Don't know what to do

djected

Forum newbie here, please be kind to me :p

I need some insights as to how to "spark" the relationship again. We've been married for 2 years, and recently, our relationship has become so strained. We no longer have fun together. Every day's just a dull day, and even if we try to do something interesting together, it ends up seeming like a chore, just to go out, squeeze with the crowds etc.

There's been so many pressures in our lives. My parents have always been overbearing, trying to intrude and control our lives. We've been trying for a baby but with no luck, turns out that I'm not even ovulating. Sex life has gone down the drain, and even this has become a point of immense pressure coz we're both not "satisfied". He says that it's normal for a man under work stress to not be very "hard" and to come quickly, but to me it seems like he doesn't love me as before?? sigh...how can i make him understand?

I wish I could complain like others that my husband's a drunkard, or a gambler and has other bad habits like that. But no, I married the dream man. He works hard, thinks about earning more money for me, always tries to provide for me. He's so practical, but how do I make him understand that a woman needs love, adoration, cuddling and 'worshipped' in a small sense...like she's the most beautiful woman in his eyes?

To him, these things do not matter. He sees his provision as the biggest declaration of love. Without daily kisses, hugs etc.

Am I wrong to be feeling this way?

What's worse, recently I've had a really charming colleague who's been making "cat eyes" at me. We're not developing anything, nor intending to develop anything. It's just that I feel very vulnerable that there's someone who well, says, breaks into a grin when he sees me, or somehow makes a deliberate move to walk through a door and grins at me. Perhaps he's a flirt, but the attention I get from him, is even more than what my husband gives!

Am I unreasonable to be even feeling this way? How can I make my husband understand?

akino

go on a short trip? relax and have fun together.

book a hotel? we do that sometimes.( maybe change of environment is good thing?)

or do new things together fishing? prawning? its fun!

my friend once told me she went for a talk, and said that everyday saying "i love you" helps to improve both relationship. and good morning kiss good night kiss, good bye kiss. so i told my then bf(hb now) about this and from then on every night we kiss and everyday when we part we kiss too.
why not u try to initiate first?

what i understand, guys dont talk about love love. which i try to accept. i read from the book women from venus men from mars

good luck!

djected

you know the cat from shrek? that sort of eyes! which is quite frightening actually, coming from a man haha. but you know how a person's eyes change when you look at someone adoringly..

soontobe

Hmm...is ur guy is a practical person who doesn't know how to be romantic....how abt u suggesting them to him instead?

That's what I do. When I wan a hug, I ask my hubby to hug me...If I wan him to give me a kiss, either I move forward to kiss him or I will ask him to do it....when I wan to do something different, I think of them and suggest to him.....

If u r expecting a guy who have been thinking of "square" for the last 20-30 years, and expect to think of "round" within few days, you will probably find it more painful in this r/s and start looking elsewhere......

Depends on how you cherish the r/s, you will wan to put in the efforts and actions to improve it...rather than waiting for your guy to do the job.

communicate. Talk to him. Let him know u need a balance. Good that he has stability etc. but your emotional needs also needed to be fulfilled.

He is doing great in one department but u need some balance. E.g. take leave together occasionally to cook or go out on a weekday away from the crowd. It helps. Weekends are way too crowded and better off resting at home sometimes.

mr cat is making eyes at u, cos its mating time mah...

but then, too bad u r a swan married to another... and swans mate for life

About 'cat eyes'.... Most people enjoy staring at people and things that attract them. It doesn't mean he necessary wants an affair with you.

Many 'cat eyes' are around anywhere and everywhere. And frankly, most gals do enjoy that. Many people would like such positive attention. So, it completely natural to feel good about that. Its actually the same for guys. If hot babes are checking us out, its definitely great for the ego. Whenever I pumped up and fit, I also enjoy the attention of other ladies too.

It doesn't mean we want to bed every gal that check us out mah.

djected

well, i didn't think that mr cat would like to start an affair either, but you're right milo, people enjoy the attention. and i just wish the attention came from my husband instead!

i do try to communicate to my husband but he gets frustrated that i have a certain set of "expectations", and that i shouldn't even have them at all, it just makes men feel very sian about the relationship and having to achieve "targets" even at home.

do men really think like that?

djected

doll, actually we've struggled with this attention/affections thing even before we got married. mr cat just came along and made things a lot lot worse...he made me feel vulnerable.

DJ,

when u communicate, its not about setting expectations. The thing about romance is about doing things out of the normal and beyond expectations. If it is expected, there is no fun.

Same with fun in bed. Pampering each other is really to do things surprises occasionally to kindle the sparks. If its a chore, then it really kills the joy of it all. Talk to him in a funner way. Motivate him to pamper you. If you talk to him like a compliant, naturally, he will not be happy. And when he does make the effort, let him how its appreciated. Him seeing how happy u r with it, would probably motivate him to do more.

u r feeling like this because its a void in the area of affection. Its natural. Instead of struggling with it, there are 2 parts to work on.

For yourself, u need to accept the practical guy u married. that is probably not going to change.
For him, he needs to also understand your needs. The answer is really the marriage of the 2 needs. Him making the little efforts and you appreciating and motivating him. At the same time, realizing he will always be mr practical. Don't expect prince charming on white horse.

Things can improve if you guys are willing to talk to understand each other needs better. It doesn't mean the marriage is on the rocks, but it can be better if both understand each better to motivate and pamper each other.

"doll, actually we've struggled with this attention/affections thing even before we got married. mr cat just came along and made things a lot lot worse...he made me feel vulnerable."

DJ, if Mr Cat could make you feel vulnerable I think you feel greatly dissatisfied with your married life. Am I right?

Having been married for two years I think you should know by now that people don't change after they are married.

Could you go low on your expectation on your husband then?

It could be a minor but fundamental thing. We need to fill the void or we will miss it badly after long period of absence.

Talk to your husband about making minor adjustments and compromizing. Its something u need him to help you cope with.

imclaire

Hi DJ,

I totally agreed with Milo on e Rocks, "COMMUNICATE", I do have a husband who very like your husband, work and family only. "He works hard, thinks about earning more money for me, always tries to provide for family (HIS MOTHER) and me". Sometime I felt so upset as I dont get any hug or kisses from him as he is really a very down to earth guy who dont know how to express himself. We been married for 11 yrs till now. He may be boring but I do believe he love you a lot and the most. I have ever made a terrible unforgiving mistake in my life and I have hurt my husband. Till now I cannot forget what I have done. BIG MISTAKE I MADE. Sit down and talk to your husband and tell him what you been thinking and how you been feeling, i believe he will understand , Give and share.

DJ: I can understand how/what are your feelings like, coz I been through the same phrase. After ROM, the r/s between my husband and I went downhill and yah, it so happens that this guy happen to be at the right place at the right time. I enjoyed those attention etc, I guess feelings are vulnerable at times and such attentions will eventually lead to more serious stuffs if we are not careful over it? Thinking back, it is simply not worth it, as you will find that your husband is still the one who is the best in a lot of things. Being unromantic isn't his fault, is he already like this before marriage? If he is, there is a harder chance for him to become romantic overnight. Most practical guys are usually lacking in this area as well; what you can do might be that you start initating kisses, huggies, holdings hands etc etc.. DO you guys live alone? You might want to organise some candlelight dinner at hm on weekends?

djected

Well, unfortunately we still live with his parents, so time alone is quite rare, only when they are out. Otherwise, we're usually "alone" hanging out in the shopping malls.

I've tried talking to him before and he knows...it's just infrequent that he shows affection (usually only on weekends when work is out of his mind hah!) but really i shouldn't be complaining, when everything he does in his work etc, is all for me. but just that SPARK..that feeling of newfound love and adoration, it's gone...gone in the midst of all these hectic lifestyles...and i don't know how to bring that back.

anyone has such a positive relationship with the other half even after years of marriage? how do you guys keep the relationship alive?

DJ,

personally, what's important is intimacy and the connection with our mates. Not so much sex nor about spending alot time, but quality time doing simple stuffs like holding hands, massaging each other, whispering in the ears, stroking the hair, praising each other reminding of how wonderful or happy we are. I'm never shy about my affection for my wife. It is her that wants me to be more discrete with friends or family presence really. I knew my wife since 2001 and there is no looking back. We are very different people but 2 common interests, the love of food and travel. We plan extensive holidays in places where my wife do all the research on the good food. We go there to experience and taste the much talked about food in the areas. Our favorite HK. My personal favorite, France. Simply wonderful place to wine and dine and visit museums (this my wife hates).

Take time off from work. Go check in to some hotels, dine on a weekday, do some shopping together, join him to watch a football match or something. Spend some time together discretly without needing to let the folks know. Or drive down to Msia for a short break. Away from stress.

I read .... "we're usually "alone" hanging out in the shopping malls". He has the patience to shop with you. Not bad what.

weekends dun stay at home mah, check into one of those "love hotels" lah... and if u r game enuff, be very very naughty in the bedroom... it helps if u can talk dirty to him, and see what turns him on...

mrs swan gotta make the first move lah, cos mr swan has been in stone garden for too long...

DJ: Personal perspective, the sparks had been there and is always there still, jus that it is up to the individuals to maintain and further exploring it to make the "fire" stronger. I know my hubby for 6 yrs before getting married. My hubby forgave me for that 2-months incident and after being a legal couple for 2 yrs, my hubby and I are happily planning for our wedding coming this Dec. We have grown stronger and one thing for sure is it really helps to show our feelings towards our partner. Regardless of how stress we are at work, we took sometime off to have private dates in the evenings before heading home. Most of the times, I will also showing via my actions or telling my hubby that I realli cherish his love and how blissful I am to have him in my life. I guess all these helps in building and maintaining a healthy r/s.

"My hubby forgave me for that 2-months incident and after being a legal couple for 2 yrs"

Little Woman, what incident, and care to share?

Doll: from my previous posts, I did mention that I made a mistake before. It was a long story, a summarized version will be that the guy happened to be there at the right time and the whole saga lasted for 2 months. With the forgiveness and the support of my hubby, both of us move on and we are closer than before. With this incident, I bear in mind that communication and not taking the other party for granted are realli important factors for a r/s to work.

lookingback

Yes, communication is a very important factor that makes a rs ticks.
Somehow to a guy, after u sign on the legal paper, u r mine and they tend to forget abt those liitle things that a couple do in a courtship.
If u do not let him know how u feel about things, normally a guy will take it for granted that everything is ok.
Since ur hubby is not taking any steps, y dun u show it first?
By the way, guys too like to be shown affection.

Little Woman, sorry for reminding you of an unhappy piece of memory. Well, what matters isn't yesterday but today and tomorrow.

imclaire

littlewoman : from your post i believe we are ever in the same incident but my lasted a year or so but with my husband understanding and forgiveness + his support I am living happier than before with our children now.

star_dust

just a little thought off the top of my head, are husbands so much more forgiving than wives?

i dont think i'll be able to take it if my husband has a someone else other than me, but sounds from lots of posts from ladies that your husbands are willing to forgive and forget.

stardust,

Saying now that you are not able to take it - meaning not able to forgive your husband if he has someone else.. is different when the thing actually happens.

If it is already a done deal and your husband is repentant.. how you know for sure you won't forgive him?

sm - That's why people will say "Talking easier than Doing".... All can juz "blah" with that mouth...

Different people do different things at different time... So how to determine one have done correct things at correct time????

I can only "Say".. dun says words to the fullest.. One will never know one day he/she juz eat his/her own words =)

iris,

That's why people will say "Talking easier than Doing".

hee hee.. not me.. I believe more in action/behaviour than words..

But for things that has not happened, actually there is no point to speculate or say too much..

Like people say, I love you till the end of the world.. next moment they are heading for divorce.

Or they say, I will never forgive you.. but next moment, begging spouses to return..

I don't know about whether men or women can forgive more easily.

For me, I believe we need to love ourselves and be happy before we can truly love someone else. If we are suffering and loving someone else - it is not a good sign.

If we cannot forgive, then it will always weigh on us.. how to be happy? I don't know.. I forgive easily.. and forget too.. and I mean my words and not just for talking.

sm - somehow agree on that action speaks louder than words (to a certain extend).... When to apply "action"???... Heheheh (not physical abuse please).....

"If we cannot forgive, then it will always weigh on us.. how to be happy? I don't know.. I forgive easily.. and forget too.."

Forgive?? Why not Forget comes in before Forgive?? One may forgive but unable to forget. Place it at heart or in mind, how to be Happy leh??? If Forget, one dun even remember such a thing so there is no need to Forgive. No unhappiness.. Wahahahahaa.. <= *My Silly Thinking*

its impossible to forget unless its a medical condition that affects one's memory. The important thing is really to let go of resentments and negative emotions.

When one is numb / neutral to it, there is nothing to really forget. It just become another passed chapter in our lives. We move on without needing to revisiting it all the time.

Forgive and forget are two different things.

Forgive is a conscious effort telling yourself to let go. Yes, some people say they can forgive but cannot forget. In a way it is true because we cannot just forget something..

But if you keep remembering the "bad things" and "emotions" attaching to the events.. that is not forgiving.

We cannot possibly forget the events.. but we can rid ourselves, like milo said, of the resentments and negative emotions.

You will be amazed, with the passage of time.. even events will fade..

and I heard that there are some advancements in medical that they have a "pill to forget" - wait till they can make it selective..

sm, that would be such a dangerous pill. Cheating spouses will be administering them to their partners when they smell a rat.

sm - That's the contradicting part of "Forgive" and "Forget" le..............

Guess if one is traumatise over such issues, the emotional feeling will big in a mess.

Wouldn't one choose to go on "pill to forget" (if there is really one) than to go through the "process" of forgiving???

HBH - Then use it on raped victims isit??? Is vicious cycle..... Endless.....

Regardless, whether it's Forgive or Forget (which usually come in a pair), it depend on the stituation one is facing....

irs, naturally if there is a "pill to forget" that can make us selective forget bad things.. then really no memory,, no need to forget..

But in reality.. we don't have such a pill yet. So forgive will make it much easier for us.. to forget or at least not to remember/recall the bad emotions

Iris, during the moment of agony, naturally, one would op to really forget if given the option. But when one have moved on, we all know deep in experiences in life are needed for us to grow. Even the most painful lessons in life are valuable.

Well, isn't that when we are given a choice to be selective in Reality, we choose to Forget than Forgive?? =)

As we have no choice to erase our bad memory now, all will "say" Forgive.... By juz "saying" or with "action"..........

*thinking hard now for pill*

Iris, as I said, during times of agony. When one is experiencing the pain itself, very naturally one would opt to forget if possible.

But, what we want is not necessary what's good for us. At that moment, all we focus on is the pain. If we really forget, we lose not just the pain, we lose the opportunity to grow and learn from it.

If we live a life of getting everthing we want, there will be big vunerabilities in us simply because we lack the needed exposure and experiences. One would never truly appreciate the good we have, we will take things for granted. If we can simply mould our partners to want we like and the relationship will always be good, would we even spend any effort to maintain it? Would we even appreciate them for their commitment and love. When it is assumed, the value is lost.

Think of how losing a parent would affect us. No matter what values we have about being filial, we do not value or cherish them more than after losing them. How we value and see everything around us are very influenced by these life experiences.

milo_powder

"i do try to communicate to my husband but he gets frustrated that i have a certain set of "expectations", and that i shouldn't even have them at all, it just makes men feel very sian about the relationship and having to achieve "targets" even at home."

Hi DJ, may i know how do you tell him about what you want/need?

From your post, it seems that your hb can be quite a routine person. Using this characteristic, how do you think you can be able to get what you want?

Frankly, everyone has expectations. To be frustrated because there is expectations is actually unreal. Not possible to literally have 0 expectations.

Before working on any issue, one must 1st acknowledge there is an issue. If we refuse to accept that its a problem, there is no way to work on it. Whatever actions done will be only to 'please' the partner. He will see no value in it at all.

Expectations are not forced down the throats, it is negotiated, communicated and adapted so that it suit the needs of the couple. When TS speak of her expectation, it should not be a request for him to comply to her demands. But, it should be a sharing. Asking him to help manage it together.

No one likes to hear complains or demands. But when one is sharing and wanting to work things out, the communication is different.

Demand = asking for compliancy. Communication is one-way, its a request.
Sharing = understanding, aligning and negotiating. This is open 2 way communication. The cause and solution isn't fixed, there is room to find alternatives together.

To forget is totally possible. Especially with the passage of time, even though you can remember painful events you do not feel the pain associated with those events, nor attach importance to it.

The memories of my ex-husband are pushed to the back of the mind now since he's not a priority to me anymore. When people ask why I decided to divorce him I could only summarise that it's due mainly to ongoing money problems and integrity issues that went on for six years. To recall the events would require me to sit down and dig deep into my memory bank.

Doll: thanks for the encouragement, it is a form of bittersweet memories i suppose. To me, it always serves as a reminder that I am blessed with a nice guy besides me now and thus, I mus never make any mistake anymore... or should I say like what Milo has mentioned in his post yesterday, it is realli meaningful.
We learnt through experiences, what matters most if we really do learn ya? I am sorry to hear of your past too.. I realli admire your courage to move on and I am sure you will lead a better life than before.

Mistake, yours lasted for a yr? Hmm.. with the development of more feelings, how did you manage to snap out of it? I had so much difficulties during the snapping out phrase... I guess it mus be equally painful for you?

Little Woman, for me, having gone through a divorce and two relationship break-ups post divorce in the past 2.5 years, I now have to remind myself to give love a chance to grow haha.