Crowne Plaza Hotel, Changi Airport

yawnzzz

>princess, i went to take a look at the ballroom before and the couple had their solemnisation at the pool before the dinner. the timber deck area is pretty narrow, so it looks like quite a tight space for the guests. but it also depends on where u place the table setting. well if you are not having many people then that's quite ok. but there were also the hotel guests using the pool there and sun-tanning. feel a bit weird lor... like not very private. if you have your own sound system will be good, cos over the 5 min i was standing there, keep hearing the planes sounds. perhaps u will have to shout "i do!"

princess_girl

Thanks LING. By the way, how do you manage to see it? Bcose according to the hotel manager, outsider has no access to that area.

Daleth, you no need to worry. CP has their own appointed florist for the hotel but I am not sure if you can engage your own florist. You have to check with CP.

Yes, CP is one of the participating hotels for the upcoming BOWS 2009. Probably I will be going, not confirmed yet. Have you talk to any of the CP manager?

I believe they can help you on your enquiry and provide you some pictures. So you are intending to take up weddding banquet in CP or ROM packages?

princess_girl

Hi LING,

Not sure if you still can recall, how is the setting like for the ROM that you have seen? I meant the floral decoration, setting of the chairs and tables? Pls advise. Thanks for sharing.

yawnzzz

Hi Princess,
I just stood at one side near the lobby area to look-see-look-see lor. It's still considered public area I think cos even the hotel guests were lazing there at the deck chairs. Maybe just not allowed to venture to the bridal set-up area. Can't remember the details, the set-up seems okay i guess?? But won't you be able to decide how you wanna set up the area?

awhimsicaljen

hey LING, just wondering if you managed to take any pics of the pool set up for the solemnization? was it nice? cos i had booked the pool for the same purpose too..

So far, i've only seen the actual set up of the ballroom itself for the dinner and i must say i'm not very impressed by the stage set-up! it's just too simple i guess. what do u gals think? any ideas to spice the deco up a little??

And the march-in seems a little too short too if you decide to have a landscape layout if you get what i mean...

awhimsicaljen

oh and i just took part of my wedding shoot at CP the other day and really, kudos to my sales manager, Jesmi for being so nice and accomodating to bring us around.

I'm pretty satisfied with CP's service so far and I strongly recommend Jesmi if you're considering CP and looking for someone to approach!

daleth

Hi Princess,
. Actually, my FW & I have in mind some outside florist which I quite like their works. Nvm, we're going down for the BOWS this sun to take a look. Hopefully, got chance to speak to the person in charge regarding this.

I have yet spoken to any of the CP managers. Do you have one that you can recommend that I can speak to?

We are planning to go for the banquet... cos near airport then after banquet. Immediately, fly off for honeymoon... Juz kidding, I think my FW and I will be so tired by the time, the banquet is over... hahaha...

princess_girl

Daleth, since you are going to BOWS 2009 this coming weekend, I think you can approach any of the CP manager for enquiry.

If I am not wrong, actually their wedding packages provide floral decoration during wedding banquet. If you were to engage third party, then it will be at your own expense.

And also, if you are going to engage third party florist to the hotel, bcose the location is at Changi Airport, the security there is very tight. There is kind of special arrangement that the hotel needs to inform the airport security, so that can go in to the hotel.

By the way, have you sign up for the wedding bouquet in CP? Just for your info that, CP only provide complimentary car park for 10% of your confirmed guests.

Personally my FH and I was not very happy abt it. We stay there for a night but CP did not provide us any complimentary parking for inhouse guest. We still find that there is still kind of restriction here and there for CP. This is just for sharing, no obligation.

Maybe you can list down what you would like to ask before going down to BOWS.

greentwinkle12

just signed up the wedding banquet with CP at BOWS 2009. =))
only 10% complimentary parking. thats the max they can give.

As for florist, they will engage florist to decorate according to the selected theme, which is inclusive in the package. Rest of the complimentary items are quite standard.

We actually have spoke with the wedding coordinator in Nov 08.. went to view ballroom etc.. love the place! so went down and sign contract with him today

yawnzzz

I didn't take any photos that day. Completely forgot I had a camera in my bag. Perhaps you can speak to the CP manager to arrange for a visit if there are any weddings. I think it should be ok one lah. Just go earlier than the wedding to take a look...

yawnzzz

Jen,
I also agree that the floral decoration and stage set up is... erm... quite average. A little disappointed initially. By the way, that green green backdrop thing is at their BOWS display
you can check it out. But then again since the ballroom is already quite strong in the design, think it's best to just keep the decorations simple too..... if not everything will look very busy.

I've also firm up the date with CP today. Looking forward!

greentwinkle12

yup, they allow viewing of ballroom deco prior to wedding events. Just go earlier to take a look. Just need to ask the wedding coordinator to inform you.

My CP manager did inform us of the dates of wedding in Dec 08, so that we can go down and view the ballroom.

yawnzzz

Just some thoughts on the ballroom layout... If I'm not wrong, the landscape layout will fit 28 tables and portrait layout will fit 26 tables max. I attended another hotel's banquet recently with a landscape layout and find that the guests on both sides will lose attention as they can't see the stage clearly and also can't get to see the couple when they march in....so maybe a portrait layout is better. but at least CP has 2 projector screens, so that helps a bit.

greentwinkle12

i think for CP, my view is that it's better to take the portrait layout so that the bride n grown can match in with longer aisle.. landscape the distant to the stage is quite short.. less grand..

daleth

Went to the BOWS 2009, got some of my questions answered some of them are still pending to be answered.

My FW and I didn't sign up straight as some of the questions we felt it's impt to know before we commit ourselves to the hotel.

Yes, it is comfirmed that 10% complimentary carpark for guests. Only the bridal car will be fully paid by the hotel.

We felt that the decor of CP is rather average. We can engage our own florist at our own expenses.

If you are using ur own florist, you need to give the florist name, car plate no, their personal details at least one wk before the wk so that they can park at their loading bay.

As for the layout, the landscape can fit 28 tables but there will be 6 tables(3 on the right, and 3 on the left that will be next the the center stage. Thus, your guests might be looking at either the side view or back view of the couple when toasting or pouring the champange. Just to take note. I think 25 - 26 tables will be gd for landscape. I dun want my guests to see my back view, kind of werid. Especially the right side of the center stage.

As for the the portrait layout, if 26 tables it will be rather cramped when you march into the ballroom so personally i think 24 tables will be ideal for the couple to walk in with apt space.

I will update more when we have our pending enquires answered.

daleth

Sorry gals, typo error..

If you are using ur own florist, you need to give the florist name, car plate no, their personal details <u>at least one wk before the wedding</u> so that they can park their vehicle at loading bay.

zel

Hi EVERYONE!! i'm back.. ^.^
been really busy with work n travelling ard.. hardly squeeze time out to read any threads here =(
been months since i last login!

thanks Daleth for updating =)
So Daleth, when is ur AD?
and which are the venue that u're considering?

hmmm.. seems quiet from gLaDz, fea and pea esp.

daleth

Hi zel,

You're welcome... My AD is tentatively 30th Jan 2010 but still need to check my both side parents whether they are fine with the date.

Contributing my inputs since I'm consider CP but they have not got back to my enquiries... haiz.

Busy these two weeks. Going to give them a call next wk.

-------------------------------------------------
Thanks Jen.

The ROM decor looks nice...

penguinna

hi zel...u r back ! long time nvr hear from you le...

haha, been lazy la....after settling on the banquet, photoshoot stuffs, i m taking a breather... now waiting to choose my gowns and for photoshoot lo.......

im concern with the complimentary parking issue..but i will get in touch with them nearer to my wedding date ba .......

take care!

princess_girl

Daleth, that's fast... you have already started to make booking for yr2010 wedding banquet. I will be having my ROM in Feb'09 in CP.... now counting down to less than 1 month... looking forward to this day...

My FH and I are planning our customary in yr 2010 but have not go and approach any shifu to choose the date for us yet... Did you do any research on other hotels? All already open for booking for yr 2010 wedding banquet?

Can share your research?

As the economic is very bad this yr, my FH said that maybe we can still wait for a while to see if the price of the wedding banquet will drop or not..

daleth

Hi princess,

Not yet... trying to plan ahead coz my FW and I very busy... plus this year alot of our peers getting married and we were roped in to help them either to take care of the catering or be jie mei.

All the best for your ROM

So far only research for a few hotels. Holiday Inn Atrium, CP and M hotel is open for yr 2010 booking.

Not sure if they will dropped the price. CP and Holiday Inn is increasing for 2010.

mailon

Quite like CP as it is new and the ballroom is quite nice. 5 star hotel under Intercontinental group. Not sure how guests will react to this wedding venue though.

Anyone had their dinner there, can post some feedback from their guests?

katexu

don't mean to dampen the mood here.
but here's my own personal opinion abt this hotel banquet

had attended a wedding dinner
i didn't like the food. ballroom is indeed different from other hotels, but no wedding feel.
friends of my table felt the same too.

juz my opinion, as it could be subjective

sean_ng

I have the following items for sale from my wedding last Friday.
All items are brand new and only bought few days before my actual day.
Please send me an email at seanngyl@gmail for more details.

1) Martell VSOP, 70cl, duty paid, 8 bottles, $70 each

2) Berri Estates Cabernet Sauvignon, 75cl, duty paid, 22 bottles, $18 each

noknok

I had my food tasting last thur. I quite like their food leh.. Service by the restaurant staff is quite ok too.

greentwinkle12

Hi all BTBs

for those signed up with CP, will there be any physical contract &amp; info that they will get back to us after we have place the deposit?

What i have currently is the form which we filled up to pay deposit.. that's all. Never hear from them since..

Hope to get advices! TIA! =))

peaberry

Hi ladies, I'm looking at CP for my wedding lunch too and was wondering what the deposit amount is? Would appreciate if any CP BTB could clue me in on this! PM is fine if you prefer not to disclose the amount on the forum.
Thanks much!

yawnzzz

Hi greentwinkle: There will be a contract detailing all the terms, which they sent to us via email. Check with them if they haven't send to you.

Hi Peaberry: Not sure if deposit for dinner is the same as lunch, but we paid $3K for dinner deposit.

awhimsicaljen

i'm an april 09 BTB and one of the earliest ones to have the dinner at CP i think!

btw im just wondering if there are any couples lurking here who had their dinner at CP over and done with? cos i would really love to hear about your after thoughts abt CP and share with us so that we BTBs can all prep ourselves before our respective big days at CP!! anyone??

zel

hi fea..
i'm back again.. hahahaaa!!

the complimentary parking? thought they are offering 10% of cfmed guest?

zel

hi Jen =)
yah think u're the earliest in this forum to hold ur dinner in CP.
u haven had ur food tasting yet?

penguinna

hi zel...

yes, my coordinator confirm to me about the 10% parking coupons when i ask her for the table layout...she told me she intended to inform me when she call for invitation card printing

zel

hi fea..

Din u bargain for more from her? :p
Mayb another 5% more?
So, is it free for bridal car as well? or it's included in the 10%?

Invitation card.. niceeeee..
can take few pics of it? :p

btw, how's the printing like?
Printing excluded or included?

awhimsicaljen

hey zel,

i just went down t dragon the other day for the printing! not much designs to choose from but at least the ones available are nice, simple and contemporary! and printing is excluded!

penguinna

hi zel...

i haven't seen the cards yet..heheh..... maybe i will discuss more with her when we meet up...mine is in Oct 09...so still have a bit of time.....

the bridal cars slots x 2 are already given, even before they implement the 10% parking coupons thingy.......

printing is excluded, if i rem correctly, which is the same to most hotels, i gues..... they provide cards and we find suppliers to print the inserts.......

zel

Hi Jen..

T.Dragon?? Is this a shop whereby they sell wedding invitaion cards only?
sorry.. not very sure abt this T.Dragon.

zel

fea..

there is hotel offering free printing as well.. can't rem which liao.
or mayb those r restaurants? hmm.. really can't remember le =p

so excited for u leh.. the planning part of the wedding is fun yet headache, hahaa!

zljoan

hello...I was just wondering if anyone has taken up CP's lunch banquet or if you've any experiences to share on hosting the banquet itself?

My mind is starting to go around in circles on having to make a decision on my banquet venue! :s

avelinekoh

Hi all, i have to share my experience and should be blessing in disguise.. I attended the wedding show in CP last year.. my hubby and I love that place.. and wanna to book... but we decided to put on hold 1st since our wedding is 2yrs later.. then last week i attended a wedding in cp.. of cos i read reviews on their food and services in forum before i went.. but i wanna to experience myself before any judgement...
However, the reviews here speak all....
Food: the food is average...

Banquet captain: I was there pretty early..the banquet captain was screaming at his staffs in front of guests which we feel that the approach was wrong..

Services: Server was sighing aside our table. The server did not refill our drinks.. Only when we asked for. The server still served food that was dropped onto table from the plate...

Overall: I dun think they are up to it yet.. they still have lotsa of room for improvement... but ppl, you may not be as unlucky as me to experience these.. Try to be open with our reviews here before making judgement...

princess_girl

Hihi everyone,

I have not been in this tread since very long due to my busy shedule.. and I have read alot of inputs recently..

My solenmization at CP last month had already over. My hubby and I together with our guests had a great time in CP that day. The whole event is a very cozy and very successful.
The preparation for the whole event started as early as the day before because we did drop by the hotel the day before our solenmization to bring in some of our things. We are told by the hotel manager that the room has already been reserved for us and arranged
nicely. On the actual day of solenmization, we had a early check-in to the hotel and was escorted by the hotel staff to our rooms. we had requested our rooms to be in runway view and the room is nice and well kept. As our solemnization was held at the poolside, the weather was cloudy and it started to drizzle abt 3hrs bfore our event start. And we got a called from the hotel manager that the place was already set-up and had to moved in to indoor if it continues to rain. But fortunately, the sky turned clear and we could continue to have our ceremony there.. After the ceremony, we had our food at the function room. The food and drinks were served very promptly. My guests did comment that the hotel service is good and the food is nice.

Overall the whole event was very successful with the help of the hotel manager and her team. We felt so pampered to hold our solenmization ceremony at CP. CP did give us and our guests a memorable time there.

My hubby and I sincerely thank for their excellent service and thoughts that they have provided us. We will definitely consider to have our wedding banquet in CP next year.