Constipation (Anyone has any help)

trizia68

I have a severe constipation problem since childhood. Does anyone have any pills (preferably herbal ones) to recommend. I used to take a type of herbal pills bought from Indonesia but as my friend is not going there to work anymore I can't get the pills. Its really effective, with that pills I go to toliet at least once a day and results is seen in just first application. But now sometimes I don't even go for a week or even more. and this is causing me health problem. I am looking for similar product if anyone has any recommendation PLEASE HELP ME. I have been falling sick late due to that. THANK YOU

onee

Patrizia : Try prune juice, a cup per day helps...

To watch that too much prune juice per day might cause stomach wind... U know where it'll come out from lah

lingzi

Patrizia,

Try to take more high fibre food eg. wholemeal bread/biscuit, bran, brown rice, fruits, veg and drink lots of water.

demio

Hi Patrizia,

My wife had consipation too.. so too for my fren's auntie... they took fibre plus, which is all natural fibre, and had immediate effect and relived their bowels the very next day.. the longest time i know for it to take effect was 2 days... i can pass u some free samples if u want.. just e mail me...

trizia68

Hi Onee, I tried prune juice before but it didn't work for me.
Hi Leeds I will go look for the pills you recommend.
Hi Lingzi, I take lots of high fibre food everyday, and I drinks lots of water, and I take fruits everyday, it just didn't work for me.
Hi Demio, can you email me your adress, my email is [email protected]

Thanks everyone, I really need help

ilmare444

i used to have the same problem as you. doc advised me to "train" toilet routine, go to toilet same time every day and try to poo poo. it works for me.

trizia68

Hi ilmare I did try that before it just didn't work

I had this problem since childhood, and its getting worst lately

ms_vain

Hi Patrizia,

Maybe u can try to drink 1-2 glasses of cold water the 1st thing u wake up every day. Be sure to drink it b4 u eat anything.

This method helps our body to cleanse away the toxins that are in our body since last nite's repair.

seiko

i do rely on Senokot pills when ive not visited the loo for like 2 days.... though senokot is plant derived, still not gd 2 take it often. Ive tried prune juice n it seems 2 have an immediate effect on me. take bt 1/3 of a cup, n half an hr later, i'll feel some movement... it works for me

oh, how bt drinking a cup of water b4 zzz? it works for me too... except that some pple will say it might cause water retention or puffy eyes sth like that....

baby5556

hi, u may want to go see a specialist doc at ttsh? constipation may be caused by irritatable bowels, go for a checkup with ur doc and get referred by ur family doc to see if he helps...

from the post replies i seen from the gals here, their suggestion are real good and it helps alot...

if u have tried so many and it dun work wonder on you, i strongly suggest u shd see a doc.

nafnaf

try senokot.. or dulcolax.. they worked..but u shouldn't take it on a long term basis.

how about try the senzation double detox.. it works for me and i think this can be taken on an everyday basis.

also.. try to increase fibre intake.. like.. choose bread with hi fibre.. or can get those fibre pills from GNC.. but make sure.. u need to drink lots and lots of water every day.. about 2-3 litres at least.. so that the fibre wont be stuck in your colon and cause the constipation to worsen.

trizia68

Thanks everyone. I am now trying the "pai du mei yan bao" its works on the 3rd and 4th day and today is the fifth and no response yet
hope it will work.
I did tried the GNC fibre pills before maybe its bcos I took for 3 days and it didn't work I went back to Ducolax (a laxative, not good for regular consumption) Therefore I couldn't see the fibre pills result.
My doc told me to drinks lots of water and take in fibre as well as fruits that's all.

smurfy

For me, I have 2 ways to relieve my constipation.

1) Drink Florida's grapefruit juice. Can be bought at major supermarkets at around S$5.50. Taste sour but I love it.

2) Drink Total Drink from Totalife. Good orangy taste.
Details:
Characteristics :

Contains 14 types of nutrients needed daily.
Contains antioxidants : b-Carotine, vitamins C & E, eliminates free radicals, rejuvenates and beautifies skin, slows down ageing.
Enhances liver functions, cools down internal heats and get rid of fatigue.
Contains dietary fiber, eases and prevents constipation.
Contains natural ingredients. No preservatives, artificial colouring, artificial flavour or additives.
Low calorie.
Good in taste, easy to be carried around.
Suitable for : A healthy drink for the whole family.

Consumption guides :

Add 4 scales of cold water into shaker, followed by 1 sachet Total Drink, shake vigorously and it is ready for consumption.
Can be diluted according to personal perference.
Ingredients : Beta-Carotene, vitamin C,E,B1,B2,B6,B12, folic acid, pantothenic acid, niacin, oligosaccharine, biotin, potassium.

alan_golfnut

Yup yup, lingzi is spot on with the suggestions dietary changes. Roughage in the form of fibre basically helps with bowel movement.

relaxfun

try fibergel.... orange flvaour powder mix with cold water, take one packet everytime after meal..

It will soften stools... always works for me and family!

I take fruit and vegetable juice. It's available at supermarkets. Drink a glass everyday. Quite good. It helps me move my bowels everyday.

jentan

Hi, i have tried green tea before and it worked. Try drinking continuously 2-3 cups (normal OSK brand greentea bags) and you'd be surprised

trizia68

I guess it take times for my bowel to work regularly again. Am taking lots of water and fruits lately, went to see a doc, he recommended me a fiber pills hope it works.

Thanks everyone.

a2002

I think eat dragonfruit will help. That day I had constipation and my mum asked me to eat dragonfruit... Then I went toilet within an hour...

Alternatively, you can try to drink a cup of salt water.

pamela

patrizia

i used to have very bad constipation problem.. no use going to western docs.. always say the same thing.. drink lots of water.. eat vege/ fruits..
simply doesn't work on me.. coz like u I eat lots of fruits and drink tons of water..

I started see Chinese physician.. after 3 weeks of hearbal medication to reduce the heatiness in my body.. I started going more regularly.. and since I started drinking milk (and cereal for breakfast).. it helps as well. Last but not least.. u can start massssaging your stomach. press you palms on your stomach and go clockwise 30 rounds.. anti clockwise 30 rounds.. it will help as well..

FYI..fibregel.. gnc fibre tablets etc also does not work me..

good luck!

bit_bit

I used to have quite bad constipation problem (every 2-3 days then passed motion once, stool usually very hard)... Then I started drinking <font color="aa00aa">Sunraysia Prune Juice</font> (supposed to contain a higher amt of prune fibre, this juice can be found at Cold Storage) (<font color="ff6000">Delmonte Prune Juice</font> works just as well but taste slightly more sourish) abt 2 months back (mix 1/4 cup of prune juice with 3/4 water).. since then I've been having clearing bowels on a daily basis.. After sometime, manage to 'train' my tummy to clear the bowels without the aid of prune juice.. now i only drink as &amp; when required..

Fibregel oso doesn't work for me..

loveluis

2 methods I've tried:

Eat 2 apples a day &amp; a cup of juice (any type of as long as its 100% juice)

Eat bananas everyday

trizia68

Thanks everyone, I am drinking prune juice these days, it just make my stomach bloated, not much of use. GNC pills also no use. To make thing worst, now my ear is badly inflammed due to heatiness and doc suspect there's a hole in my ear
I have no choice now but to take Duclolax every other day. Drinking chinese leng yang to reduce heatiness too.

hamasaki128

Patrizia,
Read the latest one on: Anyone noes doctors who remove piles without surgery? I juz wrote sth 2 relieve constipation...hope it helps...

shower

I have a very good mtd and it is cheap and healthy.

Try yoghurt with the Active cultural thing in it... Marigold is a good brand. The yoghurt drink is slightly better than the yoghurt itself as it is more easily digested.

both works for mi... And take it in the day... it will make a gd breakfast..

Drink 1 or 2 glasses of water once u wake up in the morn even b4 u wash up.

Drink at least 8 glasses of water a day...

hope it works for u too!

melgal

how about drinking barley leaves drink every day and nite? it tastes like green tea. this can really help in cleansing the intestines and help in slimming too.

pudding

I got this tip from an ex-colleague, she read it from a TCM book, she told me...eating red bean soup (cooked with rock sugar) helps to relieve constipation...i gave my mum the same tip..she always had constipation...now she eats about 2-3 times of red bean soup each week..and surprisingly..it really eases her bowels..so you guys might want to try..

northgal

Dear Patrizia,
I would suggest that u go for natural sources rather than popping e pills. Fruits have higher sugar content than vege.

(1) Thai green lemon - swear by Billy, e DJ who is battling with cancer.

(2) home made barley drink - high in fibre n is nutritious.

(3) papaya

(4) Prune juice help but is high in sugar content.

pudding

Northgal, do we use the Thai green lemon for making lemonade and drink? or do you mean..just eat the fruit like that?

northgal

Geri,
err....don't think u will enjoy it as a fruit. Suggest that u make lemonade instead. Pop in those sweetener without calorie if u r on diet. This drink is highly recommended if u have taken a heavy meal or feel bloated n need aid in digestion. It is not recommended on empty stomach cos it is too acidic.

pudding

Yup..just as i thought...wouldn't want to be sucking on a sour lemon..my face will turn sour too! lol...thanks dear! =]

jez

hi there, patrizia

hope yr inflammation of the ear &amp; heatiness had subsided...
jus to share with u, i'm a severe victim of infrequent bowel movement...
i def do not head for the loo on a daily basis; mine can drag as long as 1wk (ok-i know some of u may be expressing yr 'eeks' now) but boh-bian...
have given up popping stuff jus to make the sys work...

docs hv told me tt maybe my sys reacts as such
-as long as there's no severe abdominal pains or irregularities in yr stools...
i even once suspected i had IBS (irritable bowel syndrome) - consulted doc too on this but as this is can only be diagnosed by exclusions of symptoms, so not so discrete; quite difficult too.

jus dun worry unduly-hv plently of fibre, H20 &amp; rest and hopefully, yr body can take care of itself... as for me, i'm jus mindful tt i've such a condition (&amp; susceptible to flatulence, bloating too) and to be alerted if i spot any abnormalities, esp abdominal &amp; below...

cheerios...

ps: i can email u an article on IBS if u'r interested to know abt it

ocgnil

Aloe Vera juice loh.

I drink that, i have the same problem as you, pai seh man, haiz. Thought i'm abnormal cos most of my friend clear everyday. Previously i went bombing also few days once sometime even once a week, Stomach bloated , then bombing time take a long time and some more very smelly and sometime painful and 'hot'. Haiz . Now better at least once everyday, sometime two days the most .After the drink , wah damn shiok. hee Can check online for aloe in helping of constipation.

alan_golfnut

snowbun: Actually, you can find it easily in supermarkets. But seriously though, I dunno abt aloe vera helping with constipation. Doctors will always recommend increasing your intake of fibre rich food so that the fibre will form roughage which will then bond with stools (shit) to add bulk to the stools and facilitate shitting.

dyeo

Hi Bit Bit,
I think u have the same prob as I use to have....
I never have to go toilet for BIG business everyday.I prob do it once a month,if I am lucky, or when I get food poisoning...which is my happiest moment.(Torturous, but relieving!! I think you know the feeling.) Moreover, I am a carnivor!...
Anyway, tried Prune, Fibregel, detox tea, detox pills, doc's laxative(which loses its effect subsequently.), all cannot help me.
BUT I just recently tried some secret receipe. If you are interested. email me : [email protected]

northgal

snowbuni : Like what Alan has mentioned, you can easily get Aloe Vera concentrated juice or fresh pack in the supermarket.

You can also plant Aloe Vera yourself too. Just get a baby plant from who ever has it in their pot. The plant need minimum care and reproduce fast. Most pple plant it along their corrider. To make fresh Aloe Vera drink : remove the skin completely and boil. Add rock-sugar. Good for complextion.

Alternatively, you can also get the freshly peeled Aero Vera flesh from NTUC. You need to boil and add rock-sugar yourself.

alan_golfnut

"maybe you can go to this website to take a look, cos don't think can consume own planted or own prepare aloe vera."

Err... all that it means is just another commercial/ marketing thing, another one of those 'seal of approval' thingy.

ocgnil

Have seen through the website, is an scientist organization not a commercial website, nothing is sell there. Relax brother.

alan_golfnut

Nope, it's actually an interest lobby group, and to quote verbatim from its website, "trade organization for the Aloe Vera Industry world-wide. Its membership includes Aloe growers, processors, finished goods manufacturers, marketing companies, insurance companies, equipment suppliers, printers, sales organizations, physicians, scientists and researchers."

northgal

Ashley, we can't consume own-planted or own-prepared? You mean those sold in NTUC cannot be consumed? errr, then what is the purpose of selling it in NTUC then? Lau Hong Kah, which is famous for its ready served bird nest also sell fresh aloe in rock-sugar leh. According to them is that it is made from the fresh plant. Yummy and good for skin.

I don't like the bottled type cos it has got preservatives added.

ocgnil

NTUC one of course can, what i mean is own planted one or those aloe leaf from the market loh cannot be consume cos we don't really know the right way to deal with them mah. For quality or for health propose think is better to consume those with the seal. If just for the taste then can buy from NTUC loh.Just my personal suggestion lah. A.. i don't know abt Lau Hong Kah one lah.

alan_golfnut

Err.. sorry, but I still dun understand how the NTUC ones and the 'seal' ones would be different. Anyway, where can we buy the 'seal' ones? Dun think it's avail in Singapore.

northgal

Hi Ashley,
Few years back, I joined in my co. organsized excursion to M'sia of which a visit is to an Aloe Vera plantation. It demo how the skin is to be removed cos it may be a bit pricky and how easy it was just to clean it under running water. We also visited the production office whereby the factory gals cleaned and prepared the peeled Aloe Vera ready to be exported. All processed are done manually, quick and easy. And of cos we all came back happily cos we were free to take back as much Aloe as we would like to. Big and fleshy. Was told that it is high in fiber.

btw, just to share, the Aloe Vera plant trunk, once cut, will still continue to grow. Try planting one for yourself if you have not experienced.

Aloe is made into concentrated juice such that pple over the world can have the opportunity to enjoy the benefit of this great plant. Not all countries have such great climate like ours which allow Aloe to be planted throughout the year. Likewise, our climate doesn't allow us to plant certain fruits.

Concentrated juice is definitely good for busy working pple like us in S'pore. The good thing about concentrated juice is that it can last for months. NTUC &amp; Lau Hong Kah have served fresh aloe drink to cater for another group of pple who prefer to have it taken fresh. It last only wks after opening.