Cooking Recipes as promised

trihok

Thanks Carol, will try ur wonderful soup.

Hi, girls, will like to recommend this healthy soup to ur...Papaya fish soup

Ingredients:
1 papaya - 900g
1 fish - 450g
(can be any fish but of cos must b fresh)
peanut - 38g
ginger - 2 slices
water (suitable amt)

Method:
1) Peel and remove seeds from papaya. cut into big pieces.
2) Remove skin and gut the fish (whole fish) or if is fillet, slices the fish.
3)Heat oil and add oil. put in ginger slicers and fry the fish until both sides turn light brown. pour in water and bring to the boil. put in papaya and peanuts. cook for 1 hour. seson with salt.

**for my, i used the lazy method, which is:
I fried the fillet fish till light brown and i throw everything (Fish, peanut, papaya, ginger)all in the slow cooker and cook for 3 hour.

mmm....it is a delicious & healthy soup. Hope ur can try.

Happy cooking

carol

Hi Trihok:
Thanks for your recipe on papaya fish soup.
I must try it this weekend.

Please share with us if you have other recipes on healthy soup.

Thanks & Regards:
carol

angph38

i've got some cocktail list whh i compiled from some cocktail subscription. if anyone is interested, juz lemme noe...

carol

Hi Monica:
You mentioned about some spicy recipes last night in the chatroom.
I've a recipes here on Japanese Spicy Tuna Roll.

Ingredients:
4 cups sushi rice *rice and sweet vinegar mixture
4 sheets of nori (dried seaweed)
1 tbsp sesame seed
1/2 pound fresh raw tuna
1 tbsp mayonnaise
1/2 tsp togarashi (Japanese hot pepper)

Method:
1. Chop tuna and mix with mayonnaise and togarashi.
2. Put a nori sheet on top of a bamboo mat (makisu).
3. Spread the sushi rice on top of the nori sheet.
4. Sprinkle sesame seed on top of the sushi rice.
5. Place the tuna mixture lengthwise on the rice.
Roll up the bamboo mat, pressing forward to shape the sushi into a cylinder.
Press the bamboo mat firmly and remove it from the sushi.
Cut the rolled sushi into bite-sized pieces.

Hey, I have some more spicy recipes, let me compile them & I'll email to you.

ENJOY!

Regards:
carol

kelly

Makes me drool jus looking at all the wonderful recipes here, anyone knows how to make yam cakes?

I'm not sure if that's what u call it, the type of steamed white kway with sliced chinese mushroom, dried shrimps, chinese sausages(lap-chiong).... Think it's quite simple to make, fry the ingredients then steam with the flour mixture but don't know what kinda flour to use...:-(

carol

Hi kelly:
You are right, that's call yam cake(yu tou guo)
It also one of my favourite local snacks.
The flour use is Topioca flour.
I have the recipe with me, If you need it, I can email to you.

Regards:
carol

kelly

Hi Carol,

Thanks for the recipe! Wow! I'm really impressed, u must be a very good cook, got so many wonderful recipes!

Will definitely try out the one u gave me.

V

vee kee

Hi Carol!

I would really love to have a copy of your receipes! The romantic dinner for 2 and if you have, your compilation of Chinese Dian Xin or Chinese food....

Hi Sunny!

Could I also have your receipes pleaszzzeee???

Thanks a million!

carol

Hi kelly:
No lah...
I'm not a good cook, I just Love cooking.
I love to cook all kinds of food: spicy, chinese, western, french, italian, japanese....

Kelly, do you like to make pastry or cakes?

I love to, learning how to make Tiramisu, I better master it within this year, otherwise I got to be very busy next year for my wedding.

Hope you enjoy making the yam cakes.

Regards:
carol

carol

Hi vee kee:
I'll email you the recipes: Romantic Dinner For Two(part1) tonight.
Meanwhile, I'm still compiling on the chinese pastry recipes. I'll email that to once it's done.

hehehe...

regards:
carol

angph38

wow carol,

u definitely hv a lot of wonderful recipes. can i hv the yam cake one? is the tiramisu difficult to make? i love that, but it seems so complicated to do myself. simly lazy...

carol

Hi angph38:
I've sent out the recipe on yam cake to you.
As for the Tiramisu, Hmnnnn...
I've not tried doing it yet, still studying on the recipe.

I'll try out one of this day, sure can lah....

HAPPY COOKING!

Regards:
carol

kelly

Hi Carol,

I don't bake cakes or pastries, I'm still quite new to the kitchen so learning the simplier things first.

U at advanced stage already, I still beginning to beginner...ke...ke...(Have fun compiling your new recipes, for our benefit also...)

Can I hv your recipes for "Romantic Dinner for two"...? I know I very troublesome hor, but what to do... want to "tie hubby's heart through his stomach". Thanks in advance...

Next time u can consider printing a recipe book. See u got so many supporters at this site already..

carol

Hi kelly:
Thanks for your compliment, but I'm no expert lah, also in the learning process.
let's share & learn from each other...

No. problem, I'll sent you the recipes tonight once get home..

Yah, really thought of writing my own recipe book or even opening my own restaurant.

Day Dreaming....

While in the meantime, also learning some christmas recipe like Christmas Log Cake.
Aiyo, so many recipe to try out..
me so greedy....

Regards:
carol

trihok

Hi Carol, can i have the Romantic dnr for 2 receipt as well? by the way, do u know any website which i can view their receipt?

carol

Hi Trihok:
No problem, I'll sent you the recipes tonight.

What kind of recipes are you looking for?

Regards:
carol

carol

Hi all:
Anyone like to drink bubble Tea, especially those with pearls?

Woh, simply love it.
Now we can buy our own ingredients & start making them at home.

Regards:
carol

monica

Just tried making this Herbal Drunken Prawn yesterday. Not bad leh. And very easy. I used the lazy method lah.

- 2 can of Chicken & Scallop Broth
- 1/2 KG of Live tiger prawns
- 1/2 cup of Whiskey or Shao Xing Jiu (Chinese Rice wine)
- 1 teaspoon of soya sauce
- 2 tablespoon of Gei Jee.
- 5 pieces of thinly sliced Dang Gwai

Marinate the live prawns with whiskey and soya sauce. Cover the bowl. Leave it to soak for 10minutes or so.
Boil the 2 cans of soup. Add one Gong of water. Add alittle salt if you want it more salty. When soup is hot put in the gei jee and dang gwai. Cook on slow fire for 15 minutes. Then turn up the fire so that it is boiling. Dump the prawns and the whiskey it was soaking in into the pot.
Cook until all prawns red. Takes bout 10 minutes... You can serve the prawns with soup. The soup is pretty delicious too.

Chilli sauce.

- 10 chilli Padi
- 5 big chilli
- 1 garlic clove
- 1/2 teaspoon of salt
- juice from 2 lime
- (Optional) lime rind

Blend all above ingredients
Serve with soya sauce/fish sauce/ little bit of stock.

: P~~~~~~ It was yummy.

carol

Hi Monica:
Woh, what a wonderful recipe, thanks.
Sounds good, must taste good too.

yummy.....

Thankssss...

Regards:
carol

francoise

wah seh, you gals are something
i love cooking too. hey maybe next time can have pot-lite already since we have so many good cooks here??

Hi Carol, both hubby and i love bubble tea with pearls. but how can we buy the ingredients huh??

carol

Hi Francoise:
Great idea! I really love that, maybe we can have it at Monica's place?

Hey, another bubble tea lover, I bought the ingredients at (Phoon Huat & co), they are specialies in all kinds of ingrendients for cakes, cookies, kueh, desserts...

They have a few outlet:
- sambawang MRT station
- Ang Mo Kio
- Hougang

I've been making the tea myself...

Regards:
carol

carol

Hi Monica:
Sure I'll sent you all the recipes on Spicy cooking, but still compiling, meanwhile, let me share with with one of them.
(An easy recipe but spicy & delicious)

Stir Fried Spicy Prawns:
Ingredients:
-500g large prawns (slit along the back of
unshelled prawns to de-vein, trim off whiskers)
- 1 pcs ginger, minced
- 3 cloves garlic, minced
- 1 stalk spring onion, chopped
- 3 tbsp cooking oil
(seasoning sauce): blend together
- 1 tbsp tomato sauce
- 1 tbsp chilli sauce
- 1 tbsp oyster sauce
- 2 tbsp freshly grated pineapple
- 1 1/2 tsp cornflour
- 2 tsp sugar
- 1/2 cup water

Method:
1. Heat oil in wok, add prawns & fry over high heat for 2 mins on each side or untill done. arrange neatly on a platter.
2. With remaining oil. add minced ginger & garlic, brown lightly. Pour in sauce & stir to thicken.
3. Pour sauce over prawns.
4. Granish with chopped spring onion & serve hot.

Monica, try this & let me know if you like it.

HAPPY COOKING!

Regards:
carol

cynthia

Hi Monicaa,

May I know what is "Gei Jee" that you are referring to in your "Herbal Drunken Prawn" recipe?

Thanks for enlightening.

Cynthia

carol

Hi Francoise:
The shop is at Blk 422 Ang Mo Kio, But can't remember which unit, it's next to the provision shop.

Regards:
carol

carol

Hi Kpo:
No problem, I'll sent you the recipes this evening.
There are more to come...

Regards:
carol

carol

Hi Kpo:
I've email the recipes(Romantic Dinner For Two(part1)) to you.

HAPPY COOKING!!!!

Regards:
carol

eunicetan

halo all,

just wonderin if anyone has any recipe for the topshell sauce? i like the kind tat is sweet n spicy kind.

monica

Wahhhh,
Carol thanks. Will try that recipe!!! My hubby love seafood lah. And if it's spicy he lagi like. Can't wait for more of your recipes....
: P~~~~~~

Cynthia,
Gei Jee is the small red colour herb. The one that is suppose to be good for eyes.

carol

Hi Yunise:
I've a recipe/ingredients here for making of sweet & spicy sauce for topshell,You may want to try it.

Ingredients:
1 1/2tbsp Tomato paste
8 medium Black olive
2 tsp olive oil
salt
pepper
2tbsp sugar
1 tbsp salsa
1 tbsp chilli sauce
(Add in more chilli sauce if you prefer to make it more spicy......)

HAPPY COOKING!

Regards:
carol