Club Chinois

apr_piggy

Hi Renne,

sorry for my late reply to u (at multipy)..was busy with my exams recently. I had replied you by the way, hehe..

Thks all for the feedback. Yesterday, we met up with Cornelius, and learn that he is actually doing banquet sales for all TUNGLOK restaurants, not only Club Chinios itself. While Irene is the sales manager for banquet/catering at Orchard Parade Hotel itself.

Anyway, I think the offer that he give is not so fantastic worh..and now my hubby and I gotta think twice..we were satisfied with everything, the setting, food, prices etc...EXCEPT there's some table issues that they cant accomodate to us.*sigh*

apr_piggy

Hi Princess,

I do not have the ROM package details.. Think I had misplaced it.. But to summarise the ROM package I took was a poolside solemnisation followed by high tea buffet at the ballroom. Is about $55++ per pax, min 30 pax.

If u're interested, u can contact Irene, the sales manager for banquet and catering for more details. Her email is [email protected]

parmida

Hi pringal,

me still ard

wedding was ok..Its over and done with..

I had mine in the rest. Heard quite a few ppl said tat the ambience is nice
Food servings was generous..By the 3rd last dish, alot of ppl were aldy filled..haha...gotta squeeze in another 2 more dishes..lol

The bridal suite that i had was bigger compared to the one they showed it to me earlier on.. The hotel send fruits up when we checked in and dinner was snadwiches..and I had supper too, from the banquet dishes

Overall it wasnt that bad..just that I frantic alot and was shouting before my makeup and dinner starts..haha...

I'm happy that I choose club chinois :D

ginnie_queen

hey parmida.. sounds good.. do show us some photos!

pringal, didnt try the gowns before i signed up but tried a few when i was trying the ROM dresses.. =)

stephlim

Hi parmida,
I am happy for you 2...

Hi pringal,
I understand fm another thread that you have choosen Mirage Pic as your VG.... keke, I have just signed up with them 2 but there is 2 guys in Mirage, hope you can share wif me how u find eric & choon beng... thx.

apr_piggy

Hi Parmida,

Glad to hear your wedding went smoothly. Would u be able to share ur pics? I actually went down to see the restaurant last week. Mind to share how many tables u took? cos Cornelius told me min. is 20 tables, but i was very concerned with the 3 tables in the VIP room. Any advices for me on this issue? Thks!

jemalene

Hi Parmida,
Do share with us your pics =)

Hi Apr Piggy,
You might want to consider taking the ballroom? nt much pillar blocking

apr_piggy

Hi Renne,

My estimated tables only 20..and had spoken to cornelius until no more salivia liao..still wun let us take ballroom cos min is 25tabs..yet the restaurant, got 3 tables in the VIP room..I kinda could not accept that leh..

pringirl

hey Parmida
congrats on ur wedding again! glad tt everything went well for u =)

hey piggy_steph, eric is very warm & sincere, whereas i find choon beng very easygoing. took their mid range package.

eh my FIL says he wanna add more tables to the original 20 tables we alr have. wonder if 28 tables will be too cramped in the ballroom. might drop by justina/apple gal wedding to take a peek =P

stephlim

Hi pringirl,

Thank you for sharing wif me... Btw who will be shooting for you on ur AD, eric or choon beng? I choose eric lor...
I got information fm Cornelius tat the best is 26 tables cos he said 28 is still not too cramped but 2 tables will be blocked by the pillar.

papaya123

Hi pringirl,

i feel that 28 tables will be too cramped. does 28 tables include the 2 reserved tables? cos i understand from Cornelius that from 28 tables onwards, the chairs will be placed back to back, and ur guests will not have much space to move around.

jemalene

Hi pringirl,
I have checked with Eric and he suggested 27tables is the best in order nt to have any pillars blocking.Just a info to share.

Hi Apr Piggy (apr_piggy,
Is urs on a weekend?Mine is a weekday so min 20 tables for ballroom.I have also visited the restaurant and do not like the idea of tables inside e vIP room as the guests cannot c the stage and kinda of like outcast.

pringirl

Dear Steph, papaya & Renne
Thank you for sharing your information with me. I was quite shocked when FIL wanted to add 8 more tables to the 20 tables we already have. No choice, think we will trim our list to within 26+2Reserves. Now still got 16mths to our wedding; dunno how many more tables we might need to add by next yr? And also worry that by then I no need to invite my own frens liao

pringirl

Dear Steph,
I have not confirmed with Eric whether he or Choon Beng will be doing the videotaping. Most probably will try to get Eric to do it, since our AD is on a weekday, shouldn't be too much of a problem, I hope!

apr_piggy

Hi Renne,

Yes, mine is on sat.. min for ballroom is 25. Guessed if really cant accomodate to our tables capacity, we gotta search for other hotels liao...Indeed, I felt the 3 tables at the VIP would be kinda outcast lor..

woodychelle

Congrats Pramida!

So happy for you, do share with us your pics... now my own wedding banquet is push till 16 Oct 2009.But then, am glad that will be extra time for me to source around for my bridal package & other misc stuffs.

pringirl

Hi mich, any reason for changing your AD date? Have you selected your BS, PG, VG etc yet?

Parmida 25 May 08 (Sun)
Justina81 7 Jun 08 (Sat)
apple gal 15 Jun 08 (Sun)
catz 27 Jun 08 (Fri)
Yeo Leng Soon Sean Nov 08 (Fri)
skywu 27 Dec 08 (Sat)

Candice Kwan 8 Jan 09 (Thu)
mawie 14 Feb 09 (Sat)
ginnie_queen 7 Mar 09 (Sat)
piggy_steph 18 Mar 09 (Wed)
pringirl 29 Sep 09 (Tue)
Mich (woodychelle) 16 Oct 09 (Fri)
Apr Piggy 21 Nov 09 (Sat)

parmida

I will post the pics as soon as i get them from my PG and frens..

Got good comments abt the decor and ambience on the rest. Perhaps they tot its a chinese rest so tats why when they reached there, it was a surprise to see such settings.

My hubs like the settings of CC and tats why we choose them plus its tunglok, the food standard can more or less be assured.

I hse my frens in the VIP room cos they are closer to me and they dun mind (Tats wat they say) Though initially i do mind abit abt the 3 "vip" tables. They had their own good time in the vip room too
The rest gives a chic feeling and i personally prefer tat cos i dun want a "cheapo" feel.

If u are worried abt the 3 tables, my opinion would be to put ur frens there...closer ones if u have..

I did ask cornelius abt putting 1 more table in the main dining area, he said tat it would be cramped and after the wedding, i do agree wif him. It would almost be back to back, so i was relieved tat i didnt insist on putting 1 more table outside.

These are my 2 cents worth

woodychelle

Hi Pringal,

the AD was push towards Oct, mainly because, hubby & I prefer to settle our flat first, then the wedding dinner. We will be expecting the flat around 2nd quarter of next year.

As for BS, PG, VG.... hmmm... not yet... still sourcing around now. How about you? Found yr BS, PG, VG yet?

pringirl

Hi Parmida
The rest ambience looks chic indeed in my opinion. Hope we can see your photos soon

Hi mich,
Where is your new home located at?
We have already started staying in our lovenest since a year ago. BS, PG & VG all settled (very kiasu haha) but now vexed over the issue of FIL wanting to increase tables, which will result in a crampy banquet.

woodychelle

hi pringirl,

my new place at Fernvale Court...
Wow! tat very fast of you to settle everything... not kaisu la...
Which bridal shop did u go to? Any to recommend?

pringirl

Hi mich
We signed up with Venus in JB, cos they can capture the kinda photography style that we adore. But it might be inconvenient for those who do not stay in the north (we stay in Yishun & I used to stay in Wlds).

Some pretty good local BS which my friends have signed up with are My Bridal Room, Bridal Concept, Golden Horse Awards (Yishun). You may want to consider them.

parmida

Hi pringal,

I hope to get the pics soon too
there are some posted by my frens, me shall try to copy and load them into multiply
U have multiply account?

Hi mich,

Have u started looking ard for BS?? Urs is still quite a while to ur AD.. Me signed up wif Jawn Happy Ever After, its a BS located in Meridien.. Like wat pringal said, those BS are not bad either.. We went to see GHA(tampines), Volan, Di Gio, J&M, and a couple more.. Can be tiring but enjoyable too :D

woodychelle

thank you so much for the infor... was considering a few actually, Dawn at JB city square, The Aisle Bridal, another one at River Valley Road, Feline.....(funny tat I cannot list out their bridal shop here) anyone know what happen??? , Thomson bridal & a few more, but haven't really go down & check it out...
Will probably start checking them out in another month or 2...

eevee

I'm also interested to book Club Chinois. Do share with me on what are the things I should ask for ...

pringirl

hey Parmida
yup do add me in multiply... @ pringirl.multiply.com

hihi mich
BS shopping can be fun! can try out their gowns, and see which BS offers u the type of PG style tt u like. pricing wise, is more or less the same one. unless u take in JB, but JB pricing dun include AD makeup & car.

hallo eevee
CC package is quite comprehensive by itself. u can prob bargain for food tasting for 10 pax instead of 6 pax, waiver of wine corkage (i got waiver for 2 cartons), supply of rose petals. r u considering the restaurant or ballroom?

cacky

Parmida: Glad you had a good experience at CC. We initially wanted to go for the restaurant too. But hubby like some other hubbies here prefer a more conventional wedding, so we settled for the ballroom instead. He finds it brighter and since most of our guests are relatives, he's worried that the relatives find the place too dark and dodgey. Anyway, contract's been signed so I'll have to stick with ballroom. Our parents preferred the ballroom too anyway. So, they managed to put you into a bigger room than the suite??? You were so fortunate. I hope it'll happen to us too.

pringirl

hey cacky, me same as u! prefer restaurant ambience but hubby prefer ballroom. would love to view parmida's photos man hehe. anyway how many tables r u gg to have & when is ur AD? i find the ballroom okie lah, just tt low ceiling & no red carpet. i want red carpet! hehe.

cacky

pringirl: My AD is gonna be in October this year. But becoz it's a weekday, we'll be having just 20 tables. We figure that anything much more is just going to make the ballroom very squeezy.

When we went to view the ballroom the other time, that particular wedding had 30 tables! It was soooooo squeezy that there was hardly any walking space in between tables. No red carpet meh? I didn't recall leh. I only recalled that the march-in is like an L-shape.

pringirl

hallo cacky, our AD is also on a weekday in sep 09. also thot we'd have 20-22 tables initially, but might end up w 26-28 tables ultimately. see how.

the march in is L-shaped, but no red carpet due to possible mishaps (e.g. tripping).

so have u done ur PS?

cacky

pringirl: Yeap, done my PS already. Coz currently overseas. So have to get it sorted out first. What about you?

pringirl

cacky,
yes have booked venus in JB.

had a quick look at justina's wedding just now. hubby commented tt 27 tables is just nice, not cramped; decor is nice too; but if only projector is not manual...

blurrz

wow, so glad to see soo many good reviews on club chinois... i am considering this place for my AD in 2009 but have yet to contact them for the price package... wats the diff between the ballroom n restaurant?
will we still be entitled to a 1 night complimentary hotel stay?

eevee

the diff between ballroom and restaurant is that ballroom can be used if u have more tables.

To use ballroom, Min 20 tables (wkday) and min 25 tables (wkend).

Yes there is still 1 night complimentary bridal suite stay regardless of ballroom or restaurant.

I was told that the price will be increasing in July.

blurrz

they wanna increase price ah...

i hope it will still be affordable then... cos i calculated my budget based on current pricing...
dunno when is their next wedding show... see got any good offers by them or not...

thanks eevee and pringirl...

eevee

Seems like Cornelius not being able to offer much for their perks. Sighz ...

Can you all share what are the things I can ask for? Any possibility of getting 2 nites stay in bridal suite? COmplimentary wines?

pringirl

dun think it's easy to get 2 nights stay & complimentary wine... but perhaps waiver of wine corkage? i got waiver for 2 cartons of wine if i take either the mid or high tier package...