Disposable Contact Lens

Q

qi_09

i am sure most of us here wear disposable contact lens. i have been wearing permanent ones for almost 5 yrs now, but wish to change to disposable ones for convenience and hygiene.

Is there anything i shld take note when i buy my disposables? and wat is the usual price range? and i welcome any recommendations of eye practitioners too.

coven

i'm using B&L. usually i look ard for any promotions. they cost ard the same as permanent lens. if u want something with higher water or oxygen density, i tin its slightly more expensive.

cant recall which shop i went to .. its quite common to find them one lor ... i tin there is one outlet at bishan, tampines and even suntec

meow

I am wearing Acuuve (don't know spelt correctly) 2, the bi-monthly disposable contact lenses. On this brand for more than 2 yrs.

Have tried B&L and Focus, the monthly disposable contact lenses. All not suitable on me. Used to get my Acuuve 2 at YES Eyewear but recently found another cheaper place---> Optic Focus at Toa Payoh. Made my pair of rimless spec at $145, multi-coated too.

If u think u want to spend more, get the daily disposable one, safer leh.

Q

qi_09

thks meow and coven

hmm this accuvue one.. how much did u pay for it, meow?

chiwawa

im being wearg disposable 4 6 yrs (i nvr try conventional 1 b4 cos i always lose it :0)

usually i wil buy 1 yr supply (free 1 more pair) @ $130

actually, nothing particular 2 take note of, is e same as ur conventional 1

coven

the 1 yr supply is always more economical than 3 or 6 mths.

just find out whether can u trade for some other brands for those unopened ones should ur eyes be sensitive to the chosen one.

dolphin

Like Meow, I'm oso a 'Acuvue'(by Johnson & Johnson) wearer, the only difference is mine is the 1-Day disposable type. So everytime the purchase is for 1 mth's supply. It costs around $45 for 1 mth's supply (30 pairs).

As what Coven said, the 1-yr supply is cheaper than those monthly ones. Thus the daily type is the most ex one.
Too bad, my eyes r very sensitive & not suitable to wear contact lens for 2 long. Thus I switched from perm to mthly to daily type. So far, only the daily ones don't cause any irritation for my eyes.

Btw, fyi, I hv oso tried out B & L and Focus, both brands 'r not suitable for my eyes.

qi_09: Some optical shop will allow u to hv a trial pair. Juz tell them u hv never wear disposable contact lens b4 & wld like to try out.

Hope my sharing helps.

Q

qi_09

thks so much for all your information! i have a better idea now

wen

Hi Dolphin
I am also wearing Acuvue daily disposable. May I know where do you normally get your supply? Thanks!

cherry

Hi Dolphin,

May I know where do you get your supply from?

Seems like most of the place i've enquire sells them at $45 per box ...i.e. 1/2 mth supply only....that means 1 mth cost $90...

That's y i switched to monthly ones that costs me $70 for 6 mths' supply

soyabean

i oni started wearing cotact lens 2 yrs back. b4 dat, i will wear the acuvue daily lens for impt and special occasions oni.

i started with the acuvue 2 bi-monthly ones... i hv to say it is good.

after one yr on that, i moved on to monthly disposable. its not those famous brand though... i cant rembr the brand name... but its good as well. i moved on cos i did not wan to spend too much.

cherry

yup...can i've tried that many times liaoz....but when you are swimming...make sure you don't open your eyes in the water, must wear goggles.

dolphin

Hi Wen & Cherry,

So pai seh, I juz realise tt I made a mistake on the pricing. It's correct tt it's $45/box = 30 pairs. But I forgot to mention tt 'cos my degree is the same '4 both eyes, so 1 box is actually equivalent to 15 pairs.... hee hee, so sorry.
Anyway, I usu get mine at Grand Optical at J.East. Think now they hv promotion, not sure buy how many boxes get 1 free....

Hi Yippee,

Like Cherry, I oso wear my contact lens when swimming, but with my goggles on. I guess it's alrite as long as u don't open ur eyes in the water.

reality

There shd be cheaper price for acuvue daily disp, though $90 seems to be the standard price after asking around. Think I got mine at $80 for 30 pairs abt 2 mths ago.

poshies

hi nutty,
i wear it to steambath and suana b4.... but try to put some eyedrop b4 and after as it is very dry (suana) n hot inside....

nafnaf

i am using acuvue daily disposables...
usually i get from the neighbourhood optical shop .. they will sell $40 per box..
but if you buy from those chain stores, like OPSM, YES, Capital Optical, Nanyang Optical etc... they usually sell $45 per box.

try sourcing around.. there are many shops that sell at $40 per box only..
but sometimes Acuvue will run promotions like buy 5 get one free.. then during the promotions, it will be more "wu hua" to get it from the chain stores.

melodie

I'm using biomedics, more comfortable... but slightly more ex. Can try Freshkon also. Cheaper than some of the other common brands.

yukic

I'm also wearing Biomedics 38 monthly disposables for a few years, recommended by an optician, whom after an eye examination observed that the shape of my eyeballs are more curved. The Biomedics lens has a better fit and hence is more comfortable for me.

Btw, I switch to 1-day Acuvue disposable when I'm on trips.

ordinary75

For years, I have been using Biomedicss too! I must say it's the best contact lenses.

Melodie and Jun02 bride, how much did you have to pay for your monthly disposable? I got mine from Funan which I think is rather reasonable (80 dollars for half a year)

melodie

Hi may

I pay 70 for six mths supply. I'm wearing Freshlook colour blends now... Also quite comfortable for me.

Tired of clear lens already

ordinary75

wow Melodie..where did you get your lenses from?? I thought mine is cheap ..your even cheaper??

Yeah..i thot of switching to colour lens too....

melodie

Hi May

I got it from my fren who is an optometrist. So can get it slightly cheaper lor
Go look ard for the different brands of colour lenses. There r so many to choose fr. But i still like Freshlook colour blends b'cos they look so natural...

yukic

hi May,

I vaguely recalled I paid $70, as my last purchase of the lens was with some other items. I bought it in Chinatown.

I buy my supply of saline from Funan, for the convenience as I work around there, altho' it cost more. Funan shops' prices aren't exactly competitive when compared to neighbourhood shops. Agree with Destinee, Toa Payoh optical shops are selling cheaper. Saline for $1 per bottle. But unless I'm in that area, I wouldn't make a trip just to buy saline and then lug a few heavy bottles home. How nice if it's delivered to my doorstep *dreamy mode*

chern

I have 2 boxes of biomedic lenses for sale. Can change to any degree. I just done Lasik and no need lenses anymore. Can sell at $30/box. Pls let me know if you interested. Thanks.

mayelene

ya quite interested. is it you will get for me my degree and pass it to me? where is convenient for you? i live in Jurong.

chern

yes of course i will get for u the degree u need and pass to u. is Jurong Point convenient for u? i work near Jurong point and can wait for u after working hrs. i think i will need 1 week to exchange the degree if the optical shop does not happen to have the degree on hand.
btw, what is your degree and u need water content 38 or 55 type?

chern

Hi mayelene,
But i did not receive your email at all? Did you get my email address correct? My coy email is a bit long and confusing so its better for u to use reply or copy & paste the address.

chern

Hi Mayelene, i have receive your email via my yahoo mailbox. Have reply to u liao. pls check it out. Thanks.

destinee

For those who are interested in Focus Dailies, you can get 2 boxes for $55 at Ai Mui Optical, Toa Payoh Central. So far it's the cheapest i can find.

lonestarl

Hi have the following for sale. Pls email [email protected] for more details.
Acuvue = 36
Focus = 36
B&L = 34
Biomedics = 36

All the above are normal disposable contact lens 3pairs a box which last for 3 mths supply.
For other types pls feel free to mail me at [email protected] for more enquiry.Discounts will be given for buying more.Thnx.

aspiring

JB even cheaper....acuvue clear mthly lenses...i think half year supply....after converting to sgd..its only about S$50 for 2 boxes.