Club Chinois

doggal80

Hi Mawie>>> what is OTR? Hahaha. I am having a hard time deciding who to put in the private rooms. Getting a big headache cos more guests than expected. Do u think it is ok to put relatives in the private rooms? Like maybe my cousins? Thanks gal.

mawby84

heys gal, OTR = off the rack

well i put in the more understanding or closer relatives in the room. but i din pre-empt them. are you having the live feed?

doggal80

hi mawie>>> no lei. cos not using the big private room. just the small ones. very headache now. hahaha. hoping to reduce the no. of guests coming so can avoid using the big private rooms. thanks ya.

mawby84

Heys Jac, icic.. i had a sudden increase in the number of tables required.. sighz.. so bo bianz... gotta use the live feed to cater for the private room guests.

doggal80

HI Mawie>>> Hehehe, think will be able to reduce tables to 20 or the most 21. Hope for the best. Have not even done the invitation cards...so a bit behind time. Must hurry now. :)

eevee

Am letting go my package deposit due to increase in my guest list.

Date: 16/01/2010 (Sat) or any avail dates in 2010
Hotel: Orchard Parade Hotel

I have paid a deposit of $2140 hence am just transferring the deposit. Package details can still be negotiated with the sales person - Cornelius (either the ballroom or the restaurant, perks, etc).

http://www.tunglok.com/chinois/wedding.html

Located in Orchard Road, the venue is ideal if you are looking at between 20-30 tables, with food served from Tung Lok.

I'm willing to give a discount for the deposit paid, which would in turn be a cash rebate for you.

please email me for details and date required if anyone is interested.
email: [email protected]

honeyhiphop

Hi BTB, I am new to this thread. My wedding will hold at antica ballroom. Any of you kind to share with me your wedding photo that day in ballroom? I need to know how does it look like.

qnq

Hi Brides,

Anyone has the layout or pictures to share on the restaurant and ballroom itself? Eg like when it is empty without any guest. I know some of you posted pics of your wedding dinner (fully appreciated it) but abit hard to get an overall picture.

Thanks thanks. Btw, just to confirm does the ballroom have high ceiling and pillarless??

mawby84

Heys qnq,

guess the best person to look for pictures would be CC staff themselves.

For the ballroom, its low ceiling and there's two pillar if i m not wrong, you can view the layout from the club chinois website.

doggal80

Hi Mawie, my big day is next mth n approaching soon. But yet to discuss about anything like theme etc with Cornelius. Will he actually ask me or should I take the initiative to call n enquire? Thanks. :)

pringirl

hi jacqueline, have u done ur food tasting yet? if im not wrong, confirming no. of guests, flowers, table cloth etc shld be one week b4 AD...

mawby84

Heys Jac,

a week to two before your wedding, will have quite alot going around you, so would be good to confirm with Cornelius your preferred theme.... i did have some special requests during mine.. so maybe you might want to come up with a 'must have' list and discuss with CC.

doggal80

Hi Mawie, what do u mean by theme? :) I am in total blur. Everything rush rush for me cos now handing out invitation cards etc. So stressed. Do they make any special arrangement like placing of reception tables etc? Thanks ya.

jemalene

Hi Mawie,can i check with you on who should i go to , to discuss about the theme? As i book my banquet with Eric and he is quite inflexible and i wonder can i go to Cornelius ?

Will Cornelius be the main coordinator for that night?

elbarc

Hi, any idea if there is any roadshow for tunglok coming up? thinking for booking for Dec 2010...do u all thk its too early?

mawby84

Heys Jac, we managed to clear your doubts over msn, so arent replying here.

Renne, for the theme, would be good for you to go to Eric as he is Cornelius's boss. Although Cornelius followed through my wedding prep but unfortunately he was on leave on my wedding but would say his colleagues did a good job still.
I think one of them was Michelle, the asst manager.

baby_daffodil

Hi, I've shortlisted CC as one of my venues, but am wondering if there's any diff holding in CC itself vs the Antica ballroom? Looking at the floorplan, Antica seems more ideal.

edea_12

I'm considering CC for my banquet, looking at 25-26tables.
Have read through the threads but need to clarify again. If i'm considering 25-26tables, does it mean some of the guests has to be in the private rooms? I have looked at the floor plan on the website, looks like Table 18-27 are all cordoned off. So they are in the private rooms?
Coz not so keen to hold my wedding there if it is in the private room.

Anyone has photos to share on the interior of the restaurant and Ballroom?

pringirl

hi winnie
for 25-26 tables, it is more ideal to hold ur banquet in the antica ballroom. iirc, no tables will be blocked if u have 27 tables or less.

1079717.jpg

1079718.jpg

doggal80

Hi Mawie, thanks for your help.

Hi Winnie, I agree with Pringirl that u should get ballroom cos u got suff tables to meet their min requirement.

:)

edea_12

Thanks ladies.
Unfortunately the date that i want the ballroom is taken up. so was considering to make do with the restaurant. but abit small lor.

happygurl

hey all,
just came back from my food tasting session there.
The food is real good and the portion.... more then enough good stuff to fill everyone up!!! Really enjoyed myself throughly.... hahahahahahaha

doggal80

Hi Mawie, my dinner ended n was glad that all guests are pleased with food n place. Hehehe. It turns out that I dun have to worry about guests walking to the wrong receiption cos all came up from the stairs. :) Thanks for your help gal.

pringirl

just went to do cards at focal-ad in ubi... only got 4 designs to choose from! 1 long one in red or ivory & 1 squarish one in red or ivory... hmm kinda disappointed cos thot there'd be more selections but seems like its the same old designs... ended up choosing the squarish one cos it has rose design at the side... just for everyone's info, for 200 pcs, hotstamping is $150, normal printing is $80, add tying of string is another $20.

mawby84

Heys Joyce, sorry for adding you to my FB so late.. did not check on this thread regularly.

Jac, good to hear that everything turned out well for your big day. most welcomed.

jemalene

hi pringal, i got the same design as you as that look the nicest of all. I plan to go JB and print, is a bit cheaper. Btw, do we need to tie strings since the invitation card is a 3 fold card?

Hi Jac, any pictures to share?

pringirl

hey renne
i thot abt the string tying thing n gave up the initial thot of printing e inserts in JB.
a bit heart pain when tink abt the price haha. perhaps in JB, can do hotstamping liao. anyway, if u really gg JB, can go T&T - price is RM60 for 1st 100pcs, subsequent is RM20. for printing of maps, there is additional RM30 flat charge.

pringirl

just had my food tasting on tue... some pics to share...

first dish: cold dish (got suckling pig, prawn roll, crab stick, yam roll, roast duck, jelly fish)
all e fried stuff very crispy
suckling pig skin very GOOD!
only presentation not solid enuff

1141615.jpg

pringirl

2nd dish: shark fin w crabmeat
nothing much to complain abt, except it taste a bit sour (tink its due to some chinese wine "hua diao jiu"? added)

1141618.jpg

pringirl

6th dish: roast chicken w crackers
not bad lah, chicken tender tender de
but seasoning not even enuff
special row of apple slices in red wine in front

1141642.jpg

pringirl

7th dish: lotus rice
loaded w ingredients such as meat, mushroom, yam etc
find it too bland though
and some say too much yam le

1141646.jpg

pringirl

generally, everyone esp my mom, MIL n FIL are very pleased w the dishes. THUMBS UP to club chinois! showed them antica ballroom n everyone commended hubby for choosing this hotel for our banquet. very happy abt tis cos wedding is not just for both of us, but for our parents as well... looking fwd to our big day in sep!

littletree

Hey pringirl,

The dishes looks nice. When is ur AD?
I'm shortlisting CC as my 1st choice but a bit hold back by the 2 pillars at Antica ballroom and the mobile projector, which i feel a bit disruptive if keep having to move in and out. What do u think of it?

pringirl

hey littletree
my AD on 29 sep 09. have u fixed ur AD date yet?
the 2 pillars wldnt affect me as i shld be having ~24-26 tables nia... hehe.
as for the mobile projector, agree tt dun look pro lah. but dun find it so impt. as long as the guests enjoy e montage & express highlights, and the FOOD! i tink food is most impt to guests

pringirl

hihi renne
hee thot u disappeared le.
this thread like v dead leh. zzz...
YESH! the food really yummy....... *drool*
must control my diet le... 2 more mths to go....

jemalene

hi Pringal, no lah. I am still here , just that a bit busy recently. Rem to upload ur pics and show us after ur wedding.
Mine is in Dec...so long
So did you check out used wat credit card to pay for the banquet have a better offer?

pringirl

hey renne
yup sure, no probs on the photos part...
didnt ask eric on the c/card thingie... but i shld be using stanchart manhattan card... cos can get $300 rebate per quarter if charge >$6K.

doggal80

Hi pringirl, your menu is exactly the same that I have gotten. Hehehe. I agree....everyone gave me Thumbs Up for the food. They also like the atmosphere of the resturant cos more cosy n different. Hehehe. Glad that everything went so well. :-D

But just disppointed that I didnt get to taste anything cos they cleared everything n didnt leave any for us. :-(