DIAMONDS Lovers!!!

leeds

Really? Canny is Indon too? hehe... I see quite a lot of Indos in this website yah. I been in Sing for long lah. Came here to study in sec school then went off to london for 5yrs, now back here again. How abt you? My wedding is Jan05. Already signed up with Bridal Zone cos near my office. But now after reading all the wonderful gown stories with Tan Yoong, BV, Ted Wu etc, I'm kinda regretting not doing enough research before signing up.

Yah I think Trista is very high maintenance, but who wouldn't wanna be? All the diamonds, spas, flowers, gowns...
Remember to catch it tonight! Its the finale. Maybe we can get some ideas for our wedding preps.

sousa

Hi Oraia, yah I'm renovating house now. Got an ID to help me with it since I typically have terrible taste.

Teatree, that's the dress I'm talking about!! US$2.5 M! Geesh! And she's gorgeous. I haven't been to Inez yet but I'm plannign to go there soon. Heard they're selling the Jelly-kelly there! Must go! I love gowns too. I don't buy mine from one fixed place but I buy whenver I see a gown I like, even if I have nowhere to wear it to yet. Usually from overseas when I shop. And I love Pois dresses!! But always too big for me.

Why don't you go to Tanyoong and get an evening gown there. I would love to get him to make an evening gown for me one day.

Hi leeds! I really love Nicole's dress. If you do make your evening gown like that, must show hor!

Hi Canny, my mum too nearly gave up on me coz I wanted everything. You also gown shop with mum? Must be, since FH hasn't seen the dress. Me too and I think my mum was even more excited than me.

Ya, I agree I think Trista is very high maintenance. I do wonder if the marriage will last. But I think Ryan is the super easy going kind. Give in to her all the time. A bit like my hubby and his brat wife. :p

I'm definitely going to wathc T&R's wedding tonight. Got dinner but will rush home in time!

teatree

hi leeds,

hhmm... i have been here since secondary too. right now i'm in NUS doing my bachelor degree. have been here for about 7 years.

don't worry too much about your bridal. i'm sure they can whip you into the most beautiful bride
. hehe... just normal to have some reservations at the beginning. i even had nightmares about my gowns! have you begun designing your gowns yet?

sousa, hhmm.. if you go to inez, just across it is pois! kill 2 birds with 1 stone
. i've only been to pois once and the salesperson scared me so much i've never been able to step into that shop again. hehehe.... she followed me everywhere! and kept offering me this gown, that gown. their beaded gowns (as far as i can remember) are divine! however, i like girly girl gowns more and i don't think i can pull of slinky gowns, so inez is more for me.

i wanted to go to tan yoong for an evening gown, but come to think of it, MTM-ing an evening gown is to leh chey. heheh.... i can get more nightmares!

leeds

Hi Sousa,

Your gown is really pretty!! I like all the layerings! My sis had her wedding in CHIJMES too. Nice!

I haven't decided on my evening gown. Hopefully a lot of frills & ruffles & flowers. When my gowns are done, will definitely show to you gals.

leeds

Teatree,

You are still studying? You must still be very young then...
hehe... read all about your nightmares when you're designing your gown. Its quite scary yah. What if it turns out awful? What if its not as beautiful as we always imagined it? Me also gonna get nightmares soon....

Where's Inez & Pois btw? Never managed to find any nice gowns in Sing, always had to tailor-made in Indo. If Inez & Pois are nice, I wanna go see too!

oraia

hello girls,

*peeps in* it's been kinda quiet...

leeds, i think inez and pois are both in paragon -- the extension part.

canny

Hey Oraia,

I just got bac from New Orleans late last nite.
Decided to go since my back felt much better.

Yeah... my mom went to pick the gown with me. Hehehe... she has better taste than me thus, I thought tht bringing her along would be good. Are u going with ur mom to the BS?

canny

Hey Leeds,

I am from Indo too. Moved to SG when I was 2 and came to the states for college and stayed here till then. Which part of Indo are you from?

I agree with Sousa... why dun u make a evening gown from Tan Yoong.

teatree

good morning ladies

canny, hhmmmm you travel quite a lot even now. can't imagine how often you travelled when you were in the previous job.

leeds, yeah pois and inez are at the new paragon extension. i agree with canny, why don't you make an evening gown with tan yoong? wedding is a good reason to purchase outrageously expensive gowns! hehehe...

leeds

Inez and Pois are in Paragon? Ok, will check them out this weekend.
There's another Pois in Scotts if I remember correctly.

Sounds like Tan Yoong has got some very happy customers here!
hmmmm.... I'm curious to see their designs now. My fiance did tell me I could get my gown from other BS if I find one that I like. Hope he doesn't flip when he realise the cost. hehehe... Like wat teatree say, wedding is a good reason to purchase outrageously expensive gowns!
Anyway, my wedding is still such a long time away. Still got loads of time to check around lor.

Hi canny, your job seems so fun, you get to travel all over US every weekend!
Fun but probably quite tiring yah. Oh you been in Sing for very long. I came here only when I was 10. Do you still come back to Sing or Indo? I'm from Bandung. You?

rchtym

May i know can i trade in my diamond for bigger stone which previously the stone was not from the shop? Do they entertain us?

oraia

hi hi canny,

glad to know tt ur back is better!
take care ok, so tt it can recover fully.

eh... not sure whether i'll be picking the design of the gown with my mum. will definitely be gg with my fiance.

u've got me all curious. ;p how much is an evening gown fr tan yoong?
are there any websites that you girls can recommend to see designs of evening gowns like www.theknot.com?
cos i still hv no idea what design i want for my EG. i just know i want it in red ;p

teatree

hello ladies,

oraia, mmmh... besides websites, you can try magazines like people or us or any fashion magazines (harper's bazaar, vogue, in-style etc etc...). they've got lotsa evening gowns worn by stars. surely can find one or two that you like

leeds, you're from bandung?? hehehe... i love the food there! especially picnic roll (huge pastry with meat, cheese and egg), yum!!! do you still go back to bandung often? your husband-to-be is also from bandung??

leeds

Hi oraia,

You can try http://www.thebridalshop.com but not as comprehensive as theknot.com
Actually theknot.com has a lot of really nice gowns. Why don't you look at the bridal gown section, and improvise from there? Just an idea.

Teatree, yah the food in bandung is really yummy!
I love the noodles!! I don't go back to bandung often, probably once or twice a year. It's so difficult to find time now tat I'm working.
My fiance is from Jakarta. How abt you? Where are you from?

sweets

hello all,
wahh..so many Indo ladies in this thread!!!
Don't talk abt Indo food..I LURVE it a lot!!

Rachel, did not know that diamonds have resale value, thanks for the eye-opening fact!!

teatree

good morning ladies,

leeds, i'm from jakarta. so, are you going to have other receptions in indo?? then more reason to buy more gowns! hehehe...

sweets, you visit indo often is it??

sweets

hello teatree,

I dun visit Indo that often...but my husband has quite a few childhood frens from Indo and he was the one who introduced me to the yummy Indo cuisine. It helps that I am a chilli / spice fanatic as well!!!

The food is so yums..dunno how so mnay Indo ladies manage to keep your slim figures!!

sousa

Sorry been really busy at work and hadn't had time to come in here to chat. It's nice to know there's so many girls from Indo here. I have quite a few friends who are Indo or married to Indo.

Rachel, yes, most shops do accept upgrades provided the stone is purchased from them. But most places re-sale value is about 60-80% of original price. Only some places take 100% resale value for upgrade. I think that's what Soo Kee is promoting for their brilliant rose now. Hmmm.... very tempting hor.

oraia

hi teatree and leeds,

thanks! will check out the site that you recommended, leeds.

hi rachel,

i know certain shops like lee hwa etc allows u to bring back the diamond for a trade-in. i think if you do not have the cert, they will deduct more $$ off the trade-in price. not sure if u can trade in a stone that's not bought fr them... i suspect not...

think you may have to go to a pte jeweller for trade-ins..

mtmtmt

Hi sousa, yah the not 100% trade-in value is such a bummer. Kills any hope of even convincing Hb to upgrade my stone. Oh well.

Haven't popped by awhile cos busy looking at other stuff, like mini-fridge n baby carriers that sort of boring stuff. Hahaha!

leeds

Hi teatree,

No I wont be having the reception in Indo. Everything would be in Sing so my relatives have to fly here. My wedding would be like a gathering for all relatives from all over the world who haven't seen each other in ages too.
I saw your album, you already had your engagement in Jkt right? Lucky you.... you get to wear so many beautiful gowns. When's your actual day & where?

Jewellers probaby don't give 100% trade-in value cos we women are so fickle & not easily satisfied hor. If possible, I would probably end up upgrading my diamond every few months! hehehe....

teatree

hi leeds,

oooo i see... your wedding is going to be fun! can treat it like a reunion
. yup, i had an engagement reception in jakarta. i'm married already. last december. hehehe.... the wedding reception was in lampung.

sweets, yeah, have got to like spicy stuffs to like indon food. hahaha.... whenever i go back to jakarta, i try to only eat breakfast and lunch
but more often than not, i eat dinner too.

leeds

Hi Teatree,

You already had your wedding? In your album, I only saw the engagement reception, so I thought you gonna have the customary wedding another time. Thats what some Indos I know did. Oh well... So you are a newly-married!
Congrats!

teatree

hi leeds,

thank you! i just have not uploaded the wedding photos. everything is in hardcopy, we're just too lazy to start scanning. hehe... will definitely tell you when we've uploaded them.

hey, i remember you wrote that you're going for gown designing on 7 march. is it true? how are your gowns going to look like?

MT, that's a NICE ring! hahha... must must ask your hubby for an upgrade. the one thing that really caught my eyes in the website is a round 1.51 carats ring from van cleef and arpels. wow wow! and it's on discount! *drool*

leeds

MT,

WOWWWW!!! Did you gals see the square 2.08 carat diamond? HUGE!!

Actually the cross one with a big centre diamond is my dream ring!! Been looking around for something like tat in Sing, but can't find. Anybody know where I can get it?

leeds

Hi Teatree,

Yah I went to design the gown over the weekend already. Gave the designer a magazine cutout of the gown I want, now everything is in their hands lor. A bit anxious of the results....

Must upload photos soon yah. I want to see.

canny

Hey Ladies,

Long time no c. Has been really overwhelmed with work .
So watz the new topic in the thread?

sousa

Long time no see also. Very busy with work at the moment. So much eye-candy on this site now. MTMTMT, thanks for sharing your dream ring with us. It is REALLY beautiful. Much better than your oodling, yes.

freespirit

have anyone of you buy any Soo Kee's Brilliant Rose diamonds....they claimed that theirs are the best cut.

Anyone who has experience in this please share. Thanks

ran_mel

hi freespirit

I bought a brillant rose for my wedding last year. But I regretted in a month time and went back to exchange for their AGS diamond.

My reason was because the diamond don't really sparkle that much unless you are getting a real big size one or unless you compare two togather. Furthermore, their cut is considered fancy cut cos there's 66 cuts.

And if you go and read through last year thread, where there was a discussion about brillant rose, you will find that it's not really worth spending so much on it.

But it really depends on want you want in a diamond. My 2 cents worth...

canny

Hey Freespirit,

I heard alot about the Hearts and Arrows diamonds. I think destinee diamonds from Lee Hwa belongs to H&A category. Why dun u check them out?

canny

MTMTMT,

Hmmm... I thought the reason why most consumers go for Hearts and Arrows is because H&A make the stone sparkles more. Have not heard that pple go for H&A jus because they wan to look at the H&A in the diamond.

sweets

hmm..personally i always think diamonds in general sparkle more in the shop with the constant polishing and intentionally well positioned lightings!

So far, diamonds which do catch my eyes day to day are those that are bigger...:p or very uniquely designed!

mtmtmt

Canny, hehe, H&A is just perfect symmetry, dun think u can perceive the extra sparkle (to a comparative well-cut stone). I feel if choosing H&A, yeah, the thrill is in making out the arrows (they say one simple method is to view thru a red paper cylinder or ur hand... the red lighting helps). But size helps even more yah? LOL!

Sweets, yah... actually some people say no point going for the best cut ever, as long as good enough cut proportions, reasons as u highlighted. Most diamonds we wear are under a constant coat of grime unless u clean like every single night n when u wear it out, no fingerprinting on it!
Used to clean mine really often... but now also abit sian. :p

canny

Hmmm...

I agree that size matters but the cut is impt too. I have seen the same carat wt in round brillants with the more well-cut/ideal cut one looks bigger than the other which is not tt well cut. Thus, consumers have to be very careful not to purchase a diamond for itz "paper wt".

mtmtmt

Canny I agree on that... I meant as long as good enough cut proportions, not poor cuts
Simply put- getting the biggest table (shallow diamond) looks dead, whereas a deep diamond looks dead as well as plain small. But personally dun think there's a need for best cut ever, cos it's not that discernible next to a good enough cut... especially in non-showcase conditions.

How's ur ring coming along?
I'm hesitant abt resetting mine at this timing, seems like alot of baby stuff to buy instead :/ (and never-ending!)

canny

MTMTMT,

Yeah... it all boils down to individual likings. Luckily, I did not have to make tt decision for my e-ring. Given my personality, I think I would have gone NUTS over it.

My ring is still in the making. Most prob, will get it set between early to mid April. I will be out of town for 2 weeks at the end of March.
Therefore, can't do the setting then. Hmmm... babies are expensive. I just found out tt daycare at my co.'s subsidized center is USD$1.2K a month. Mann... I think I will most prob. hire a stay home nanny for my future baby. Take ur time with resetting. Who knows u may be in for an upgrade after u deliver ur baby.

oraia

hi canny,

long time no see!

wah... u girls' knowledge of diamonds is amazing... hehe.. can only read... nothing to contribute.

oh, by the way, canny, we got our wedding bands already! but they're with my fiance, so hv no chance to take a photo yet! hehe...

canny

Hey Oraia,

Hahhaa... my knowledege is nothing compared to MTMTMT ( who is the real MASTER
)Oh really? U got the rings already. The store had to order it from US rite? Hehhee... Tiffany is so fast. Heard from my fiance that it only took them 2 days to get my e-ring shipped from NYC to SF the last time. They have great service.
I know the Tiffany store here even serves champagne for the customers. Have to take the pic of ur rings for us leh.

oraia

hi canny,

hehe, to me all of u sound like real pros!!

i only know how to admire... dunno all the different diamond technical terms haaa...

yup yup, the SG tiffany ordered my size fr US. took them about 3 weeks i think. but yeah, it was pretty fast.
wow!!! they serve champagne there?!! no wonder they increase their prices ev year! hehehe...

haaa, when i hv time i'll try and tk a pic. my bands no diamonds lah... just classic bands.

canny

Hey Oraia,

No lar... my knowledge is from picking things up here and there. I do not run extensive research on diamonds.

So... are u still busy with wedding preps. I seriously... dunno wat to prepare or plan for. Hehhehehe... maybe will procrastinate at the veri last minute.

mtmtmt

Canny, hehe, u have a Tiff HUGE ring leh! I have a no-name itsy bitsy speck :p So no choice, can only go websites read n admire

Now switch attention over to baby stuff... sigh, looking at sparklies (and wedding stuff) so much more fun!

canny

MTMTMT,

Cannot say tt lar. Everyone's e-ring is good looking as long as it is bout by their luv ones.
I am sure u luv urs as much as i luv mine. Shld feel satisfy with wat u are given lor.

Hahhaa... can imagine. But baby stuff r preety fun too. Jus had a baby shower for a co-worker last week. So sweet!

oraia

hi canny,

hehee..

me ah? i haven't done wedding stuff for a long time.... too lazy, and very busy with work recently as well.

actually u are already almost all set in terms of preps!! you've condensed what brides normally do in the last few mths to a few wks while u were in singapore!

actually i still have alot to do, settling the invites etc etc. i'm just procrastinating... hehe.. we'll prob start late april or in may.