Cooking Recipes as promised

bit_bit

Same to you!

dee2

Thanks winnie !

can I ask you what is "egg wash"? is it egg white, egg yolk or one full egg? I saw a recipe in Her World on making calamari and it says to dip the flour coated squids in "egg wash". I had used a full beaten egg, but dont know why my breadcrumbs still disintegrate when i fry the squids. so sad...

pooh_ger

Hi Dee2
Yes egg wash is egg white!

Hi Kelly,
I still pop by here! But not as often as wat i used to be cos busy working & preparing AD! So long neber hav a chance to gather liao! Btw, my ROM fotos are ready liao! But Yow Siang haben giv me the CD yet so can't email u gals the foto yet! So how's is BB & U?

keruri

hi <font color="119911">winnie</font>,
bb and myself are both good. she's growing well. thanks for your birthday ecard!
i went back to work this week so haven't got time to check back here often yet. let me know if u need any help with your AD preparation!
can't wait to see your ROM pics. hee..

vi_vi

dee2,

egg wash usually means whole egg that is beaten up. Dun beat too much if not the sticky consistancy of the egg will be destroyed.

2 reasons why breadcrumbs will falling off:

1) when you overbeat the egg and it becomes too watery
2) when you squid is wet.

To overcome point 2, you can press the squid between sheets of kitchen paper to absorb the moisture or u can coat the squid with corn flour before dipping in the egg wash.

vi_vi

Let me share this very simple to do and won't go wrong recipe.

Mayo oven bake Chicken
All you need is to marinate chicken parts, mayo (the Jap kind is sweeter and nicer), salt, pepepr and sambal chilli sauce (optional) overnight.

Next day, grill in oven on 180 degrees for 25 mins at middle rack.

That is all. It is very tasty and you can even add herbs to the marinate if you like.

Try it someday.

dee2

thanks winnie &amp; meow meow

tried both egg white only and whole beaten egg. but still has falling crumbs. now that you say, maybe my egg has been too watery and i didnt squeeze dry the squids. thanks for the tips !

happy_mummy

hi lala... am very keen in ur recipe.. can u email to

hi winnie... i wld like to have a copy of ur oso coz my oven can do alots of wonder... a dough maker, oven, toaster , cake maker n oso bread maker ...i just input all the ingredients before the nite n next morning i got a loaf of bread already...

pooh_ger

Hi tootie,
Ur email addy is not rite, all the mails bounced back to me! If u wish to have a copy of my recipe pls gimme a yahoo addy as hotmail is too small for my recipe!

Tks