Curtains! Curtains!

steff

My fren did her place with the company I recommended. She only paid abt $800. It included

2 full length nite curtains with tracks
4 full length panels of roman blinds (organza kind)
1 half length curtain for dining window.

Another one is doing her 5-room flat for about $500. It includes her master bedroom/children's room/living room. All full length curtains.

Call or check it out at www.miragebf.com.

yamiyogurt

hi pple...

i did mine with jimmy textile based on the forum reccomendation. i m very satisfied with their service. the workmanship/service is great

Mine is four room flat, did tab top curtains. total cost 700 SGD including the wooden rods n installation.

so far i received good comments for my curtains. so thanks to those who posted jimmy textile contact here !

enternity

Hi Yami

May i know whether you did full length curtain for your whole house..

I went to Jimmy Textile over the weekend and gotten the following quotation for about $1,200.. do u gals think that it is reasonable?

- Vertical blind (full height)for living room (4 std HDB window)
- Vertical blind (NOT full height) for common corridor bedroom (3 windows)
- roman blinds for another 2 bedrooms.. (4 windows and 3 windows respectively.)

Need advice...

How can i know whether the material given is good.. e.g. where are the material from etc..? Really know nothing about curtain .. heheh

yamiyogurt

hi Enternity,

i onli did full length for living room (3 panels)
the rest are 3/4 length -- dining, 3 bedroom

talk to lucas, u prob can negotiate prices a little. for mine they gave me a very very wide selection of material to choose from. so i was spoilt for choice. have to comments that the workmanship is good.

i find ur quote reasonable, cos i think roman n vertical blinds usually more ex than the normal type.

u can always call up a few to compare prices
u can ask Lucas (from jimmy textile) what kind of material he giving u...n how much these material cost per metre. (mine was ard $18 per metre type...) but again i did the normal tab top curtains so type of material might differ from your :p

sysa

Hi Enternity,

Interested in getting another quote? Leave me your email add and I will pm you.

I am one of Steff's friend who did with Mirage. Since yours are mostly verticle blinds, may be quoted cheaper. No harm trying to get quotes from another company

enternity

Hihii yami

Sorry for the delay reply cos my PC broke down...

Thks for your information.. i will go and look for Lucas.

tulip94

hi ladies who have done up your curtain via Jimmy textiles or The Golden Leaf, could you post some of your curtain pics here? Thanks.

blessed

hi Tulip,

have u decided on Jimmy textiles or The Golden Leaf? I m looking at these 2 as well. Initially was sure wanted to use Jimmy textile... but somehow, when i talk to Lucas, he sounds disinterested

tulip94

Hi blessed
i got from Jimmy Textiles already, didnt visit The Golden Leaf. Lucas served me and i think he was okay. his guys wil install the curtains on this sun. i can update you the workmanship later. cross my fingers now first..hee..

anyway, i think there are 2 more lady staff there. perhaps you can look for them if you dont like lucas's attitude? personally, i think he is okay. hope this helps. :)

blessed

hi tulip,

thanks for ur prompt reply. I tot Lucas was quite nice the first time i went down. but subsequently his attitude change leh. I wonder is it coz i keep calling him up n change this n that. I asked for wallpaper quotation from him as well.. but waited for more then 1 mth, called afew times also cant get the quotation. I heard alot of pp like Lucas, wonder is it i too troublesome, so he fed up with me haha

blessed

Hi tulip,

in the end still got my curtains fr jimmy textile, coz they gave the lowest quotation. now abit headache wat to choose. decided on living room n bedrm 1&2 but MBR still scratching head.

can u share type of curtains and wat fabric u chose?

tulip94

i have day and nite (organza type) for living room and roller blind for bedrooms. their installation guys are friendly too...good luck..

leigoss, suggest u visit their shop..they will show u many samples..tell them ur color preference then they might be able to make some good recommendations and also save u the time from browsing thr the vast no. of samples they have..

lobster

Hi, I am new to this forum. I have heard that there are private seamstresses who would sew and make entire sets of curtains for a competitive price. They would come up to your house and do all the measurements and at the same time let you choose the cloth samples. Does anyone here know any contacts?

I am also toying with the option of going into JB to get my curtains done up but I have no contacts too.

Has anyone here did the above two? Thanks! I have read quite a bit abt Jimmy Textiles here. Is he that good?

yamiyogurt

i used jimmy textile too. Lucas served me and i tot he was rather friendly. not the extreme giordano-friendly type but nice enuff. he is more like the quite type hence maybe he may not seem enthusiastic enuff sometimes...

workmanship is good and they delive on time. eveything from measurment to installation is as per scheduled - no delays.

So i m pleased with them. I got jimmy textile's contact from tis forum so i m continuing to share the info hee :p

cottoncandy

jimmy textile just came to install my curtains and roller blinds this morning..and i have to say that their service and workmanship is great!

the guys even set and tie the day and nite curtains for my living room nicely..hehe..dunno how they did it..coz after tat when i untie and try to do it myself...it is not as nicely done as before..

lobster

Thanks anyway for all the info. We got our curtains from Tampines Spotlight at a grand total of $495.00 for Pencil pleated curtains. 3 bedrooms, living and one small single pane window. Material is the sunblock kind. Not too bad. We got the curtain tracks installed from the contractor at IKEA. Everything come up to&00 odd. Will be installing 8th jan 05, this weekend. Will keep you people posted on the service.

Thanks for all the help.

chrysanne12

Jimmy texiles is quoting me $1,040 for the following, I'm not sure whether it is a good deal:

1)full length night curtain for my dining area
2) full length night curtain for hall
3) roller blinds for my 3 rooms (complete blackout ones)
4) curtain tracks

pl advise whether this is ok.

Tks

yuan

My quote from Jimmy textile

1)Full length day and night curtain for sitting room.
2)Full length organza day and black out curtain for master bedroom.
3)Full length day and night for daughter's room.
4)full length venetian blind for study.
5)roller blinds for maid's room.

All for $3660.

winnedy

Does anyone knows where to get those kind of "string" curtains? I saw them at those Home and Decor exhibition. They usually use them as a "partition".

aku79

i saw it at OM at liang court.
its 1.5m width for $200++++ plus installation another $80 i think
thinking of whether to get them or not...tempted
i got the contact taken down too...think its the manufacturer - 62858469 M n L furishing

ani other info u get...do email me!

wilest

.. and count me in too

im interested in gettin string curtain, any affordable and good place pls recommend wor tq

cwong

think that one can get from bangkok leh. heard from my friends they are selling it there. locally, it must be sold overprice.

another place to find the string curtain is molecules at great world city.

shers83

Hi Steve,

I bought from blindsgallery. hv warranty. http://www.blindsgallery.com.sg/warranty.html

It costs me $1.3k to hv day curtain in my living, venetian blind at dining, roller blinds in 2 bedrooms & roman blinds in mbr.

Service is good & friendly too. if u're interested, i can email u pics but maybe hv to wait few days cos juz finish reno...

stevy

Hi Shers,

How much does urs cost per feet? I think we source from the same company. I couldn't remember the company name. Mine cost about $8 per feet.

So you are also trying to finish your reno before CNY? Hopefully I am able to shift in by Tue. Will share pics with you then!

shers83

Hi Steve,

ic... tink my blinds abt $8 per feet. curtains abt $21... dun remember...

yeah... my reno done left some minor defects. Will move in b4 cny.

ok thanks. My addy is [email protected]

when u doing ur curtains? my curtains alrdy installed. will share pics w u after i upload...

jhoo

Do you all get the staff down to your home to take measurement or u will take the measurement and let them do up the quot?

shers83

Hi Steve,

tat's great. u engage robin to install also?

Hi jhoo,

u can bring ur floor plan to e shop & ask them to quote u...

shers83

Hi Steve,

tat's great. i'm happy with their service too. do u mind me asking how much u pay?

i do day curtain for my living, venetain blinds for dining, 2 roller blinds & 1 roman blinds for mbr... paid 1.3k