Depot Road Flats

cacphin

ffbear> hopefully can be nicely done.. coz my id is more towards zen and i wanna english style..
so when he advise us, we dun know when to take and not to take coz scare it is too zenly..
sigh.. worse.. heard from geomancer that becoz
our house face south-east, a lot of colors need to be avoided.. specific colors for each room.. so dun be surprised to see disco colors in my house..
Slger> aircon settled. mit sys 3, non invertor for mbr, study and bedroom 2. cost $2000 at gain.
jennifer> urs is cheap!
anyway, hopefully mine can be done by end dec..

So, any house visits for viewing recently??

aduhlene

nihpcac i think most important is that your ID and your style must be on the same frequency. If not there is a possibility that your deco will not result in what you want. Cos whatever you visualise in your mind might be 180° different from your ID. if he insists on his style, I think you should consider someone else. Not necessarily cheapest is the best deal.

hamtaro33

nihpac... agreed with Aduh wise words....
no point to go with ID who does not translate your ideas into reality.. then it is not your desired home.....

Jennifer - just curious.. is your house layout the same ours... how much did you pay for the 4 room? / 5 room?

happielee

Hi Jennifer,
Wow!$16.5 on reno is not bad a deal at all considering you have some carpentry and whole kitchen done up.Does that budget also include any flooring works?

Hi Nihpcac,
Aduh is right,or else you will not be glad with the look when u move in.I suggest you take a look at some country style deco mags n show to him.There is this little shop at Park Mall basement tat sells country style home decor items,nice boss-u may wanna check it out.
I may have some country style mags,if you are interested,PM me your unit i slot into your mail box la.

Hamtaro,
How is your reno coming along?

ffbear

Hi, Nihpcac,
if u think the ID ideas not somethg tat u like, reconsider again prior to undertaking the designs... belive in ur own taste & likings.. cos u r the one stayin in the unit not the ID.. my 2 cents worth...

hamtaro33

Hi Slgerman

My reno is about 60% complete... now doing all the fixings and carpetary.... hopefully be able to stay in sometime from December....

Hey, hamtaro
I think the layout is abt the same. I had went to the showflat in depot road. Mine is 4-rm with 100sq. I paid $293K for the resale flat.

Hey slgerman, the reno cost do include flooring work.

Hey Nihpcac,
Aduh is right,u shld tell ur ID your choice and he would give suggestion according to your wanted desire house.

Or else you will not be happy or U will regret later.

aduhlene

today going to look at my flat with the ID. seriously, i look at my place and didnt see anything to rectify. How come got such a long list to check for rectification one? hahahaha...

cacphin

thanks pple for ur advice, my ID is fine.. coz he seldom or never did english/country style b4, he himself also a bit restricted to give ideas..
we wanted him coz his worksmanship is good..
kekeke.. dun think got any other ids can ta-han my ideas too..
one theme per room.. got scolded b4.. hehehe..
anyway, those colors i gave him is also towards zen.. coz i wanted earthly feeling but yet classy and simple.. very contradicting ideas...
slger> thanks! PM u liao.. went those park mall shops, really expensive..

ffbear

Hi, nihpcac,
share with u somethg... I chose my ID oso cos his workmanship + service is good... we did our own research... I wanted a very bright kitchen concept, but my ID / contractor oso mayb seldom come across such weird ideas... but we communicated with him re. wat we mean by bright... he is accomodatin & try to follow.. in the end, we got wat we wanted.. so, juz try to monitor & reseach more loh, tat may help...

Hi aduh

Sorry for the late reply !
My kitchen cost $2,400.00
Was a 24ftl top & bottom solid ply wood w ABS Trimming kitchen cabinet using Laminated finishing inc. stainless stell double tier dish rack, 2 pcs. Frosted glass panel & designer handles for kitchen cabinet (Per ft run $100).

happielee

Hi Jennifer,
Nice of u to open ur hse in end Nov,would love to see your place

Hi Aduh,
The defects depends on the state of ur flat lor,we also did not have a lot of defects just some hollow tiles,wall cracks,rusty door knobs and scratched window panes. Have fun checking.

cacphin

aduh> some of us got more problems after their checks.. abt 2 weeks later... got a big crack in my MBR.. they just use any paint to touch up.. sigh..
anyway, heard from structural engin friend that the cracks are evident, the whole building needs 3- 5 yrs to settle down without any pple in the building renovating.. the expansion lines are worse in our block.. in 111A, is not a lot, but 112b is too much.. he was complaining when we brought him up to see the cracks etc..

aduhlene

oh i see...anyway nihpcac, i checked and in all I have about 19 hollow tiles in my kitchen and my service balcony. we're thinking of asking them to remove and just do cement screeding for us.

wah, window scratch also can rectify. ok. i'm super blur, I also never check much. pretty ok with the state of my flat now. how come i see more problems at the 112a/b flat? has it got to do wth the ground? well, structural cracks shouldn't really happen in the middle of the wall, cos all the different rooms are fabricated in the factory then brought there to fix in one. Not sure also. I'm absolutely guessing on my part. haha..

anyway see how, cos I dunno if HDB will agree on doing cement screeding. or use my tiles. Sigh, cos i want to lower the kerb from the kitchen to the service balcony too... have to discuss with my ID and see what is the most i can do out of it.

aduhlene

where are all the old birds of this forum? haha...tancy, horus why all disappear? dun disappear cos all 5-roomers here leh.

debliss

my ID is planning to handover our flat soon, but cant to find many things for rectification. do we really have to knock on every tile to check for hollow tiles? can anyone share their defects list pls? [email protected]

thanks very much!

debliss

oh really? sorry, i blurr.. i didnt have any defect list for hdb tho.. left it all to my ID.. guess its too late now, haha! thanks aduh!

aduhlene

hee...anyway now i have something new to learn. is true that need to check before the ID handover. now got more to think about. my HDB rectification also not yet do. hahaha..

Hi aduh (aduhlene) ,

I am also not so sure.
Think one of our depot neighour created the Yahoo PM, do you mind to give me your email, i will write to you.

aduhlene

hey hey...count me in too!! my yahoo mailbox is exploding. I prefer to use gmail instead, but what to do the yahoo have to use yahoo mail one. so sometimes i never check. well post here also good mah.

sorry lately i found out how to use the emoticons. hahaha..

cocobun

Hi Jennifer,

I saw ur message on getting Four Star mattress. hmm wat model huh? soft or hard kind? how much does th mattress cost?

thinking of getting also cos my fren's mum can get 50% off for me

Hi elle,

I forgot the model. Was a joint promotion between Novena and Four Star.
The bed is Hard.
The mattress & diven cost abt $1.6K

Dear aduh & Hamtaro,

Can both of you give me your email add ? I will write the invitation to you emailbox

ffbear

Hi, Jennifer,
Thanks for the gracious invitation... but, got a wedding to attend on tat day, so cant make it..
kao_cry.gif

hope u can upload pics for me to see, please?

aduhlene

sigh sigh.. i got to help my hubby out at sitex so cannot go liao. anyway must take photo to let me see.

how much was your overall renovation ah?

hamtaro33

Hey hey jennifer

so sorry,,, I cannot make it on that day.
my flat will be ready by then... the Id is going to hand over the flat to us... Maybe next gathering...

Dear depot neighbours,
It is ok if you cant make it on that day.
I will try to post the pic online ASAP.

Can anyone RVSP latest by friday? So that i can prepare some drinks.

cacphin

slger>hehehe.. ID damn fast.. no choice.. flooring done, electrical wiring done.. left laminate flooring and carpentry.. but hor.. lights now he said no need so fast.. urggh.. ran round balestier like siao.. anyway, still left with 1 lamp.. sob sob.. no stock.. have to re-search again..

for all> btw, when u go buy lights, though the shops may claim to give energy-saving, make sure u ask for the brand.. else give u any tom,dick and harry china brand.. we forgot to ask for the first shop.. so a lesson learnt.. sigh..
for those who wants to see my unfurnished place, me will be there today and tomorrow in the afternoon..

hamtaro33

hey all....
any ideas where I can get nice floor lamps or lights...

House will be ready in soon.... Will keep posted of invitation...........

cacphin

hamtaro> try lights arcade at balestier.. just say recommended by sporebride, got better discounts... designs may be limited if u are fussy as me.. the other is chan huat, also cheap and nice..
never go into some shops e*** lu***(forgot name), ah ya.. go see other threads where pple say dangerous..
some advise there too..

hamtaro33

hey gals..

thanks for the info.....
will comb around balestier...

Nihcpac> think I know what shop you are referring to... read in the tread....