Darwin, Australia

jojok

Anyone been to Darwin? Kindly share some travel tips like places to visit, travelling via public transport or self-drive, good food, accommodation?

I will be going there first time end of Feb.

och

hi, i'm planning to visit darwin in june too. will be very thankful if anyone can share info with me.

jojok

Hi, came back fm Darwin trip which is a great disappointment.
1. Berry Spring - close
2. Howard Spring - infested with parasites so you can't swim
3. Litchfield Park - Florence fall - remember to bring swim suits if you plan to swim, nice. Wangi fall - supposed to be very nice & could swim but infested with crocodiles. The other can't recall what waterfall, very small & nothing much.
4. Cullen Bay - nice food & ok beach but can't swim as infested with box jelly.
5. Shops closes very early
6. Visit the casino - ok, can't compare to the one in Melbourne
7. Fish feeding - very expensive but no other interesting place to visit.
8. Visit the weekends market in the morning, you will realise quite a number of Thai people around.
Did not visit the crocodile farm but tried croco meat, pretty tough for me.
Very cheap alcohol, nice food like pizza & pasta along Mitchel road. Generally, food is very expensive comparing with Melbourne/Tasmania/Brisbane/Gold Coast.
Did not want to be disappointed thus did not drive up to Katherine though had thought of seeing the gorge & waterfall there.
Weather was very hot & tiring for a ONLY driver (female).
Fortunately, I paid a good rate & with the intention to stamp my passport due to my Aussie PR visa, otherwise, will never go there again.

niuniu

Oh no! I'm going there in late Apr. Managed to get the foc tigerair tickets but taxes & surcharges comes to about S$250/pax. Is that place really so quiet w/o much activites? Which hotel did you stay in? We are looking at Novotel Atrium or Saville Park Suites.

jojok

Hi NiuNiu,
I paid $285 per pax for air-ticket + taxes.
Novetel & Saville & just almost next to each other, on the same stretch, exterior looks good; near to a beach which is NOT attractive at all. Looks good.
We only went for the basic accommodation since only night time sleeping, so did not opt for any of both hotels.

Perhaps if you have time to drive all the way to Alice Spring, it could be better, which I am not certain.

I could only share with you on those places I visited.

och

hi jojok,

may i know how u visited litchfield park? was it by rental car or local tours or ...? i'm contemplating spending a few days in darwin n katherine, then going to alice springs n uluru. will appreciate any advice u can give.

jojok

Hi Och,

I drovve to Litchfield park. You can also drive down to Katherine & Alice Spring if you are spending more time in Aussie. I was there for just 3 full days. My initial purpose was not so much on the trip but to make my first entry upon getting aussie PR. Nevertheless, its a good exposure but I will never visit Darwin again. Tasmania & Queensland is a much better & relatively cheaper state.

niuniu

Oh dear, seems like it's going to be a wasted trip for us already. Then we'll just relax during the trip lor. Spend some leisure time at the city centre or at the beach (which is nothing fantastic). We tried to schedule some time at Alice Springs & Uluru but don't think we can. Going by domestic flights are more expensive than flying SIN-DRW-SIN! So we dropped the idea. Sigh! Next time better do enough research before going for foc tickets...
kao_sad2.gif

och

thanks jojok for the info. which car rental agency did u use?

hi niuniu, hv u considered taking the ghan? it's cheaper than domestic flights n faster than driving all the way. fr alice springs, i think it's possible to take a 1-day tour to uluru.

melodie

niuniu

i still can't decide where to go with the free tixs...

fr the looks of it, Darwin is nt such a great place to visit hor?

mabbe will stick to krabi or phuket

och

hi niuniu,
the ghan is a train that goes fr darwin to adelaide. http://www.gsr.com.au/our-trains/the-ghan/the-journey.php. it stops at katherine n alice springs enroute. http://www.gsr.com.au/pdf/fares-timetables/Fares&TT_Ghan0607.pdf. i was hoping to catch the train to visit both katherine n alice springs. the sleeper cabins r ridiculously expensive (might as well take the plane), but the seats r affordable. i'm still hoping to find a way to get discounted seats leh. so if u get lobangs, let me know yah.

can give u the info i hv here. there's not much.
i dun hv any itin yet, haven't done enough research.

uluru and back in a day tour:
http://www.travelntasia.com/tmp_article_details.asp?action=article&ID=42570
http://www.northaustraliaholidays.com/index.cfm?attributes.fuseaction=MainFrame&id=Accommodation

both the travel agencies hv a lot more tours that u can check out. just for reference, a round trip on greyhound will cost abt A$145 or so already.

btw, i'm not recommending these tour companies or anything, i got them fr a brochure that i picked up fr the natas nt booth n by surfing to the nt tourist webpage. no idea how good the tours r, but they look tiring. might be more worthwhile to do a 2 day tour that includes kings canyon.

i flipped through a few guidebooks n these all claim that greyhound also organises short tours fr alice springs. i still haven't found details of greyhound tours online yet.

fr what jojok described, think i won't bother staying in darwin for too long. will probably spend most of my time in litchfield, then move to the outback.

jojok

Hi Och,
I booked my car fm budget. There is avis/hertz/advance... at the airport. You could check it out. The car was in pretty good condition with cruz drive mode, CD player.

Go with an open mind, you may perhaps enjoy the place which I did not enjoy since I made comparisons with Tas & Queensland.

anushka

hi, i liked darwin/northern territory for the aboriginal art/culture, warm weather, parks & wildlife. the food was really good at this one restaurant modern australia/fusion asian in town. just a pity about the lack of shopping. will def return to do some camping and visit The Rock!

debbieng

hi all, i m going to darwin during end Dec 06 till early jan 07 & have 10 days there... i m at a lost after reading the scary reviews.... we also plan to travel from darwin to ayers rock.... any recommendation how we shd plan our trip? any one can recommend cheap & good lodging, tours, car rental & itinery??

hi och, how's ur trip & experience in darwin & the places that u plan to go? can share with me as we are also planning something similar like urs... u can email me at [email protected] thank u!! :D

hi little livid, glad to hear u like NT. can share more details abt ur trip? we going there for honeymoon so we hope to get some advice to plan our trip.... u can email me at [email protected] thank u!! :D

bluemanta88

I went to Darwin in June and here is a summary of what I did.

Day 1: Slack in Darwin
Day 2: Drove to Kakadu National Park. Overnight at KNP.
Day 3: Kakadu National Park. Overnight KNP.
Day 4: Drove to Katherine Gorge. Overnight KG.
Day 5: Canoed Katherine Gorge. Overnight KG.
Day 6: Drove to Litchfield National Park. Overnight LNP.
Day 7: Drove back to Darwin. Overnight Darwin city.
Day 8: Slack in Darwin, drove to airport to return rented car and flew home.

Some tips:
1. Went on Tiger Airways. Remember to reach airport earlier when flying home. Check in ava 3 hours before flight departs.

2. Be careful when driving in Darwin City. Guidebook mentions no speed limit is only outside the city which is true. Inside the city, the aussie cops are everywhere. I got a A$110 fine, posted all the way back to S'pore for exceeding by 11km/hr. Suay.

bluemanta88

Oh by the way, while in Kakdau National Park, remember to join Kakadu Animal Tracks for their aboriginal tour of their cattleranch.

A great example of ecotourism trip, with very knowledgable guides. Mine was Greg (aussie naturalist) and Patsy (aborigine). Max 16 pax.

E-mail the owners in advance to book. Just provide them with cc number. http://www.animaltracks.com.au/

End day at a breathtaking billabong, purple and red sunset, aussie tea with a croc and buffalo bbq and freshly made bread. Watch Kites (bird) swopping down to be fed. What else can you ask for?

Bring mosquito repellant, they surface during the evening when you are done with your BBQ to collect payment for human intrusion.