Current job market - having hard time getting a new job

march03

Is the job market getting better? If so, I am still unable to find one yet for the past 8 months. I have been sending applications almost everyday and receiving call from agencies before they
send my resume to potential employers. Not a single interview…… even I am willing to have pay cut. I am stuck in between…..want to move up (apply more senior position – Asst Manager etc) but most
employers think I am not yet fully qualified - don’t have degree. Want to ‘move’ down but most employers think that I am too good for them.

Currently, I am employed with rather good salary but I am still sourcing for a better prospect elsewhere.I am used to be workaholic and a pioneer staff with my ex-employer. Due to politics issues and
back stabbing by a newly staff, I resigned without a job. I have a pay cut of 15% to join my current employer and I didn’t really rest well before returning back the workforce.

A month ago, I got a job offer but I turn it down due to a too huge pay cut 40% which unable to substain my current financial commitments.

For the past weeks, I am pondering whether to resign without a job again. I am thinking to rest well (and do some part time jobs) and to think what I want to do and what I want.
My current employment rather pull me down and giving me some depressions. I don’t feel like going to work and feeling rather wasting my time going to work.
I am feeling rather down and lost.

The reasons:
1) feel rather being ‘cheat’ to joined as my direct boss paint a nice picture of my career prospect and giving me false image that company financial is strong
2) basically I worked 2 - 4 hrs per day for a 8 hrs workday (low project activities) …….. getting salary to kill files in office. When I am alone in office, I have been surfing the internet until nothing to surf and play Face book till I get bored.
3) have to pretend to be busy. (rather stress when my HQ CEO came to Singapore). Company financial status is not very stable and pay contractors / suppliers very late
4) receiving salary and expenses claims late – for all staff
5) don’t like culture and the way how the management handle things – no directions from management
6) rather a small company with no lunch kaki

Any advices?

the market is really good now. Hard to get resumes for openings. Perhaps, its dependent on which sector you are in. Ever thought of switching careers?

I killed many flies in my previous job till I cannot tahan too

Also, You can try to spend time upgrading yourself while using the job to sustain your income.

getting paid to kill flies is awesome lah.

think before you leap.

what industry are you from?

what do you like to do?

I always tell friends not to think along industry, but rather to think along job scope, eg meeting people, building bridges, building relationships, team player, project-based, set policies, motivate ppl, train/teach, think out of box, special task force, solitary job, etc.

For eg, you want lunch kaki then that means you want colleagues, you want colleagues means inevitably will have politics.

So think properly what you want. What seems exciting on one hand will have adverse consequences on the other to bear. What seems boring and dreary will have low-risk effects as well.

bedok, I killed plenty of flies 7 yrs ago during the sars period. All project budget frozen, so everyone balonglong and only maintain systems, do minor inhouse enhancements, chat, take long breaks. I took the opportunity to bodybuild during lunch and run in the evening every workday.

Basically, if the biz is bad, there will be nothing to do.

wah that's awesome Milo.

but to pass time wait for 6pm to come and having nothing to do before that also quite painful. Haha.

I am 37 married w/o children. Money is not the primary issues as long I can substain my current living expenses. (parents, insurance, household etc) Is the motivation and job statisfaction I am looking for.

Feeling quite stress when there is nothing much to do. Pretending........as I not a good actor and company too small for me to hide.

Currently and previously, I am in the Marine Offshore Sector (that's why pay is good) and been in Engineering industry for many years too. I am strong in adminstration and secretarial. Besides working, I am attending night class and visiting gym for workout twice in a week. It is the 8 working hours killing me.

I ever went to the CDAC for career consulting before. The Career Consultant have corrected and improved my resume.

I suspect due to age and too experienced factor that makes my job hunting so difficult.

hi march, yah... I understand your concern. Like you, when I was looking for a new job, most told me that I was too experienced.

But don't give up. Keep trying. Don't jump into another pot hole. Take time to find that job fit. I spent 7 yrs in my current job and still enjoying. Lots of opportunities, job rotations, reorganization once every 6 mths to 1 yr. Global experience etc. Everything is great here except the money is not sexy. :p So, I need to negotiate and review with my boss every now and then to push for more.

And talk to friends. When companies look for more senior experienced posts, I believe they do tend to prefer some reliable references.

Sometimes I wonder how can people be bored? There are so many things happening in this world. How can I be bored unless one is on an isolated island .

People complaining about being bored most probably will complain about too much work if they are dumped with stuff.

If you are bored, find stuff to do. Don't tell me that is nothing for you to learn. Even walking around and knowing people is doing something. If you are the passive type and just sit on your chair. you can also surf. Tell me that the WWW is boring is too amazing... you give me 24 hours a day I also cannot stop surfing.

I am also not asking you to surf to pass time.. you can even learn something online..

If you don't like your job then be active looking for one. Don't be half-hearted. Look for job as if you are out of job and no money to pay your bills.

Singaporeans.... too much work also complain.. chasing after flies also complain..

It is your life. You make it what you want to be.

March,

Maybe you can try not mentioning yr last drawn, play games at work.

I used to kill flies at work and I told my boss about me drawing pay but not contributing anything. Sometimes I walk around and do paper work for other colleagues, make coffee, go pantry chit chat with aunty, go shopping. >,<

bored at work but haven't found a better job? Maybe you are not trying hard enough! If you work 2-4 hours a day in the 8 hours of work, you basically have 4-6 hours to learn something, and to find new jobs! Say you take 2 hours to surf for jobs daily, you have 2-4 hours to type out CV and cover letters...you can apply for at least 10 jobs per day...are you doing that?

If not, do you know why you can't find new jobs and is stuck in the middle? It is my experience that people who are hiring are looking for someone to value-add to their company and work, meaning, they are looking for someone who knows or is interested in the company, and has elements to contribute. Before you apply for any job, you need to research on the company and the position. If you are lacking in the areas they are looking at, go and upgrade yourself! Learn the trade! Pick up tips and information online! Package your cover letter and CV so that you seemed the ideal solution to their problems. If you just sit at your table and complain you are bored, how in the world are people going to find you as an asset that they will like to acquire?

at 37 n with your current mindset, i wanna inform u that if u want a chance at getting anywhere near to what fulfuills your criteria, then u start looking at yourself first.

u had it easy for the salary portion, especially your headstart, unfortunately u have gone to the level where u stopped blaming yourself for career choices, thus u're always looking at 3rd parties, parties other than yourself - to sorta pin the fault on.

if u have alot of time, u can only use that time to improve yourself... how can u even think that it's not your fault?

u dun seem to know what u want, and worse - u seem to think that there is something out there for u, without even trying hard enough. a large number of happy successful pple would know how to manage their time, often wishing they had more...

time to chart your route...

Besides 2 -4 hrs working, the rest of my office time is to search for jobs. How many new job openings you can find in a day????? There a few job searchs - Jobstreet, JobsDB, Monster, JobCentral, Headhunt ..... most of the organization post the same position in 2 -3 job search.

It's not every new openings is meant for me to apply, I have to be selective and apply those which I can fit in.

As I have mentioned, office activities is damn low. How to find things to do or even helping your collegue when their expertise is in technical terms or to perform technical audit?

In what ways to show that I am not improving or upgrading myself? I even get myself a Certified Service Professional Certificate recently which is not my industry. I have more than 3 Diploma's and other certificates. Do I need to specified out??

You cant expect me to do my study or my personal things when my boss or colleague is in right?

i can fully understand the act busy thingy.
somemore small co, no pp to talk to, so will be lagi sianz.

consider joining the property wagon?
seems like many pp jump in lah cos govt say hot hot hot!
or sell insurance? based on ur age, ur frenz shld be all good target. lol.
jy jy jy!