Conrad Centennial Singapore

inox

Hi everyone.

I am also a Conrad BTB and I am having my wedding party for friens at the poolside on 25 sep. anyone having poolside wedding on 24 or 26 sep ? We can share out our decoration cost. ciao ...

katherine

hi Jen,

was originially looking at 26 sep for poolside but decided to postpone the wedding to next march, otherwise, we could split the deco costs....btw, can ask, the deco for the poolside, we have to pay for it issit?? how much is it?? haven't had a chance to talk to judy yet, so i dun know the details...

inox

Hi Katherine,

What a waste, we could have share our decoration cost ! What the hotel will provide is the Dining table centerpieces and Buffet counter flowers. If you want more decoration ie balloons & extra decor for the stage, you need to get your own suppliers. The party will cost $68 +++ per person but the spread esp the dessert spread is really gd ! The place looks really cosy and romantic at nite ... just rite for a party of 80 friens ...my guests can go out & take their drinks near to the pool.

I will prob get my own balloons decoration & band .... that's why I tot of sharing out these fixed cost with other BTB on 24 or 26 Sep. Do consider !

katherine

band...live band???!!! woahhhh...nice and romantic....how much is the live band going to cost?? thot of getting one but think it will prob cost a few Ks...so drop the idea...

yah, i agree tat their dessert spread looks good, esp tat banana chocolate cubes....yummy..

sweets

hello Jen & Katherine,
I had my wedding at Conrad already and the dessert is yumSS!!! THumbs up for sure

inox

Katherine - i am thinking of s 2 to 3 person band only, so it will cost abt $500 to $700 only.
My friens have give me a few contacts and I am still deciding ....

Sweets - thks for the reassurance on the desserts, b/w, is it possible for you to email your dessert menu to me at [email protected]
i haven't got down to choosing the ones i want. thks !

katherine

hi Jen

the live band tat u r getting, what kind of instruments do they play?? i m thinking of getting a solo musician who plays the sax...got contacts??

warrmead

hello hello!

I'm also gonna be a conrad BTB. my wedding will be in Nov.. but will be having a tea reception. my co-ord is jennifer and she's pretty nice.

conrad has a very grand feeling and i'm quite satisfied with the overal decor leh. think is ok.

anyone had a tea reception there b4?

katherine

hi Jen,

no idea about budget, cos dun know wat's the norm rate like..but i gotten a quote from a caterer, they quote $1400 for a 4 person band, not stroller, so i also dun know stroller how much, maybe for 2 person band, not more than $600?? is tat reasonable or too much??

dkny

I'm thinking to have my wedding banquet by the poolside n i heard that conrad have this kind of services. I havent go down n see the environment, hope can get some information from ur gals like how's the services n environment n food, thx.

katherine

hi dkny,

i personally like conrad a lot, think i got a soft spot for this hotel, heee...

the poolside looks nice, with shelter..so dun have to erect marquee...my hubby prefers marina poolside though cos they have soem form of deco already whereas conrad is just an empty space....do go down and see

warrmead

hi dkny,

conrad is a nice place... the poolside u can choose to do either indoor or outdoor. best is u give the catering sales a call and get them to show to you to discuss further.

jennifer is my co-ord in conrad. she's quite friendly. i think some gals in this forum also said she's nice.

dkny

Hi katherine
may i know where's the marina? Bcoz i'm looking for some poolside buffer dinner so now start to look aroung but dunno which one is better.

Hi Warrmead
I already give them a call n they have emailed me the propasal n they gave me a contact number n asked me to look for catering manager n from his name i think is a guy.Later i'll give them a call to make an appointment. May i know what u mean by indoor n outdoor? May i know how's teh food? thx

katherine

hi dkny,

i meant marina mandarin poolside...
but i've just called them, they said may have reno at the time when i want to have my wedding, which is next march, so dun know wat would be the status..

other poolside to try would be oriental hotel, goodwood park (also some plans for the poolside, dun know wat)

warrmead

hi dkny,

at the poolside of conrad, there's 2 places. 1 is a sheltered area located at the right side of the pool when u enter the door. that place is al-fresco & is non-aircon. But it can hold more people. This place is good for dinner only or else noon time very hot...

The other one, indoor, is actually a restaurant that conrad used to serve breakfast to their guests. they can convert this place to become a small wedding reception too. This one, if you look out, you will see the pool directly in front of you. it is airconditioned. the last time I discussed with my co-ord, she said can use both places together for the poolside reception. But i prefer to use their ballroom instead cos mine is in the afternoon. oso like have to be at 2 places at 1 time oso a bit "xiong" for the bride la, i feel.

food wise.. hehe i dunno leh. but so far reviews from my frens who've attended wedding there said that conrad's food is very good. this forum i read also alot of pp very happy with their food, ambience and service. so i think no need to worry too much.

katherine

warrmead, u going to do a luncheon??? buffet or sit down?? thot of doing tat too, cos their ballroom looks really grand!!

warrmead

hi katherine,

i'm doing a tea reception with conrad actually.
oso doing round table style. i've looked at their actual wedding decor cos jennifer asked me & FH to take a look after dis couple were done with their tea reception in the ballroom. it was quite nice. the ballroom is really grand cos is oso exclusive 2 ur function only. won't have incidences of guest walking into the wrong ballroom cos got 2 couples having wedding at same time...

caicai

Hi i am new here ! am interested in CONRAD too...
SOmeone wrote that Conrad is able to cater to our budget ( does tis only applies to buffet style ? or can Chinese Dinner be applicable ?)Judy was given good reviews by many of you , so can i just call up conrad and ask for her directly or will they assigned

katherine

hi serena,

think no harm calling judy directly...

dun know about the catering to ur budget thing but would be good if they can....their buffet not very expensive, $68.80+++, so comes up to about $80.2 per pax

katherine

just found out from judy tat the date tat i want, got someone booked already...so sad..

and yes, can negotiate about budget

warrmead

hi katherine, what was the date u wanted?

btw, i think most hotel can negotiate abt budget but is the min guranteed that they might not be flexible. i think.

weoseek

I've went to buffet by pool side wedding before..and yes it is very beautiful. But got to be careful about the food..as I dun think they really top up as often. Middle of the dinner, i think they stop topping up the food. Overall, it is still a very beautiful wedding. Capacity inside the cafe is only 80 person..but ur guest can choose to take up outdoor seats by the swimming pool.

katherine

hi warrmead,

the date tat we have in mind is 13th march 2005...talk to my hubby already, we may change to 20th march instead, better to give ourselves more options even if at the end, we dun choose conrad....

wat do u mean by min guranteed not flexible?? as in i must guranteed 100 guests if tat is their min??

warrmead

hi katherine,

oic.. my date is supposed to be a very popular date too, for dinner especially. not sure what's so special of the date cos we're not particular. my hubby's mum picked the date for us one so we just went along.

yep, that's what i meant. for example, if my budget is $50 per head, then they might ask for a min guarentee of 150 people. from my experience, the higher the minimum, the better price they offer cos there's economy of scale.

like in the case of Merchant Court, their minimum was 200 but the price per head is only $30-ish. But the minute you lower the min to say 150, the price shoots up cosiderably. This was the case with all the hotels we met up.

for buffet most hotels has a min no. of pax. and this will be charged to you even if the no. of guest that tun up falls short of the min guranteed.

inox

Hi Katherine,

Sorry, been missing for a while. The band I have in mind plays mainly jazz music and they do have instruments like saxophonist, guitarist, bass etc
Cost is abt $500 to $800 depending on how much people you need.

Weoseek - I am having my poolside reception in the cafe in Sep 2004. You are rite, the cafe can only hold max 80 persons but I think it is a very cosy place and I prefer it better than the open place they have outside. From what I know, this is the place they use to hold a lot of press conference for filmstars. Is the flower decoration
that they do for the wedding nice ? And do the couple has champaign pouring ceremony or cake cutting ceremony ?

For the other brides considering this venue, I know that the food is frm the same chef as Oscars, so the food is pretty gd. The price that I paid at $68+++ is pretty reasonable for a sat evening.

dkny

Hi katherine
thx, i calledup goodwood hotel n they only can hold 40 pax, so its a bit small for me.

Hi warrmead,
I already make an appointment with them tmr n will let u know. From what u described, i prefer the indoor one bcoz it suitable for my parents.

weoseek

Jen Sia,
I saw a lot of balloons when I step into the cafe..very beatiful..but forgot about if there is any flowers..Of all the wedding I've been, it is the one that left me most deep impression. The bride and groom's table is longer square table..Very nicely decorated.

There is almost no march in, bride just step into cafe that's it...Yup, there is champaige pooring, cake cutting, and cheers session. Conrad uses some fruits like longan, grapes to decorate the "fruit corner" becos not enuff fruit, in the end i saw ppl even remove the decorations to makan. hehe..

I heard the consumption of wine from your guest will naturally goes up at that romantic and cosy environment. As that friend of mine also only had 80 guest...But they consume 5 carton.

Overall, it is still the nicest wedding of attended so far.

caicai

Thanks Katherine for your reply. By the way , anyone knoes that Conrad has any promotional fairs / discounts coming up ? They seemed to be in a class of their own .......... looks difficult to get any perks from them

katherine

hi jen, can give me the contacts?? need to get quotes....email me ok? [email protected]

hi warrmead, did u talk to them about ur no. of guests and see how much they can fit into ur budget?? no harm asking...from wat i gotten yday, they seem quite agreeable to cater to our budget, my hubby is worried about the price of catering to our budget though, as in, they lower the budget but maybe they impose other things on us?? anyway, judy said better to go down and meet up to discuss...did u do so??

hi dkny, GWP hold 40 pax?? for their poolside u mean?? tat's tiny!!!!! and i told them i got 100-120 guests and they said ok!!!! hmpf! luckily never consider them liao...actually i find their catering sales pple a bit sluggish..dun know whether issit becos they have plans and cannot confirm...

hi serena, never read anywhere tat conrad got fair or promo...i think tat's why pple always have the idea that conrad quite expensive and high-class.....try talking and see if can get perks or not lor...

btw, which florist u girls are considering?? i m thinking how to go about getting quotes from them......any recommended florist??

warrmead

hi katherine,

we've actually booked with conrad already. my boss who knows them helped to pull a bit of strings u see. hehe. so in a way they will certainly cater to our "demands". but we're not that unreasonable also la. we know that for this kind of 5 star, u cannot ask for the sky also.

we happy with what they offer so no issue on the budget and min pax for us cos they accomodated to our request.

but sorry, will not be able to reveal on what I got cos is a special deal in a way. but actually also didn't alot more things. just budget wise and min pax they actually made it abit more flexible us.

warrmead

hi katherine,

sorry missed out that u're asking us abt which florist we're using. i'm gonna engage Secret Garden. Liked their style very much. Everytime I flip thru bridal mag, I see those flower arrangements that I liked very musch mostly came from there.

FYI, their website is: www.secretgarden.com.sg

warrmead

hi serena,
i just went to check out greenpointflowers. quite nice designs too. but they never put the pricing of the package though. any idea what's the charges like for decorating bridal car?

katherine

hi warrmead and serena,

secret garden is one of my consideration..am thinking if i email them the floor plan of the cruise ship, will they be able to give me a rough estimate??

went to see greenpoint flowers website...oh..like their deco for garden....serene, did u sign up with them??

warrmead

hi katherine,
i think you can do that. or you may wish to call them up first before you mail them the floorplan. my hubby made a call to secretgarden before and i think the lady boss is called jaslyn or something. you're doing your wedding on cruise ship? that's so cool...

caicai

Hi katherine ,

I hvnt sign up with any florists yet .. but think greenpoint flowers are pretty nice , recalled seeing their arrangements in bridal magazines before .... and read in the forum , someone was praising it . so i took down this website for future reference's sake :p

katherine

called secret garden already, said to call back on monday, one of the pple is doing up a yacht this few months, so she is able to help me better...

oh, another florist very nice one, in bloom, www.inbloom.com.sg
this one recommended by a caterer

katherine

oh, warrmead, we haven't confirm on cruise or conrad, both sounds nice, although i must admit i m beginning to slightly vee towards cruise wedding...

caicai

for the budget /per head is this only applicable for buffet style -poolside event only ?
what abt the cantonese styled dinner ? any1 has any ideas ???

warrmead

hi katherine,
i see. quite a cool idea to have it on a cruise. what liner are you engaging? will it actually be setting sail?

thanks 4 ur link to the other florist too!

warrmead

hi serena,
i believed the budget/head may be more applicable to buffet style reception. hotels normally cater buffet for lunch and tea. they will also have sit-down 8/9 course cantonese lunch, which normally is cheaper than dinner price.

cantonese style normally they count by per table. they might oso have a min no. of tables for a certain price range.

inox

h kath,
I have sent you the band contact. Also, i just called Justin from Fluv Florists and he sounds really prof. I think his shop is at 66 Club Street.so u can try him.

katherine

jen, didn't receive leh..can resend?? think my mailbox burst liao over the weekend... :p btw, u wanna check out red box and secret garden?? think red box quite recommended, so far, got 2 person rec to me already...

warrmead...it's not like star cruise so big a cruise ship kind, it's called falcon princess, 3 decked, was actually featured several times in wedding mag so u may have come across it before...yah, it really set sail, but around singapore only...and we can plan the iternary....now worry is that guests may get bored after makan cos like no program...just talked to the manager, he said they will usually organise some games, dun know wat kind of games....see how...we going to see equinox and raffles poolside today...maybe will have new openings...

inox

Hi kath,

I will resend you the contact 2nite then.
I just visited a florist at millenia walk .. they have really nice & unique flowers

We tot of having our wedding at equinox b4 but they can take in max 180 people only. the price is at $88+++ for western style.

katherine

hi jen,

i didn't receive the email leh, can re-send?? think my mailbox burst over the weekend.....oh, btw, can consider red box also, seem to be recommended by quite a few pple

hi warrmead, the cruise ship is not like star cruise those type big big ones, this one smaller, 3 decked, called falcon princess, was actually featured several times in bridal mag, so u may have come across it before....yah, it does set sail, iternary we can decide...if host wedding on board, i want to do cake cutting at sunset!!

katherine

err...sorry, silly comp, now then show me wat i typed earlier on...

millenia walk, u mean tat florist near yoshinoya one??

yah, equinox quite ex...if we really like it, then see if can negotiate price not...