Comments and Suggestions about SingaporeBrides.com

meadow

Hi Chin Leng,

Sorry to say, but I find that its becoming more difficult to read this forum.

Its good to see that there are more people visiting your site, and contributing their views. You'd notice that the number of discussion topics has increased drastically.

However, it is becoming a chore for me to scroll the whole page just to read the topics I am interested in.

Would you be changing the layout soon to make our browsing easier ?

hope u dun mind my 2 cents tots.

bonjon

Hi Chin Leng,

I'm not sure whether you had "advertise" this website in any mag (dun recall seeing it).

I'm so upset that I only start visiting this website recently. If I had done so much earlier, everything will be very organised. I would have bought ROM package two years ago (didn't know there's such a package), didn't know dan providing free emcree (should have book him earlier, now press SOS button cos can't find one) till my ex-coll tell so.

Please include your website in bridal mag, it's really very informative and is very useful to brides to be (ignoring other bad comments).

bonjon

Hi Chin Leng,

When I perform a search, all these closed threads appear, I have to spend my time reading so many yet can't post my message. Sian liao la. (hope I was here earlier to join the party)

Can you separate them out, maybe create a folder called archive. If not, we will having problem looking for new posting.

P/s: I always reply via my recent posts. But there's a limited of scope la.

Hi Bonjon,

Thank you for your suggestion. We had advertise in a bridal magazine in year 2000 but that was the only time we did.

The reason for not doing any more advertising in print media as we prefer to spend our resources in upgrading and maintenance of servers, building new features for the portal etc.

As we are a web portal, we would thus rely heavily on listing in search engines and by word-of-mouth of our visitors.

Regarding the closed threads in your search results, most if not all, should be in the archive folder. To limit the results of your search, you can choose to search for postings made within a certain period only.

Some of the old topics are kept as they can still be relevant today. However, we've been actively removing threas that are more than 2 years and inactive.

Please feel free to contact me if you've any further queries.

happybride

Hi Chin Leng,
Is there a folder where all the previous cover photo are stored? I saw some real nice photos before and thought it will be great to post them there (separate folder) to let new members view the previous cover photos.

Hi Happybride,

Thank you for your suggestion. The images sent in by the wedding couples for the cover photos are only to be featured once only, that's why we don't have a separte folder for the previous cover images.

cathy

Chin Leng,

i got a question for you. My computer is shared among my colleagues. When i started using it, i sign in on the top left hand corner of the page. Now and then whenever i type my username, my password will automatic appear. Is there anyway i can delete it away so it won't be remember? Then at least other colleagues will not use my nick to post here?

Hi Cathy,

To remove your name and password from the shared computer, you'll need to remove the stored information on that shared computer.

1. Click on "Tools" on the top of menu bar of your IE browser.
2. A drop-down menu will appear.
3. Select "Internet Options...".
4. A new window will pop-up.
5. Select "Delete Cookies..."
6. Close your browser.

Please feel free to contact me if you require any further help in this matter.

arctic_hare

Hi Chin Leng, there is something not quite right in the Topics page for Matters of the Heart. Only a few threads appeared and the rest cannot be seen at all. Can you do something about it? Thanks.

Cynthia

tintin_again

yes yes... i hv been looking for a thread under matters of the heart but i cant find it...

brambles

hi chin leng,

on a related note, i'm unable to view all postings under 'matters of the heart'. is the server down or something?

thanks...

We would be consolidating all the topics regarding babies, mums-to-be and pregnancies etc into a new category of its own next week. Please feel free to contact us if you are unable to find your usual threads next week.

If you have any comments and feedback regarding this migration, please feel free to let us know. Thank you.

blueberry

Hi Chin Leng,

Just curious, why is there different type of members ;i.e junior member , member?
Are they any indication?

Hi kk,

The different type of forum membership status is just a reflection on the number of postings a user has made.

For example:

0 - 100 postings = new member
101 - 500 postings = junior member
501 - 2000 postings = member

etc.

lollipop

Hi Chin Leng,

I can't read messages after Baby5556's post at 3.50pm in "To All Punggol 21 Residents". Could you do something about it?

Many thanks!

naddy

hi chin leng,

there may be something wrong here.

i just cant seem to shrink the discussion topics that i dont want to see by clicking on the - sign on the left of the topic.

for example, A Meeting Place for All Brides:
I can click on the individual topics (eg Nov 2002 Brides) and shrink that section but when I click the - sign beside A Meeting Place for All Brides, I cant shrink that section.

IS it a problem with my PC?

Hi Naddy,

I've checked and I've the same problem too. I don't think it is a problem with your PC. It is more likely a problem with the forum. Let us investigate and we'll see if we can fix the problem. Thank you for the feedback.

naddy

thanks chin leng!

i hope you can resolve this problem soon. :)

looking forward to the day when i can use that '-' sign beside the section headings.

:)

qing

hi chin leng,

whenever i click on the ANYTHING UNDER THE SUN forum and it will always pop out error and ask me to restart my internet explorer

is there a problem with the forum or is there a problem with my PC?

i cant seem to log into the forum

thank

big_apple

Hi Chin Leng
Without any disrespect for anyone, but there are some threads that long posts everyday. As we may not be interested in some of these threads, it is such a hassle having to scroll through them everyday. Sometimes, threads we are interested in following up are buried in between and missed.

It would be great if we could have an "Ignore" function for every thread that we could chose to activate so that we will not see any post in those thread when we log in the next time round. This would certainly make our browsing of this forum more efficient.

Hi Qing,

Have you tried using another PC to log into forum and click on "Anything Under The Sun" topic? I've tried clicking on "Anything Under The Sun" and did not encounter any difficulty.

Please feel free to contact me at my e-mail [email protected] if you require further assistance. Thank you.

Hi Big Apple,

Thanks for the suggestion. Currently, this function is not available. It may even be difficult to implement it as it may require a huge rewrite of the forum coding. Anyway, we'll keep your suggestion in mind and see if there is anyway to improve the customisation feature for individual user.

bit_bit

Hi Chin Leng,

Notice that one of the thread "Buying online?" is missing from "Anything under the sun". The last posting was on 28/04..
Can you help to check?? Thanks a lot!

Hi Bit Bit,

Sorry that we have removed the topic "Buying Online" as it started receiving enquiries about the originator's services. We have also e-mailed the originator regarding the removal of the thread.

We apologise that we had to remove the thread as promotion of products and services by non-advertisers are not encouraged.

We seek your understanding as we depend on the revenue from our advertisers to cover our operational costs. This is also done to keep the forum from becoming a classified ads section instead of a place for wedding couples to meet and discuss about wedding preparations.

I've also sent you an e-mail, please check. Thank you.

rokko

Hi Chin Leng

I'm a relatively new user to this forum, and found this forum extremely useful! Thumbs up!!

But perhaps just to share one thought that is rather similar to what big_apple had previously mentioned... when I click onto 'Anything under the sun', it really gives me everything that's under the sun!
Problem is, if there's a thread there that I found yesterday and I'm interested to participate in the thread again today, I will have to scroll and search all over again for that particular thread!

I was thinking if we had a personal "saved thread" option where we could save those threads that we have been following (and are interested in) into a personal folder, it would be perfect and definitely a lot more efficient for readers! Perhaps like you mentioned, this may require a huge rewrite of the forum coding, but just a suggestion!

Hi Rokko,

Thanks for the suggestion. Currently, there is an e-mail notification function which allows you to select the topics, not just the broad category, which you are interested. When there are new postings in the selected thread, an e-mail of the posting will be mailed to your e-mail address in your profile. That way, you'll be notified of new postings in the threads which you are intrested. Hope this work-around suggestion would suffice for the moment.

Your suggestion will be considered as it is definitely a useful one.

joniel

Hi Chin Leng
Does that mean if there are 10 new postings to that thread (you shd know some of the thread are super active), we are gonna receive 10 new emails. It will be such a nuisance.

I second rokko's suggestion.

Hi Joniel,

Yes, there will be one new e-mail for each new posting. It is actually quite a popular feature being enabled by the users currently.

The suggestion was a stop-gap solution while rokko's suggestion is being evaluated.

icute

Hi Chin Leng,

I realised that when I am searching thro for relevant threads or info, it is very difficult when there's so many related/similar threads all over. Can you put in specific categories so that those who are interested can access easily? Thanks.

Hi icute,

Would appreciate if you can provide an example so that we can target the problem accurately. Thanks.

icute

Hi Chin Leng,

E.g. some of the threads under "Anything under the sun" could be placed in Wedding Banquet or Photography if they are related to photo shot. Some ideas related to household cleaning tips, etc. could be placed under Home & Deco.

Hi ictue,

Thank you for the feedback. The categories have actually been set-up specifically for various topics. However, we would require the help of users to start their new topics in the correct categories accordingly.

We would also migrate the topics to the relevant categories when we discover topics which may be better suited in other categories. But due to the number of new topics created every day, it is very likely that there are many topics which we may have missed out and did not migrate to the correct category.

We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience caused but our resources are mostly spent in the maintenace of the forum software/hardware, removing duplicated postings, removing unsolicited advertisiements thus preventing the forum remains a place for wedding couples instead of becoming a classified ads.

However, if you do come across any topics that is out of place, please let us know and we'll definitely move it to the correct category.

Would you like to have our newly created SingaporeBrides icon appear on your browser address bar, like the picture below, when you visit SingaporeBrides.com?

111376.gif

Just click on Tools: Internet Options... of your browser and a pop-up window will appear.

111377.gif

Click on "Delete Files" as indicated in the image above. When it is done, close your browser and relaunch your browser again.

Go to the homepage of www.singaporebrides.com and press CTRL+D if you are using Internet Explorer. Alternatively, simply click on "Favorites: Add to Favorites...".

That's it!

Sorry for the long instructions above.

Actually, if you've not added www.singaporebrides.com as your favourites before and does not have our previous icon on your address bar, all you need to do is go to the homepage of www.singaporebrides.com and press CTRL+D if you are using Internet Explorer. Alternatively, simply click on "Favorites: Add to Favorites...".

Apologies for the earlier long message.

angph38

<font color="aa00aa">hi chin leng,</font>
it's me again

was thinking maybe u'd like to "re-arrange" some of the threads in <font color="0000ff">Motherhood, Pregnancies And Babies</font> cos there's quite a few Moms-To-Be threads (e.g Jan MTB, Feb MTB, March Mummy, April Mummy etc) popping up.

was thinking maybe u want to re-arrange them like what u've done previously for the <font color="0000ff">Brides To Be</font>. however, if possible, i'd suggest maybe u merge a few of them together (e.g Jan - Mar 2005 MTB, Apr - Jun 2005 MTB or half yearly Jan - Jun 2005 MTB, Jul - Dec 2005 MTB) so that the threads don't "die off" easily and we can learn from each other who are due few months earlier rather than all due on the same month &amp; panicking what to do as it's too close

friends78

Hi Chin Leng

Is that possible for you to group all topics/posting for transfer/selling of bridal packages into one thread? Or cld you transfer all posting to marketplace instead? The 'Bridal Boutiques and services' section is simply too messy, very difficult for us to do bridal boutiques 'research'.. Everyone seem to start a new topic for each transfer. Many thanks!

Hi Doreen,

Thanks for the feedback. We'll be consolidating the transfer into either "Marketplce and Exchange Corner" or a new category soon.

For the time being, you may like to know that the threads are arranged in alphabetical order so that you can locate the thread conveniently.

Alternatively, you can use our search function and type in the search term for the subject of your interest.

Under the "Search by keyword: Look in:", choose "Subject lines" as indicated in the image highlighted below.

<center>
124142.gif
</center>

Please feel free to e-mail me if you require any assistance. Thank you.

We've just completed moving the threads related to transfer or selling of bridal packages to a new catgory of "Marketplace &amp; Exchange Corner: Bridal Packages".

As such, we've also renamed "Marketplace &amp; Exchange Corder" to "Marketplace &amp; Exchange Corner: Others".

Hope this will help further organise the forum and make it easier for everyone to surf SingaporeBrides.com.

jenjen

Chin Leng,

Currently, if we want to search for posts by a member, we will need to go to search function and key in the nick of the member and choose "Names of Authors", which might generate out other members will similar nicks...

I will like to suggest that since we are able to view the profile of the member by clicking the nick, maybe in the profile, you can put a link to "Search all posts by this member" to refine the search... Hope u know what I mean...