Conrad Centennial Singapore

staritzz

hi mucci..
when is your actual day? im planning for my food tasting as well. wondering if its too early...but the coordinatoors keep reminding is to fix a date.

happyface,
i love the ostrich meat! but i guess individual "tastebuds" is very personal...its definately a safer bet with the ribs. when i attended dreamdoll's wedding..we were served with fork and knife especially for that dish. so i tot it was something different for a change! i can almost remember all the typical dishes of a chinese banquet!

i was thinking..if pple can accept hot plate deer meat..ostrich is a bird...so can lah hor??

sherrfy

hi staritzz,
you go for ur food tasting and let me know what is nice there.

Ostrich meat seems unique, dun usually hear that in wedding.

mucci

hi happyface,

we tried the ostrich meat and found it to be pretty tasty, but initially had to overcome "abit of the fear factor in eating such exotic meat" :p Anyway have decided to include it as part of our AD menu.

Hi Staritzz,

My AD is on 20th May. Coming very soon...:p
I think our food tasting session is abit late, but no choice, my bf needs to do quite an extensive amount of business travelling. My wedding coordinator emailed 3 times and made 2 call reminders before we set our session..hee

Regarding the sharks fin soup, we find the taste quite different from the type we had in Bangkok. Not too sure if it is due to canto style of cooking, they put ham in their soup base.
So any of you can give me an idea wat combination you have tried and found it to be well-received in general.

staritzz

you know..i actually ask if i can top up for a "buddha jump over the wall" in replacement of the sharkfin..tot it will be different..

they got back to me and tell me the top up is $80 per pax.

*gasp + *fainted

happyface

hey gals, thanks for all ur feedback.. both my parents and in-laws find the ostrich meat too tough so no choice, will change to pork ribs. My 1st time hearing pple got pork ribs for wedding dinner..hahah, sound a bit cheapo.. btw, how come they dun hv prawn as a dish hor??

wat??!! $80 per pax when we hv already spent so much per table liao.... defnitely a no no for me... hahaha

summerrain

hello everyone,

me overseas n just came back...surprised that the thread moved so fast..anyway below is some info which i hoped can help u gals

1) for my upgrade to presidential suite, i have asked Lolita after our signing of the contract (Abt 6 mths before my AD) if can upgrade us to presidential suite if available. it was not indicated on the contract and she did informed taht it was quite hard. so it came as a surprise tat we got an upgrade. You may wan to check with ur coodinator if possible to upgrade based on availability.

2) i saw confetti , false rose petals thrown at my's wedding but i think real rose petals is the best. i bot mine at wholesale and spend the nite before my AD plucking petals...took less than half an hr to pluck finish 3 dozens of white roses (they allowed only white roses as coloured may stained their carpet) this u may wan to check with your coordinator as the previous coordinator we had rejected our request for our guests to throw petals during our march in but Lolita allowed.

hi moopo

U may wan to use other things in exchange for a dayrm? my colleague exchanged one nite stay to upgrade to a bigger room so that his wife's helpers can use the room.

hi valkwan,
not convenient to tell u here who was my ex-coordinator but if you dun like your coordinator, can req for a change of coordinator. We complained cos we felt that we paid for the service but we are not getting the service from the previous coordinator...and in the end, everything turns out wonderful.

Hope it helps.

ozbride

hi summerrain
thanks for your advice ;) i will keep that in mind and see how things go

would you share your photos with me as well? thanks! pls PM me? ;)

hope to hear from you soon

ozbride

hi summerrain
hope you don't mind PM me.. i got some unsolicited mails from leaving my email address in forum (asking me to buy stuff etc) so i don't feel very comfortable

unless someone can tell me how i can delete my msgs after i post them? any ideas?

sherrfy

Hi Summerrain,
Thanks for sharing your pics. You are very pretty..

I have also just e-mail the co-ordinator to see if they can upgrade me to the presidential suite if it is available. So, she said, she will check it out. Hopefully, i get it so that i can do the solemnization in the suite.

moopo

Hi summerrain,

Thanks for ur lovely pics...
You looks so sweet! Love ur cute mini tiara...makes u look like a xiao gong zhu.. Good idea from u...hehehe! ;p

Oh ya, regarding the exchanging of things for a dayroom i have asked my coordinator before, but she say cannot...she just say 'depends on availability'....even when i say i wanna use the anniversary dinner voucher to exchange for a dayroom she also say cannot... sob sobz..

So i guess i will hv to wait till my AD is nearer than i will ask her again.

And as for the upgrading of the room from Centennial suite to presidential suite, i tink tis is even harder...coz nw i hv 2nites stay at Centennial suite, i wouldnt wanna give up 1nite just to get a day room loh...not worth it leh...

But actually is 1nite stay sufficient har? Based ur experience...ehehhehe! ;p

moopo

Hi sherrfy,

Do let us know if you managed to upgrade to the presidential suite okie? Then u can teach us what to do when negotiating for it. hehehehe! ;p

moopo

Hi summerrain,

My AD is in Feb08...2mths after you.. hehehee!
Its okie, if you got ask then just keep us updated loh.. heheehe! Now its too early too ask also... ^o^

summerrain

hi sherrfy and moopo,
thanks for the compliment.
i got mine from Taipei for less than S$20...lending to my other gfs for their AD and photoshoot....

my dar say i looked very animae...hehehe...

Hi moopo,
ur coordinator is really making things difficult.... =(
actually one night is enuf if u are going overseas the next day. Even if you are not going overseas...wat can u do with the extra one nite in the hotel when u are still in S'pore. Which is y we opted for one night instead although we went for our honeymoon the very next day. My fren also opted for one night and use the extra nite to exchange for a bigger rm at Conrad cos we feel that extra one night in S'pore makes not much difference.

Besides, do you have many helpers on your AD? If there aren't, no point in wasting ur extra nite for a dayrm cos they will not in the rm for long. I did not have a dayrm as my helpers left their belongings at my suite and were downstairs at the reception table serving my guests. So u may wan to consider if ur helpers will be using the dayrm a lot, if they aren't, then dun need the dayrm.

and lastly, its best to get ur hubby to do the negotiating. Duno y, but my gfs also agree that their husband got a better deal from negotiation which is also in my case. maybe my bf quite fierce...hehehe...

moopo

Hi summerrain & sherfry,

Sorry gals, i blur liao...i type wrong name in my post above....i was reply to sherrfy on my AD but i type summerrain name instead. hahahhaah! me blur liao. ;p sorry k!

Oh ya hor! Summerrain, thanks for the advice. :D You are rite, i think i hv to ask my fiance are we going honeymoon straight after our AD or later...if not get 2nites stay for what hor...

I tink most likely i will need the day room, coz alot of frds/helpers i guess...unless when nearing one by one say cannot help or what then i hv to cut down loh...then maybe by then i can consider not taking the dayroom liao. heheehe!

Hehehe! so far it is my fiance who ask them things also...coz he say when he ask he feel that my coordinator sounds nice & helpful...but just duno why i find otherwise. haahah! Maybe it is true that guys have a better way at negotiating! hahaha! ^o^

moopo

Hi hi sherrfy,

Sure no problem... Thanks dear!

Ya my is just 2mths after you, we can share share our experiences then... hehehe!

moopo

Hi sherrfy,

hahahaa...only settled hotel for AD so far leh...me very slow hor??
Now i am looking for BS loh....and also PS...oh ya and also venue for rom... hehehee! ;p suddenly like so many things to do still but yet to do... kancheong leh...

What about u dear?

coco_mybibi

Hi summerrain,
Can email me the link of your beautiful pics too?

Hi Moo&po,
You need any recommendation on Photographer? I can recommend mine to you. Had my pre wedding shoot few months ago and my ad approaching soon, on May 5

moopo

Hi coco_mybibi,

Yup yup, it would be great if you can recommend me ur photographer... Thanks ya!

You got any pics to share? =D

sherrfy

Hi Moo&po,
I am done with all the big items - AD venue, BS, PS Photographer, AD Photographer and Videographer..That's pretty much.. u still have time..so dun worry.

xiaolubao

Dear Conrad brides, I'm interested in holding my wedding at Conrad. I'v eonly got 1 date, 14 Sept 2008 (Sun). Selected by the geomancer so no choice
Anyone can share with me the 2008 package?

Cld I also find out what is the min no. of tables required for the ballroom? I have only 30 tables.

moopo

Hi coco_mybibi,

Thanks! i got your email

You look so pretty & i like your gown... mind sharing where you go for your BS? heehhee!

Oh ya...i reply to your through that email too...coz got some questions... hehehee!

staritzz

hi colourtv..

they ve phrased out the dance "Be my guest" from little mermaid movie.

coz loita tot it was too cheesy..sth like that..

staritzz

sherrifer,

thanks for yr projector contacts!

ive booked him for my day n it was a breeze to do so!

to think i search online for so long for a good bargain!

coco_mybibi

hello, just a note, i am sharing my pre wedding pics and not my ad pics cos my ad is not over yet, just that I am using the same photographer for my ad too.

moopo

Hi Sherrfy,

Can share with me the projector lobang also? Haiz...just bcoz conrad dont provide you see lah, every brides here looking for lobangs liao. hhahaahah! =D

Oh ya, i forget to reply to ur last post to me...wow! You have almost settled everything, so which BS, PS Photographer, AD Photographer and Videographer you engaged? Hahehehhe! So many questions hor? Care to share too? You can also PM me if you want. ;p Thanks!

sherrfy

Hi Moo&po, you can contact Ferri - 97905512 for the projector.

My BS is S*lverl*n*ng, PS is N*ckgoh, AD Photographer and videographer is Avenue 8 (replace * by "i").

What about urself?

moopo

Hi sherrfy,

I only settled my hotel so far, the rest not yet. Still looking around leh..you have any pics to share?

Oh ya, how is the charges like for the projector har? coz we need 2 for our ballroom rite?