Cooking Recipes as promised

interested

Hi Carol,

Really hope you can help in answering some qns on the Kueh Bungkit:

1. Can I do the dry frying of the tapioca flour using microwave oven? If so, for how long? Will frying it in a wok a a very messy job, i.e. flour flying all over?

2. Do I have to add water to the grated coconut before squeezing? Do I just squeeze once?

3. How long do I have to leave the boiled coconut milk for it to cool?

4. When adding the egg & sugar mixture to blend, do I have to beat the mixture or just stir it to blend?

5. Why is there a need to divide into 2 portion? Can I continue with just the whole 1 portion?

6. Do I need those wooden roller to knead the dough or just use hand?

7. Is the baking temperature stated in Fahrenheit or Celsius?

carol

interested,
My answer to the questions:

1. No... frying in a work will not be messy.

2. Water is need to obtain juice from the dry grated coconut. squeezing One or twice will be fine.

3. About 40mins.

4. Beating it slightly.

5. To mix the mixture evenly.

6. You can either use a spatula or wooddn spoon. Use the roller pin to roll the dough.

7. Degree Celsius.

binbin

thanks carol!

can u send me the compilation of jap recipes u mentioned above too? love jap food, and will like to try agedashi tofu and sukiyaki...hehhehe....

tempura too.
thanks so much and a Happy New Year!

gal

I will like to learn how to make seaweed minced pork soup. Any idea how to make that soup ?

Thank you!!

carol

Hi binbin,
It's not a compilation of all Jap recipes, I just compile what enya wanted only.

anyway, you have miss out your email...

carol

Dolphin,
Hummmm.. I mean those non-srick heating pan.

I've using charcoal stove, at my mum place, she always used that to cook soup on nomal days., which taste better than gas-stove.

enya

carol, me received ur recipes!!! THANKS VERY MUCH!!!!!!! do u have a website, where u post all ur recipes?

carol

enya,
14614.gif

I don't have a website on recipes currently, but will be starting on one.

Do try out the recipes & share your experience OK?

carol

enya,
Ops, I left out this eariler, if you are keen on any recipe, just let me know,I'll try to post it here or sent via mail.

carol

Hi shimmergingdream,
Thanks for sharing.

Anyone interested in making Nian Gao for CYN?

Nian Gao
INGREDIENTS:

1 1/2 cups water
2 1/2 cups dark brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup vegetable oil
4 1/2 cups sweet rice flour
3 dried red dates

METHOD:
Mix the rice flour thoroughly with the cooled liquid and transfer the mixture into an 8-inch round aluminum pan (the aluminum pans at supermarket salad bars work very well for this). Set the dates in the middle. Fill a wok, a large pot, or a large, flat pan with 1 inch of water and carefully set the pan in the water. Cover lightly with aluminum foil and gently steam the mixture for about 50 minutes. Take care not to let the water boil over into the nin gao.

Cheers...

dolphin

I've another version of pineapple tarts recipe. Have not tried it out yet.

QUICK AND EASY PINEAPPLE TARTS

Preparation: 30 minutes
Cooking: 30 minutes
Baking: 25 minutes
Oven setting: 190C
Makes: 30

Pastry
250g cold butter, cut into small cubes
60g castor sugar
1 egg yolk
Pinch of salt
1 tsp vanilla essence
270g plain flour, sifted

Pineapple Jam
4 cups liquidized and strained pineapple
1½ cups sugar
2 – 3 screwpine leaves
1 tsp vanilla essence

Pastry
1.Cream butter and sugar and beat in egg yolk. Add salt and essence. Fold in sifted flour and put mixture into a cookie press fitted with a star nozzle.

2.Pipe in circles, starting from centre, onto greased patty tins. Fill each hollow with 1 tsp jam. Bake in a moderately hot oven for 25 – 30 minutes till pale golden.

3.Transfer to a wire rack. When cool, store in an airtight container.

Pineapple Jam
1.Put pineapple, sugar and screwpine leaves in saucepan and cook over low heat, stirring constantly until jam is dry. Add essence. Allow to cool and use as required.
Pineapple jam can be stored in airtight jars in the refrigerator for at least a month.

carol

Hi Cheval,

Tom Yam Soup
Hot and Sour Shrimp Soup

A subtle blend of hot and sour with citrus overtones, tom yam goong is the most famous of all Thai soups. Each region has its own particular variation of the recipe.

14722.jpg

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">(you want the non-spicy one, just omit the chilli pepper &amp; the black chilli paste)</FONT>

INGREDIENTS:

8 oz (250 g) shrimp/prawns, shelled and deveined, with shellsreserved
3 cups (24 fl oz/750 ml) water
2 garlic cloves (kratiem), minced
5 kaffir lime leaves (bai ma-good)
3 thin slices fresh or dried galangal (kha)
1/4 cup (2 fl oz/60 ml) fish sauce (nam pla)
2 stalks lemon grass/citronella (ta-krai), lower 1/3 portiononly, cut into 1-in (2.5-cm) lengths
2 shallots, sliced
1/2 cup sliced straw mushrooms
5 green Thai chili peppers (prik khee noo), optional
1/4 cup (2 fl oz/60 ml) lime juice
1 teaspoon black chili paste (nam prik pow)
1 tablespoon chopped cilantro/coriander leaves (bai pak chee)

How to cook:

1. Rinse the prawn shells and place them in a large pot with the water. Heat to boiling, strain the broth and discard the shells.
2. Add the garlic, lime leaves, galangal, fish sauce, lemon grass and shallots to the stock, then the mushrooms and chili peppers, if using. Cook gently for 2 minutes.
3. Add the shrimp to the soup, and reheat to boiling. When the shrimp are cooked, place the lime juice and black chili paste in a serving bowl. Pour the soup into the bowl, stir, garnish with the cilantro leaves, and serve.

SERVES 4

Cheers.....
14723.gif

minniecat

Hi Carol,
I had not baked Kueh Bankit (bcos I dun like to eat) &amp; pineapple tart (bcos too difficult). Instead, I baked something easier - peanut biscuit, but failed. The biscuit taste of raw peanuts. Do you think is the baking time insufficient or I need to roast the peanut first (I had used raw peanuts) ?
Do you have a recipe for peanut biscuit ?

islandpub

hi Carol,

i tried to bake the kueh bangkit for the first time on sat... overall it turned out ok i think coz my hubby said not bad..
but hor i realised it "cools" down very fast like 5 mins after i took the cookies out from the oven, it kinda cooled down liao... then i put in the container n coz got one container not very tight.. when my hubby tried on one from this container, he said a bit "lao hong" liao... so i m wondering is it i did wrongly or the kueh bangkit is by nature so easily "lao hong" one if not kept tight, even within time frame of 2 hours only???

then this morning i let one of my colleagues tried n she said it's a bit "hard" but not "lao hong" lah... y hah??? hmm....

carol

Hi minniecat,
I know what you mean. You have to use roasted peanuts for the the recipe, to have a nice aroma of peanuts.

You may wana try this:

Crispy Peanut Cookies Recipe
Makes 6 servings

1 3/4 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup vegetable shortening solid
1/2 cup butter or margarine
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups peanut salted
1 cup coconut flaked
1 cup oats
1/2 cup corn flake

In a small bowl mix flour, baking powder and baking soda; set aside.

In a large mixer bowl at high speed beat sugars, shortening and butter or margarine until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Add flour mixture and beat at low speed until well blended.

Stir in peanuts, coconut, oats and corn flakes; mix well. Let stand for 15 minutes.

Preheat oven to 400&deg; F. Drop by teaspoonfuls onto ungreased baking sheets. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes or until golden. Cool cookies on wire racks.

Cheers...

carol

Hi islandpub,
Kueh Bankit cool down quite fast, so when they are cooled, keep them in air-tight containers immediately.

Well-baked Kueh Bankit should not be too soft, it should be crispy.

How long did you bake them?

giggler

Hi Carol, I tried your recipe on egg tarts (the chinese version one) on Sat. I failed leh. My nephew &amp; niece only eat the egg portion but threw away the tart. I heartbreak leh.

carol

giggler,
What happened to the tarts shells?

Did you follow the step-by-step instrustions pictures in the recipe?

islandpub

hi Carol,

ya, now i know liao that the kueh bangkit cool down quite fast n must be in air-tight containers..
so far those kueh bangkit in air-tight containers are quite crispy lor.. so can consider successful lah hah?

oh i follow ur instructions n bake for 20 mins lor.. before that i got pre-heat my oven toaster at 180 deg for ard 20 mins also..

actually i find this easier to make then the peanut cookies but hor i dun like the part on dry-frying the tapioca flour.. wah lao... bcoz of that i ve to end up clean my whole stove coz the flour when i not careful will spill out of my wok leh.. extra work for me only...
do u think it's ok if next time i dry-fry the flour in a pot instead of the wok hah? can work or not?

carol

Hi islandpub,
Yap, you've got it right...
Yes, I can say, if you successfully baked the kueh Bankit...

As for the part on drying tapioca flour, I have people telling me that they used oven to dry it, can use low temp, about 5mins.

Using a pot is ok too, don't worry!

piper

hi carol &amp; islandpub,

sorry to interrupt...just a quick qn abt the coconut milk. can we use those pkt milk or wld fresh one be better?

jk

Anyone knows what is glass paper? Where is it available? Is it the kind we used to wrap textbooks?

carol

piper,
no worries, I used the fresh "squuezed" ones, But I that's only available in wet markets. so the pack ones are just fine too.

carol

Hi JK,
I think you are refering to wax paper which is Semitransparent paper with a thin coating of wax on both sides. Because of its moistureproof and nonstick characteristics, wax paper used to play a major role in the kitchen for duties such as covering food and lining baking pans.

cowie

Hi JK,
I think I know what you mean by glass paper.... it looks similar to those we use to wrap textbooks, but it is much thinner in material and tear easier. Have seen my grandma line the cake tins when she bake "zi dan gao" when I was young. I think you have to get them from those older types of provision shops at mature HDB estates. Just tell them glass paper (in dialect) and they should know.

islandpub

hi Carol,

Can u pls advised for 2 and 1/2 grated coconut, how much coconut milk will that amt to? coz i realized that last sat when i did the kueh bangkit, my flour seems to be more than the coconut milk coz after divide into 2 portions, the 1st portion i tried is like too dry so i actually end up using part of the 2nd portion's coconut milk mixture.. then for the 2nd portion i juz slowly add in the flour to make sure i dun end up with a too dry dough again.. in the end still got quite some flour left.. very waste leh...

i bought 2 and 1/2 grated coconut from the wet market n the amount of coconut milk i managed to squeeze out is est ard 650 - 700 ml... is that the right amt?

piper

hi carol,

thanks! think that will solve alot of problems &amp; time for me if pkt coconut milk can be used.

carol

Hi Cowie,
So, glass paper also known as wax paper.

Islandpub,
That's about 800ml of coconut milk, however this amouint will defers if you are using larger coconuts. Or you are using more water when squeezing the milk from the coconuts.

Hope this helps!!!

cowie

Carol,
Are they the same??
Cos from my understanding, glass paper is clear and see thru whereas wax paper is translucent kind right?

islandpub

hi Carol,

thanks..

i didnt use any water leh... juz straight away squeeze the coconut for coconut milk... anyway i think the next time if i were to do again, i will most probably go n get those packet coconut milk liao.. i squeeze until my hands very tired leh....

giggler

HI Carol, my tart shells were too hard for consumption liao. I don't know why it turned out that way too cos I followed exactly as what the picture shows leh.

cowie

Carol,
Haha, I do not know if they are cellophane paper, but they sure can take heat very well.
Cellophane can take heat or not huh?

carol

giggler,
just to check if you did the following:

- cover the dough with plstic warp &amp; place in the fridge for 30mins before rolling.
- take care not to over-mix &amp; uses too much strength to mix the dough.
- Not to over baked them.

carol

Cowie,
Ok.. finally I understand what glass paper for, it used to be used for cooking &amp; baking in chinese cookery. It's almost the same kind as plastic wrap/firm except its harder.

annieseah

I have a few cooking website. Haven't try any yet so dunno how good or easy it is.

http://www.kashrus.org/recipes/singap.html
http://www.straitscafe.com/menus.htm
http://www.recipesource.com/ethnic/asia/singapore/
http://www.math.mun.ca/~kasan/food.html
http://www.asiacuisine.com/database/index.html
http://www.globalgourmet.com/food/kgk/
http://www.volny.cz/coeliac/eng/receipts.htm

Hi carol,
Do you have any hawker style cooking recipes? I'm going USA soon, hope I'm able to master a few then I won't miss singapore food too much...

Till now I have't found any decilious "Ba Chow Mee" recipes. Anyone have it?

My Email: [email protected]

giggler

Hi Carol, I didn't put the dough in the fridge. I think it's due to that.

As for your Kueh Bangkit recipe, what's the texture like? Is it those which will melts in your mouth?