Desaru - which resort is good?

getaway

Hi, I am thinking of a short getaway with my husband. Anybody has been to Desaru and which resort which you recommend? Thanks.

linda

Hope it is not too late...
Desaru Golden Sands is the best I feel. Most popular among all the rest....
Got Glof course too

bluebell

Hi Getaway,

DO NOT go to Impian. I was there several months back and the place was really run-down. Only one restaurant was open and the food was not nice. The mini-zoo and the other shops were closed. I wanted to sign up for the activities they posted on their website but they were unable to do it. And the beach was not fantastic. Dun even have deck chairs. Only the swimming pools were ok.

islandpub

i also vote for Desaru Perdana... great place if u juz want a getaway n relax n do nothing.... simply love the pool.... n the rooms are good too..... but the beach there is not very clean lah.... but i love that place coz of the pool n the atmosphere... the resort feel.... simply fantastic.... me dun fancy the beach so it's fine with me... but i enjoy the parasailing as well.... great... talk abt that havent been there for a while..... hmm......

charcoal

Desaru Perdana is good place to stay in but never ever stay at Le Cemara Desaru resort. I had my worst holiday there ever!

:o

Perdana is a good beach resort if all you want to do is to RELAX and DO NOTHING, nothing else.
The place is not crowded. If you choose an off-peak season, the place is practically a ghost town. :eek:)
Went there once with my bf something end of last year, we were the only persons on the coach that fetches us from the jetty. :p
bring along a story book, or anything you want to do, and laze around.

as for me, dun particulary like the place as it gets kinda boring after a while.

kellyanne

Thinking of driving to Desaru via the ferry at Changi terminal. Anyone know how to drive to "Ringit" from Desaru Perdana? "Ringit" is this place near Desaru where they have a few seafood restaurants... & all at very cheap price.

hi...

just came back from perdana desaru... Like it very much. The staff are very helpful and friendly too...

however, if you book from singapore, i think is more exp.

female

hi bubble,

is that the chalet-style one? i stayed there maybe 3 years ago, cant rem. the name but its golden-something. if we're talking abt the same thing, i like the resort style better than hotel room (i.e. perdana). you basically get to stay in your own wooden hut. has a living room with TV & pretty big rooms. my fav is the huge veranda outside. we just sat, laze, read, watched for monitor lizards. no swimming pool, but the beach's just in front (desaru has ugly beach, but the waves are huge). its not new, but i like it.

muffins

i can't remember whether it was golden boy which we stayed at.

but it was the worst trip holiday we had..

the place was like deserted. got to eat dinner at the pathetic 2 so called restaurants.. got to have dinner by 6pm. other wise, when the sky goes darks, the mosquitoes will come.

we kept the toilet light on (which is our usual practice when we go for tours). but we din realise like the toilet has a window which was left ajar. u know wat, a bat flew in in the middle of the night. me and hubby so scared that we practically slept underneath the bed sheets the whole night.

it was so boring until we took the earliest ferry back to singapore.

koalabear

i vote for desaru perdana too!!

went there for PS, the hotel even gave us fruit basket coz they tot we went there for HM :p

juz_dimp

hey folks,
how abt puali desaru is it good? if i book 3 days 2 nite over e christmas day ..two pple ard S$350.with an agency.is it exp?
Is there any transfer from desaru port to the hotel?i was wondering is it more worth it to book with the agency rather than book separately the ferry tix and hotel.

Can any1 advice?

dreamer17

hi Juz,

have u been to Desaru?...frankly speaking to me desaru has lost its beauty few years ago...last time its a very popular place, now i feel its like a ghost town...somemore now moonson period cant do sea activities like jet skiing..banana boat ride..etc..

to me its not worth going..hotels also very run down coz lack of visitors...beach also not nice..

its better to save ur money and go bintan....

juz_dimp

waseh...dreamer y say that eh..i feel like booking within these few days..coz i feel like having a getaway 3D2N during the christmas period 24-26th dec...and $173 per person include ferry,resort n bfast seems reasonable at this period of time.

if not, where else is ard this budget eh?

icebaby0

Pulai Springs Desaru...it's good. But food there is expensive. Now having offer at $110+++ per nite (I think it was in yesterday's newspaper)

trina_wys

i second Pulai Springs Desaru Resort too.. its the best hotel there.. and from what i know.. there has been a change of management and its a lot better too.. heard that they are bringing in new sea sports equipment..

food wise.. can travel to this fishing village about 20km away that has fantastic seafood!! its really cheap too.. good!!

trina_wys

i'm hoping for a getaway too but doesn't seem likely coz my FH has got to work on christmas day, sunday.. so no hope liao..

otherwise.. we usually just drive up to desaru for a one night stay.. been there twice within a year liao..

trina_wys

hi juz_dimp,

can take ferry too mah.. actually driving up got to go through the customs, pay toll and then 1 1/2 - 2 hours drive to desaru.. can get quite tiring leh..

this christmas didn't go but will be going in feb with my FH and my parents.. this time round.. we'll be taking the ferry for a change and getting the hotel to pick us up from the ferry terminal.. hehe..

trina_wys

take the ferry from Changi ferry terminal and a round trip tix will cost u $22.. then over at the other side.. can liase with the hotel to get a car or van to pick u up from the ferry..

snowysoul

NEVER ever stay at Le Cemara Desaru resort - Is the worst Resort...with so many lizards around..may it be room, restuarant etc..my worst holiday and i have nitemare after that..I call it a Lizard resort...so so scary...yuck!!!!

trina_wys

oh my!

snowysoul.. what a bad experience!!! i think i'll be screaming and screaming non stop.. i hate lizards.. eeeuuuuhhh!!!

if want to stay.. stay at the pulai desaru resort.. i love it!! hehe

kitty_princess

Anyone went to Desaru Pulai Spring Resort before?
I'm organising my dept strategy meeting cum staff retreat now.. dunno which is better, this or the beach resort..

lovella42

If you're the adventurous type who are into sight seeing and going places, this may not be the place for you. It is situated in a secluded area deep inside Kota Tinggi about 108 km in the heart of Desaru.

Its a 3 star beach resort. Room conditions are pretty okay - its clean, really big and spacious. The verandah is not well kept though.

Food is GREAT. Love the Mee Goreng Mamak. Very well cooked and tasty to the taste buds! Morning breakfast consists of a huge variety of food choices. If you happen to travel with a huge group of people, the hotel would prepare a barbecue pit by the sea for you and all your travel companions!

Food aside, They have a comfy lounge that plays great music. Pool Tables, Ping Pong Tables and an assortment of games. On Friday / Saturday nights, They would play a movie by the sea and its open viewing to all resort guests.

What I really like about the place is actually the beach. For one who hail from Johore, i can hardly find a clean beach where I can actually sun-bath, read and relax. Here though, The beach is clean, and secluded enough that there is not too many people. I love the solidarity! Oh the joy of being uninterrupted by flying beach volleyballs and people staring right at you as you lay and read by the beach in your swimwear! ;)

Go for it, if you're one who wants to just Get-Away from the rest of the world!