DIY invitation cards and envelopes

gentlegiant

I like doing art and craft and was thinking of making my own invitation cards. But I'm not that ambitious to do my own envelopes too... Does anyone know where can we find a good printer is there a place that help with envelopes-making....? How long do you think we need to make our own cards

We can also share some creative ideas of making our own invites here. Let's share

tedious. assuming you need 20 mins to make a card (measure, cut, paste etc) x 300 cards = 6000 minutes, which is 100 hours.

for envelopes, why dun ya just buy off the rack? its more convenient.

katgrrl

It's between Bras basah complex and Bugis Junction, on the ground floor of a low storey building. If you walk along the road, the shop will be visible. Is that N.Bridge rd? heh, I'm not sure what the name of the road is. I'm a typical woman, going by landmarks

Alternatively, check yellow pages

yeah.. the building is called north bridge centre along north bridge road... its just opposite the new library area... there is only 1 paper shop and you will see it... there are alotttt of types of papers man! and they are not that expensive...shiok!

mayelene

how much does an envelope cost at fancy paper? will buying in bulk reduce the cost? i'm diying my invites too...

stupeed

hy mayelene, found your envelopes already? I also suggest buying them ready because customising them is very expensive i think!

mayelene

hi verie. my wedding over liao. i bought them instead of DIY. hee. bought them from fancy paper at bras basah. only 15cents per envelope ane comes in all sorts of color....

stupeed

hi mayelene, wow, sounds nice, i must go and see...fancy paper is it? I didn't expect them to be so cheap. the ones at my designer are 35cents but the quality is very nice, and the material and colours are very unique as well. Also, they quoted me a good price with the cards so i thought it was ok. I should check out the 15cents one and see first hor...

mayelene

hi verie, ya u shd check out the envelopes at fancy paper. the shop is closed on sunday. sat think close at 5 or 6pm.

faithjy

i thought 15cents per envelope is very expensive???? considering that bulk orders can be as cheap as 5cents.

stupeed

hi faith, for the thin and white colour envelopes, yeah those are cheap...anything with texture and colour will cost more...goes by size as well

frais_bleu

Hi mayelene can share your invitation card design?? I'm thinking of DIY my invitation card too but have no idea where to get nice design from....anyone can share??? My wedding theme is classic garden wedding...

frais_bleu

Hi minssy...thanks. i've started sourcing a few webbies which i got it from the pass messages....they look really nice...

Hey mayelene mayb you should read through them too to get some ideas...

ashly

hi mayelene,

Your church invite is nothing like I've seen! It has a girl's touch, quiet elegance.
I just sent an email to you regarding your florist.

I'm looking for wording for my church invite. Could you share it with me? I got loads of ang moh kinda invitation wording but I would like a more "local feel".

gelaine

I'm planning to do my invitation cards for my ROM in March 06... but have no idea where to start. Anyone has any suggestions? OR anyone who DIY their own invitation cards care to share with me the pics? My email: [email protected] I'm only looking at quantity about 30.. thus i think will be very expensive to print. But yet buy ready made ones are so boring. Really need help...

rck

Hi, I worked with the designer in the card making company and actually mix and match some of the designs. But I make my own envelope as I do not like the plain ones which they provide. It is one hell of a chore, but it is all worth it for the one and only BIG DAY. I took some pictures of it. So, anyone interested, I can email the pix to share.

rck

Hi Aileen, glad you like it. Not easy to cut, score and fold those envelopes cuz the paper is thick. Have to measure accurately also. I have to use strong double sided tape and super glue to glue the envelopes, then place the envelopes in btw telephone books and 'press' them for about 3 days to ensure the paper stuck together. Tying the ribbon is not easy too, cuz gotta make sure they are straight. I had the red envelopes for English invites and the pink envelopes for Chinese Invites. As you can see on the invitation card I placed a small crystal on top of each card so that it can be pulled out easily from the envelope. Spent about 7 nights doing it after work, haha... but it is all worth it.

djokoa1

anyone here interested to buy DIY paper materials imported from Australia Cristina Re (selling below cost) , pls PM me. Urgently need to clear clusters before leaving Singapore on 28 March.
tx