Conrad Centennial Singapore

coco_mybibi

hi monient,

the piano can be pushed into the ballroom. look very classy when it is in the ballroom

hi sassy bride,
will you be having someone to play the piano?

sassy_bride

yup, my coordinator confirmed that the piano can be placed in the ballroom FOC, anywhere u want, just not up on the stage!

have asked a friend to play the piano n even passed her a list of songs that would like her to play... haha.....

i may play the piano during the banquet too, but need time to pick up, haven't touched my piano for ages!

moninet

hi coco & sassy bride
great tt it's FOC.. can juz imagine the piano in the ballroom being played! tt'll be a classic!

hi coco and sassybride,
it's really cool to hv your own friends entertaining on the piano. i had that for my wedding in april too - during the cocktail reception. but one point to note is the position of the piano. for my case i didnt specify where to place it. it ended up being put near the wall opposite the entrance of the ballroom, so it was a bit far from my guests and some of them actually thot it was the hotel's lounge pianist playing. if u want it to be more interactive n obvious tt your fren's entertaining, mayb can get coordinator to move the piano nearer the centre of the cocktail area.. then the pianist wun feel so lonely oso.

hi angeldust,
my personal feedback is that the ostrich meat is really good. different, but nice. many of my guests had good comments cos it was so memorable for them. and it's a fairly big chunk too, so it's a v presentable dish. try it at food tasting then decide
my parents n in-laws loved it.

coco_mybibi

hi piper,
thanks for your note
btw, does the piano sound abit out of tune cos I understand that hotel does not keep track of when the piano is last tune.

angeldust

piper - really? hmm.. okie if that is the case.. i try first then decide if wanna switch. i wonder if i can have a SMALL plate of the other one i wanna exchange so my parents can decide. FOOD QUALITY & PORTION is extremely important to my family cos my relos look for good food.

hi coco!
yeah, according to my 2 frens who played the baby grand, it was quite in tune. but they did add that it was too noisy to really notice :p

hey angeldust,
Portion wise, conrad's really generous, no worries abt tt. u'll go home from the tasting session feeling really bloated! im sure u can try asking for a small portion of the other item.

mzlt7879

I am also keen on conrad but the coordinator has yet to get back to me on e quotation..is there a price increase for 2007? What was the price that u all signed? help help..thanks.

lilyn22

wow, lots happening on this thread now..been MIA for a long time now that the wedding is all settled

honestly speaking, was pretty surprised to see the negative comments. my experience was really positive overall....Jeanie who was my coordinator then, was great!

--------------------------------------------
Menu wise i have to say pretty much everything is yum. We attended another dinner b4 our own AD so i got to try 2 slightly diferrent menus.

For us we had the ostrich steak, which got rave reviews as it was really different from what other places would serve. I think that they didn't have fork and knives to eat it with during the AD dinner, unlike during our tasting, but the meat was so tender that wasn't an issue for my guests. We had the walnut cream for dessert, which was beautiful. I'm not a fan of gooey stuff either but THAT i liked! their yam paste is good too, but we figured it would be such a heavy dinner that people would find yam too heavy. Let me know what other choices you're making and i'll do my best to help

lilyn22

timing wise you can refer to the timeline they gave you. i basically waited till about 2 months before i started talking to them about setting the menu etc. I had to do it a little earlier than most people as timing and getting everyone down for dinner was a bit tough to organise.

we discussed the themes when we gave them feedback on the food the following week. then again we didn't do anything that elaborate theme wise, just their cream and gold which i loved anyway cuz its so elegant.

angeldust

oops.. missed out on the conrad thread a bit..

piper - thanks for the advice.

summerain - hmm u deleted the posts. ok never mind. Glad it all turn out well.

lyn - thanks for all the wonderful advice rendered. i also liked the cream and gold setting!!

deannen

someone mentioned dat conrad is almost full for 2007 booking? what abt 2008? can we call them to expressed or interest 1st? cos i really like conrad..one of my top 3 choices & my AD in 2008 is a double date & it falls on a Sat as well so ve to be alittle KS & source early?
can someone advise me..thanks

happyface

hi deannen,

which part of 2008 does your wedding fall on? Actually i book conrad on jan 06 but my AD is on Jun 07, so abt 1.5yrs ahead.. haha..ks rite? But like you said, we like the place and our wedding is on a sat too.. you can call up conrad and look for catheryn who is my coordinator. SHe is a very nice lady and i'm sure she can help you. =)

deannen

Hi Happyface

thks for ur advice...we havent conf the AD date yet but it will def be in 2008. We are getting ROM this Nov 1st.
1.5yrs ahead ah? if my AD is in early 2008 then this is abt the right time liao...mmm..ok, maybe i will give her a ring to chk it out!
Will there be a price/ perks diff if i book now vs their 'shows'?

amy_fleur

Hi Deannen,

Like happyface, I confirmed my AD with conrad 1.5 years in advance. My AD is in Dec 2007, booked in June 2006. As mine's in December and on a Saturday, the dates are pretty popular. At that point in time, there were already people doing tentative booking. There was actually a couple in front of us. But thankfully, they chose another date, leaving us with our desired date.

My advice is, if you are looking at a Sat, there's no such thing as being ks... :p

The only thing is that, the package for 2008 may not be out yet. The package that they have now may include early 2008, but not too sure. It's better to check with the Conrad personnel. If the package isn't ready, you're left with no choice but to wait for the package to be out before you can book the date.

deannen

Hi Amy

i see..thks alot for ur advice =)
but like u say we can 'tentative book' the dates dat we want right? cos my future MIL wants to wait till tong shu is out then conf the dates but scare by then will be too late liao..& Conrad is one of the popular hotel...

also, like i asked before - any diff in terms of perks if i book thru shows/ normal time?

also, wad can we neg for? Thanks alot!

angeldust

hi all conrad btbs,

need some help here. I just received the "kickstart" email from my coordinator catheryn. Did any of u proceed with their appointed printer Lil-art for printing or did u gals chose another printer but still use conrad's cards? Can someone advise me their experience with Lil-art? thanks a lot!

happyface

hi deannen,

wat i know from my coordinator is tht conrad dun hold any bridal show, i think they are quite a good hotel so no need such promotion..hehe ..

moninet

hi angeldust, i didn't go thru lil-art, found them a bit expensive, thou it cld be tt their quality & service are excellent. I still used the conrad card but chose to print the inserts fr an external printer.

cutebear13

read through the comments posted, is it true that 2007 dates are fully booked?? i just got the wedding package (2007) from conrad.

cheers,
evelyn

amy_fleur

Hey Deannen, like what happyface said, my coordinator also told me that they don't have any intention of holding bridal shows.

As for tentative booking, yep, Conrad has this. They'll hold it for you until someone else has the intention of confirming that particular date. During which, the coordinator will inform you and give you around 2 days to consider if you wanna take the date. After 2 days, if you don't wanna go ahead, the date will be given to the other couple.

Evelyn, I think what we meant is a lot of popular 2007 dates are snapped up. I'm sure there are still dates left, depends on the dates you're looking at of course. You can check the availability of dates with your coordinator. =)

deannen

Hi Happyface/ Amy

thanks alot for ur advice =) will try to contact Cathryn asap so that we can start some planning...

moninet

hi angeldust,
you can call fenie @ 91078106.. she's nice & helpful..
her co. can do the template for you or u can do it up yourself...

tagra

Hi bride

I intend to hold my wedding in Oct 2007. Wonder if the DBS Amex card is still applicable for the 8.88% off the wedding package.

Have you meet up with any coordinator? Any recommendation of the coordinator?

angeldust

hi rachel,

the DBS Amex promo i think its for those unselected dates.
I suggest u meet conrad up first to find out more details.
make an appt and have the qns ready in hand.

hi bride - nope.. me dec 06 bride.

tagra

Hi Angeldust

Confirmed that the DBS Amex promo is only for dnr held till end of this year. So sad..cos if can use the card..definitely will help to save abit..

Wonder if next year still got such an offer anot..

angeldust

Hi Rachel,

ya. the promo is as such but why dun u pop a visit to conrad and speak to the coordinators first? no wonder if the promo will continue tho...

Hi smileybride - paiseh unable to help cos mine is 06 package. email conrad and they should reply u promptly with the quote.

smileybridetobe

Hi Angeldust/Rachel,

I've checked with them in May this year and they've confirmed that the promo is not extended to '07. So sad, i tried to squeeze in for this year but there are no more available dates. I was looking at mar '07 then and was told that the price is at $998+++. Recently when i checked again, they've increased the price again to $1088+++ and they told me i can't have the old package (@ $988+++) anymore even tho i confirmed my wedding in apr'07. I feel it's very unfair as they seem to practise increase of price base on booking date rather than the date where your wedding will be held. That's why i'm curious to know wat price are pple paying from jul'07 onwards. Dun you think it's unfair if i have to pay more for my wedding in apr than someone say in aug'07???

dreamdoll

Just had our wedding dinners at Conrad over the weekend and we had a blast

We had excellent feedback from everyone about the setting, the service and the food! Everyone was raving about how intimate our whole event felt and how well-planned everything was up to the last detail! Mainly the hotel has been impeccable in their service quality and they have really gone out of their way time and again to help us build up what we'd imagined our wedding dinners to be! Even if at the last minute, we had so many changes
We're still lounging around in the hotel post weekend, and enjoying each and every bit of everything!

So, Conrad brides-to-be, in my humble opinion, no regrets on selecting Conrad and you are in good hands!

alya

attended a wedding yesterday at conrad
waitresses were inexperience and clumsy
food serving was small and i was pretty disappointed that some of the dishes are served cold.
i guess i had high expectations
but the place was realy grand though

coco_mybibi

Hi smileybridetobe,

I booked with conrad apr this year for my wedding next year. During the time of booking, the coordinator mentioned that they have not increased their price for few years already and they will be revising the price soon this year. So whoever book before the rate increase will enjoy the old rates.

grapey

i jus went to a conrad wedding and it was simply smashing.. i like the new black theme... whole place in black table cloth and chairs draped in black.. red roses. i think it's worth the $500 top up. nice!! too bad during my time they didnt have the black theme =( you ladies should take a look at it. really cool!

mintee

Understand from the coord that there will be another black theme wedding tomorrow evening. Interested BTBs might wanna pop by...

sunflower44

Hi goober,

Thanks for sharing! =)
U mean the top-up for the new black theme is $500 per table?

Actually i've signed up with Conrad...but i duno what kinda theme they have leh.. thot they play with colours only.. =p