some unit layout is good.. my layout not as good as those taken by SERS>.. anyway, we cant compare with them lah.. their better view, better layout and cheaper.. their is almost $40K cheaper (excluding the $30K disc they getting) than the price we got during Jan balloting. so with the disc, the price difference is as high as $70K.. cant believe it

crystal_cloud

bell i hope your meaning of better layout doesnt mean the way they place their living room and bedroom are arranged?

if just the level # of floor then ok lah..no choice..but minus that, im quite happy with my unblocked view of my unit.. quite windy.

wow if 70k cheaper is realli a good deal leh..envy!

mashi_mashi

gals,

no way to compare de. they also select the units much earlier. the time they select, the property price still nt that high.... n they hv special discount other than the grant. so dun tink too much...

tink my unit can b sort of unblock view ba.... lol...

dash80

Anyone starting reno soon ?

Got some queries about haulage that I need help on ?

We are to pay the contractor who is in charge of bringing sand for us...but he also include haulage into his charges, but we still have to pay town council another sum ?

Are they the same ?

Anyone knows?

crystal_cloud

Hi bryce,
if im not wrong, your contractor SHOULD REMOVE the haulage charges.

you should pay directly to town council.
honest contractors would have told you that.

the amt to pay is pasted at our lift lobbies.
my ID explained that the haulage charges should be paid to the ones pasted on lift lobbies instead of the hired ID or contractor. this is a courteous gesture in respect to the selected contractor to do haluage as appointed by HDB.

sorry i duno how to phrase it...hope u understand

samtheman

Everybody has to pay for haulage. Either you pay or the contractor pays on your behalf and put it in their invoice.

It's the same thing.

blessedwedding

hey, i went dover site that day.. just realise that blk 28B got sea view.. very nice view.. i was standing at the lift lobby at 35th flr.. the view is very beautiful..

blinklash

mine headache .... is the living room not the bedroom duuno how goin to place my feature wall.
anyone here is in blk B unit 41 ?

dash80

Was told by the town council that we need to pay the Town Council for the haulage and the Contractor under the block say that paying them include the haulage and sand...thus confused...feeling that paying the town council

dash80

Finally manage to iron out all the kinks and reno is going to start next week...phew...didn't know that renovating a house is that tedious...

mashi_mashi

Bryce.

is always not easy since paying so much $$...
keke....

tats gd tat u are starting urs. not sure when i starting mine. still ironing out some issues. haha... especially $$ issues. haha...