Depot Road Flats

deathgodhorus

Good morning all,

I finally manage to contact the RC Chairman, he told me that carpark is not under his charge and ask me to check with HDB or Town Council.

When I told him that Town Council and HDB refer me to the RC, he says RC only do request the usage of carpark for their block party only and they do not entertain personal request for carpark usage.

Personally, I feel that he isn't very helpful at all. He gives me the "don't ask me, I dunno, I am just chairman for RC" attitude. No wonder RC block party is such a failure...

Shall we go Meet-the-people session and asked our MP for help? {abit extreme right?heehee}

Aduh, what is Plan B?

aduhlene

horus,

seriously, i think all RC people are just in RC for the "benefits". hmm..

plan b ah.. i also dunno. I think the meet the MP thing is good. I met Wong K.S. before to talk about my balloting failures... haha.. they are very willing to listen to you. I dont mind going for the meet MP session. hahaha

as for our bbq.. should we just go ahead? and then see what happens?

pitterpatter

hihi horus,

rem me? pitterpatter? i'm sure aduh shd rem me...hehe...

sigh, too busy...haven't been checking the forum for some time...just logged in to the depot yahoo group and realised i'm too late...missed the updating for the database ...

so, u wan me to PM u with my details? or?

daff

Am for going ahead anyway...

Date: 11 March, Sunday @ 4pm
Venue: 112 Carpark roof
Food: bbqwholesale (preferred, also lazy)

attendees:
aduh (maybe hubby not coming)
nihpcac & hubby (bbq whole seller.. lazy mah..eheh)
daff & hubby

aduhlene

daff, thanks!!

but still not much replies regarding the bbq leh. shall we postpone it or something? i seriously dont mind going ahead. cos if people complain us, we will just let them know that their RC is of what sort one.

people.. please say something!!

happielee

Hi fellow Depot Clubbers (sound cooler rite?)...dun u guys think tat the RC chairman's attitude totally reflect the new show "Just follow law". LOL

Date: 11 March, Sunday @ 4pm
Venue: 112 Carpark roof
Food: bbqwholesale (preferred, also lazy)

attendees:
aduh (maybe hubby not coming)
nihpcac & hubby (bbq whole seller.. lazy mah..eheh)
daff & hubby
slgerman & fiancee (to be confirmed) (will bring dessert)

aduhlene

hmm...

seems like we're going ahead yah? ok.. let's have wet weather plan as well. we just move 1 floor down to the close carpark. will that be good?

as for the food, check out www.bbqwholesale.com. they also cover things like disposable pit. horus, you free to take order from us and order from them? they make delivery, so have to tell them where to send to.

deathgodhorus

This week I am a bit busy with meetings, I am ok to go ahead with the BBQ. As for the database, I am updating it in my PC. Will pass to you all once complete.

aduhlene

hmm... then maybe we should potluck instead. then like this will be easier to organise. or maybe we should have potluck like picnic sort instead? cos seems to me, if seriously want bbq, quite a lot to prepare for this weekend. and moreover so many people never reply and give a proper confirmation.

aduhlene

hmmmm.. i think let's postpone this bbq until when there are enough response. seems to me, everyone is still busy after the CNY. shall we have it in April then?

or another round of buffet? hahha...

snowflak3

wow... that's great news..

175 has a very long-winded route.. but convenient to go to orchard..

sorry, been busy recently, didn't login to forum.
and.. i think i won't be able to make it for any meetings this weekend.

angsana

My friend is looking for a 4-room flat in Depot road URGENTLY? Anyone know of any neighbours keen to sell?
BTW, anyone know what is the market rate for a 4-room flat in Depot? Low floor also can since ti is quite a quiet neighbourhood...just need to be cheap..
No need to go thr agent for another commission....

aduhlene

hui actually 175 is not a long-winded route at all. to orchard, it is one of the fastest ways already. anyway 274 also nobody sit one. what for have 1 bus that comes into depot road and do a U-turn and go back. so no efficient. i rather they have more trunk services to go other places rather than have a feeder that doesnt really serve much purpose lor..

sigh, when are we going to have our gathering again?

cacphin

should have one bus to go to redhill mrt too..
maybe can suggest to SBS to "detour" bus 145 or have a shuttle bus to shuttle from BM interchange to redhill then jalan bukit merah road, and pass thru depot and back.

aduh> anytime also can but normally are e old birds like us..

aduhlene

ahhhh... nihpcac, i think 175 route now is ideal le... dont want to detour le.. if not it will take longer to go orchard...

snowflak3

aduh, nihpcac suggesting 145 to detour to depot road.

That's a good idea.
will give depot residents access to east/west MRT line..

how do you normally go to east/west line with the current bus services in depot road?
195 -> tiongbahru?

aduhlene

nihpcac & hui, paiseh, i read the msg too fast le..

Anyway i dont usually take the EW line. most of the time i go bishan where my mum is. so i take 93 from outside. if i need to take MRT, i will take 57 to harbour front or raffles place..

hence i dont really need to go redhill mrt. anyway to change bus at bukit merah to redhill mrt also very fast mah..

ffbear

Kudos to the one who came up with bus 175.. can go straight to orchard.. yeah!
best thing is direct bus to clementi, whr my PIL r.. kekekeke..
nichpcac, I oso salute the idea of trunk svc to redhill mrt.. it is reali soo near, yet soo far..
hui, I usually take the EW line.. either 195 to tiong bahru or queenstown loh. depending on wht wan to go west or go east..

aduhlene

hi neighbours

the timetable for 175 and 57 are available on the sbs website. so if you need to take those buses, check the schedule and then go down to the busstop. that saves time. cos for what i know, the bus is usually on time, or max was 2 min late.

ribena11

Finally,I have found a unit in Depot Road. Yeah! we'll soon be neighbours. Moving in end of Apr or early May....

Btw, I've been reading this forum is real good, everyone share their experiences living in depot road.

aduhlene

hi ribena,

welcome to depot road!!

so when are we going to have our next gathering after the hiccups we had for the BBQ? maybe just eat at the dragon restaurant. do they still have the buffet thing?

btw, the bubble tea shop at NTUC there is quite nice! bought a few times already. usually i can only patronise them on weekends, cos weekdays, i leave home before they open, and reach home after they close. go try if you see them open..

i see some external works going on at blks 109-111. i think quite minor ones, cos they also never post much notice on the boards to tell people.

so, gathering please.. suggestions!!

angsana

Hi Ribena,
Did you get your unit thr resale? Any other units available tha you may have viewed but not keen?? cos i also helping a friend search....

ribena11

Hi AK,
Yes, my unit is thr resale.Well, i have viewed quite no of units. Understand that u r helping ur friend to look for 4rms unit, is quite tough. Most of them selling is for 5rms. I have actually waited 6mths...

U have to look out the paper every sat. If you want, i can give you the agent's contact who is specialised in this area.

aduhlene

Hi neighbours,

Let's do something fun.. How much was your Utilities Bill (ie, electrical and water bill) last month? State you are 4-room or 5-room.

aduh: 5-room: $58

ck_tan

Hi, hi. Looks like we're literally a new like on the block here. Will be progressively moving in to 112A after our wedding.

Quick question. Anyone tried those master all in one locks? The type that comes with a padlock for main gate, with another two locks for main timber door and letterbox, all opened with the same key? Does it fit our timber door at Depot Road?

aduhlene

tan cheng kwee,

welcome to depot road. yah, my parents used those all-in-one keys which is for the main door, the padlock and the letterbox. is customised by abloy. however there is a disadvantage to it. cos if someone in your family loses their key, the whole system has to be changed.

it is very convinient. cos you only briing 1 key around. i believe it does fit our depot road timber door, just that i think you have to fit a knob or blank lock on the bottom hole. (after you remove the default locks by HDB, there are 2 holes in the door.)

aduhlene

ah bui, do you turn on your aircon for long hours? our aircon in inverter and most of our lights are energy-saving lights. i guess it really does contribute. oh ya, and we dont use gas for cooking, we use electricity.

4 roomers - $ 100 - $130 (maximum), the cheapest bill is $85.00 when i fall sick... no air con in the night...

deathgodhorus

A warm welcome come to those who just moved in, aduh my bill is about S$130. Didnt on aircon daily, but i have a few lightings in my house that I never switch off.

Cheng Kwee, I know of someone who do this type of key for depot. He modified the original lock by HDB.

One more news, Botak jones opened a branch at the newly renovated coffeeshop (118).

Horus,
Oh is it ??? Botak Jones ...so do we have to wait 1 - 2 hours for his western food, like AMK branch ???? kee kee

Blk 118 is the coffeeshop which is near to the Indian Temple, right ??? The newly renovated coffeeshop, went this morning but no much stall are open yet.

ah_bui

mine 5 rm - aircon(non-inv) usually 8pm-8am . water heater whole day is on. lights only at nite before i sleep. onli 1 light is on til morning. by bills always so exp. called PUB to chk when i just moved in, but the lady say there definitely wont be anything wrong with the meter.

aduhlene

wah seh, how come you have 1 light on the whole night? the water heater actually you can just turn it on when you need it. it doesnt take much time to heat up.

aduh
Botak Jones is a stall tt sell very nice and big portion western food.

Was adv on the TV before, its 1st stall was in AMK ave 5, usually have to queue 1-2 hours for ur food.

Is operated by an ang moh.

aduhlene

oh i see..

anyway, my colleague came to me and asked for help. one of her friend's poodle was stolen from her home at Tiong Bahru.

michelwong.blogs.friendster.com/kino_friends/2007/03/toby_is_kidnapp.html

here is the blog with a picture of toby the poodle. please kindly pass the word on and help find toby!

happielee

There is a very yummy newly opened western food stall at the coffee shop next to the Zion road hawker=Fat Chefs...they used to be from F&B line. Was impressed by the taste n presentation n price!

Hmmm..find Botak Jones ok..as for another store called Blackboard,when we tried it,it was a disappointment.