Club Chinois

fengshui9337

Eric sound young over the phone... i am considering CC too....i heard his colleague Iris said the place s undergoing some reno. i requested to view the ballrm but no wedding until 14/4/06....

jewelmelody

Hi ,
Eric is not young chap!! He attended to me and we finalise the package. He is around 40 plus..
but very experience and give advices and is sure of what CC can offer.

mitzi

Yup, I think Eric is a very nice guy! He's very easy-going too. So long he can give to us in the package, he will

jewelmelody

Hi Mitzi,
Have you signed up with CC ? Eric will shown you some pictures of the ballroom and the different settings of VIP table.
As for theme, CC does not operate like other hotels in offering jazz, shanghai , oriental theme etc. However the pictures I saw are quite classic wedding theme, dim and cosy. actually I'm not the person who concerns too much of the theme. Most impt is food must be good. I don;t think guests will care much about the theme but only their food.

mitzi

Hi Jewel

Yup, signed up with CC already. I didn't ask much abt the theme as well, as bf is more concerned abt their food too.

Which package u chose? I chose the Regal since it comes with free flow or beer

jewelmelody

Hi Mitzi,
Me also chosen the Regal package and I likely take free flow of beer and wil bring in my own wine and liquors.

Where is your actual day? Mine is 24 March 2007.

beautyseek

CC does not offer theme. I called to enquire. They have 3 types of standard flowers to choose from, roses, lilies and one other (cannot remember name) and you can choose from 3 colors, red, white and one other color (cannot remember again). If you require special flowers, then of course additional $$$.

Anyone who has seen the new ballroom after reno, pls update here! TKS

mitzi

Hi Jewel, mine will be end of this year hehe.. Beauty is right, they do not have themes. If you prefer special flowers arrangement, you add $$

I might just ask them to decorate since I have not much preference in theme :D

Which do you all think is nicer? Roses, lilies? Lilies only white, won't it be plain?

nat_bleu

hi Shirley, did Eric passed u the $100 dinning voucher upon paying the deposit? Bec I din get mine. Haf u blocked out your dates? I still cant decide mine bec the Tong Shu for Pig Year is nt ready. Haiz

Yup, Eric told me there will be reno in Apr but he say can't make the ceiling higher. I was at OPH to c c look look last week, there r some tables & sofas outside the ballroom but v.mismatched!!! Victorian style sofas with another 2 cheena looking chairs!! I hope they will replace them before my AD.

hi mitzi, I'll prefer red roses. Although abit standard but stands out bah.

jewelmelody

Hi i did not got any S$100 dining voucher.
My AD will be 24 March 2007 but was not booked on wedding show. Booking was done personally at OPH.

mitzi

Jewel,

Unless u book your dinner at the wedding show, otherwise u are not entitled to the voucher.

Wonder after renovations, what will the ballroom look like?

poopoo

i had signed and returned the Letter of Contract back to Eric.

He did mentioned that for "The Tunglok 1st card" will be send to us within a month and same for the Tunglok food voucher.

So will keep everyone update once i recd the $100 voucher ^^

jewelmelody

Hi Mitzi, Nattie and Shirley,

When is your AD with CC ?
I did not book the banquet on wedding show cause I know the date I want.
You know,another couple intend to book the date I plan to book and luckily I had made reservation with Eric in advance while waiting for me to pay the deposit. I glad Eric honour his words and hold the date for me !
Hence my AD is 24 March 07!

nat_bleu

hi Jewel, I cant confirm my banquet date till nxt wkn after my appt wif the geomancer. But it will b a Sunday in May/Jun07. Urs will be before mine so dun forget to share wif us ur wedding pics!!
360429.gif

nebear

I am considering hving my banquet at CC. Can you please share with me how much deposit do we need to pay and what are items i shd negotiate or look out for?

Any comments on the food and service?

poopoo

Hi nebear,

I am not sure the standard initial deposit we need to pay for. However, for my case, I signed up with CC during the wedding show on 26th March 2006, paid a non-refundable initial deposit of S$2,100.00.

For CC they are offerring the following packages.

MENU Weekday Prices Weekend Prices
Taipan $568.00++ $628.00++
Regal $628.00++ $668.00++
Royal $688.00++ $728.00++
Modern Chinese* $78.00+++ $88.00+++

VENUE Weekday
(minimum capacity) Weekend
(minimum capacity)
Antica Ballroom
(maximum 30 tables) 20 tables 25 tables
Club Chinois
Modern Chinese 120 persons 210 persons
Taipan / Regal / Royal 20 tables 26 tables

All prices are subject to GST and prevailing government taxes.
* Available only at Club Chinois

* A choice of traditional Chinese banquet or Modern Chinese Menu - both meticulously prepared by our renowned materchefs
* Free flow of soft beverages, mixers and Chinese tea
* Food Tasting for 6 persons (on weekdays only)
* Pre-dinner reception with soft drinks at the foyer
* A complimentary 30 litre barrel of beer - applicable for Taipan menu
* Free flow of beer or a complimentary bottle of house wine for each table - applicable for Regal and Royal menus only
* Waiver of corkage for duty paid and sealed hard liquor. Wine corkage at $15.00++ per bottle
* Beer prices : 20 litres (65 glasses) - $450.00++ / 30 litres (95 glasses) - $580.00++
* Light snacks prior to dinner reception for wedding couple
* Individually wrapped mini chocolates in specially designed boxes for all guest
* Confetti cannon
* One night accommodation in a deluxe suite at Orchard Parade Hotel with breakfast for two at Club Chinois
* Exquisite wedding decoration with fresh floral arrangement with floral centerpiece for VIP tables
* Scroll for guest signature
* Parking passes for 25 % of the confirmed attendance
* One VIP parking lot in front of the hotel
* Choice of Oriental or Western invitation cards based on the guaranteed attendance (printing of inserts are not included)
* 3 tier dummy cake and champagne fountain set up with a complimentary bottle of champagne
* All dining chairs to be dressed with cushion chair covers
* Wedding march with romantic dry ice effect

you may go to their website and take a look.

http://www.tunglok.com/index1.html

nebear

hi shirley,

thanks for the information! jus got a reply fm eric too. can check if the pkg is transferrable after payin the initial deposit? becoz cant seem to find it in the terms and conditions sent by eric. btw, did u negotiate for any extra items?

ice_blue

Was thinking of holding my AD in OPH ballroom also but I have not been to the place to see yet. Anyone can share with me whether the march-in is short or long?

Tks

poopoo

Hi nebear,

When we signed for the package during the wedding show, they are too busy to answer most of our questions, so we just paid a go, didn't got a chance to negotiate any extra items.

beautyseek

Hi nebear, it's me again. Looks like we may have the same Milan BS and CC Banquet! Remember to quote me as referrer if u do really sign up Milan hor...

I bargained for the following:
1. waiver of corkage for wine and liquor in addition to free flow of beer. U can try asking for stout as well if you have guests who fancy that.
2. food tasting for 10 persons on a Sunday nite (instead of 6 persons on wkdays only)
3. change of desserts to yam paste at no extra charge
4. free rental of projector and microphone
5. free use of audio equipment
6. allow additional persons (>10) at 1 table for some tables at NO EXTRA cost. Any additional of guests to tables is not subject to any cost but the portion of food is still for 10 persons (in case u need to put same group of pple together).
7. allow consumption of unused confirmed tables (not forfeited)- to consume maximum 3 tables with 7 days notice and to be consumed within six months from wedding date.

Actually, CC is quite comprehensive I must say. I picked the Regal for weekend.

beautyseek

Btw - I also paid the same amt of deposit as Shirley, tho i did not sign at wedding show. I think the package is transferable at discretion of CC (saw a posting by someone before trying to transfer CC package). This is however not stated in my contract (dun think i will transfer anyway).

nebear

hi shirley,

thanks for the reply. :>

hi beauty seet,

Sure, if i do take milan. :D u reali provided me with a lot of insights on wat to look out for.

btw, when u bargained for the items from cc, did u do it before u plc the initial deposit including the food? believe all these r stated in the cfm ctt? can u also clarify on the last item coz dun quite understand the 7 days notice thingy. pai seh...

i am oso tinkin of takin Regal.

mitzi

Hi nebear,

She meant that if u want to consume the unused confirmed tables, u hve to give CC 7days notice for them to prepare. They also give u up to 6mths to consume those tables. This is a good bargain. I didn't kw can bargain for that

ayura

Beauty Seet (beautyseek)
did u get free wine per table or free flow beer or both for the package u signed?

oh, i didnt know abt the consumation of the table issue too!!! forgot what i asked when i checked with eric the other time..... boohoo...

anyway my AD is coming near, just to say that they dont have centerpiece flowers for the tables. only for VIP. very different from hotel style. i worked in hotel before (5 stars and some said its 6 even though i feel that its only 5)......... the hotel will have lots of flower stands, individual flowers at every tables. blah blah.

but since we are paying reasonable pricing for CC, cant complain too much. flowers also not much choice. either roses or roses n lilies. if u wan lilies only, have to top up pricing for PER flower stand.

someone mentioned abt march in? oh...... super short manz. the march in isnt going to be grand lah. forget abt it. hahahhaaa. thats because of the way they position the stage and the entrance for the couple to come in.........

imagine a rectangle, the stage is at the center of the 'length' and the entrance is at the side of the 'breath'

and oh ya...... Eric said renovation of the ballroom shld be completed in this month. change of color...... i wonder whats the color now...... at least its a good news for people having their wedding from Mid/late April onwards *clap clap*

mitzi

Hey crabtree,

Pls share some pics with us after yr AD hehe. Mine is end of the year.

Beauty Seet, how many confirmed tables u have? Is it the max thus Eric is agreeable to let u have unconsumed confirmed tables? Cos rather loogie for the hotel if they actually have that term ya?

jewelmelody

I bargained as follows though not so much as Beauty Seet...cause at that point of time can't think of much things to bargain...

1. Waiver of corkage for wine and liquor in addition to free flow of beer.

2. Food tasting for 10 persons on a weekend

3. free rental of projector and microphone

4. free use of audio equipment <== I did not ask cause my understanding is audio system is mandatory to play March in songs and the whole event and should not charge addition. Hi Beauty, you have any idea is it to charge additional?

5. I go for confirmed tables of 25+ 2 reserve.

nebear

hi mitzi, thanks for the explanation. now i understand... keke...

crabtree, i may be goin down tomolo to view the deco &amp; ballrm. if i do, will let u know the color of the carpet.

gals, how many reserve tables do u usually ask for? izzit more worth it to exchange the free flow of beer for wavier of cockage charge for hard liquor and wine?

jewelmelody

Hi nebear,

Try to take up the Regal package as it comes with free flow of beer. In addition ask for waiver of cockage charge for hard liquor and wine.
Taipan package charge prices of barrel of beer so not worth to take up. Suggest go for Regal or Royal.

beautyseek

Mitzi - Yap! Your explanation of the 7-days notice thingy is correct! Thanks! I am confirming 20 tables for restaurant (not ballroom) which can take a max of 26 tables (but these will be in private rooms, not in main hall).

Nebear - Yes, all these are stated in my contract (better in black &amp; white in case forget later). I place deposit at the time of signing contract. U shld bargain for both waiver of corkage PLUS the free flow of beer (not either or). But if cannot, then free flow of beer shld be more worth it if u do not intend to bring in many bottles of liquor or wine.

Crabtree - I was given a choice of wine per table or free flow of beer. Based on your hotel experience, how many bottles of wine do u think i shld estimate for banquet consumption? Have fun on your AD!

Jewelmelody - I don't think they charge you for the audio equipment. It shld be taken for granted that they will provide (just like reception table). I just put it down to avoid any doubts.

Okie! Not sure when are all your ADs, gals! But, do pop by and share reviews/complaints/pictures abt CC huh! HAVE A GOOD GOOD WEEKEND!

nat_bleu

hi, I've gotten my $100 voucher too but its in two $50. Dunno can use together anot.

Beauty Seet &amp; Jewel, wow... BOTH free flow of beer &amp; corkage waiver? Thats so cool... I already paid my deposit, dunno if I can still neg for tat anot... haiz

nat_bleu

Pai seh pai seh... I'm so blur, I've just checked my pkg. Its Regal pkg tied to CitiBank Promo, oso free flow of beer + corkage waiver. hi Beauty Seet, but I dun have anything except the CitiBank brochure &amp; a receipt to say tat I paid $2100. U all has a contract tat states the details?

nebear

hi beauty seet, oops i tink i read too fast. :p tot u exchanged free flow of beer for waiver of cockage. thanks for highlighting.

ayura

hmn girls/guys, i've to say that its very confusing reading some of the posts when it comes to free flow beer/extra perks etc. why? because you must state down the package u signed up. then it make a lot more sense. because like taipan is the lowest one right? this one during the normal days is 1 barrel beer. so for u guys who signed up on wedding show, do u manage to get free flow of beer? because i think u guys have the promo of every 10 or 15 tables free 1 table right?

ok, for my case, my package is, if i take up Taipan, i will have free flow beer. If i take up Regal, I will have free flow of beer (which is in the normal package) plus 1 bottle red wine PER table. BUT BUT BUT....... the packge doesnt come with free x no. of tables free 1 table. that time no such lobang.

i do have the waiver of wine corkage and the $100 dining voucher when i signed using UOB. but really lousy lor. i went Club Chinois, they said cannot use 2 vouchers together when its NOT Stated....... so bor bian. spend over $100+ for 2 person have to top up $50++. the so called famous fried rice is pathetic (out of point lah hahahha)...... the bowl is much smaller than the normal porcelain bowl found at normal home.... and costs $12. PER BOWL. freaking expensive and i think its over raved. the crabmeat also so little.

and before i signed up, i was told like in the apr 05, they have a direct 10% discount.

p./s my AD not over yet.

Nattie (nat_bleu) ,

so the citibank promo is free flow beer PLUS every 15 tables free 1 table for Regal? if not wrong (in my earlier sentences), Regal already comes with free flow beer OR 1 bottle red wine per table right??? as in, even during normal days u signed up, this is the package offered?
if thats the case.......... then i can conclude that, the promo disc they give, no matter how u calculate, its abt the same. take this out, throw in another.

ayura

Beauty Seet (beautyseek)
i have no idea yet leh.

anyone having AD ard may/jun 06? can go get wines together. see got cheaper rates anot. hahahaha

anyway u guys who are abt the same year and near to one another AD, why dont u guys search for wines together n see if they offer more value $$$

nat_bleu

hi Crabtree, Alamak... I had a bad feeling when they gave 2 $50 vouchers instead of a exact $100. So the voucher is another marketing gimmick again. I signed up at the wedding show so the pkg is as mentioned. Everyone's pkgs seems more or less the same.

My sis-in-law say can try ask for better fish or veg but I haven tried talking to Eric, probably when AD is nearer. Mine May07.

My FH's sis say she got lobang for wine, dunno real anot. If its really good buy, I'll let u girls know.

nebear

hi gals, juz go to view the newly renovated ballroom today. the new carpet color is brown. the ballroom looks pretty nice to me but the table seems a bit small though.

nat_bleu

hi nebear, thks for sharing! Smaller shld be good for my case becos I nid 32 tables, smaller tables &amp; there'll be more rooms to move. The lightings, the ceiling... everything still much the same?
362005.gif

jingzjingz

Hi everyone there ... anyone got the links to see the pictures of the ballroom at orchard parade hotel? Are the pillars blocking and how's the ballroom? food shd be good cos it's by tung lok. Me and my fiance considering CC for our AD too. How much's the deposit?

If u all got links can pls email to [email protected]