Conrad Centennial Singapore

faith

Hi Flo

Agreed with Cleo & Sue. No point hearing us for the comments on Conrad's ballroom cos everybody will have different standard. I guess I'm the earliest of you all to book with Conrad. I booked with Debby one year ago, June 2001. I fall in love with the size of the ballroom cos it's just nice for my banquet size, not too big. Secondly, I like the ballroom becos it's the one and only ballroom and you get to enjoy the whole foyer by yrself. Thirdly, it's a pretty new hotel. As for decor., so far I've went down to see a few weddings held there, I would say is simple and good enough for my standard, their decor are usually flowers, decor on tables are big bowl of water with floating candle & daisy inside. Colour theme, I guess you gals also know about it, they didn't change much....gold, silver, white, orange & green colour theme. The white theme seems very popular, saw quite a no. of weddings using white theme with white roses decor. As for the attendance rate during weekdays, you dun have to worry. As long as you have done your RSVP carefully & closely, you can expect 98% full attendence cos I was amazed when I've attended 2 of my good friends' wedding on weekday, the attendance is wonderful. Perhaps people find it very convenient to attend straight after work and they seems no reason not to attend if everybody saw them present in office... In fact, I'm regreting not choosing a weekday just becos I'm afraid of the attendance not good for weekday, I've to pay so much extra for weekends ! Now that I've attended my friends', it prove me wrong.

Hi Cleo

I mean I want to ask for 2 more 'day use room (2-8pm)' for my family & ah yee, not 2 more days of rooms.

natalie

i'm also considering conrad, my wedding date's in dec03. One thing abt their package that i like is the flexibility in seating capacity, just nice for us, we need not worry abt over-committing yet the ballroom's big enuf for abt 400pax, just nice...

And the freebies thrown in are pretty comprehensive, i heard we could exchange away certain things like anniversary dinner voucher, 9course to 8course dinner, 2nd night stay, to get other stuff like upgrade to better suite or more wine perhaps? I'm not too sure actually, haven't got down to negotiate yet... i read abt some of u asking for day use rooms? Successful yet? i'll be most grateful for any sharing!

faith

Hi natalie

Understand that the ballroom can only occomodate up to max. 34 tables x 12 paxs but usually 34 tables would be very squeeze already, not recommendable.

Day use room is nothing, all hotels should be willing to offer but I was too kind already, only ask for one.

F

furlin

hi Faith,

do u mean that Conrad's ballroom can only hold up to 34 tables (12 pax each)? So if i've abt 40 tables then i wun be able to hav a Conrad banquet?

natalie

thanks faith!
Yeah, understand the max is 34x12=408 paxs, but shd be enuf for us lah! Oh, guess i shd start being thick-skinned and ask for more freebies!

Furlin, when u say 40 tables, u mean 40 tables of 10, right? As Conrad goes by 12pax tables, your 400 guests shd be just right... but faith has rightly pointed out it may be too squeezy, plus u're not giving yourself allowance, too dangerous... have u look at hyatt's grand ballroom? I love it very much, but as i don't want to commit 40-45 tables, no choice have to drop it... but it may be a better choice for u, conrad seems too small for u leh... just a little suggestion...

F

furlin

hi natalie,
yup i meant 40 tables of 12 pax cos i'm expecting abt 450 pax.... had already shortlisted conrad but seems it's not workable now cos it's gg to be very squeezy!!....one less choice now....

sue

When I went to view the ballroom, the couple were having 26 tables & it's quite spacious. I have met up with my actual day photographer & he has took photos for couples holding dinner at Conrad before. He said 25 - 30 is just nice. If 34 tables, it will be very packed & difficult for them to move around.

The ballroom is a T shape, therefore, if u have lesser tables, they will placed the tables closer to the aisle. I think it will be easier if you get a floor plan from Conrad. Me not so good at describing!

faith

furlin, Sue, natalie

I guess I'm going to have the min. no. of tables which is 20 tables. Dun intend to invite alot of ppl, it's better, my guests & ourselves will have more room to move about, won't be so packed esp. when going for table to table taking pics. I've seen a wedding that has about 31 tables, it looked quite packed to me already !

caesar salad

hi all Conrad BTBs,

I'm having my wedding dinner at conrad too.

can i check w u guys, someone (sorry i read so many msg i forgot who said it) got the presidential suite? did u pay extra for it or was it already in the package? i upgraded from centenial suite to executive suite bec of a pormotion in herworld brides mag. is executive suite the same as the presidential suite?

i think we should all compare our perks. bec i had two different frens who held their weddings at pan pac and they got different perks. one of them got an extra night stay without having to trade in anything while the other traded in their anniversary stay. if possible, we can get for ourselves better deals.

i have taken my wedding photos in the executive suite. but my photos are still with the photographer to be blown up.

may i also know who is this 'debby' person u guys are talking abt? i liaise w catheryn, the assistant director of catering sales. catheryn is pregnant and she will only b back two wks b4 my wedding. very risky for me. if debby is gd, i would like to liaise with her instead.

Faith, u say that hotels usually will provide day room for helpers. but when i asked catheryn for it, she refused to give me.

Flo, mine is on a monday. my pricing is 888per table for a min of 20 tables. can i check w u, is your the centenial suite or executive suite or presidential suite? and how many days? r seat covers thrown in?

MY seat covers have been thrown in. anyone out there made to pay for them, go squeeze it out of them!

caesar salad

hi Flo,

i personally like conrad for its ambience and its champagne fountain. they have a new one which spins and there's light shining from below. think it should be brilliant when the lights are dimmed.

if u haven't booked, another place i recommend u to consider is pan pac. i've been there 3 times.

the price for these hotels is comparable. i think they r having a very tough fight. but i personally find that pan pac could have a better menu. mine is 888per table. i noticed that the fish they offered me is the cheap kind of fish. infact, i got $50 discount off per table when i booked mine. catheryn said it was bec of the 911 incident. i think it could b bec of the discount i get cheaper fish.

note: parents can be very particular abt food

pan pac has pretty good ambience. but their ballroom is not as nice as conrad. theirs is too long (i'm talking abt the smaller one) very very long. went there 3 times, all 3 times sat right behind and can't see a single thing of wat's happening in front. they can accomodate 36 tables maximum. ceiling is lower compared to conrad also. u can only use their big ballroom if u have i think 40 or more tables. i think that big ballroom has higher ceiling, maybe comparable to conrad.

if u wan to show ur guests some slides, pan pac has its screen at the back of the ballroom. very funny to me. but conrad has i think 2 screens, one on each side of the stage. i think that's more class.

another comparison. the bridal suite for pan pac (to me) is super far away from the ballroom. or rather, u have to walk a long way from the ballroom to the lift that will bring u up to your suite. from the lift, the suite is right at the end of the corridor. conrad suite is also at the end of the corridor but pan pac corridor also longer than conrad.

my feeling is that pan pac seems easier to negotiate for freebies compared to conrad. but it might be bec of my discount i can't get anything.

but lastly, i agree w all that others say. after reading abt all these, u must go down to c for urself whether u like it. remember to arrange w them to open up all the possible suites u can get and c which one u like.

other gd places (i feel) u can consider for dinner are

1) merchant court (only one ballroom & cheap. heard very gd comments abt them but need a lot of tables)

2) grand copthorne waterfront ( very beautiful ballroom, sides all glass or infront glass w a beautiful water fountain which everyone in the ballroom can see. but expensive and need quite a lot of tables i think)

caesar salad

natalie

Hi caesar salad,
heehee, dun be like that leh, say want to change catheryn for debby publicly.... wat if catheryn sees, how?? Remember u are the only bride on that day, not difficult to find out who u are.... heehee!

Personally i think she's very good as a saleslady (otherwise how can be Asst Dir?? Debby is only sales mgr, i think), so maybe it's harder to strike bargains with her, she also need to make $$ for her hotel wat, though i imagine she has greater deciding power! Try upping your no. of tables, like that she can better justify freebies for u.... we're thinking of understating our tables, keep it to the minimum required, then if we really cannot bargain more out of her, then we'll say we'll up the tables if u give us this and that... just a little strategy for those yet to negotiate....

Err... just remember perks are subjected to no. of tables, weekday or weekend, peak season or not, menu, plus what u're willing to exchange.... so very hard to compare perks like that.... but no harm trying your luck in asking lor!

faith

Hi caesar salad

I think I'm the one who had mentioned that I've got the Presidential Suite. Same as you, I tear out the Conrad promotion on FemaleBrides/HerWorld Brides magazine but that was during June 2001. Actually I've the choice of either choosing 2 nites Centennial Suite or 1 nite Presidential Suite. I also noticed that their promotion has changed to choice of Centennial or Executive Suite only. Exec. Suite is not the same as Presidential Suite as the later is much bigger and the interior furnishing also look more luxury.

Debby is the Director of Catering Sales, considered the head of the Catering Sales Unit. She definitely has more authority than anyone. She is professional in her role and a nice lady to work with. She's also the one that I liaise with, sometimes I contact her assistant, Wei Nam for small enquiries.

Maybe yours is a weekday, already has better perks than us who are on weekends. Remembered when I was squeezing Debby for more perks, she ask if I want to change to weekday, and she could give me abit more perks...but I stayed put to weekend. If I'm not wrong, yours has free flow of beer is it ? Weekends' perks very standard unless one has more tables etc...but I only booked their min. req. 20 tables. So, I got to pay for food tasting. So far to my knowledge, white seat covers is given to everyone free, just that I knew that some sales person are putting in the way that it's something very special for you. Of course like what Cleo has mentioned earlier, Conrad is coming out with new design of seat covers that they're going to charge $4/pc....but till now, the new seat covers are not out yet.

caesar salad

hi natalie,

thanks for the reminder. but i met catheryn when i went there for my photoshoot. she already told me that she will let me liaise with someone else when she's away on maternity leave. if she sees this, i hope she understands.

hi faith,

i had free flow of beer with the promotion. but i didn't want it. i exchanged it for an additional night stay.

faith

caesar salad

U sure you really want to exchange the free flow of beer for additional nite stay ? Did you actually expect that your guests wouldn't take so much beer ? A 30 litre beer costs $665+++ and on average, we need to get ready a 30L + a 20L. The 20L costs about $450+++, therefore total is $1k plus.....using $1k plus to buy for an extra nite, is it worthwhile ??? I really hope that the hotel can throw in free flow of beer.

sue

Hi Caesar salad,
Agree with Natalie that Catheryn is very gd. I liaise with her & she has been very professional & accomodating. My wedding is on weekend. I requested for 2 nites stay & she offered me Centennial suite. The initial was 1 nite @ Executive suite. I dun mind actually.

As for the day use room, I got it because I told her I may not want the 1st anniversary dinner. Hmmmm...I guess different no. of tables got diff perks lor so difficult to compare. Catheryn told me that I can call Wei Nam during her maternity. Wei Nam is her assistant so why not you give her a call (same tel no. as Catheryn).

Hi Flo,
I've also been to PanPac before Conrad. With my no. of tables, can only have Ocean ballrm on 2nd floor...same sentiments as caesar salad, the suite is pretty far & low ceiling. Decided to go for Conrad after seeing it.

caesar_salad

ok. will scan them for u guys when i get my pics. i got my gowns at Ted Wu and my photos by fame, (Tampines). I not so satisfied with the photos actually.

Faith, u used Divine Couture is it? Think they are pretty good.

both my fiance and i don't encourage drinking, that's why we didn't wan the free flow of beer, esp since mine is on a monday. we still have one big barrel of beer (think it's in the original package)

faith

Hi caesar salad

Wow...Ted Wu's gown !!! His gowns are gogerous!!!! Please share with me your pics. Thanks in advance.

Yup, mine is from Divine Couture. I like their low back gowns.....very sexy and daring.....
Me too, had my wedding on Sunday, hoping that my guests wouldn't drink so much but we can't stop ppl. from drinking.....even without the free flow, if they've finished off our one barrel free beer, we have no choice but to open another barrel.....I dun want to hear ppl. complaining behind my back that we stopped supply halfway thro. the banquet. My hubby's Jap. bosses & colleagues love to drink, as well as my father's friends.

natalie

Hi caesar salad,

Same sentiments as faith.... ted wu's gowns are gorgeous! And so are divine couture's gowns!!
Too bad my wedding is still a long way off, a yr and half later... but i sure am looking forward to choosing my gown!

Beer or no beer, i guess it depends on the guests.... some may even prefer wine over beer, but doesn't matter lah, most impt is that everyone can have a good time, agree?

Can share your pics with me too? thks!

sue

Wow!! Faith, I look fwd to see yr photos man!! Sexy & daring....

My wedding is also on a Sunday. As for the beer, we'll order one barrel first but if need to open a 2nd barrel, no choice lah! Becos dun want the guests to think we 'kiam xiap'. Most likely, we'll be getting wine as well.

caesar_salad

yes, i love my gowns by ted wu but i must say that my photos did not turn out as nice as i wanted. u might not c the best effects. actually, after i booked everything, my FH and i found out that divine is owned by one of his fren's older sister. sigh... if i had known, i probably would have gone there.

regarding beer, must be careful of drunk guests making a scene at the dinner. i heard of some frens who experienced that. some even got drunk before the dinner started.

caesar_salad

natalie,

if u're considering ted wu or divine, do remember to make an appointment with them b4 u go down. i think they're very packed. if u go w/o appointment, u might experience cold shoulder from them & u'll probably feel disappointed with their service. i went to divine w/o an appointment & they told me straight they had an appointment & cannot attend to me. my fren went to ted wu w/o appointment and experienced the same thing. then she felt they very dao. but my experience w ted wu is a very pleasant one. so i find that if that's the way they work, do it their way. wat's more they are both gd bridal boutiques, have a good start with them & let them do up ur dream gown for u.

natalie

Thks for ya advice, caesar salad!

Yeah, i also prefer to book appointments, then i can have their undivided attention!!
But i'm a little afraid that if i start the search with these good boutiques, i'll end up having higher expectations..... yet then again, since i'm taking a good hotel like conrad, might as well have a good gown to complement! But dunno if my FH will complain i spend too much $$ or not....?

Maybe i shd start preparing him mentally first, heehee!

Btw, my wedding will be on a sunday too!

caesar_salad

natalie,

plan ur wedding budget. how much r u willing to spend on ur whole wedding? from there, do a detailed break down on how much u wan to spend on each aspect of ur wedding. then must try very hard not to blow each small budget. all the best to u.

faith,

i checked up the june her world brides 2001. i also tore out the same promotion page. i looked at it adn it says upgrade from centenial suite to executive suite. nothing abt presidential suite leh

faith

Hi caesar salad

I cannot remember which HerWorld Bride or FemaleBride issue I've torn out from but the "Upgrade Centennial Suite to Pres. Suite" promotion is definitely earlier that the "Upgrade Centennial Suite to Exec. Suite". Becos after signing with Conrad, I've also seen the later promotion for upgrade to Exec. Suite, no more Pres. Suite.

I agreed with you, am also afraid that guests would get drunk and make a scene...then I would be entirely no face !!!! But again, it's impossible to stop guests from drinking, besides asking the waiter to refill their glassess only when empty etc......That's why I insist not inviting too many ppl. and choose carefully who to invite etc.....also reminded my hubby not to invite anyone he knows......main reason for choosing Sunday also becos of this. Hoping that everyone would consider that next day has to work, won't drink so much.

Hi Sue

Ya, I'll show you my pics when it's ready..but not so soon cos I'll be taking it in Aug and will be ready probably in Oct or Nov. My gown is not too sexy as compared to some of Divine's gowns but it's low back.

sue

Hi Faith,
What my FH & me intend to do is to serve beer & wine only when dinner starts. So during the cocktail, it'll be just fruit punch & soft drink. This is also to prevent people from getting drunk before the dinner starts.

Divine has very nice wedding gowns. It was the 1st boutique I went to & was attended by Jessica. But, I intend to shop around & will probably decide by end of July.

faith

Hi Sue

Ya, since if you've got time, shop around. Before I decide on Divine, I actually bought HerWorld Brides, Female Brides, Wedding magazines for reference but one thing funny is I didn't pay a visit to other bridal boutiques, not even Divine. I only went to Divine's bridal show and signed up during the show. I was actually intended to visit Kai Couture, Tan Yong Brides, Ted Wu.....but I didn't. My mind was set on Divine after seeing the show. I did accompanied my girlfriend to Emanuel B., Charis Bridal, Christian Creation before and was stopped by this French Studio during the exibition @ Suntec and I would say French Studio's gowns sucks ! My advice is go to those designers' boutique, you will never regret and Christian Creation's reputation/service sucks too! ...and dun go to InWeddings, the so-called designer/manager, Mary is very arrogant ! :p

Ya, I'll also serve only soft drinks during cocktail. I dun think I'll serve wine cos Conrad only waive the corkage charge for my 1st 12 bottles which is definitely not enough for the guests throughout the dinner. I dun wish to incur additional costs here & there.....

sweets

Hi everyone.
I am a Conrad B2B. Just saw the pictures of the theme settings and was not very impressed. Just wondering if any brides here are doing anything different ? I was also told that we could get external decorators to help decor the ballroom...anyone doing that ? Hope someone can give me a better idea on the costs to "top-up" or do something different. Thanks.

ss

May I know if anyone will be using the projector screens for presentation during dinner at Conrad.

I understand that they have 2 screens in the ballroom.

Is the hotel providing the projectors or are you bringing in yourself??

faith

Hi SS

I want to show the montage, using the projector but sad to say that Conrad dun provide FOC and we had to source from outside ourself. They gave me a contact, I called up and was quoted $250 to loan a projector for the whole nite, they will set it up for us...still think it's expensive!

sweets

faith...that IS very expensive. I wonder is that the market rate ? I am also interested in doing a short clip as a surprise to my FH....I wonder if anyone has other contacts?

trinity03

you probably need two projectors coz there are 2 screens. The last time I email them (conrad) about the cost was actually near to 500 for one projector. I'm not sure why faith's quote is only $250.

sue

You can bring yr own if you have it. Why not try to borrow the projector from the office if there's one? Personally, I dun think it's worth it paying so much for just a few minutes of show.

lee

I am going to sign the agreement contract with Conrad soon, please let me know what to look out for.

passing by

I am attending a friend's wedding in 2 months time. Her wedding is on a Saturday. Just wondering how much is the dinner at Conrad coz I am not sure how much red packet to give...I don't want to give too little leh, paiseh

sweets

Hi LEe...I am also a Conrad B2B....

Just look out for the usual lar...seat covers, the exchanges of any free items you require, make sure black and white written down...payment scheme...etc...

When is your wedding ? and who are you working with @ Conrad ?

cleo

Hi Passing by,
I am a Conrad B2B in 2 weeks time and my dinner is weekend also. The rate is $998nett per table which works out to be $83.17 pax.

Hope this helps!!

sam

conrad brides! I need advice! went to see the ballroom and fell in love with it but I am looking at a lunch buffet as the banquet at night date is taken up, and we don't want to change date.

Has any bride has their solemnisation at Salon by the Pool? What was the decor and effect like? Becos' I went to see the salon and it was in a very odd shape and I don't know how to arrange the layout to make it nice. Also, was the hotel guests using the swimming pool outside a factor?

lee

Hi Sweets,
I have already met up with Debby. She is a fantastic lady with genuinity in her service. She threw in free seat covers, one night free stay at deluxe room or an upgrade of $100 to centennial suite even though mine is just a reception. But have over 300 guests coming. My future husband loves the view from the room. I was just wondering what are the other things to look out for. So far I am very pleased with the service and all the things that I see. i am opting for the gold theme. My wedding is at September next year.

carol

I am having my wedding dinner at Conrad in early Jan 03. Any idea when can we collect the invitation card from Conrad and the foodtasting? So far, haven't heard anything from Conrad yet. Also, I didn't get 1 free barrel of beer cos my wedding is on Saturday, only managed to get discounted price. Anyone managed to get free barrel of beer on sat so far? I am disappointed with Conrad's floral arrangement after I asked to see what's provided in the package. It is very simple, think its only two gerberras/ivory roses on the glass bowl with tea lights. I was told by Catheryn that if I want more flowers than the standard provision, I will have to discuss with in-house florist and top up the difference depending on the types of flowers that I want. External florists have quoted min $500 for venue floral decor.

trinity03

Hi cleo and passing by,

I think your calculation is based on the px you booked last year. The px has already increased this yr. I've booked mine at $1048 per table on a weekend. So if all my guests comes with $80. I'm sure to lose. Hope they know a bit of market rate and come with $100 to cover the cost. Don't forget the beer and wine on extra cost!

Actually so far almost all weddings I've attended this yr I've gave $100 per pax. Coz now hotels are all not cheap. I think all who goes thru this nerve wrecking wedding prep will understand.

sue

Hi Carol,
I'm also a Conrad bride. wedding in May 03. Heard from Catheryn previously that food tasting is abt 3 mths be4 wedding. Therefore, yours shld be in Oct or Nov. Invitation cards will be given to you later but I think u can request to have them earlier. Do u know if the package include the flowers for the reception table? I forgot to check on this.

Suddenly, so many Conrad brides!!

sweets

Hi Sue...
think the basic centerpiece is provided for in the package, but like Carol pointed out, it is pretty simplistic in design. We will have to top up for other designs ( last I asked, it was like $80 per 4-prong silver calabras (sp)), not cheap. But these nicer hotels everything also not cheap lar...:p

Hi Lee,
personally FH and I never seen Conrad before, so really reading into what you ladies feel about the atmosphere etc to gauge our expectations ;)Think you have a good deal on the free rooms, cos we had a hard time trying to get them to budge as well, and we are having a full blown dinner plus other extra charges tacked on.

Nice to "meet" you all..hope we can hold-hands and get thru this exciting time

carol

Hi Sue, thanks for the info, then I shd be hearing from them in Oct. Yes, the package includes flowers for the reception table plus those that they will line up along the aisle.

Btw, anyone tried the wine that Conrad serve before? Thinking of buying red wine from the hotel instead of getting from outside. Do you think it will be more expensive? I only have 1 barrel of beer and dun intend to open more, so got to buy more wine.

I will be checking with Secret Garden (florist) for their quotations for venue decor. Will share with all of you after that. They are v avant garde type so their work should look v nice.

lee

Actually that day during site inspection I saw the full set up - gold theme. The white/ ivory gerberas (two of them) floats in a glass bowl. Not as nice as I thought but Debby said this is what is given. Think can negotiate further on that? Also on the table are white rose petals scattered sparsely on the table.I felt that it looked great! Any comments on that?