Cooking Recipes as promised

val

Hi Carol,

Can you send me the recipe? Hope I'm not too late in responding...cos I dun log on to internet veri often
My e-mail add is [email protected] Do you know how to prepare the gravy for the whipped potato then?

I thought of leaving my fridge on without switching it off but I heard it use up alot of electricity leh. Is that true? Btw, Carol, you mentioned "if you have an ice maker, turn off the mechanism and water line following your manual directions" What is an ice maker? And where do I find the mechanism and water line...at the back of the fridge?

Dolphin,

Yup the whipped potato I meant are those at KFC? Btw, thanks..so it's that simple...ok..will give it a try first but I quite scare of oil spattering...cannot overcome the fear...I'm quite impressed with my mum for being able to cook curry, chilli crab etc all those hot yummy stuff...I feel choky with all that smell when cooking... but she can tahan there...hehhe

bon

hi ladies!

I need the recipe for salted vege and duck soup. Does anyone knows how to do that? Thanks in advance!

carol

Hi Val,
Sure, I'll sent out the recipe when I get home in the evening.

Oh, yes the gravy for the whipped potatoes, sure, I'll post it here.

BTW, Some refrigerator has a control switch at the back of the it, try to look at your maunal whether yours have one.

Cheers:
Carol

dolphin

Hi Val,

I dunno the recipe.

Hi Carol,
Any idea what is 'Cream of Tartar'? And where can I get vanilla flavouring?

carol

Hi Val,
the gravy I post here may taste a different from the one at KFC, but do really taste good too.

1 1/2 cups light cream
White pepper to taste
6 ounces prepared horseradish

Add the cream and pepper to taste; whip until smooth and creamy, about 2 min., scraping down the sides of the bowl frequently.Fold in the horseradish and combine well.

I've sent out the recipes already!

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi Dolphin,
Cream of tartar: An acidic powder extracted during wine making, stabilizes egg whites and increases their heat tolerance. It also prevents sugar syrups from crystallizing and is combined with baking soda to make commercial baking powder.

You can get vanilla flavouring (in liquid form) from supermarket(NTUC/Cold storage) or any baking suppilers stores.

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi Bon,
Here's the recipe of salted veggie and duck soup

INGREDIENTS:
- 1/2 duck
- salted veggie 200g
- shredded ginger 1 tbsp
- (chicken stock 1/2cup, chinese wine 1tsp, salt 1/2tsp)A
-(chicken stock 4cups, salt 1tsp, sesame oil 1/2tsp)B

METHOD:
1. Steam duck & after cooked, cut into pieces, place salted veggie & duck meat in pot and add in ingredients A & steam for 30mins.
Add in Ingredients B & simmer for another 15mins, add shredded ginger and serve.

Cheers:
Carol

stars

Hi Carol

Can I check with you how to do the potato for the whipped potato? What is horseradish? Sorry what is light cream also?
Sorry I blur. Not sure how to do.

stars

val

Hi Carol,

Thanks for that but same as stars, I dunno what is horseradish leh... In any case, you've really been a great help. I'll try it out nearer to the date and let you know how it tastes hehe...

leafy

Thanks all for keeping this thread active!

May I know what kind of fish is suitable to cook sweet n sour fish? that type which need to deep fried the fish first....

I'm always lost when buying fish. I can't recognise the uncooked fish in market, cos what i see on dining table are those cooked one. Also, I dunno the english name of fish. Anyone got a translation?

carol

Hi Stars,
The recipe for whipped potatoes was posted eariler on. Look above the thread.

Horseradish, a member of the mustard family, is a pungent, hot-tasting root sold fresh and whole, or grated and bottled as a prepared sauce. The best prepared horseradish is grated and bottled in a light vinegar.

Light cream, sometimes called coffee cream or table cream, is 18-30 percent butterfat.

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi Val,
Don't worry, our questions was answered, sure just let me know when you've tried it.

Cheers:
Carol

stars

Hi Carol

Thank you. I have checked already. I have forgotten that the recipe is up here already.

Can I check with you something about walnut? How come the one I bought at the Poh Huat one packet to bake a cake, is a bit bitter one. How come I eat walnut cake from cake shop not bitter one leh.
Thank

stars

piggy

Any idea where i can get yellow cornmeal? I love the corn muffins from Kenny Rogers.
Happened to come across its recipe on the net. Would like to try it sometimes.

dolphin

Hi Carol,

I'm following yr pineapple chiffon cake. Do you know the reason why sponge cake doesn't springs back when touch?

By the way, I used the wire whip. Hand very tiring leh.. do you think have yr own electric mixer?

curly

I baked a brownie yesterday and the centre of it was more moisted compared to the sides. Anyone know the reason?

carol

Hi Dolphin,
It might be because the mixture is not well mixed, and not enough air in the cake.

I'm using a electric mixer.

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi meg,
Here's the recipe of Nasi lemak

Nasi Lemak

<U>INGREDIENTS:</U>(serve 6-8)
- 1.2 kg. rice, soaked overnight
- 2 coconuts, grated, squeeze for creme, add 570 ml (20 oz.) water, squeeze for milk, discard pulp
- 2 pandan leaves
- 2 teaspoons of salt

<U>METHOD:</U>
1. Place the soaked rice in the top basket part of a steamer. Make steam holes in the rice to allow the steam to penetrate through.

2. Cover and bring water in the steamer to boil. Steam rice for 30 minutes.

3. Place the coconut creme and the 2 teaspoons of salt in a large pot, stir in the steaming hot rice, and then add in the coconut milk.

4. Stir well and then set aside for 30 minutes : 10 minutes over high fire, 10 minutes over medium fire and 10 minutes over low fire.

Cheers:
Carol

dolphin

thanks, Carol.

Personally do you feel that having an electric mixer will be better (in the way that the end-products will turn out to be better than the hand-beaten type)?

Care to share with me the brand of yr electric mixer.

carol

Hi Dolphin,
I think if you are already very familiar with using hand products then the results will be the same....

However, some recipes will require to use hand-held mixer instead, 'cos the mixture really need to be well-mixed with lot of air in it to get good results.

It's good to follow closely to recipes for beginners.

I'm using a Phillip Mixer.

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi Dolphin,
Yes!

<FONT SIZE="+1">ONLY YES IF</FONT>, the recipe and method was followed closely.

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi Dolphin,
Here's another recipe, hope it's useful to you!

Streusel Coffee Cake

9715.jpg

INGREDIENTS:
<U>For Streusel:</U>

1/2 cup firmly packed light or dark brown sugar

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup finely chopped walnuts

1/4 cup unsalted butter, chilled

<U>For Cake:</U>

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature

3/4 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

3 eggs

1 1/4 cups buttermilk mixed with 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 firm but ripe pears, such as Bosc, Anjou or Comice, peeled, cored, coarsely chopped

METHOD:
1. Preheat an oven to 350 degrees F. Butter and flour a 9-by-13-inch baking pan. Set aside.

2. FOR STREUSEL: In a small bowl, combine the brown sugar, flour, walnuts and butter. Using 2 knives, your fingertips or a pastry blender, work the ingredients together until the mixture resembles large bread crumbs. Cover and refrigerate until ready to use.

3. FOR CAKE: In a large bowl, sift together the flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking powder, baking soda and salt. In a large bowl, using an electric mixer set on high speed, beat the butter until light and fluffy. Gradually add the brown and granulated sugars, continuing to beat until very light, about 3 minutes. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.

4. Reduce the mixer to low speed and gradually beat in the flour mixture alternately with the buttermilk, beating until just mixed.

5. Pour the batter into the prepared pan. Scatter the chopped pears and the streusel mixture evenly over the top, then press them gently into the top of the batter.

6. Bake until the top of the cake is firm, the streusel is crisp and bubbling and a wooden skewer inserted into the center comes out clean, 40-45 minutes.

Cheers:
Carol

stars

Hi Carol

You have any recipe for baked cheese cake. I have tried the no bake cheese cake. Just wondering the baked cheese cake must put the philande cheese original(not sure how to spell)or not as I have an extra one.
Maybe you have any recipe for durian moose (how to spell)heehee cake.

luv
stars

piggy

Sorry to reply late...thks, Dolphin!

yalor, Cowie...my hubby and i oso love it! i will send it to ur email accordingly...

luckybird

Hi Carol,
May i know what is double boil? do u hv recipe of double boil bird nest? Thanks.

carol

Hi Stars,
Here's the recipe for Baked Cheese Cake &amp; Durian cake

Baked Cheese Cake

INGREDIENTS:
- 1/3 cup butter
- 1 1/4 cup graham cracker crumbs
- 1/4 cup sugar
- 2 (8 oz) packages cream cheese - softened
- 1 (14 oz) can sweetened condensed milk
- 3 eggs
- 1/4 cup lemon juice
- 1 (8 oz) container sour cream

METHOD:
1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Combine butter, crumbs and sugar. Press firmly on bottom of 9 inch springform pan.

2. In a large bowl, beat cream cheese until fluffy. Gradually beat in sweetened condensed milk until smooth. Add eggs and lemon juice; mixing well. Pour into prepared pan. Bake 50 to 55 minutes or until set. Cool. Chill thoroughly. Spread sour cream on top. You may garnish with a can of cherry pie filling.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Durian Cake

Ingredients:
- 240g butter
- 225g castor sugar
- 4 large eggs
- 100g mashed durian pulp
- 2-3 tablespoons milk

Shifted ingredients, combined:
- 240g self-raising flour
- 1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

METHOD
1. Line a 23cm cake tin with greaseproof paper.
Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs, one
at a time.

2. Beat in durian pulp until well blended. Fold in shifted ingredients and enough milk to give a soft dropping batter.

3. Pour into prepared tin and bake in a preheated 175c oven for 50-60 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean when inserted to the center of the cake.

Cheers:
Carol
9764.jpg

carol

Hi Curly,
<FONT COLOR="0077aa">Soured Cream:</FONT> cream made with fresh, single cream that is soured by adding a natural culture, similar to that used in yoghurt. It is unique as a dairy product.

<FONT COLOR="0077aa">Sour Cream:</FONT> a commercial dairy product made from pasteurized sweet cream, has a tangy flavor and thick consistency used to enrich savory and sweet recipes or as a topping. Like buttermilk, its extra acidity boosts the leavening action of baking soda.

Here's a bread recipe which make use of soured cream.

Soured Cream Soda Bread

9765.jpg

INGREDIENTS:
1 lb (450 g) wholemeal flour

2 level teaspoons salt

1 level teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

5 fl oz (150 ml) soured cream

METHOD:
1. Pre-heat the oven to gas mark 7, 425&deg;F (220&deg;C).

2. Begin by mixing the flour, salt and bicarbonate of soda thoroughly in a bowl. Then in a jug whisk the soured cream and 5 fl oz (150 ml) water together and stir this mixture into the flour, together with 2-3 further tablespoons of water if it needs it.

3. Knead the dough lightly (into a round ball) so as to get the surface smooth, then put it on to the prepared baking sheet. Cut halfway through the loaf with a sharp knife one way, then do the same the other way, forming a cut cross which will form the loaf into four crusty sections.

4. Bake the loaf in the top half of the oven for 30 minutes – covering the top with foil for the last 5 minutes of the baking time if the crust looks like it's getting too dark. Cool on a wire rack for a minimum of 15 minutes before eating. This is delicious cut in thick slices, buttered and spread with lemon curd or honey.

5. If you don't like a very crisp crust, wrap the bread in a tea towel while it cools, so that the steam it gives off softens the crust a little.

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi Luckybird,
Double boil is a method of cooking without using direct heat. It usually consists of two saucepans that fit together. The bottom sauce pan is filled with water and the top one with the mixture (custard, chocolate, etc.). The saucepans can be made from stainless steel, aluminum, and glass.

No, I do have any recipe on that, usually I won't use double boil method for bird nest.

Carol

carol

Hi Fruitsalad,
Here's the recipe for fruit salad.

Tropical Fruit Salad in Planter's Punch
<FONT COLOR="0077aa">Planter's punch, a popular drink throughout the Caribbean, is a delicious combination of rum, orange, lime and pineapple juice, with just a trace of cinnamon and nutmeg. The syrup for this fruit salad is based on exactly the same combination, which makes it very special indeed.</FONT>

9766.jpg

INGREDIENTS: (Serves 8)

2 bananas, peeled and chopped into 1 inch (2.5 cm) chunks

8 oz (225 g) seedless black grapes, halved

1 pawpaw, peeled and chopped into 1 inch (2.5 cm) chunks

1 large mango, peeled and chopped into 1 inch (2.5 cm) chunks

1 small pineapple, peeled and chopped into 1 inch (2.5 cm) chunks

2 oranges, peeled and cut into segments

8 oz (225 g) lychees, peeled, stoned and halved

2 kiwi fruit, peeled, halved and cut into 1/2 inch (1 cm) slices

4 passion fruit, halved

1 whole nutmeg

For the syrup:

4 oz (110 g) golden granulated sugar

2 small cinnamon sticks

pared zest and juice of 2 limes

4 fl oz (120 ml) freshly squeezed orange juice

4 fl oz (120 ml) pineapple juice

5 fl oz (150 ml) dark rum

METHOD:
1. Begin by making up the syrup: put the sugar, cinnamon and 10 fl oz (275 ml) water in a small saucepan, then add the lime zest. Now, over a gentle flame, heat slowly until all the sugar has dissolved – it will take about 10 minutes. Stir it with a wooden spoon: you should have no sugar crystals left clinging to the spoon when you turn it over. After that, remove it from the heat and allow it to cool.

2. Add the prepared fruit to a large serving bowl, scooping the seeds from the halved passion fruit using a teaspoon, then strain in the cold syrup, along with the fruit juices, lime juice and rum. Stir well before covering with clingfilm and chilling in the fridge. As you serve the fruit salad, sprinkle a little freshly grated nutmeg over each serving.

Cheers:
Carol

carol

Hi Cheesecake,

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">Here it goes!</FONT>

Homemade kaya

INGREDIENTS:
- Coconut milk (thick cream)
- 400g sugar
- 10 eggs

METHOD:
1. Beat eggs using a mixer, use medium speed.

2. Add sugar and beat at high speed.

3. Make sure to mix thoroughly. Stop the mixer, add the coconut milk and then beat using high speed till well mixed.

4. Make sure sugar has finally dissolved, pour kaya into a pot and cook over slow fire.

IMPORTANT: Constant stirring is a must otherwise the jam will burn.

5. The jam will eventually change from cream egg-white to a red-brown color, this is due to the caramel forming from the sugar.

6. Continue with stirring to prevent the jam from burning at the bottom, lowering the flames if need be once there is no streak left in the kaya, take it off the stove and allow to cool.

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">To keep the jam, sterilized the jars first using hot water. Once the kaya has cooled, you can place it into the jars and keep in the refrigerator for future use...</FONT>

Cheers:
Carol

stars

Hi Carol

Thank you for your recipe! I really feel that you are like a walking recipe book! Really. Your hubby must be so proud of you. You know everything about cooking and baking.

ya by the way, is durian pulp durian flesh? If not, where can i get them?

Hi to all of you too.

stars

puzzled

Hi Carol,
Can i ask you what is meant by "Fold in the flour" because i saw this method used in a few recipes before but have no idea how is it done. Do you still need to use the mixer?

Hope you can advise me.

Thank U!
puzzled

luckybird

Hi Carol,
Thank you so much for yr explanation.
and pls let me know the recipe of bird nest?