Do you get pick up on the street?

Here are my encounters and I'm not proud of them...

funny thing is...I tend to attract UNCLES and not young hunks..here's a list...

1. Hawker Uncle - who said I'm cute and asked me for my name and number...I just smiled and walked away after buying my food

2. Another Hawker Uncle again...who asked an auntie to find out if I'm married or attached?!! Luckily I was attached then.

3. An uncle at fort canning who asked about time and then asked if he could be my friend?!! He looked mentally unsound. So after screaming a 'no', I just quickly ran up a flight of staircases, praying he didn't run after me!

4. An Uncle again...this time..Taxi Driver. Shared a cab with two other colleagues. Damn..I'm the last to drop off. He kept saying I look cute and like a celebrity (what the...) and even asked about my criteria for a bf...if 50k as savings is good enough?!!! I really didn't know how to react! I just laughed it off and alighted soon!!

dimpxtt

old cow wants to eat 'young grass'

obviously those uncles....
but to tik of it..stabilise eh
if u are looking for stability..

I don't see whats so BIG deal when ppl wants to be friends with you? whats the BIG reaction about?
If you are not interested then reject them, why is there a need to criticise them? One day you will also reaches a AUNTIE stage and by then you might happen to talk to a young dude for proper reason and HE might just think you are a BUAY YABUAY Aunty as well. Uncle not HUMAN? they are cheap so you are EXPENSIVE? where? your ass is expensive? If you dress well and ppl dont look at you, u complain ppl dont look at you. Now ppl look at you and wants to be friend with you, U also want to complain and ACT high class.

cocoon

haha.. i think they are just trying to laugh off the picking up thing la.. and maybe feel a little disappointed its not the desired "pickers"...
dont think too much...

Dear cococherry,

I think a forum here means we're all entitled to our views. U may feel complimented or happy when Uncles ask for your numbers or want to be your friends but not me, alright?

Of course one day I'll be an Auntie. And you mentioned it. I may talk to a young dude for a proper reason, not like the Uncles asking to be friends with someone 20 years younger, alright?

Anyway 'cheap' was a word used by someone else here and that person didn't say Uncles are cheap also. Sha only said don't speak to them or they'll think we're cheap. Perhaps she was referring to those 'liu ying' in singapore lately.

And Cocoon was right about just sharing our experiences and laughing it off. Call me a self-deprecating individual but I was just laughing at my own predicament of not being able to attract youthful looking men who are my age off the street.

So I'll say...chill...

Anyway, if there's no big deal about being picked up at all, then why are you here reading all these posts?

U might not like it at all but it does happens and it's really no big deal.

Just because someone write trivial stuffs in the forum doesn't mean the thread will somehow not be read mah. Quite illogical reasoning on this. To all, chill up.

Milo,

Perhaps it's just me. I've read many silly posts and if I think they are silly, I won't reply to say they are silly. I'll just let it pass or else say something constructive. But I guess u're right. Cococherry may not like what she read but she still continues reading them - this part is illogical. Of course, by criticising others, asking if one's ass is more expensive because she didn't like what she read - ahhh this part is logical. Logically unreasonable and abusive I think. It's entirely uncalled for.

Your last advice is good, that is for all to chill. In the lst place, this thread is meant to be fun, not to be taken too seriously.

yes, its just you. As u mentioned, a forum here means we're all entitled to our views. That applies to everyone. So, someone else who finds it boliao can choose to point it out or ignore like u did.

I find it funny when I read IF your ass is more expensive? haha, I feel like putting LOL but LOL seems to be representing micropenisscope.

Don't really know why I have to be logical to post but anyway nothing much to point out here other than: I STILL DON'T THINK UNCLES ARE DISGUSTING.

Ty,

Yours sincerely
=D < see a SMILEY?

dimpxtt

moist (moistfaucet)

must act act a bit mah..
so easy..make pple tik u gian and easy to be hooked meh?

have 2 make it more challenging mah

moist,

this is where I would like to think you dun fully understand women. I can't speak for the rest but I can speak for myself at least.

When I act cold like ice, it really really means I'm not keen LOL and if the man had not been very upfront with his feelings because he's shy or what, I'll simply be cold towards him so that he may get the hint. If he however is upfront with me, I'll be very frank with him and tell him I'm not keen and why (of course in a nice way). Say if I'm really keen on a man and he woos me, sorry...I don't waste time pretending I'm demure and shy. I'll just accept his date graciously, go out with him, laugh at his jokes, text him etc. So the next time you encountered a 'dao' woman, dun always assume they are pretentious. They may really be not keen but don't know how to tell you, especially if you haven't been upfront with them about your feelings. I've met jerks before who seemed to be keen on me but were not upfront with their feelings. How are we supposed to know all the time right? Then when they finally became more obvious and dropped more hints, that's when I reject them, only to be labelled as toying with their feelings. What the...?!!

bedokboy

but generally, and perhaps I dare say 80% of the time, SG women are very wary or closed up when they get picked up on the streets.

I don't think it happens often. But spare a thought for the guys, not all who pick up the courage to talk to a stranger on the street is a weirdo.

Just like you (the girls) who are wary of the insincere jerks out there with only one thing on their minds, there are guys who are also tired and frustrated from not being able to meet the special person. Since we are visual creatures, we can only judge from looks in the beginning and if we do see someone on the streets we really like, is it such a bad thing to 'try'?

pinktweet

agree with denise! .. haahaha... i was a cold ice last time when guys i don like came after me .. but if i'm interested in the guy, i'll put away my cold ice look and greatly accept his date ~(^O^)~

bedokboy, as long as you can find a good chance and pick up the 'right' topic at the 'right' time and not appear lame, you might be able to pick up a gal successfully .. but the criteria is, you must create a no. of coincidences first (let her sees you a few times, so that you will become a familiar face though not talking yet) before actually start your pickup line, so that the gal will lose a bit of her guard for you .. lol

bedokboy

pinktweet, not easy lah like that.

girl on the street leh, not girl who works in your office building or stays in your neighbourhood.

am talking about those one time type, you go town polish car or cut hair walking around see her then u wah! then how how how type. haha.

bedokboy, it's not all impossible...depends on how much guts you have...

I think to be more successful, just walk up confidently, introduce yourself and say that you like to be her friend and just leave your number or msn to her. If she's keen, she at least has a chance to text you. If she's not keen or too shy, then forget it. I had such encounters before in Uni and it really makes me feel safer and more in control when I have an option to consider lst before texting the person. I did in the end and we just chat and become friends and it turns out that we're just friends and nothing else. So you'll never know till you give it a try.

dracano

I agree with Denise that guts (plus common sense) is an important factor to successfully know girls.

Just approach the girl bravely and with the intention of wanting to know the girl more, like striking a friendly and non-intrusive conversation, instead of asking for HP no. etc immediately. Find something that you believe would interest the lady, taking hints from where you met her, what she's wearing/holding etc.

Let the girl know that you are not have ulterior motive (at least not obviously) and just sincerely wants to know more about her and be friends. This should work most of the time.

mushigen

dragon,
any girl who gets approached will naturally think the guy has an ulterior motive - unless he looks like Wang Leehom. Trying to hide it will not be helpful.

Just go over and ask for the digits.

moistfaucet

ladies,

for me, it is alot easier woo the girl in the bar than the street.

i just simply tell her, hei cutie, i am new in town and i got lost, can you tell me how to get to your home ?

lol.

moistfaucet

doll,

nowadays, if you act like princess, no man want to date you.

man will not go for good girl, because it is not spark and too boring and also bad girl, because she can not be trusted. but man always go with something in the middle, man call it interesting girl.

you can act expensive as you want, man will avoided it. or you can act as open as you want, man will never take your seriously.

but

man will go for pleasant and confidence women but not in a commercial way. That women will never talk down her partner, that women know how to socialize, have fun, flirt, enjoy life and the most important, know how to handle herself in the bad situation, that i call it a interesting women.