Curtains

adview

Anyone knows which curtain rail system is the best. If I am not wrong the most common one is the aluminium rail type. But removing the curtain for washing and reinstalling the curtian seems to be very time consuming. Any other better systems?

faithe

My curtain juzz delivered today, but i was not satisfied, the salesman didnt told me that my LR curtain will have joinings...meaning LR will have 2 pcs, left and right,but each pcs is not a single cloth, but rather is joined by 2 pcs of clothes, i paid 1050 for LR,MBR and BR2, does it deserve this quality?Or is it normal that nowadays due to the length of the cloth thus it has joinings?Pls enlighten me...thanks! Also, i dont know why my curtain has got so much crease..am i cheated?I am really angry with the stupid sales man!he is a hardsell man...really regret get from him..

johan_wang

hi faithe pls don't feel regret, maybe this is your first time,take it as good experience. maybe he lack on explanation and maybe u lack of question, so this thing will happen. most probably fabrics come with 2 sizes. 140cm and 300 cm width. for 140 cm width fabrics most probably for night curtain we need to join panel by panel because width of the fabrics not enough for our height of the window but for 300cm width most probably for day curtain, width of the fabrics is good enough for our height of windows so no join needed.

i don't know my explanation is good enough he

be happy ... Smile

happy new year for all

c_stradale

like to recommend a curtain guy to all here.had my few unit done by him when i was still an agt doing rentals previously ...he is currently doing my 3rm flat as well...malaysian guy and pretty honest i would say..no harm getting a quotation from him.john 93365052 ...recommended by kenneth

maple_leaves

would like to check with u that will it be possible for a Malaysia Curtain Shop is JB to charge 2 sets of nite curtain(only Living room and its just normal cloth only) + 1 set of Organz @ SGD $750?

Thats the price tat we r being quoted and I tink we r being cheated..

By the way, my window is those full length type with 3m in length and abt 2.5m in height....

cjs

I got a quotation from the curtain shop at Suntec exhibition:
3 sets of roller blinds for 3 bedrooms
1 set of day+nite curtains for the living room

In the range of S$1150 ~ 1250. Do you think the pricing is reasonable? Pls advise! Looking at the stuff from ikea, it makes curtains so expensive!

yeet7

I also met up with my curtain guy today and this is my quote:
1 set of day+nite full-length curtain for Living room
1 full length nite curtain for MBR
1 set nite curtain for another set of windows in MBR
2 sets of nite curtains in Guest Room (With very wide huge windows)
1 set roller blinds and nite curtain (full length) for study room
1 set roller blinds for toilet
Frosting on windows given to us FOC as we are not doing for many.

Most of the fabric we chose are polyester and some with rayon.

For all the above (inclusive of all the track, rod etc), he quoted us $2100. Wondering if this is too much?

cringe

I been to Furniture Mall recently and was quoted by one of the shops the below.

a) Day (organza type) + Night Curtain for Living Hall(4-panel windows)
b) Night Curtain for Masterbedroom (2-panel windows)
c) Night Curtain for Studyroom (2-panel windows)
d) Night Curtain for Guest room (3-panel windows)

All for $900 with sewing, labour and GST included. The designs available are fine to our standards i.e. not those fanciful ones like the shop in Plaza Singapura.

Will like to hear if this is a good deal before we proceed. Got only 5 days more before July comes.

oldman

Went to Mega Curtain and Trading (Toa Payoh)....
after which i have only one word for their service ...Lousy....

Definitely not the friendly type of service you would expect....but then again....i remind myself this..... Toa Payoh neighbourhood shop mah....what u expect....top class service meh ??? Should have known better!

gauchie

I had my curtains made from 'Art Living' in The Furniture Mall. They have very wide and nice selections of curtains, roman blinds etc. Very satisfied with the curtains.

blessedger

HIhi,

below is a picture of my living room full length curtain..i have gotten the contact from my col. This person has a wide range of materials.

504815.jpg

We spent ard 1.3k for the whole house (Roman blinds for all 3 bedrooms (master bedroom has a small window, so total 4 roman blinds) + Full height day and night curtain for living room)

Find his price quite reasonable. They do not have a shop, husband and wife work from home. Anyone who is interested may drop me a mail at [email protected]

Jaslyn

ekardo

anyone knows if I need to get Curtain up during renovation, or it can be done after the moving in ???

running out of budget to do curtain now..

curtain RODS to be up during renvoation so that contractors can install them for you.
curtains can be purchase after your renvo (no hurry). when your renvo is completed, and furniture moved in, then you slowly decide which kind of curtains that blends well with renvo and furniture.

my dear, if you put curtains during renvo--- your contractor will not wan to do that for you since its highly likely they will dirty it...they wun take such risk.

ekardo,
you can get nice ready made curtains from Ikea, carrfour, giant, OG etc. do not custom make ur curtains if u r running in budget.

they are able to fit in to any standard 2 panels windows of HDB. unless you stay in condo, then u need to custom make unless it happended to fall under the same dimension as HDB panels
dimension of curtains is 140 x 320 (full length) or 140 x 170 (half length). --- someone correct me if I am wrong, not sure the exact length but 140cm is confirm correct.

ekardo

but I cannot decide on the type of curtain for the house yet...

I have already prepare curtain holes for putting the curtains rods..

maybe I go drop by some curtains shop to get some quote..

hi ekardo,
wat u mean you cannot dicide on type of curtains? as in roman shades, curtains, drapes???

curtains are accessorries and should be done towards the end of the renvoation.

wats ur budget?

ekardo

I need the following;
A) full height for living room (4 window)
B) full height for balcony (2 large sliding door)
C) roman blind for MBR (2 small window)
D) roller blind for Study room (4 window)

I see an average pricing of around $1k..
i am looking for a much cheaper pricing...

cutie_gal

Hi ekardo,

Curtains can be done in a cheap way depending on the material u choose and whether u opt for the 2 layers (day & night) or 1 layer way of doing. But cheaper material might shrink alot when u wash and hence u ain't able to use bk, and end up got to tailor another set. N also from what I kn, roman blind is rather costly, veri troublesome to dismantle and wash.
Hope it helps.

haruko

Hi Ekardo,
I think 1k is possible. U don't have to get the rods first. The curtain person will bao mountain & sea for u. Cloth, rod, installation all in. I did mine, 1 full ht day & night for living room (4 panels), 2 sets of night curtains for MBR & BR2 (2 panels/room). 1 set of roman blind (4 panels!!). Everything for just $950. I really like it very much. Makes the house look so cosy.
I heard that those rods at Ikea will sag after a while. My colleague's house uses Ikea's pole and it is no longer 1 straight pole. :p

Ekardo, u know our previous thread about Red Apple disappeared!?! Jolyl wrote in to the moderator to ask why!!! I suspect Red Apple found out about our thread & got the moderator to delete it away. Cos it disappeared just after I called the sales staff & told them I heard from my friends that their furniture got delayed for 2 mths! I didn't tell her my friend is from the forum of course. But really puzzling! U going down to IMM this weekend? Keep us updated of the progress k? Jolyl started another thread to continue with our discussion.

ekardo

went to E curtain (factory for Osaka and a few other shops)..

was quoted $1040 for the following
A) full height for living room (4 window)
B) full height for balcony (2 large sliding door)
C) roman blind for MBR (2 small window)
D) roller blind for Study room (4 window)

not exactly cheap I think..

anyway, I ended up getting only A and B...and quoted $400 with Track.
the other rooms do later when I have budget..

haruko

oic. Then your MBR how? Is roller blind hard to maintain? Not very expensive right? I think the roman blind is the expensive one...

cutie_gal

Haruko

I heard from my curtain shop that is easy to dismantle for washing, the difficult part is putting it bk together. On top is held tog by a kind of velco, nt that adviseable to keep removing it, cos it won't be sticky aft sometime then more prob arises.

haruko

Ekardo, the full height for living room is day & night curtain? If it's not, then it's a bit costly.
Btw, I couldn't add replies to the reno talk discussion. So I'm back at S'pore brides to discuss at our old thread. Hope it doesn't get deleted again.

ekardo

only night curtain...
but I heard that the shop I went to is one of the cheapest liao leh.

also, MBR window is a bit far from my bed, so can do without curtain for now...treat it as free show for others lor..

ppbbxhz

i was quoted $950 for my 4rm flat curtain.
Living Room - Day & Night
MBR - Night
BR1 - Night
BR2 - Night

All full height curtains. Is it a reasonable price? The guy says he is recommended by ppl on the forum. He is located at new estate carpark. His company name is Kwee Heng Curtain Furnishing. Is it advisable to get from him?

meemohsah

has anyone used J&S from Tg Katong complex before? Their fabric seems quite nice, but I find their pricing very high.

Was quoted $3.3k for LivingRm, MBR, 2BRs, all full length, all with day/nite curtains and extra lining. Price includes wooden rods and aluminium tracks. Is this considered way too ex for a HDB 4-rm flat?

violetmelody

Hi XHZ, may i know wat are the dimensions of your windows? My windows are rather big as mine is a resale 4A corridor unit.. my curtain guy quoted me $1300 for
Living Room- Night Full height
MBR- Day & Night Half height
BR 1 and BR 2 - Night Half height

shinydew

After reading thru' the discussion here, I went to MGL today to do my curtains as it's very near my place.

Living Room - Day & Night - 3.4m (L) by 2.9m (H)
MBR - Night - 2.8m (L) by 2.9m (H)

Because we're renting out the apartment, the sales guy Andrew recommended us material that he says are for apartments that are for renting, as the material is cheaper yet of reasonable quality. And true enough, the material seems pretty okie and we managed to find something we like amongst those he recommended. He quoted us $660, but we managed to bargain it down to $580. Even though it's a little too late for regrets now, but still I'm just wondering if it's a good deal for the above?

toontoon

Hi, anyone heard of Estil Furnishing @ Chai Chee Industrial Area? Called them up. Price seemed pretty reasonable. Thanks.

niq

Hi, I just had a pretty bad experience with the curtain guy that we've engaged. (Alan Tan - 90277399 from Suntec Curtain Interior Furnishing)
The designs and quality of his curtains are not too bad but their service after they have obtained much of the payment from you leaves much to be desired.
When we discussed, they promised to clean up after themselves. However, on the day they came, they said they'll only clear the smaller debris as they work, we still have to clean up after them. Fine, then one of the length for our roller curtain was wrong, and he blamed on our wall angle. The 2 roller curtains for 2 of our rooms had some defects and had to be removed and replaced on Sunday. So now our house looks funny with half of my house with curtain, half without.
The earliest timing he has was Sunday. We actually planned to have our housewarming on that Sat so we told him that if there's an earlier slot, please fit us in. He was still quite nice and say he will try. Then it was down to collection of payment. He collected most of it and will collect the little balance when they return on Sunday to put up the rest.
But we didn't hear from him, so my hubby called today to check if he can do it earlier and my hubby was shocked by his defensive & non-commital attitude. It was so different from our earlier encounter.
His tone was defensive and even said we were unreasonable when all we did was to ask for alternate dates before Sunday. So we asked what's the earliest date and he said Sunday anytime.
So my already frustrated hubby was like, "Fine, 10.00am can?"
And the curtain guy said, "10am too early, 11am lah. Got traffic jam." My hubby was so angry, why will there be a jam on Sunday morning?
But what to do, we don't want to antagonise him. What if he doesn't do a good job for us on Sunday? And we have almost paid the full sum, and it's not that cheap. it's close to S$1700 for:
1. Day & night Curtain for living room
2. Roller curtains for balcony + 4 bedrooms

So just a caution to watch out for this guy. If you want to engage him, that's fine coz his designs are nice. But don't give full payment untill you are truly satisfied.

riei

jimmy textile at tanjong katong complex is pretty good and the prices are competitive...my personal experience

contactandy

hi yt

can share whast u bought from there jimmy textile ?
Do u use roller blind for yr flat ?
looking for roller blinds.....

10s

ace14

if u buy from jimmy, please ask mr kong to install for u. neat and good work. very patient to explain the pros and cons.... upz!

de_princess

Anyone heard or used Allure Concept Furnishing? Was recommended but have not seen or read any threads on them.

Wats the avg quotation for just
1)day& night curtains
3) Roller blinds for 3 bedrooms?

Tks!

sun7

hi de princess, i am currently renovating my ex now in sembawang and had recently got quotation from two shop. for whole house for black out curtain and was being quoted approx. S$1200 to S$1300/-.

millh

Hi Sun

wat's black out curtain? You mean the night curtain?

For your price, I'm getting
Day & Night for Living & Dining windows total about 11 window panes
3 bedrooms Night Curtain
1 Extra full height curtain to cover toilet door (feng shui issue)

Fabric from Turkey
Include installation of tracks
The guy has been doing for the past 15 yrs le.

sun7

black out curtain can block from the sun for 100% (use in all hotels).

have to use black out curtain cause my house will have sun during 5-7pm.

which company you using for your curtain, can have his contact as i have not confirm any yet??

sun7

hi hl,

black out curtain can block from the sun for 100% (use in all hotels).

have to use black out curtain cause my house will have sun during 5-7pm.

which company you using for your curtain, can have his contact as i have not confirm any yet??

millh

OOh mine is around 75 - 80% block on sunlight. Maybe yours will costs more then.

I PMed you the contact

de_princess

Tks sun!
I will not recommend Allure C...very bad service & irresponsible. he was late for appt and left without even telling us as we had another supplier at our place. Still told us he will wait downstairs but after waiting for 20mins and calling him so many times then he replied... am frankly disgusted with this kind of service coz he told us we are not sincere with doing biz with him. I mean hello who is the one that was so irresponsible? I have decided to use another contact fr my fren which I think is more experienced and provide better service.

angel_77

Im looking for curtain for my living room, n all bedrooms. Any recommendation fr any of u? I visit 1 curtain shop b4 at IMM when they r having promo, the uncle say if my sun is not hot and sunlight didnt shoot in in the living room, no need do night curtain, cos our window have the tinted shade, people oso cant really see thru. He say normally full height clear window then encourage to do D & N curtain, normal window no need can save $, bedroom curtain must be thick, prevent people to see thru when slp slp. Is that true?

I think the man refer to this type of curtain ba...
552077.jpg

caton

I wish to find out the cost of the curtain, there are 2 types of curtain installation. 1 is using the track and the other is using the round hook or ilet as the person told me. ILet types are more expensive and they have to be dry cleaned? It is true?