Depot Road Flats

aduhlene

QUICK LOOK
Jennifer:103B,8th floor,reno to start in Sep
GeeWhiz:109A,13th floor.Still scouting around for contractor.
pitterpatter: 111A, 22nd floor
ade:111A,8th floor, tentatively getting keys 28th Oct
yknchell: 111B, 12th floor, reno to start in Sep
KT:111B,14th floor,not yet gotten keys too.
Horus:112A,3rd floor.Reno done.Staying in since Jun 05.
HAMTARO:112A,7th floor,starting reno in Sept
Slgerman:112A,14th floor,reno to start in Sep
A&A: 112A, 16th floor, reno started, completing in Oct
cacphin:112B,16th floor,ID not found yet

Hmm, looking from the list, i guess i am the only one who bought resale flat in Depot road, the rest of you are all new flat huh ...

pitterpatter

hi aduh,

yup, got my unit during balloting early this year, got my keys too....we got quite a good queue no. so decided to just GO for it! Hehe.
...but still taking our time for reno though....not so soon
...u getting your keys in October? Excited?

cocobun

hihi, my email is [email protected], pls add me to yahoo group.
i'm on the 8th floor, 109A
collected keys, busy looking for ID now...can't wait to move in hehe
juz a few questions on renovation..

i) did anyone hack the kitchen walls or/and the service balcony?
ii) based on our layout, the hall's pretty long and narrow,so did u guys manage to fit a L shape sofa?

happielee

Hi nihpcac (cacphin),
Would you please add me to the yahoo grp again? Cannot seem to get access, it says the invite has expired. Thanks!

rachdave

Hi Hamtaro
I'm on the 10th floor ... still not collected keys yet n hunting for a ID/contractor firm ... anyone has gd experience to recommend?

Hi nihpcac (cacphin)
Pls add me to the yahoo gp .. my email is [email protected]

hamtaro33

Hi Nihpcac

urm.. for my study, it is quite windy thus after some consideration, we decide to install ceiling fans,,, also quite expensive to have aircon everywhere..

deathgodhorus

Hi Elle,

Regarding hacking of the kitchen, we intend to do so but was told that we need to pay abt $600 to HDB to engage a Quality engineer to supervise the work, in the end we did not hack. Mine is a 4rm, shorter living room but we still got a L-shape sofa.

doggielover

Hi new neighbours! Welcome to depot rd

Rachdave,
I have just sent u the list..

I've just submitted my defect list yesterday and also requested for screeding to be done. Anyone applied for cement screeding to be done by HDB as well? any idea how long the rectification works and screeding will take?

Hi Hamtaro,
we are thinking of installing ceiling fans too. which brand did u get? I only know of KDK :p haven't done research on this yet..
did u put a partition to separate your study room from the living? We're in a dilemma now as to whether to get a 18000 btu unit or a more powerful one for the living since the depot units have such long living/dining n there's also the study which makes the whole area even bigger and may overwork the 18k btu..

doggielover

UPDATE

elle: 109A, 8th floor, searching for ID
KT: 111B,14th floor, ID not confirmed yet.
rachdave: 112A, 10th floor

hamtaro33

Hi KT

we are getting KDK, they are the most reliable by far..
As for aircon, it all depends on your house design and needs. It would be good that you bring your floor plan, explain your house design and needs to the aircon experts, they will advise you accordingly. in our case, we install one 24000 BTU for the living and the rest are split system.

cacphin

rachdave>you got mail.
hmm... why my blk got no neighbour one... sob sob..
horus> those ID that i talked to, they didn't say anything.. just that we need to apply or permit, that's all.. u need engineer only when u are doing something to the structural beams, (i thought), which is highlighted in black on your floor plan..

aduhlene

hmm..the cement screeding done by HDB only allows in the bedrooms is it? or can we request for the whole house?

deathgodhorus

Hi Cacphin,

This is one of the hidden cost that ID normally dun tell u. To hack the stiffener, u are required to engage an engineer from HDB and the amount is payable to HDB. if u do not remove that beam, it will be like there is a pillar in the centre of yr kitchen.

luce

Hi Nihpcac

You got me in the same block. internet down. so can't check mail and forum.

Defects list can be submitted anytime before reno starts. (not within 7 days).

HDB is still checking my defects. heehee. you guys have seen how bad it is after leaving it empty for couple of months. They don't have stock for the bathroom tiles at the moment. So have to wait for a week or so before tiles arrive. and there is no guarantee that tiles colour will match.

The afternoon sun will sometime affect bedroom 3 more rather than study. so you can either choose to build a sliding door at the entrance to study so that you can add aircon or just leave it as it is to enjoy the wind. or u can choose to install some protection film on the window to block out the sun

aduhlene

wah, i really hope they will not have stock then change everything or just simply hack all out for us. haha...really so ugly lor the tiles...sigh
why do they even bother doing it?

cacphin

thanks luce,... can't see ur add in the updated list.. too many pple..

the afternoon sun dun affect my bedroom 3 much.. is my study..

got a geomancer look at floor plan..
quite similar to what i want, except for colors..
but now got problem with my kitchen...
only know stove and sink cannot side by side sharing sme wall, cannot face each other but never know fridge also cannot face stove.. coz fridge belongs to water.. sigh.. sian... kitchen alreadi so small..
study also cannot put door coz too many doors affect health.. glass door also cannot.. sigh.. must brain storm very hard liao..
a lot of my kitchen tiles are hollow and my FH and i simply give up in knocking the toilet tiles... all sound different and can't differentiate the hollowness after some time...

doggielover

Hi Liz, hamtaro, thanks for addressing my queries

aduh, i think u can request for screeding to be done in living room too..
I didn't personally see the form but according to my FH, he says that there are boxes for u to tick to indicate which places require screeding..
Will u be using laminate/parquet flooring? for homogeneous flooring, screeding is not necessary..

aduhlene

hi KT,

thanks for the advise. For us, the bedrooms will all be laminated. and the living and balcony will have wood (those more rugged kind not really parquet) and dining will have those cement finish flooring. So obviously i need screeding for the whole house...haha
i think HDB will flip...Or they might just put, tick 2 of the boxes only...hahaha

geewhiz

Hi, elle! Real glad to see another neighbour at blk 109A! I'm getting a friend to help with the design....will prob start looking for contractor only after the design is done. Taking my own sweet time since my customary wedding is Oct 06 :p

lancez

Hi Nihpcac,
I'm staying at block 112B as well

Juz completed reno and finally touch up the house painting.

Hi Luce, have u confirm your ID already ?

damantou

newbie here.. going to collect keys in Nov. blk 112A (again), 15 floor (hello to my neighbours upstairs and downstairs!!!) had a nice time reading all your postings.
Please add me to the yahoo group as well?? will need a lot of help and advice in future!!!!

furzz

thks KT, gotten the list le.

hee, can update me in the ever-growing list of 'depotians'. Me staying in blk112b, and gonna start reno this week

cacphin

Hi Dawn,welcome,
can give me email address here or email me at [email protected] so that i can add u in.
Hi lancez>
dun recall u in our yahoo depot..
email address, i add u in..
Hi furzz, welcome,
which level u staying? me also 112b. Email address too.

aduhlene

wah so far only got me and pitterpatter in the same block. How sad..haha..what happened to the rest of the people in our block?

jaja

Aloz fellow neighbours! Another 112B-er here.
So glad to meet all of you even before shifting in!

Its been real great help reading through your contributions. Cheers!

My FH, me and our 2 doggies are looking forward to move in by end of the year!
Reno starting roughly in 3 weeks time... can't wait boy.

nihpcac > pls help to add us into the depot group email too: [email protected]

rachdave

Hi Hamtaro,
I'm still scouting around for ID,any to recommend? or more specifically I'm looking for a reliable contractor instead of ID to save cost....still hve some time cos not yet collected keys....

Hi Nihpcac,
Thanks for adding me to the list.

Hi KT,
Thanks for the defect list.

happielee

Hi Dawn,
Welcome! So you are the one who got the 15th floor unit
,ur WIS number must be a few numbers before us la cos it was not taken til a few before our turn. My FH and I were wondering who got it cos we were eyeing either 16 (super lucky A&A got it),15 or 14th floor unit:p

Hi Rachdave,
If u r looking for contractor,Ho Bee's pricing is quite ok.

damantou

Hi slgerman, thanks!
guess its becos i was very kiasu and rushed down to HDB hub once i see the HDB email to get a queue number.... haha...

its funni that 14,15 and 16 floor of 112A are all gathered here

we should get to know each other better... next time can borrow sugar, soya sauce etc *grin*

aduhlene

sigh...now we're going to embark on our tedious journey of searching for MR. Right ID.
hopefully things will be fruitful for us.

doggielover

dawn, dl & jaja, warm welcome!

any more 111b neighbours out there? YK n Chell, have u started ur reno yet?

Finally, after much searching & deliberating, I've confirmed my ID

Just called the branch office today & it's confirmed that my defects rectification plus cement screeding will only done by early oct! argh..was hoping to start reno in sept but guess now it has to be pushed back

aduh, good luck with ur search! which few are u thinking of approaching?

doggielover

LATEST UPDATE

elle: 109A, 8th floor, searching for ID
KT: 111B,14th floor, reno to start in Oct
rachdave: 112A, 10th floor
DL: 112A, 15th floor
lancez: 112B, completed reno
luce: 112B
jaja: 112B

aduhlene

sigh, i have a very long list of 31 IDs. I think I will call 1 by 1 and maybe stop at 10, meet them already then if no good then meet the next 10 lor.

yknchell

KT,
Which ID you going for???
Me havent started on my reno yet.... There are still some items pending HDB approval.. such as hacking of internal walls... so right now not much can be done....
kao_cry.gif
Plus HDB will only be attending to my defect list next week... so Mr Contractor says to start with the lightings & wiring first lo.. targetting next week also....
Hopefully can complete reno by Nov la.... me want to move into my love nest before our 1st anniversary lo...

happielee

Hi DL,
Yeah man,all 14-16th flr neighbours here!So next time can call and say "Heh got oil or not,just put into a basket and tie to a string and lower/bring it down/up." Haha macham kampong folks!

Hi Aduh,
You r a superwoman man,31 IDs:p The highest record of IDs my friends went to is 10!And after repeating their requirements after some many times,they also get confused already.P More imptly,certain IDs are strong in certain look n feel so dun bother going to those who dun get your concept. Hope it helps.)

aduhlene

haha...slgerman, i think i will only shortlist like 10 to go to liao. But I have like 1 or 2 in mind that hamtaro and luce has greatly recommend.

no worries, i am going to like put all my requirements in pdf. the ID dun understand then ask me...hahah

cacphin

Jaja> you got mail.

For newbies, do login yahoo and update the list of address inside the database... if not, i might have to "delete" you for being "dormant" for so long..
of coz, there's other valid reasons but not very nice to say here. Hope you all not offended.

btw, i had written some IDs in the yahoo inbox..

Horus> you are rite about the hacking. I asked one ID yesterday and he said is the norm for engineer to earn $$. Price range from $400 to $600.