Conrad Centennial Singapore

sue

Hi Sweets: Nice to 'meet' u as well. I think I'll just go for the decor provided by Conrad. Dun think most people is going to remember the decor after the wedding.

Hi Carol: Dun mention. Don't know how much is the beer from Conrad... I intend to buy from outside.

Hi Lee: I saw the white/silver theme when I was there & I like it. Find it very simple & elegant. Besides the gerberas, there shld still be candles floating in the glass bowl right?

lee

Hi Sue,
From what I remember, I only saw two ivory geberas floating - no candles at all. i remembered asking the person in charge and she says these are what they are providing. She seems to mention an alternative but i forgot what is it

mit

Hi Sam,
I had my rom solemnisation held at the salon by the pool this febraury.Their service and decor were great..I had the gold theme...it looks really contemporary and classy..Regarding the layout, it will be good to let the coordinator know the estimated no. of guest u are going to invite, and from there they will be able to come
out with a rough floor plan layout...

sam

Hi mit,

how long did u stay in the salon for solemnisation or did u have a tea reception after that?

Mine will be a buffet lunch in the ballroom...and I wonder how long will the solemnisation part take in the pool alone?

mit

hi sam,

The solemnisation itself took 30mins, after that we had a buffet lunch (in the salon by the pool)
Overall, we took around 3hrs.

kylie

I think Conrad's beer is $668+++ for a 30litre barrel, and $568 for a 20l barrel. Very difficult for them to throw in compliments (I tried :p)Unless having lots of tables ie. >30. Also think that, they are quite strict, cannot bring own beer. Must buy from them.

As for the wine, my coordinator advised us to buy from outside. Says the hotel price is quite steep. For those who haven't signed, can try asking for corkage waiver.

Agree that the 2 floating gerberas look rather simplistic. But I guess nobody will really remember. I attended a wedding there once, I can't even remember if there was a centrepiece...

pauline

Anyone getting external florist to decorate the conrad ballroom especially the stage deco.

Any cheap florist that can recommend.
Have anyone taken photos of the conrad ballroom, i will greatly appreciate if u can share with me the photos.

Pauline

sue

Hi Pauline,
In the latest HW Brides on 28 tried & tested wedding venues, there's a pix of the Conrad ballrm showing a couple walking in, it's a bit small though. I think it's best to visit Conrad personally to look at the ballrm.

upset

I think conrad service is very bad! I spoke to my corindator and she seem very impatient with me. I only want to know a few more things! How can hotel service be like that! until now I am still very angry!

shock

Hi upset,

May I know who was your coordinator? I have a booking with Conrad.

sue

Me too! I've booked with them. Upset, what do you want to know, perhaps we can help. Who did you talk to?

hopeful

dear all, also thinking of conrad as an ideal location for my 2004 wedding.
however, just got the quotes from them, it's about $1038 per 12 pax for weekend. why is this different from the $998 quoted by some of u in the earlier thread huh? is it really so much difference in 2003 and 2004? or is there something we can negotiate for?

thanks and really appreciate any help you could offer....

anyone work with cathryn before? is she nice?

sue

Hi Hopeful, Catheryn is my coordinator. She is back at work? I thot she is on maternity leave. Catheryn is a very nice lady, easy to talk to. I paid $1018 per table for weekend (minimum 25 tables) & the $998 u mentioned is for weekday table. My wedding is May 2003. If below 25 tables, the price is $1048 for weekends.

I'm bad at negotiating so didn't really bargain for anything. Just exchange the 1st anniversary dinner to extra night, there is also a day use room which I change to something else I think.

binbin

thanks sue.

is catheryn nice to work with?
mine quote was $1038 for weekends leh...

but price valid until first quarter of 2004 only.
does it mean it could be different from April 2004 onwards?

marie

am intending to book conrad as my wedding dinner venue. Would like to check how many times do you meet up with your coordinator before u actually sign the contract? Say if i still have some queries, do i need to meet her in person again or can i address the queries via email? Has anyone work with Debby? She would be my coordinator if i sign up with conrad. So far felt that she is friendly and approachable but would like to find out more.

Many Thanks!

tealeaf

Marie,

You can call, email or meet up in person.
The best is meet up cos it is more personalised. You can't ask much over the phone though.

Debby is great nice lady. I think all of them,judy, catheryn in conrad are great pple.

You probably sign up on the 2nd or 3rd time. Cos most of what in the package is quite standardised.

hopes it help

babyblue

Hi Marie,

I have booked with conrad. Yes you can ask them as many questions as you can, in fact you should, before you sign the contract.

My FH and I met up with our coordinator twice (both after office hours) before we signed, but there were numerous phonecalls and email exchanges. My coordinator answers her emails very quickly, and sees to all our queries either by email or phonecall. We can also call her, and if she is busy at an appt, we just left a message, and she will promptly call us back.

I am sure Debbie will not mind if you request to see her personally.

I have heard a lot of good comments about Debbie, so I think you are in good hands.

marie

thanks! Hehe..now more assured that i can called up/emailed or even meet up with debby..

By the way, may i know what are the questions usually asked? And also the things that we can exchange for? Just in case i miss out sth.

tealeaf

Marie,

1)ask for a free barrel of beer(usually quite difficult)
2)ask for additional nite of stay
3)Conrad gave free seat covers rite? But i think they charge if you want
every seats to be tied with ribbons. Try exchange this with something
like the guest book from Conrad.
4) ask them if can change dishes from different menu.( Usually
they charge if it is more expensive) Ie changing a a soon hock
fish for a grouper fish.
5) Choice of flowers?

Mainly these are the items i asked. The rest is all stated in the package.

hope it helps

tealeaf

babyblue

Hi bin bin,
my coordinator is Jennifer.

Tealeaf,

you managed to get a choice of flowers? I thought the decor and flowers are pretty standard. They recommended white roses as they said they are in bigger bloom than other roses.

I wanted to ask for other kind of table centrepiece other than the floating flowers and tealights. But Jennifer said we will have to arrange with the florist and pay more then.

cleo

Hi all CONRAD brides-to-be,
IF your co-ordinator is Debby...then u r in good hands...as my wedding was just over on 4-oct-02 and everything was smooth....and we enjoyed ourself......tremendously....

sue

Hi Binbin, dun worry. Catheryn is a nice lady to work with. I'm not sure abt the prices for 2004, u better check with them to be sure.

Hi Marie, I met up with Catheryn twice be4 signing up. First meeting was to talk about the package and view the ballroom. Then, I've also emailed her and called her on some queries. On the 2nd time I met up with her, I signed on the dotted line. Debby is another lady whom I heard that is very nice to work with. Basically, they are all nice lah.

Hi Cleo, thanks for the assurance. However, I've heard feedback from my friends that Conrad's serving is very little because it is 12 people/table. Both friends told me guests complained that they were still hungry after the dinner. Is it true about this?

sue

Hi tealeaf,
Does Conrad charge for seat cover? I thot they have 3 different theme to choose from white, silver & gold but there is no mention of extra charge. I remember checking thru my contract on the seat cover & asked Catheryn abt it. She told me it is free & I just need to let her know my choice of colour theme when nearer to the wedding banquet.

marie

was wondering if we can try to bargain for corkage waiver for wine? Has anyone done that and manage to get it? By the way, how much does conrad charge for their wine?

kylie

Marie,
I managed to get corkage waiver for one bottle per whatever no. of tables I have that day.

Extra is charged at $20 per bottle corkage. I don't know how much conrad charge for one bottle of wine though.

marie

HI Kylie!

thanks! Hmmm...seems like quite diff to get full corkage waiver.
------------

Anyone knows if i can request for free flow of chinese tea...my mom was asking me that just now..hehe =P

tealeaf

hi marie,

tea and soft drinks are free flow until 11pm for most premier hotels. Even if they dun, they are usually ok to have free flow.

ask for hings like have a pianist to play the piano when you are having cocktail session. Cos i think the pianist is not always there. Then you dun have hire a band or a quarlet!

marie

Hi Tealeaf!

Thanks! Debby told me abt it too..hehe..me sua ku la..dunno such things one...=P

Oh...am i allowed to request for the pianist to play at the lounge when the cocktail session is on?
Will try to ask debby abt it

carol

went to Conrad last sat night to collect the invitation cards. There was a wedding that night so my husband and I went to take a look at the ballroom. Seems quite nice when they lit the candles. If that is the original setup that comes with the package, then I think it should be sufficient. But the pianist wasn't playing that night. So, I think if we want the pianist to be there during cocktail, we will have to make the request.

pauline

Hi Carol,

So u won't be getting any external florist to deco the place. I have seen the actual package set-up when i went down to meet my co-ordinator.Overall, the set-up is pretty good except for the stage which look rather dull and plain. I am thinking of getting external florist to do up the stage deco.

Any recommendation of cheap florist. My budegt about $500 to $1000.

rgds
Pauline

binbin

dear all, read recently that one of the fav coordinator from hotel intercontinental has left, leaving behind a quite inexperienced girl to take over the job. All the ppl who have booked or considering booking are very dissapointed. i can imagine. just worried, going to meet debby soon. what if we love the place so much and something unforeseen happen? *TOUCH WOOD*.
beri worried leh....

marie

had just sign on the dotted lines for Conrad last Fri. Erm..need to know what's the next in line after the signing of the contract?

Hi Binbin,

have you seen the conrad ballroom? How do u find it? I think to avoid a situation whereby yr coordinator leaves and everything falls into confusion..its best to state whatever you want in the contract so that when the next person takes over..he/she can just refer to it and everything is in black and white.

sue

Hi Binbin, do u know who is the one who has left? I'm worried now.

Hi Marie, have u source around for yr bridal package? Usually that's the next thing that people do after confirming the banquet. Read yr posting on the pianist, previously I was told that if we have someone to play the piano for us, they can push the piano to the foyer. However, dun think we can get their pianist to play for us.

marie

Hi Sue

i think the lady'a name is Anja Brenneis. If i am not wrong..i think she would be handling all the wedding dinner coordination. You sign up Intercon?

Yah..am starting to scout for bridal shops..have made appt with a few.

Me had check with Debby. She mention the pianist would be playing from 7-8pm..but its not possible for them to move to the reception area.

Then after i sign the contract..is there anything else i need to do?? So when is the next time i need to liase with Conrad or for them to liase with me?

sweets

Hi Marie,
I think the next time the co-ordinator will contact us is when it gets closer to the wedding, abt 3 or so months before to set a date on food tasting...

binbin

Dear all, esp Marie, Sue and Cleo...
I am very sad. Just realised from my FIL that the number of tables we are looking at is at least 40 i.e. at least 400 ppl. And that is already very conservative....

that means conrad is out....
I am very sad......wanna cry oredi...........

Why doesn't conrad have a bigger ballroom???
They were my first choice......

vodka

hi binbin, if u can control the guest between 400-420, still got hope cos Conrad's table can accomodate 13pax per table. 14 is still possible but will be cramp. Althought i was told tat they can accomodate up tp 34 tables, i tink 32 will be more comfortable. 32x13pax wud b 416guests, so still possible, rite?

me oso in a dilemma like u in the beginnin but i went ahead 2 book n warn my parents n ILs tat they cant increase no. of guests due 2 ltd space. my draft guests' list was abt 400pax. Then i tot mayb there'll b abt 10% no shows or can strike off list if no choice like colleagues n tat's y i went ahead 2 bk conrad.

leafy

Read so much about conrad's Salon by the Pool. Very interested.

Can anyone share please with me the contract details of wedding buffet dinner held there?

If not convenient to post it here, u can email to [email protected]

regads,
Leafy

marie

Hi Bin Bin,

if u like..can have 2 wedding dinners..one for relatives and one for you and your hubby frens..that u can have one at conrad and one at another venue..if not can have 2 nights at conrad?? Then can bargain for more things..=P

sue

Hi gals, Conrad was awarded Hotel of the Year last Fri. Did u all read abt it?

Hi Marie, I din sign wif Intercon. I sign up wif Conrad. The other time when I was there, there was a piano near the foyer & was told that I can push it near to the ballroom. It's ok, I'll check when I go for my food tasting. I think Conrad will call u 3 mths before wedding for food tasting & u can collect yr cards for printing @ the same time.

Hi Bin Bin, don't be sad. Vodka's suggestion is a gd idea. Why not see if you can work it out that way?

cleo

Hi Bin Bin,
I'm sure that either Marie's or Vodka's idea will works so why don't u have a discussion with your Conrad co-ordinator 1st and then decide wat to do from there.....I'm sure if your co-ordinator is good and resourceful, she will be able to give u a more practical and realistic advice...hope this helps!

Hi Sue,
Yup...I saw it in ST Life where Conrad advertsed a full page where all their staffs' names were sort of "watermark" as a background effect....very happy and proud that I was a Conrad bride and some more during the year that they got the award...even my emcee-Daniel commented that he would like to host in Conrad again should any brides approach him.

Hope that Conrad will keep u the good works and subsequently benefit future Conrad brides like u all out there.....

binbin

dear all....your ideas sounds interesting....
but then 13 per table seems like not a good number leh, somemore odd number mah. think my IL's wun like.
about the 2 wedding dinners, sigh....my dad wun like coz it's like ..u know...bad luck coz do it twice mah...

then hor, the 400 is the minimum leh.
it would more likely be like 410 and more.
well, in any case, like cleo said,perhaps I will give a call to debby.....
thank you all for the encouragement....

vodka

Hi binbin,

i heard fr catheryn tat they did a weddin of 35 tables wif 12pax per table, so total no. of guests is 420.

btw, there's a small salon at 1 end of the ballroom w/c can open up too.

check wif conrad n c wat they can do 4 me.

U

unkown

hi cleo,

Yr wedding at conrad is just over. Care to share with us yr guest's feedback on the food.
Cos i heard from some other thread that the food are little and cold.

cleo

hi unknown,
I got mixed feedbacks from my guests but basically they all agreed that the portion of the food is just nice (even for those with big appetite) but frankly, the shark fin soup is a let-down as I didn't even taste a single pc of shark fin and as for the other dishes...they are almost similar to what we tasted during food tasting.

One thing that impressed me is that they actually took my hubby's comments during food tasting ( a very minor which is to have more leaves on the kai lan) for one of the dishes and seriously they accomodated our requests.

Other than that, other dishes are good esp the dessert which we have chilled pomelo cream with mango and strawberry.....bagus!!!

U

unkown

hi cleo,

thanks for the information, really appreciated yr response :)
Will take note of the shark fin soup during my food tasting.

BTW, can i check with u another thing?
WHich theme did u choose ? the gold or silver?
I have seen the gold set-up and personnelly find it quite good except for the stage deco which i think is too plain. So thinking of gettng external florist to deco the stage only.